Jump to content

Ozmosis

Bootloader

  • Please log in to reply
5611 replies to this topic

#21
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,884 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Anyone missing the GUI of Clover, can now use rEFInd with OZmosis

And the settings can be done by pressing the home button during boot.

Tested this, it works...



#22
Lanceomni

Lanceomni

    infinitemac.com (φοίνιξ) !

  • Donators
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

Does anyone know which fakeSMC was packaged in the original Ozmosis H3A release?

 

For some reason I am seeing 1.0.0.d1 and that may cause issues down the road.

 

If you are running a vanilla install on H3A with no bootloaders, could you let me know which version you have running? You can do so by: 

kextstat | grep -v com.apple


#23
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,397 posts
  • Gender:Male

And the settings can be done by pressing the home button during boot.

Tested this, it works...

Settings?

All that does here is show HD icons, or am I missing something...



#24
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 594 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

 

Does anyone know which fakeSMC was packaged in the original Ozmosis H3A release?

 

For some reason I am seeing 1.0.0.d1 and that may cause issues down the road.

 

If you are running a vanilla install on H3A with no bootloaders, could you let me know which version you have running? You can do so by: 

kextstat | grep -v com.apple

Sry man but we are not using QUO board,soo cannot help with that.



#25
Lanceomni

Lanceomni

    infinitemac.com (φοίνιξ) !

  • Donators
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

Sry man but we are not using QUO board,soo cannot help with that.

 

No worries.

 

I assumed that with the files you discussed above, you might have been in the loop or involved in the ozmosis project. Im still catching up with being off the forums for four or five years.

 

Apart from this and the quo board thread, is there another forum or thread that you are aware of that discusses ozmosis or provides source?

 

I have a few other UEFI boards around. I might give your guide a try as well.



#26
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 594 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

No worries.

 

I assumed that with the files you discussed above, you might have been in the loop or involved in the ozmosis project. Im still catching up with being off the forums for four or five years.

 

Apart from this and the quo board thread, is there another forum or thread that you are aware of that discusses ozmosis or provides source?

 

I have a few other UEFI boards around. I might give your guide a try as well.

I am not involved in Ozmosis in any way.

Dont know for any place that we can talk about ozmosis,if u find one plz share here.

 

Try this guide if u like and share how it goes for u.



#27
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets

I have, and Asus uses AMI Aptio UEFI BIOS so it should work. :D

 

I set about injecting modules in to my Z68 BIOS but then realised that in order to have this a fully functioning "hack" BIOS (AppleHDA excluded) I'd also have to replace the DSDT.

 

This got me wondering if the usual DSDT hacks (like device renames and HDEF/HDMI/SBUS injection) would have any adverse effects on a Windows dual-boot.

 

I'm leaning towards staying with Chameleon as it's more flexible in these situations, but it's still really cool to think that it's possible to have everything rolled into the BIOS.



#28
tonydickinson

tonydickinson

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Singapore

Kudos to Xpamamadeus for your initial and continued work with Ozmosis and to the other guys who appear to have contributed a great deal and I am referring to Stlvnub and AnV, and others too numerous to mention.

 

A great way to go and I might have a go one day on my Asus Z88.

 

Great work guys - it is amazing what can be achieved, when you set your mind to it.



#29
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,397 posts
  • Gender:Male

According to the Disassembly, Ozmosis has Video support for X3100 just to mention one, so I think it is not limited to "newer" motherboards, even if they have Bios.

It has an "Embedded" mode, for UEFI Firmware, or  "Standalone" mode, for UEFI or stock standard Duet based bios loader(untested), and function the same.

It does not need an edited DSDT, well not on my board. But I did need to edit to get HD4000 working properly.

 

 
This is one nice piece of kit, all I can say is well done to the developers, whoever you are.


#30
maleorderbride

maleorderbride

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Gender:Male

This is amazing.  Just finished installing it to my P9X79 PRO.

 

One questions--how do I pass boot args to the OS?  Edit the com.apple.boot.plist?  Somewhere else?  My motherboard needs npci=0x2000 to boot up, so I get the Apple loading screen, but then it just fades and restarts.



#31
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,397 posts
  • Gender:Male

Ok here is a bash script that you can use, just replace the "Replace"

#!/bin/bash
#SMBIOS
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion=MM61.88Z.0106.B00.1208091121
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName=Macmini6,2
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily=Macmini
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId=Mac-F65AE981FFA204ED
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=Replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU=MD389LL/A
#OzmosisNVRAM
sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-fakesmc-use-nvram"

#APPLE
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM=Replace e.g %90%90%9090%90
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures=%C0%00%7F%FF
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask=%C0%00%14%03 

#CODE
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosDate
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BoardVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:Manufacturer
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProcessorSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ChassisAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:CpuType
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:EnclosureType

#CODE
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask

The "ROM" is your Lan wired MAC address.

Ozmosis uses it's own nvram to pass boot-args.

 

Your Firmware must support NVRAM saving, sometimes you may need to backtrack a few versions to find one that does, then any NVRAM settings will stick.

I had to go from F16g to F15

 

 

 

Anyone wishing to do this mod, may find this handy

#205

Turns kexts into Ffs for inclusion into Firmware.  ;)



#32
maleorderbride

maleorderbride

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Gender:Male

Ok here is a bash script that you can use, just replace the "Replace"

#!/bin/bash
#SMBIOS
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion=MM61.88Z.0106.B00.1208091121
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName=Macmini6,2
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily=Macmini
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId=Mac-F65AE981FFA204ED
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=Replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU=MD389LL/A
#OzmosisNVRAM
sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-fakesmc-use-nvram"

#APPLE
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM=Replace e.g %90%90%9090%90
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures=%C0%00%7F%FF
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask=%C0%00%14%03 

#CODE
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosDate
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BoardVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:Manufacturer
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProcessorSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ChassisAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:CpuType
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:EnclosureType

#CODE
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask

The "ROM" is your Lan wired MAC address.

Ozmosis uses it's own nvram to pass boot-args.

OK, and how do I add npci=0x2000 or its equivalent? 


There has to be a way to do it in the BIOS image, but yes.  Adding the boot-args to the com.apple.boot.plist does succeed in passing them on to the OS.

 

However, that method means I can not boot an App Store download =/



#33
The_Village_Idiot

The_Village_Idiot

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts

Here you go...

An Ozmosis firmware for P8H77-M LE.

I tested it and it works.

 

You can flash it using FTK under Windows or the new DPCIManager (which uses flashrom) under OS X.

 

Alternatively you can download it here:

https://www.dropbox....MLE_Ozmosis.zip

 

PMPatch is applied on the BIOS.

It also has mods for Asus SLIC and custom LAN MAC address (de:ad:ba:be:c0:de)

 

Enjoy :D

a few questions, as i want to multiboot windows 7 and osx on this same exact board.

1. any adverse effect on my windows installation?
2. can this be used using asus updater or via FTK only?
3. i have already downloaded your other modified BIOS for this same board (the one which came with DSDT), do i use that or this osmosis?



#34
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,884 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

a few questions, as i want to multiboot windows 7 and osx on this same exact board.

1. any adverse effect on my windows installation?
2. can this be used using asus updater or via FTK only?
3. i have already downloaded your other modified BIOS for this same board (the one which came with DSDT), do i use that or this osmosis?

1. I use Windows 7 in UEFI install.

It works in that case.

Don't know about legacy Windows boot, haven't tested that.

It works just fine.

2. It's a binary, not a cap file.

You can flash it with flashrom under OS X or use FTK on Windows.

3. This Ozmosis contains a mod to directly boot OS X.

You can thus choose.



#35
StoneTemplePilots

StoneTemplePilots

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria
How to change smbios to macmini6,2?
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion=MM61.88Z.0106.B00.1208091121
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName=Macmini6,2
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=xxxxxxxxxxxx
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily=Macmini
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId=Mac-F65AE981FFA204ED

xxxxxxxxxxxx=serial that need to be generated using clover comfigurator or chameleon wizard. 

Hope this will work for u.

Enjoy

 

 

Hello xpamamadeus,

 

setting the nvram variables does not survive a reboot.

Even settings boot-args='dart=0 -v' is removed from nvram after reboot.

 

Is there any trick to unlock write-access into nvram?

My board is ASUS P8Z77-V LX UEFI ver.2204.

 

Also one question regarding HermitShell - how can it be access?

 

best regards



#36
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,397 posts
  • Gender:Male

OK, and how do I add npci=0x2000 or its equivalent? 


There has to be a way to do it in the BIOS image, but yes.  Adding the boot-args to the com.apple.boot.plist does succeed in passing them on to the OS.

 

However, that method means I can not boot an App Store download =/

sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-fakesmc-use-nvram npci=0x2000"

 

Your Firmware MUST support NVRAM writing, sometimes you need to backtrack a few versions and find one that does.


 



#37
Son_Of_Mole

Son_Of_Mole

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Hi,

 

I have a few questions guys,

 

What is the point of this? From what I can tell you still need all the files and setting that are used in the normal hackintosh bootloader's. All we are doing is making it harder to change settings / bootloader once we implement it into the BIOS.

 

I can see that it would be nice not to have to modify the Apple installers to install the OS and just boot the USB drive right after making it from the App store... But the con's do out weigh the pro's

 

Is there anything new here? Am I missing something or is it just a new way to play around with?

 

Let me know what you think,

 

Thanks

 

 Ross



#38
StoneTemplePilots

StoneTemplePilots

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria

 

sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-fakesmc-use-nvram npci=0x2000"

 

Your Firmware MUST support NVRAM writing, sometimes you need to backtrack a few versions and find one that does.


 

 

Curiosity aside, my firmware does support NVRAM writing booting from chameleon, only osmosis does not access the written values.

 

@Ross, the pro is you don't need a bootloader installed to a HFS+ partiton, you can choose OS X out of bios bootmenu!

That's cluesless. FakeSMC is load from an FFS module. Additional you can add other kexts as UEFI modules, so you can make

a very stable and static mod.

 

The con in the case of osmosis is, that it's not opensource and build for a specific gigabyte board.

 

Loading chameleon or Clover as an UEFI bootloader would be the most awesome stuff I guess ;)

I found some guys already working on it at projectosx.



#39
joe75

joe75

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,513 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

you are correct in your observations! and it really is just something to play around with but so are all boots imho



#40
STLVNUB

STLVNUB

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,397 posts
  • Gender:Male

Curiosity aside, my firmware does support NVRAM writing booting from chameleon, only osmosis does not access the written values.

Can you show your boot log and what are your specs? (besides Gender)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bootloader


2 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy