Jump to content

Intel 4000 HD Internal Screen Problem


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hey I just got a new Dell Inspiron 17R Laptop with Intel i7 processor, 8GB Ram, a 1tb harddrive and an Intel HD 4000 graphic processor.

I succesfully installed Mountain Lion on it and injected the AAPL,ig-platform-id in chameleon bootloader's org.chameleon.Boot.plist to make the Intel HD 4000 work. I tested all the different settings for the different platform IDs.

 

The ones which worked for me were:

 

ig-platform-id: 01660003, Stolen RAM for FB: 64MB, Pipes: 2, Ports: 2, FBMem: 2
ig-platform-id: 01660004, Stolen RAM for FB: 32MB, Pipes: 3, Ports: 1, FBMem: 1

 

For 01660004 the internal Display of my laptop works fine, but the HDMI output does not work.

For 01660003 the Display is kind of distorted, but you can still recognize the Mac OS X desktop and the HDMI output works.

I will post pictures of both displays so you know what i mean.

 

I read that it is absolutely crucial to set your graphics memory size to match your ig-platform-id configuration but unfortunately this is not possible in my bios.

 

How can i change the settings of 01660003 or 01660004 so that both the internal display and also the HDMI output works?

 

thanks in advance

 

Nils

 

 

Here are the pics

http://www.pic-uploa...output.png.html

 

 

 



#2
joe_black

joe_black

    h4ck1nt0sh3r

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male

Tried switching GraphicsEnabler value?

If that doesnt work you need to try manually setting your resolution settings using "Graphics Mode" in your org.boot.chameleon.plist

Could also try a device-properties injection rather than a id,platform-ig injection.

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1366x768x32</string>


#3
toleda

toleda

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 1,266 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

The ones which worked for me were:

For 01660004 the internal Display of my laptop works fine, but the HDMI output does not work.

For 01660003 the Display is kind of distorted, but you can still recognize the Mac OS X desktop and the HDMI output works.

 

Neither framebuffer noted has a HDMI connector.  Try 01660001 (LVDS, HDMI and DP).



#4
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

Tried switching GraphicsEnabler value?

If that doesnt work you need to try manually setting your resolution settings using "Graphics Mode" in your org.boot.chameleon.plist

Could also try a device-properties injection rather than a id,platform-ig injection.

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1366x768x32</string>

Thank you for your fast answer, I tried this but sadly nothing changed, how would the device properties injection work?

 

 

Neither framebuffer noted has a HDMI connector.  Try 01660001 (LVDS, HDMI and DP).

Thank you also for your fast answer, but 01660003 works perfectly with the external monitor, just the internal display is disorted. I tried 01660001 again but it just gives me a blank screen on the internal display and when i connect it via hdmi i just get a distorted external monitor with vertical lines. As I said I tested all options and 01660003 and 01660004 were the only ones which kind of worked.



#5
joe_black

joe_black

    h4ck1nt0sh3r

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thank you for your fast answer, I tried this but sadly nothing changed, how would the device properties injection work?

 

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000004006601140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>

 

Added to org.chameleon.boot.plist in /Extra



#6
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000004006601140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>

Added to org.chameleon.boot.plist in /Extra

 

I guess we misunderstood each other that's what i've been doing the whole time, injecting the device property keys in org.chameleon.boot.plist :D and only the codes from

01660003

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000003006601140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>

and 01660004

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000004006601140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>

showed results as described in the first post



#7
vmnoodle

vmnoodle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

update the bios ,



#8
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco

hello

 

are u applying dual link ?

 

maybe u need it

 

take a look here

 

good hack



#9
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

update the bios ,

I looked into that but there is no update, I have a very limited Bios it is called insydeh H2o

 

 

hello

 

are u applying dual link ?

 

maybe u need it

 

take a look here

 

good hack

Thank you for your help, I have already tried your hex codes coming to the same conclusion that only 01660003 and 01660004 kind of work.

But in your post on olarila.com you are mentioning something about

 

If you need to edit AppleIntelFramebufferCapri connectors to activate other ports

viewtopic.php?f=3&p=24258#p23453

 

maybe this will help me with my internal laptop screen when i'm using 01660003, could you maybe explain how this works?



#10
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco

hello

 

have u try the dual link feature ?

 

take a read here with chameleon.. is u boot loader ?

 

http://www.insanelym...ig-platform-id/

 

see the dual link key..

 

about the edition of the framebuffer.. is a script.. try to use google translator

 

good hack



#11
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

what is duallink feature for? isn't it for laptops who have two graphic cards? i only have the intel 4000hd

 

I also realized something weird, my AGPM.kext is not loaded, does that matter?

 

i will try to understand the framebuffer script thanks ;)



#12
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco

hello

 

u must read or google

 

For resolutions greater than 1366x768 it's usually necessary to inject property DualLink in the display device, which can be done with  DSDT patch

into device name_adr 0x00020000 insert
begin
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)\n
{\n
    Store (Package (0x02)\n
        {\n
            "AAPL00,DualLink",\n
            Buffer (0x04)\n
            {\n
                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00\n
            }\n
        }, Local0)\n
    DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))\n
    Return (Local0)\n
}
end

insert also DTGP method

 

by efi string

 

http://olarila.com/f...ile.php?id=1989

 

that other post to chameleon

 

u can insert the property by key

 

like in efi string

 

or in Clover

 

no dsdt / no efi string

 

only by

 

<key>

 

<String>

 

good hack



#13
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

thank you very much for your help I really appreciate it! :)

 

i do not have really that much experience with dsdt, I tried to find the section with the DSDT editor but did not find them :/ I attached my dsdt file to this post, could you maybe help me out?

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  DSDT.rar   15.72KB   1 downloads


#14
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Both Internal display and HDMI output work now!! :D The only thing not working is the audio with the HDMI out, do you know anything about that?

 

EDIT:

sorry so excited i forgot to write how i did it :)

 

I just edited the AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext with the hex code from LVDS of 01660004

From this

 AAPL,ig-platform-id: 01660003, Stolen RAM for FB: 64MB, Pipes: 2, Ports: 4, FBMem: 2
 @0, 05 03 00 00 02 00 00 00 30 00 00 00 // (LVDS)
 @1, 02 05 00 00 00 04 00 00 07 04 00 00 // (DisplayPort)
 @2, 03 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 81 00 00 00 // (DisplayPort)
 @3, 04 06 00 00 00 04 00 00 81 00 00 00 // (DisplayPort) - DETECTED 0x0 desktop


 AAPL,ig-platform-id: 01660004, Stolen RAM for FB: 32MB, Pipes: 3, Ports: 1, FBMem: 1
 @0, 05 03 00 00 02 00 00 00 30 02 00 00 // (LVDS)

to this

 AAPL,ig-platform-id: 01660003, Stolen RAM for FB: 64MB, Pipes: 2, Ports: 4, FBMem: 2
 @0, 05 03 00 00 02 00 00 00 30 02 00 00 // (LVDS)
 @1, 02 05 00 00 00 04 00 00 07 04 00 00 // (DisplayPort)
 @2, 03 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 81 00 00 00 // (DisplayPort)
 @3, 04 06 00 00 00 04 00 00 81 00 00 00 // (DisplayPort) - DETECTED 0x0 desktop


#15
toleda

toleda

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 1,266 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

The only thing not working is the audio with the HDMI out, do you know anything about that?

 

I just edited the AppleIntelFramebufferCapri.kext with the hex code from LVDS of 01660004

From this

 AAPL,ig-platform-id: 01660004, Stolen RAM for FB: 32MB, Pipes: 3, Ports: 1, FBMem: 1
 @0, 05 03 00 00 02 00 00 00 30 02 00 00 // (LVDS)

to this

 AAPL,ig-platform-id: 01660003, Stolen RAM for FB: 64MB, Pipes: 2, Ports: 4, FBMem: 2
 @0, 05 03 00 00 02 00 00 00 30 02 00 00 // (LVDS)
 @1, 02 05 00 00 00 04 00 00 07 04 00 00 // (DisplayPort)
 @2, 03 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 81 00 00 00 // (DisplayPort)
 @3, 04 06 00 00 00 04 00 00 81 00 00 00 // (DisplayPort) - DETECTED 0x0 desktop

 

Assuming the HDMI device is on the connector labeled DETECTED:

DP>HDMI

Find:

04 06 00 00 00 04 00 00 81 00 00 00

Replace:

04 06 00 00 00 08 00 00 06 00 00 00



#16
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

thank you very much for your answer, I tried this but audio is still not working :/ do you have any other suggestions?



#17
toleda

toleda

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 1,266 posts
  • Gender:Male

thank you very much for your answer, I tried this but audio is still not working :/ do you have any other suggestions?

DSDT edits required, see Mountain Lion HDMI Audio - OSx86 10.8 (Mountain Lion) - InsanelyMac Forum.  Edit the patch for the framebuffer you are using.



#18
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

thank you once again, could someone maybe help me with that? I've been sitting here for the past couple of days but i just don't seem to get the hang of it, I've attached my dsdt file

 

 

Attached Files



#19
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,755 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco

hello

 

there it is

 

Attached File  DSDT.aml.zip   16.98KB   24 downloads

 

full edited for ivy laptop

 

ig-platform-id set to 3

 

hdef

 

layout id 3

 

must find a proper applehda for u alc

 

and read ... the links the people  post to u.

 

good hack



#20
nils92

nils92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

thank you very much again for your help, i was ill the last couple of days and just came back to fixing this problem, it says on the dell homepage that i have an ALC-3221 soundcard so which driver should I use?







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy