Need Help installing Mavericks on mobo without AHCI

Eweie

39 posts in this topic

Hi. I've been using snow leopard for the past 10 months on this machine, quite comfortably but with some software limitations of course, but yesterday my main hard drive died, so I'm taking this opportunity to install Mavericks on a new hard drive I will buy in the morning.

but I'd like some guidance. I was planning on also buying a SATA controller card but I don't know if I'll be able to find one soon (I asked arround last time, no one had one) so I'm going to see if i can install it mavericks anyway.

I've seen in other topics people saying install this kext install that kext but i don't understand how you'd install it when you cant even boot into the osx installer, or how does one go about making the installer boot with no AHCI.

I downloaded the niresh distro and put it on an usb but every time i try to boot from it a spinning / appears and then my computer restarts. I suspected it was because I had usb legacy disabled on the bios because i needed it to boot to snow leopard but its not it. also verbose mode doesn't give me any feedback, the letters scroll too fast before restarting, it's a hard restart.

is this distro the best way to install mavericks on my system? how can i make it work and if not can someone please help me with what kext to install and the preparation of the installer?

I hope I can get some help soon because i'll go downtown in the morning to buy the hard drive and if possible the SATA III controller card and I really need to get this computer set up today or else Ill be behind on my work.

I have a macbook running 10.8.5 where I can do stuff in with dmg files and stuff like that if necessary.

I'm sorry for the newb questions and thanks in advanced. :bye:

my system is:
Mobo: Asrock N68C-S UCC

CPU: Phenom II X4 940 BE

RAM: 4gb ddr2 1066

GFX: XFX Radeon HD 4850

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply and sorry for the late update.