Jump to content

emachines E440-1394?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
cabal2000

cabal2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gander

Brother inlaw has the above laptop and I am looking to install OSX on it. 

http://support.gatew...eME440sp2.shtml

Is there a install guide around anywhere? Googled it but dont really see anything around.



#2
joe_black

joe_black

    h4ck1nt0sh3r

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male

Looking at hardware it could be possible... not guaranteeing anything but you will need an AMD kernel and most likely have big issues using Mountain Lion.

You'll need to put a lot of work into that machine to get it working right (or at all)

 

Try installing 10.6 SL first with Nawcom's Legacy kernel and then move up the ladder.

Biggest issue is that CPU (single core, mobile V series)

Also try modbin if Nawcom's fails.



#3
cabal2000

cabal2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gander

And i think that is where I am having the issues to. At present I can't boot to the install screen

rd(0,0)/extra/modbin_kernel   is still not bootingh for me with and without -v



#4
joe_black

joe_black

    h4ck1nt0sh3r

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male

Always boot with -v until you're positive everything is stable.

 

I'm assuming you found the Hazard distro based on your boot flags.

Post a picture of what happens when you boot with -v at the end.

Like I said, you may also want to try Nawcom's Legacy Kernel.



#5
cabal2000

cabal2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gander

no boot on Hazard "Snow_Leopard_10.6.1-10.6.2_SSE2_SSE3_Intel_AMD_by_Hazard"

Tried several -v -f -x arch=i386 busratio=20 combinations but i cant get the boot screen


Attached File  DSCF0207 (1).JPG   194.17KB   3 downloadsnothing with hazard.

This is what I get with MODCD 3.2.0 with retail DVD 10.6



#6
joe_black

joe_black

    h4ck1nt0sh3r

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male

no boot on Hazard "Snow_Leopard_10.6.1-10.6.2_SSE2_SSE3_Intel_AMD_by_Hazard"

Tried several -v -f -x arch=i386 busratio=20 combinations but i cant get the boot screen


attachicon.gifDSCF0207 (1).JPGnothing with hazard.

This is what I get with MODCD 3.2.0 with retail DVD 10.6

 

Google search that last line: ACPI: System State [S0 S3 S4 S5] (S3)

 

Seems to be incompatible chipset, but maybe you can find a fix.

Best of luck!

 

* EDIT *

Looks like someone fixed it by using "AppleAPIC.kext" from 10.4.8 or earlier. 



#7
cabal2000

cabal2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gander

not a problem!! Thanks for your help



#8
joe_black

joe_black

    h4ck1nt0sh3r

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Gender:Male

Lookie what I found!

Try adding it to /System/Library/Extensions on your USB/DVD (backup the original, then replace it)

Attached Files



#9
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,010 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:marocain

not a problem!! Thanks for your help

Hi  cabal2000, come here, here, can you ask us holes in the belly you're have a successfully running system  installed :-), here are a few tips, etc.

http://www.insanelym...development/ :)


first:

Very important are the BIOS settings and the boot flag.
 

 

Second:
Installing Snow Leopard is possible only with the nawcom MOD CD !!

see here

either USB or burn to CD and boot from.

I made the best experience with Snow Leopard 10.6.6, you can also take a different version.

Booting with the nawcom CD, then remove nawcom CD, than insert Snow Leopard disc in the drive and hit the F5 key. and booting with the following boot flag:
rd(0,0)/Extra/modbin-kernel -force64 -v -f

with the Disk Utility, the OS X HDD with GUID partition,
Adjusting installation only the most necessary that is, no sound, no network card etc. that you can do to successfully install later.

to patch the AMD binaries, then you must follow the tutorial of akimoa.

see here

Do I need retail snow leopard for this or will this work with hazard os x too?

 

After installation, you have to patch the binaries.
keep it on the tutorials,, unfortunately only in German you can use google translator

 

or read up on AMD development,

 

Good luck.!!!







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy