Working Intel DH87MC + i5-4670k (Haswell) Installation with 10.8 Server

2 posts in this topic

(Also will work the same for 10.8.4, without the server.). Now running 10.9 Server. [2014-11-13] Now running 10.10.0 + Server 4.0 [2015-09-25] Running 10.11 GM (No Longer as server)

I have been building Hackintosh boxes for several years now. I originally favored microATX format. After 4 different hacks, and being a Mac user since the early days, I came to the conclusion that most of the hack hardware's reliability was sorely lacking:

• microATX has heat issues when you load up the box, even without overclocking.
  • Gigabyte and other popular boards are problematic from a quality point of view. They are also archaic, some with VGA ports and such.
  • BIOS. Just infinite opportunities to goof things up.
  • Memory. I had so much trouble, it is not even funny.

I needed to build a 10.8 OSX Server with rock-solid uptime. So, here is the hardware I acquired:

• Corsair 400R case. Plenty of space. Most crucially, runs cool.
  • Intel DH87MC ATX motherboard. A real Haswell H87 motherboard. Yes I know, it is not over-clockable. But I am building a server, and shooting for quality and reliability. Has no obsolete anything on it. Super quality board.
  • Corsair Vengeance 8Gigs (I had so much trouble with memory in the past.) This is supposed to be just good memory.
  • i5-4670k. Why 'k'? It was on sale. I will not overclock.
  • A decent OCR 600W modular power supply. I recycled one of my old ones. 
  • Nvidia 8800GT video card. I recycled that one too. After all, it is a server, not a game machine. Eventually, I will attempt to use the integrated graphics.(Don't even try this before Maverick.)

Now the key question. Does it boot 10.8.4? Yes it does.

Does it run as a OSX server? Yes!

Here is how I did it:

• Assemble everything. 400R is a beautiful case.
  • Boot with and test memory with memtest CD. Got burned before.