Asus S400CA audio and camera problem in ML 10.8.5

lvg

12 posts in this topic

I have ASUS S400CA ultra book dual booting windows 8 and ML10.8.5. I have latest voodoohda.kext 2.8.4. But I don't hear any sound.

Further system report shows existence of camera(Asus usb2.0 webcam) and also when I start FaceTime, light ear webcam glows. But no video. I am very new to mac.

How to get video and sound?

I'm pretty sure your audio is alc269, which does not switch from headphones to speakers automatically, so make sure you manually switch it to the right one. My x202e works just fine with it aside from that issue, so I would imagine yours would as well. Also make sure you don't have ncpi=0x2000 or 0x3000 in your boot flags, that will likely prevent it from working in due to PCI changes starting in 10.8.5. That boot could also be the problem with your webcam. So far I don't think anyone has been able to get the webcam working properly on that notebook, but the fact that it's recognized is a good sign. Are your USB ports working properly otherwise?

• Like 1

I'm pretty sure your audio is alc269, which does not switch from headphones to speakers automatically, so make sure you manually switch it to the right one. My x202e works just fine with it aside from that issue, so I would imagine yours would as well. Also make sure you don't have ncpi=0x2000 or 0x3000 in your boot flags, that will likely prevent it from working in due to PCI changes starting in 10.8.5. That boot could also be the problem with your webcam. So far I don't think anyone has been able to get the webcam working properly on that notebook, but the fact that it's recognized is a good sign. Are your USB ports working properly otherwise?

Thanks.Ā 

What is alc269?

I found in windows as VIA high definition audio.

How to switch from headphones to speakers Ā or viceversa?

How to remove boot flag ncpi=0x2000 etc? I am using cloverEFI boot for dual booting windows and mac.