Jump to content

[GUIDE] HP G62 - Mac OS X Mavericks

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

HP G62 Notebook PC - Mac OS X Mavericks

hpG62.jpg

 

Specifications:

  • CPU: Intel Core i3 - i5 - i7 (Arrandale)
  • GPU (Intel only or both):
    • Intel HD Graphics [0046:8086]
    • ATI Radeon HD 5470M (512M/1G) [68e0:1002]
  • WLAN (one of these):
    • Broadcom BCM4313 [4727:14e4]
    • Intel WiFi Link 5100 [4232:8086]
    • Realtek RTL8191SE [8171/8172:10ec]
    • Ralink RT3090BC4 [3090:1814]
    • Atheros AR9285 [002b:168c]
  • LAN: Realtek RTL8101E/8102E [8136:10ec]
  • Audio: Realtek ALC270 [0270:10ec]
  • TouchPad: Synaptics LuxPad v7.4
  • Webcam: HP Webcam-101 [0149:5986]
  • Card Reader: Realtek RTS5159

 

What works:

  • CPU: Natively supported by OS X after Lapic patch
  • GPU:
    • Intel HD Graphics: Full QE/CI, brightness, but with laggy interface and overheat problems. VGA and HDMI doesn't work.
    • ATI Radeon HD 5470M: Full QE/CI, brightness, VGA and HDMI doesn't work (yet)
  • WLAN: Atheros AR9285: works almost native with AirDrop and AirPort support
  • LAN: Realtek 8101E/8102E: works
  • Audio: Realtek ALC270: works, with Speakers, Headphones, Internal and External Microphones
  • TouchPad: Synaptics LuxPad v7.4: works with multitouch support and disabling zone too
  • Webcam: HP Webcam-101: works but it needs CameraControl.app
  • Card Reader: Realtek RTS5159: works OOB
  • DVD Drive: hp CDDVDW TS-L633N: works OOB
  • Battery: works
  • Sleep: works (closing lid too)

Pre-Installaton

  1. Using Windows, DOS or Ubuntu get your EDID raw data [Solution b.].
  2. Decide if you want to keep the Intel HD Graphics or disable it.
  • If you decide to keep it, you don't have to do anything, skip to Installation
  • If you decide to disable it, go to post #2:

Installation

 

Spoiler

 

WORK IN PROGRESS!

 

TO DO LIST:

- BIOS MOD

- WLAN Replacement guide

- Installation guide

- DSDT

- ATI Connectors editing

- AppleHDA

- VoodooPS2 Customization

- Videos?



#2
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

How to disable integrated Intel HD Graphics

 

Spoiler


#3
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

How to replace your current incompatible WLAN card with an Atheros AR9285
 

Spoiler


#4
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

How to patch ATI connectors

 

Spoiler


#5
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

AppleHDA

Spoiler


#6
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

DSDT editing and patching

 

Spoiler



#7
duseans

duseans

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Thanks for the wonderful tutorial, Have u got HDMI to work.



#8
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Thanks for the wonderful tutorial, Have u got HDMI to work.

 

HDMI doesn't work up to now. The audio probably yes, but I'm not sure.



#9
duseans

duseans

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

HDMI doesn't work up to now. The audio probably yes, but I'm not sure.

 

Ohh, I see .. But would you please upload your patched AppleHDA?

and How did u get sleep work?

 

Thanks !



#10
rusetsky

rusetsky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

I tested on HP G62-b21ER.

  • ATI Radeon HD 5470M: does not work. which framebuffer did you use? have a problem with color gradients?
  • Audio: Realtek ALC270: does not work. did you patch AppleHDA? How do you set up CodecCommander.kext ?
  • Battery: does not work.
  • Sleep: does not work.

    Please upload your patched DSDT, Clover config.plist, CodecCommander.kext
    Thanks.


#11
mikiraton

mikiraton

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Does anyone know Spanish?------ Alguien sabe español? 

 

Help------Ayuda  :help: :help:

 

 

Consultation on this issue------ Consulta sobre este tema

 



#12
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

 

I tested on HP G62-b21ER.

  • ATI Radeon HD 5470M: does not work. which framebuffer did you use? have a problem with color gradients?
  • Audio: Realtek ALC270: does not work. did you patch AppleHDA? How do you set up CodecCommander.kext ?
  • Battery: does not work.
  • Sleep: does not work.

    Please upload your patched DSDT, Clover config.plist, CodecCommander.kext
    Thanks.

 

I use Hoolock framebuffer. Make sure you have correctly installed Clover, as it fixes the gradients problem. (make sure you have injected your EDID too!)

 

Here are my files

Attached Files



#13
mikiraton

mikiraton

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Help G62-B85ss hackintosh:

 

Hello my name is  joel  and I am  a recently member of this  web. therefore  I dont know until how to do hackintosh . Surfind on internet I saw your post in the guide about how to make  a  hackintosh  hp g62

I need to know some details:

1 -  Shall I make the installation using the solution b with a Windows ?

2 - Can you recommend me some modification in the installation for my particular case ...... for more info: http://www.insanelym...5ss-hackintosh/ ..... I've written in Spanish because of english is a  bit difficult to me.

3 - It must  be necessarily patch the ati connectors ? Why they have to patch ?

4 - THere is a  good performance ? You will have all the functions ----(sound, wifi, usb, vga etc ... )

5 - Which is the reason to disable the intel graphics?

6 - It is necessary  to replace my wireless network Blast (Broadcom 802.11b/g/n 1x1 BCM4313GN PCI Wireless Network Adapter) ?

7 - If I follow all the instructions I 'll have to do something else?

Thanks for all













 



#14
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Help G62-B85ss hackintosh:

 

Hello my name is  joel  and I am  a recently member of this  web. therefore  I dont know until how to do hackintosh . Surfind on internet I saw your post in the guide about how to make  a  hackintosh  hp g62

I need to know some details:

1 -  Shall I make the installation using the solution b with a Windows ?

2 - Can you recommend me some modification in the installation for my particular case ...... for more info: http://www.insanelym...5ss-hackintosh/ ..... I've written in Spanish because of english is a  bit difficult to me.

3 - It must  be necessarily patch the ati connectors ? Why they have to patch ?

4 - THere is a  good performance ? You will have all the functions ----(sound, wifi, usb, vga etc ... )

5 - Which is the reason to disable the intel graphics?

6 - It is necessary  to replace my wireless network Blast (Broadcom 802.11b/g/n 1x1 BCM4313GN PCI Wireless Network Adapter) ?

7 - If I follow all the instructions I 'll have to do something else?

Thanks for all

 

1. Do you mean dual booting? So install both Windows and Mac OS X? Or just prepare the USB Drive (with OS X Installation) from Windows?

 

2. I recommend you to disable Intel HD Graphics (see post #2 [I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY IF ANYTHING GOES WRONG!]) and replace the BCM4313 with a AR9285 (see post #3)

 

3. Yes it's necessary, but my guide is easier than the other ones you find on this forum because is just for our notebooks.

 

4. The performance is good, as good as on Windows. If you disable Intel HD Graphics and replace the BCM4313 with a AR9285 you will have all working. Well, the VGA and HDMI don't work (they work on Windows however) and the webcam is a bit problematic (you have to open the application CameraControl before using it.

 

5. Because leaving enabled Intel HD Graphics will cause overheating (probably due to the ATI card still active) and very low performance (due to the modification to the drivers, or just because our hardware is unsupported).

 

6. It isn't necessary but it's highly recommended, otherwise WiFi won't work.

 

7. I don't think so. However I have to complete the guide since I hadn't too much free time.



#15
Manhattan98

Manhattan98

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia
  • Interests:Hackintosh

Hi all. I have HP g62 B24ER. Can anyone, who successfully disabled intel hd, see in AIDA64 what vendor and model of your notebook display. It is important for successful disabling integrated video... For example, i have display AU Optronics B156XW02 V2, and if i disable intel hd, i don't have LED backlight.



#16
rusetsky

rusetsky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi. Could you please send to me Device, Vendor, SubVendor and SubDevice your  Atheros AR9285 (580101-002)? These data can be seen through DPCIManager in the tab PCI List
Thanks! =)


#17
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

 

Hi. Could you please send to me Device, Vendor, SubVendor and SubDevice your  Atheros AR9285 (580101-002)? These data can be seen through DPCIManager in the tab PCI List
Thanks! =)

 

 

Sure, but it's better to do that on Windows, because I edited the IDs to get the card working on OS X (through DSDT):

PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002B&SUBSYS_3040103C&REV_01
 
Vendor: 168C (Atheros)
Device:  002B
Subsystem Device:  3040
Subsystem Vendor: 103C (HP)
Rev:  01

 

Hi all. I have HP g62 B24ER. Can anyone, who successfully disabled intel hd, see in AIDA64 what vendor and model of your notebook display. It is important for successful disabling integrated video... For example, i have display AU Optronics B156XW02 V2, and if i disable intel hd, i don't have LED backlight.

 

Here's my report:

Elemento	Valore
Proprietà schermo	
Nome schermo	AU Optronics B156XW02 V2
ID monitor	AUO22EC
Produttore	AUO
Modello	B156XW02 V2
Tipo monitor	15.6" LCD (WXGA)
Data di produzione	Settimana 1 / 2009
Numero di serie	Nessuno
Area massima visibile	34 cm x 19 cm (15.3")
Modalità video	16:9
Frequenza orizzontale	30 - 83 kHz
Frequenza verticale	56 - 75 Hz
Risoluzione massima	1366 x 768
Gamma	2.20
Supporto modalità DPMS	Nessuno
	
Modalità video supportate	
640 x 480	75 Hz
800 x 480	75 Hz
800 x 600	75 Hz
1024 x 600	75 Hz
1024 x 768	75 Hz
1280 x 720	75 Hz
1280 x 768	75 Hz
1366 x 768	75 Hz
	
Produttore monitor	
Nome società	AU Optronics Corp.
Informazioni sul prodotto	http://www.auo.com/?sn=149&lang=en-US&c=33
Download dei driver	http://www.auo.com/?sn=171&lang=en-US
Aggiornamento driver	http://www.aida64.com/driver-updates

For me LED Backlight works.



#18
Sainath

Sainath

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Game developer for Apple and intern at Makuta VFX

Hi giofrida,

Here is AppleHDA for alc270 with working mic on G62-363tx patched by me!  try it out ! :D

10.9.2 -
10.9.3 -


#19
Sainath

Sainath

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bangalore
  • Interests:Game developer for Apple and intern at Makuta VFX

did they work ? O.o



#20
Manhattan98

Manhattan98

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia
  • Interests:Hackintosh

is it possible to run radeon 5470m only with vga, like intel hd(aapl os info in dsdt) by any means?







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy