Jump to content

Need help for Realtek 8101e/8102e driver


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Hello !

 

I've been using the AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext v 2.0.6 from the RTGMac_v2.0.6 pkg for a while and it worked perfectly (with limited transfers at 10baseT/UTP full duplex). But for an unkown reason, it just stoped working since a couple of days. I've experience a severe Hard Drive crash and I re-installed my setup on a new one one using a very recent Time Machine backup so my new configuration is strictly the same, my HD is just bigger (from 500 GB to 1 TB).

The kexts are the same and all my others harware components works like they always have - all but this damn Ethernet kext don't !

 

I've of course reinstall it. No luck.

I've tried a dozen of others kexts for this NIC type (RealtekR1000SL.kext, AttansicL1eEthernet.kext, a wide range of AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext iterations, Niresh auto-detect package etc.) but no way.

None of them detects an Ethernet adpater. I finally have better luck with this kext AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext v 1.0.3 found on Niresh's web site but it seems to be design for ML and even if the adpater is recognized in Network's System Preferences, it just don't work (tried 10baseT 100baseTX, 1000baseT at both half and full duplex).

 

Any ideas folks ? It drive's me cray !



#2
djouija

djouija

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male

Try the official driver from Realtek and remove any other previous drivers (from /S/L/E or any that were added to IONetworkingFamily.kext).

 

Latest version (10.7): http://www.realtek.c...3&GetDown=false

 

Older version (10.6): http://www.realtek.c...3&GetDown=false

 

Note that these still only work by setting the card as 10baseT full duplex, so unfortunately it still won't perform at full speed, but it should at least work. I've also provided both versions because I personally found that the older 10.6 driver can actually be left as default (automatic) configuration [and will simply change to 10baseT full duplex upon connection] whereas the newer driver requires manual settings to be applied.  

 

Use whichever is your preference!  Still looking for a better solution for this and will post my results should I ever find one.



#3
HUSABER

HUSABER

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 927 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cyprus
  • Interests:HusabergFC-600 FourStroke,KTM500 TwoStroke,TM300 TwoStroke
    Free Time-My Hackintosh&Ap...

Hello !

 

I've been using the AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext v 2.0.6 from the RTGMac_v2.0.6 pkg for a while and it worked perfectly (with limited transfers at 10baseT/UTP full duplex). But for an unkown reason, it just stoped working since a couple of days. I've experience a severe Hard Drive crash and I re-installed my setup on a new one one using a very recent Time Machine backup so my new configuration is strictly the same, my HD is just bigger (from 500 GB to 1 TB).

The kexts are the same and all my others harware components works like they always have - all but this damn Ethernet kext don't !

 

I've of course reinstall it. No luck.

I've tried a dozen of others kexts for this NIC type (RealtekR1000SL.kext, AttansicL1eEthernet.kext, a wide range of AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext iterations, Niresh auto-detect package etc.) but no way.

None of them detects an Ethernet adpater. I finally have better luck with this kext AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext v 1.0.3 found on Niresh's web site but it seems to be design for ML and even if the adpater is recognized in Network's System Preferences, it just don't work (tried 10baseT 100baseTX, 1000baseT at both half and full duplex).

 

Any ideas folks ? It drive's me cray !

You pay internet for this month? :hysterical:



#4
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Thanks for the repliies but that's the kexts I was using and re-installing both of them didn't work. Yes I pais my ISP tgis month and the NIC works perfect in Windows so that's not an hardware or bill :-) issue. As I said, it workd perfect before the HD failure but I don't see why replacing the drive could have something to do with a non-working kext.



#5
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain

this is a problem with permissions and caches, try app Kext Wizard and make a repairpermissions/rebuild caches/reboot



#6
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Already done that a dozen times… no differences



#7
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain
ok, try this , open terminal app and type sudo -s
your passw
 
then copy paste the script  in the  terminal, wait for end, terminal go quit, wait 2 minutes reboot
 
 
#!/bin/bash
sudo rm -rf /System/Library/Caches/*
sudo atsutil databases -remove
sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 0
cd /private/var/vm
sudo rm -rf *
sudo touch /private/var
sudo chown root:admin /
sudo update_dyld_shared_cache -debug -force -root /
sudo update_dyld_shared_cache -root / -force
sudo kextcache -system-caches 
sudo kextcache -system-prelinked-kernel
sudo /usr/libexec/xpchelper --rebuild-cache 
diskutil repairPermissions /
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions
sudo chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions
sudo chmod -R 755 /Extra
sudo chown root:wheel /Extra
sudo touch /Extra
sleep 4
Killall Terminal
sleep1
quit

#8
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

No luck… Still doesn't work. :-(



#9
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain

go to IOnetworkingFamily.kex/Contents/Pluguins and delete all kexts , then delete your Ethernet.kext  in S/L/E

 

Copy paste this one to S/L/E and ru the script /reboot

 

 

Attached File  Ethernet.zip   98.26KB   13 downloads



#10
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Still doesn't work…



#11
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Any other ideas ?



#12
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Well, I finally managed to install a fresh copy on a USB drive and the kext works like it was before. So it's not an harware issue and it seems that my actual setup is corrupted. Everything else works fine so if there's a solution to fix the problem and to avoid a total re-installation, you're welcome. Attached is my vendor/ID Ethernet infos if it can help.

 

Thanks


Oh, I found something strange too. EFIStudio & OSX86Tools gives me a different string for my ethernet adapter than the one I used before. Weird…

 

Before it was :

<string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a0000000001010600011c0101060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>

 

Now :

<string>450000000100000001000000390000000100000002010c00d041030a0000000001010600011c7fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>

 

I tried to use both of them but no differences but on my new USB Setup, the first one is the correct one. I don't know where the new one come from.

Attached Files



#13
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Well, I re-install the whole system from scratch. First attempt failed as it still not recognized the card. Second try finally worked and now it runs fine. I still don't know what's happened but it's now OK.

 

One last point is that i'm experiences some crasches after an undetermined period of time. The computer freezes when the screen shuts down and I have to reset it. I installed NullCPUPowerManagement, AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement & AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient kexts but it's still happening. Harware Monitor shows acceptable CPU Heats and it runs fine on Windows.

 

Any ideas ?

And thanks again for your time and patience ;-)

Attached Files



#14
tcabin01

tcabin01

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

I have RTL8101E (VEN_10EC, DEV_8136) and I am trying to get it to work on OS X 10.9 

 

I tried the AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext v 2.0.6 from the RTGMac_v2.0.6 pkg (offical Realtek) but it doesn't work. Ethernet is not detected. 

 

With RealtekR1000SL ethernet is detected, however it says "network cable unplugged." I went to advanced settings to get the speed manually for it detect the network cable as plugged. However, when I set it to "Automatic DHCP", it keeps doing "Self-Assigned IP". and I can't connect to internet. When I manually set the settings for DHCP to connect with my router, it says "Connected", however, I am still unable to get online.

 

Any suggestions? 



#15
polyzargone

polyzargone

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Did you try to set manually data transfer to 10BaseT @ Full duplex, it's the only way to get it work under OS X 10.9 (and ML too I guess) ?

 

Hope this helps !



#16
tcabin01

tcabin01

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Did you try to set manually data transfer to 10BaseT @ Full duplex, it's the only way to get it work under OS X 10.9 (and ML too I guess) ?

 

Hope this helps !

 

Yes, I tried all the speeds, it doesn't work. 



#17
lisai9093

lisai9093

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male

I have RTL8101E (VEN_10EC, DEV_8136) and I am trying to get it to work on OS X 10.9 

 

I tried the AppleRTL8169Ethernet.kext v 2.0.6 from the RTGMac_v2.0.6 pkg (offical Realtek) but it doesn't work. Ethernet is not detected. 

 

With RealtekR1000SL ethernet is detected, however it says "network cable unplugged." I went to advanced settings to get the speed manually for it detect the network cable as plugged. However, when I set it to "Automatic DHCP", it keeps doing "Self-Assigned IP". and I can't connect to internet. When I manually set the settings for DHCP to connect with my router, it says "Connected", however, I am still unable to get online.

 

Any suggestions? 

Same situation here. And with RealtekR1000SL loaded, system profile says RTL8105E ethernet card, weird.....



#18
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 559 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

Try this one: http://www.insanelym...ries/?p=1995367

 

Good luck!

 

Mieze







1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy