Jump to content

Need CPU & Chipset advice for building a "HackPro"workstation

Workstation Dual CPU Ivy Bridge E

Best Answer Rampage Dev, 03 October 2013 - 09:40 PM

Here is my suggested build:

 

[attachment=129360:Newegg.com - Once You Know, You Newegg.pdf]

 

All you have to do is find the items in your area. 

 

This system offers SAS III raid in Raid 10. The SAS card is bootable for mac as well but the SSD will be connected to the onboard SATA. 

 

Note to use the latest Ivy B E chips you need a modded kernel for the time being. Apple has been using internal builds of OS X on there new Mac Pro's so once that comes out there will no longer be a need to use the modded kernel. 

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#61
frankiee

frankiee

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Interests:Everything

If you have a normal native install and you use parallels you can have it use the native windows installation as a boot camp vm.

 

That is exactly what I do. I partitioned my System drive in two partitions, with a native Windows 7 and native OS X install. And this Windows 7 partition also doubles as a parallels installation. So it would be important for this to work exactly this way also on a hackintosh. But I am not sure if it will be more hassle with the partitioning, since I also want a recovery partition. So an option would be to use just a separate drive for windows. That's one of the open questions I cannot answer right now.

 

I rarely if ever boot windows natively anymore.

 

In many cases I do that as well. As I mainly use VMs for software testing, it is quite common that I have 4-5 VMs open at the same time. I would also like to open more, but this is the point where my Mac Pro begins to bog down with only 16 Gigs of RAM (also CPU load is quite noticeable, with a total load - ie all 8 cores - of up to 50% even when the VMs are more or less idling).

 

But: as I wrote before, there are cases where I just need or want a native install:

 

- I need native booting for some software I use that demands a more direct access to hardware. In my case, drivers for an USB microscope as well as the windows phone emulator.

- I want native booting for gaming. Tried some games (and I don't play _that_ demanding games, no FPS for example) in paralells, and at least with my setup there's a noticeable difference, esp in Graphics



#62
frankiee

frankiee

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Interests:Everything

so, finally I have my buildlist together, and this is how it looks like now:

 

System
CPU: INTEL 4930K
GPU: NVIDIA Titan
Mobo: Rampage IV Extreme
RAM: 8 x 8GB G.Skill RipjawsZ PC3-17000 CL11
Power Supply: CORSAIR AX1200i

Storage
1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
1x Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
1x Samsung 840 EVO 256GB
2x WD Red WD30EFRX 3TB
1x Panasonic Slim Internal Blu-ray Burner UJ-265

Case & Cooling
Case:  Silverstone SST-FT02B
Case Fans: 3x Silverstone AP182 & 1x Noctua NF-S12A
CPU Fan: Noctua NH-U12S
Fan Controller: aquaero6 system controller

Addons

EX-16450 - PCI-Express FireWire 1394A
SilverStone FP58B - Slot loading Drive Adapter
Silverstone FP55B 3,5" Adapter
Silverstone FP35 multi-function Front panel
Silverstone SST-CP05-SAS Hot Swap Adapters x4
 

The only minor gripe I have with this setup is CPU cooling. I like to stay away from H2O and regarding air coolers, the NH-U14S - which I would prefer - would block the first PCI slot. Don't know if I also could install my 1st GPU in slot 2, but if I would install a 2nd one I get problems with clearing anyways. But I am still positive the NH-U12S can handle it.

 

So if anybody is actually interested how this all works out, I can post something like a build log - just let me know ;)



#63
shilohhh

shilohhh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Case & Cooling

Case:  Silverstone SST-FT02B
Case Fans: 3x Silverstone AP182 & 1x Noctua NF-S12A
CPU Fan: Noctua NH-U12S
Fan Controller: aquaero6 system controller
 

 

The only minor gripe I have with this setup is CPU cooling. I like to stay away from H2O and regarding air coolers, the NH-U14S - which I would prefer - would block the first PCI slot. Don't know if I also could install my 1st GPU in slot 2, but if I would install a 2nd one I get problems with clearing anyways. But I am still positive the NH-U12S can handle it.

