issues with mdi radeon hd6450

demogoroon

2 posts in this topic

Im having issues with this particular graphics card...I bought this card for my father as on my mackintosh it worked out of the box....On his however after installation and restart I make it past the apple logo then go straight to a white screen where it stays with no cursor....However if I boot into safe mode and remove amd6000controller.kext then restart I can get to the desktop with very laggy graphics that are horrible.........Ive tried copying amdcontroller6000.kext to the desktop,deleting it from S/L/E and reinstalling it-that actually worked one time but every icon in launchpad was red...After that one successful restart it immediately started freezing at the white screen again....I am a noob to the mackintosh world so if anyone could please help me with instructions on as to how to fix this I d greatly appreciate it so much ,,as I also have to fix the ethernet afterwards....thank you.....Another thing-I am using the dvi connection

UPDATE: today I noticed that using "graphicsEnabler=no" was a hit and miss...Sometimes I would get to the desktop with no issues and have awesome graphics no lag whatsoever and no pink icons...Other times I would still get a blank white screen....A few times I used the bootflag "-s" then typed in "graphicsenabler=no" one of those times i noticed an error about cpu power management,also one of the times I froze at white screen