 

So if anybody is actually interested how this all works out, I can post something like a build log - just let me know ;)

I have the FT02B (Love it!), R4E, 3930K. I use Noctua NH-D14 and it doesn't block the 1st PCI slot. It's super quiet and efficient.

Attached Files



#64
frankiee

frankiee

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Interests:Everything

So I have at least a basic build running right now, including a working, but maybe still not perfect OS X installation. Yeah, the case is quite nice, but also a bit tight to work with, but I do not regret buying it until now at least. Mavericks seems to run quite smooth - no KPs or anything - also very fast boot times (around 6 secs without kernel cache). Still needs quite some tweaking though.

 

As for the cooler, I just settled for the NH-U12S (the NH-D14 would block the RAM slots, whereas it would actually be the NH-U14S that would block my 1st PCI slot). And CPU temps seem to be quite low. Maybe not as low as you can with H20 that`s for sure, but since I am not planning to do any extreme OC it should be enough. Also has enough room in the case and I have access to all RAM slots. BUT I have a problem with this CPU fan running at 100% all the time no matter what I do in the BIOS. Still checking with Rampagedev to find out what's the cause - but since the CPU fan is working OK on the "CPU_OPT" header I fear that something with the mobo is going wrong. Looks like "CPU_FAN" does not transmit any PWM information :(

 

Geekbench scores seem to be quite low for this CPU, though (17000+ compared to 13000+ on my 5 year old Mac Pro) but still all running at stock speeds. Hope this will get better.



#65
shilohhh

shilohhh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

So I have at least a basic build running right now, including a working, but maybe still not perfect OS X installation. Yeah, the case is quite nice, but also a bit tight to work with, but I do not regret buying it until now at least. Mavericks seems to run quite smooth - no KPs or anything - also very fast boot times (around 6 secs without kernel cache). Still needs quite some tweaking though.

As for the cooler, I just settled for the NH-U12S (the NH-D14 would block the RAM slots, whereas it would actually be the NH-U14S that would block my 1st PCI slot). And CPU temps seem to be quite low. Maybe not as low as you can with H20 that`s for sure, but since I am not planning to do any extreme OC it should be enough. Also has enough room in the case and I have access to all RAM slots. BUT I have a problem with this CPU fan running at 100% all the time no matter what I do in the BIOS. Still checking with Rampagedev to find out what's the cause - but since the CPU fan is working OK on the "CPU_OPT" header I fear that something with the mobo is going wrong. Looks like "CPU_FAN" does not transmit any PWM information :(

Geekbench scores seem to be quite low for this CPU, though (17000+ compared to 13000+ on my 5 year old Mac Pro) but still all running at stock speeds. Hope this will get better.

I get about 22k at 4.2ghz and 24k at 4.5ghz in geekbench 3 64bit. You'll be limited to CPU strap or blck OC until asus fix their IvyB-E BIOSs to allow for proper multiplier OC. You could try shamino's 0024 bios for the R4E found at the rog forums but I haven't tested it as I have SandyB-E and can use bios 4206.

My noctua outperforms most budget closed loop liquid coolers

#66
frankiee

frankiee

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Interests:Everything

I get about 22k at 4.2ghz and 24k at 4.5ghz in geekbench 3 64bit. You'll be limited to CPU strap or blck OC until asus fix their IvyB-E BIOSs to allow for proper multiplier OC.

I heard that CPU strap isn't too bad, so just downclock memory, and up the strap. bclk would be a no no for me I guess. But of course I am also a newb with OC so still learning ;) Plus I want a really stable machine since this is still a workstation and I have also lots of RAM. But well a bit more perf wouldn't be bad, especially if I compare this:

 

http://browser.prima...ekbench3/199856 (new hackPro) to this: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/197861 (old Mac Pro, nearly 6 years old!)

 

The new machine only really dominates the old one when it comes to memory performance. But I actually think some "real tests" would be more interesting

 

My noctua outperforms most budget closed loop liquid coolers

 

I believe that! Plus, they are much more silent, so I am glad I went this route. Now, if I only could solve the fan problem with the R4E ...



#67
zzerg

zzerg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Hi guys, I am in a similar boat here - have to replace my 6-year old dual Xeon hack pro for scientific computation.  

XEON E5 v2 | ECC | REGISTERED are musts for me, so even workstation boards like GA-X79S-UP5-WIFI don't fit the bill, because they don't take registered dims (some do ECC unbuffered)

 

Please advice for a C60x server motherboard. I am looking at Supermicro X9SRA and Gigabyte GA-6PXSV4 (single CPU)... I could go dual CPU, but the second CPU is not immediately necesary.

 

RampageDev, you have my deepest respect for your work/blog; I saw there lots of X79 boards supported (DSDT). Any chance you'll help me with a Supermicro C60x DSDT?

 

Thanks



#68
frankiee

frankiee

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Interests:Everything

Why not take a P9X79 WS or P9X79-E WS? Takes XEON CPUs and ECC RAM as well. Should run fine in OS X and is supported by RampageDev's SSDT method.



#69
zzerg

zzerg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

frankiee, the asus boards take the XEON and ECC, but not REGISTERED memory (they take ECC/NON-ECC unbuffered memory)

 

http://www.tomshardw...ered-unbuffered



#70
frankiee

frankiee

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Interests:Everything

Ahh that's too bad. Well, out of the two you have mentioned I'd probably take the Gigabyte one. I think C60X chipsets should work, but especially supermicro boards seem to be used not very often for running a hackintosh. Maybe it would help to find someone who has gotten OS X to run on one of these boards, or else you will play lottery a bit. But it should work .... in theory. If it will work 100% that's another question. For example, power management still does not work 100% with certain CPUs.



#71
zzerg

zzerg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Maybe I should wait a bit for Apple to release the 2013-Mac-Pro, then many things will clear up. I bet the new mac pro uses C60x chipset, supports registered ram, and hopefully (fingers crossed) brings OSX power management on C60x/X79 boards.

 

I am torn between Gigabyte - easier BIOS, more mackintosh support; and Supermicro - more reliable. An IT friend told me Gigabyte boards are a bit of a lottery. especially on electrical circuitry. I will also look into Asus C60x server boards.



#72
frankiee

frankiee

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
  • Interests:Everything

I think any C60X boards should work, however the devil could be in the details ....

 

Power Management is expected(!) to be working with all X79/C0X chipsets as soon as an updated OS X build for the new Mac Pro is out.

 

BIOS wise, I personally like the ASUS more than the Gigabyte ones, so it might be worth a look.



#73
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,996 posts
  • Gender:Male

Maybe I should wait a bit for Apple to release the 2013-Mac-Pro, then many things will clear up. I bet the new mac pro uses C60x chipset, supports registered ram, and hopefully (fingers crossed) brings OSX power management on C60x/X79 boards.

 

I am torn between Gigabyte - easier BIOS, more mackintosh support; and Supermicro - more reliable. An IT friend told me Gigabyte boards are a bit of a lottery. especially on electrical circuitry. I will also look into Asus C60x server boards.

 

Why do you believe lies about Gigabyte? They are no different the any other manufacture when it comes to installing Mac OS X. 

 

X79 is just a C600 chipset with the SAS part removed. Nothing more. ECC has nothing to do with the Chipset but the CPU installed. Power management is already here but is limited unit the new Mac Pro comes out. 

 

Please read and become educated and not a mindless person who is misinformed and believes lies when it comes to Hacks. 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Workstation, Dual CPU, Ivy Bridge E

  Topic Stats Last Post Info

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy