Jump to content

GeForce GTX 650 2GB 2xHDMI 2xDVI (quad display)


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

So I picked up the Zotac AMP! card the other day to use with 4 displays in the Dell Poweredge T110 server that I have at work.

I'm testing this card out in my real Mac Pro. However I am unable to run the 4 displays like it advertises at nvidia's website.

The most I can get is 3 displays from the card using the 2 DVI and the outermost HDMI port, the middle HDMI port doesn't do anything other than make all my screens flash blue like it does when it is detecting a new display but it doesn't output video. 

It does detect displays A -> D in the ioreg output so that makes me think there should be a way to get all 4 displays working.

 

Is this some kind of windows only drivers trick or is there a way to get quad displays from this card in OSX?

NVCAP? Maybe? not sure.

 

I've included as much as I can think of in this post.
ioreg output, lspci output. 

(I've attached the full ioreg output saved from ioregistry explorer)

 

The Zotac Card has 2x DVI (1x DVI-D 1x DVI-A/D) and 2x HDMI (full size).

 

I've tried using the stock Apple Nvidia drivers and the Nvidia Web drivers.

Same results.

 

FWIW the HDMI audio is not detected, not concerned about getting that working too much, but it would be nice to have that too.

 

Display Support:
​Multi Monitor - 4 displays
Maximum Digital Resolution - 2560x1600 / 4096x2160*
Maximum VGA Resolution - 2048x1536
HDCP - Yes
HDMI - Yes
Standard Display Connectors - One Dual Link DVI-I, One Dual Link DVI-D, One Mini HDMI
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650:
 
  Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
  Type: GPU
  Bus: PCIe
  Slot: Slot-2
  PCIe Lane Width: x16
  VRAM (Total): 2047 MB
  Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
  Device ID: 0x0fc6
  Revision ID: 0x00a2
  ROM Revision: preset 1.0.0
  Displays:
SAMSUNG:
  Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
  Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
  Mirror: Off
  Online: Yes
  Rotation: Supported
  Television: Yes
HF257:
  Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
  Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
  Display Serial Number: 910RG3NA01945
  Main Display: Yes
  Mirror: Off
  Online: Yes
  Rotation: Supported
  Television: Yes
L226W:
  Resolution: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
  Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
  Mirror: Off
  Online: Yes
  Rotation: Supported

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500285

	ZOTAC ZT-61003-10M
			Interface
			PCI Express 3.0 x16
		Chipset
			NVIDIA
			GPU
			GeForce GTX 650
			Core Clock
			1189MHz
			CUDA Cores
			384
		Memory
			Effective Memory Clock
			5600MHz
			Memory Size
			2GB
			Memory Interface
			128-bit
			Memory Type
			GDDR5
		3D API
			DirectX 11
			OpenGL 4.2
		Ports
			2 x HDMI
			2 x DVI
		General
			RAMDAC
			400 MHz

			Max Resolution
			2560 x 1600

			3D VISION Game Ready
			Yes

			SLI Support
			No

			Cooler
			With Fan

			Slot Width
			Dual Slot

			System Requirements
			Minimum of a 350 Watt power supply.

			Power Connector
			6 Pin
		
			Dual-Link DVI Supported
			Yes
		
			HDCP Ready
			Yes
	
			Card Dimensions
			6.03" x 4.37"

		Features
			NVIDIA Adaptive Vertical Sync 
			NVIDIA Surround technology
			NVIDIA Unified architecture
			NVIDIA PhysX technology
			NVIDIA CUDA technology
			Blu-ray 3D ready

			Package Contents
			1 x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 650 AMP! Graphics Card
			1 x DVI-to-VGA adapter
			1 x Dual MOLEX-to-PCIe 6-pin power adapters
			1 x User manual
			1 x Driver Disk

Mac-Pro-3:~ ludacrisvp$ lspci -vvv -s 01:00.

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0fc6 (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
    Subsystem: ZOTAC International (MCO) Ltd. Unknown device 1263
    Control: I/O- Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx+
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 0
    Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 18
    Region 0: Memory at b4000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
    Region 1: Memory at <ignored> (64-bit, prefetchable)
    Region 3: Memory at <ignored> (64-bit, prefetchable)
    Region 5: I/O ports at 3000 [disabled]
    Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 3
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
    Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    Capabilities: [68] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable+
    Address: 00000000fee00000  Data: 4093
    Capabilities: [78] Express (v1) Endpoint, MSI 00
    DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s unlimited, L1 <64us
    ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
    DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
    RlxdOrd+ ExtTag+ PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
    MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
    DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-
    LnkCap: Port #4, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 <512ns, L1 <4us
    ClockPM+ Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
    LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk-
    ExtSynch- ClockPM+ AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
    LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
    Capabilities: [b4] Vendor Specific Information <?>
    Capabilities: [100] #10de
 
01:00.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0e1b (rev a1)
    Subsystem: ZOTAC International (MCO) Ltd. Unknown device 1263
    Control: I/O- Mem- BusMaster- SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR- FastB2B- DisINTx-
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
    Interrupt: pin B routed to IRQ 19
    Region 0: Memory at b5080000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled]
    Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 3
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1- D2- AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
    Status: D0 PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    Capabilities: [68] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    Address: 00000000fee00000  Data: 4094
    Capabilities: [78] Express (v1) Endpoint, MSI 00
    DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s unlimited, L1 <64us
    ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
    DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
    RlxdOrd+ ExtTag+ PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
    MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
    DevSta: CorrErr- UncorrErr- FatalErr- UnsuppReq- AuxPwr- TransPend-
    LnkCap: Port #4, Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 <512ns, L1 <4us
    ClockPM+ Suprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
    LnkCtl: ASPM L0s L1 Enabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk-
    ExtSynch- ClockPM+ AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
    LnkSta: Speed 2.5GT/s, Width x16, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
    Capabilities: [100] #10de
Mac-Pro-3:~ ludacrisvp$ ioreg -l |grep NVDA
 
    | |   |   | |   "NVDA,Features" = <00080000>
    | |   |   | |   "NVDAType" = "Web"
    | |   |   | |   "NVDA,noEFI" = <"true">
    | |   |   | |   "NVCLASS" = "NVDA"
    | |   |   | |   "NVDA,gart-width" = 64
    | |   |   | |   "device_type" = <"NVDA,Parent">
    | |   |   | |   "NVDAinitgl_created" = "yes"
    | |   |   | +-o NVDAHal  <class IOService, id 0x1000002ff, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (19206 ms), retain 6>
    | |   |   | |     "nubType" = "NVDAHal"
    | |   |   | |     "NVDAType" = "Web"
    | |   |   | +-o NVDAgl  <class IOService, id 0x100000300, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (19938 ms), retain 6>
    | |   |   | |     "nubType" = "NVDAgl"
    | |   |   | |     "NVDAType" = "Web"
    | |   |   | +-o NVDA,Display-A@0  <class IONDRVDevice, id 0x100000308, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (20035 ms), retain 8>
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,SubDeviceClass" = <80200000>
    | |   |   | | |   "name" = <"NVDA,Display-A">
    | |   |   | | |   "compatible" = <"NVDA,NVMac">
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,DeviceClass" = <81000000>
    | |   |   | | +-o NVDA  <class NVDA, id 0x100000347, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (79 ms), retain 16>
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatched" = "NVDA,NVMac"
    | |   |   | |   |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatch" = ("NVDA,NVMac")
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOClass" = "NVDA"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOParentMatch" = {"IOPropertyMatch"={"NVCLASS"="NVDA","NVDAType"="Web"},"IOProviderClass"="IOPCIDevice"}
    | |   |   | |           "IODisplayPrefsKey" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/NRP1@1/IOPCI2PCIBridge/PXS2@0/NVDA,Display-A@0/NVDA/display0/AppleDisplay-2264-1a41"
    | |   |   | | |   "IOPropertyMatch" = ({"NVDAType"="Web","nubType"="NVDAgl","unmatched"="yes"},{"NVArch"="NV50","nubType"="NVDAgl","unmatched"="yes","NVDAType"="Web"},{"NVArch"="GF100","nubType"="NVDAgl","unmatched"="yes","NVDAType"="Web"},{"NVArch"="GK100","nubType"="NVDAgl","unmatched"="yes","NVDAType"="Web"},{"NVArch"="GM100","nubType"="NVDAgl","unmatched"="yes","NVDAType"="Web"})
    | |   |   | +-o NVDA,Display-B@1  <class IONDRVDevice, id 0x10000030a, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (37 ms), retain 8>
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,SubDeviceClass" = <80200000>
    | |   |   | | |   "name" = <"NVDA,Display-B">
    | |   |   | | |   "compatible" = <"NVDA,NVMac">
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,DeviceClass" = <81000000>
    | |   |   | | +-o NVDA  <class NVDA, id 0x100000352, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (36 ms), retain 16>
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatched" = "NVDA,NVMac"
    | |   |   | |   |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatch" = ("NVDA,NVMac")
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOClass" = "NVDA"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOParentMatch" = {"IOPropertyMatch"={"NVCLASS"="NVDA","NVDAType"="Web"},"IOProviderClass"="IOPCIDevice"}
    | |   |   | |           "IODisplayPrefsKey" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/NRP1@1/IOPCI2PCIBridge/PXS2@0/NVDA,Display-B@1/NVDA/display0/AppleDisplay-4c2d-7e1"
    | |   |   | +-o NVDA,Display-C@2  <class IONDRVDevice, id 0x10000030b, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (23 ms), retain 8>
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,SubDeviceClass" = <80200000>
    | |   |   | | |   "name" = <"NVDA,Display-C">
    | |   |   | | |   "compatible" = <"NVDA,NVMac">
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,DeviceClass" = <81000000>
    | |   |   | | +-o NVDA  <class NVDA, id 0x10000035e, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (22 ms), retain 16>
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatched" = "NVDA,NVMac"
    | |   |   | |   |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatch" = ("NVDA,NVMac")
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOClass" = "NVDA"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOParentMatch" = {"IOPropertyMatch"={"NVCLASS"="NVDA","NVDAType"="Web"},"IOProviderClass"="IOPCIDevice"}
    | |   |   | |           "IODisplayPrefsKey" = "IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/NRP1@1/IOPCI2PCIBridge/PXS2@0/NVDA,Display-C@2/NVDA/display0/AppleDisplay-1e6d-566b"
    | |   |   | +-o NVDA,Display-D@3  <class IONDRVDevice, id 0x10000030c, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (2 ms), retain 8>
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,SubDeviceClass" = <80200000>
    | |   |   | | |   "name" = <"NVDA,Display-D">
    | |   |   | | |   "compatible" = <"NVDA,NVMac">
    | |   |   | | |   "NVDA,DeviceClass" = <81000000>
    | |   |   | | +-o NVDA  <class NVDA, id 0x100000364, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (1 ms), retain 13>
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatched" = "NVDA,NVMac"
    | |   |   | |   |   "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.NVDAResmanWeb"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IONameMatch" = ("NVDA,NVMac")
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOClass" = "NVDA"
    | |   |   | |   |   "IOParentMatch" = {"IOPropertyMatch"={"NVCLASS"="NVDA","NVDAType"="Web"},"IOProviderClass"="IOPCIDevice"}
    | |   |   | +-o NVDAinitgl  <class IOService, id 0x1000003a5, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 6>
    | |   |   |       "nubType" = "NVDAinitgl"
    | |   |   |       "NVDA" = "ready"
    | |   |   |       "NVCLASS" = "NVDA"
    | |   |   |       "NVDAType" = "Web"

Attached Files



#2
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

Your IOReg was taken with all 4 displays connected??, check this could help http://www.insanelym...ys/?hl= fixedid

 

good luck



#3
toleda

toleda

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Gurus
  • 1,556 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

So I picked up the Zotac AMP! card the other day to use with 4 displays in the Dell Poweredge T110 server that I have at work.

I'm testing this card out in my real Mac Pro. However I am unable to run the 4 displays like it advertises at nvidia's website.

The most I can get is 3 displays from the card using the 2 DVI and the outermost HDMI port, the middle HDMI port doesn't do anything other than make all my screens flash blue like it does when it is detecting a new display but it doesn't output video. 

It does detect displays A -> D in the ioreg output so that makes me think there should be a way to get all 4 displays working.

 

Is this some kind of windows only drivers trick or is there a way to get quad displays from this card in OSX?

NVCAP? Maybe? not sure.

 

FWIW the HDMI audio is not detected, not concerned about getting that working too much, but it would be nice to have that too.


The issue is the dual HDMI outputs in OS X.  The standard configuration (2xDVI, DP and HDMI) is a better choice; use a DP2HDMI adapter for the 2nd HDMI. DSDT edits required for HDMI audio, see Mountain Lion HDMI Audio - OSx86 10.8 (Mountain Lion) - InsanelyMac Forum.  HDMI audio is supported on the DVI ports with DVI2HDMI adapters.



#4
Amit Meena

Amit Meena

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male

does this card works Out Of Box or you needed any patch to get it working ?

 

i'm planning to order this card so please give your opinion about this card.

 

Thank You.



#5
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

So apparently my email notificiations weren't working from this thread so I missed the updates. :( 

Your IOReg was taken with all 4 displays connected??, check this could help http://www.insanelym...ys/?hl= fixedid

 

good luck

I believe it was with all 4 connected, I'll have to try again.

That app looks interesting...

 

The issue is the dual HDMI outputs in OS X.  The standard configuration (2xDVI, DP and HDMI) is a better choice; use a DP2HDMI adapter for the 2nd HDMI. DSDT edits required for HDMI audio, see Mountain Lion HDMI Audio - OSx86 10.8 (Mountain Lion) - InsanelyMac Forum.  HDMI audio is supported on the DVI ports with DVI2HDMI adapters.

I wanted to avoid needing to buy an extra adapter as I believed it would have needed to have been an 'active adapter' to work. But it sounds like passive would work with this series of cards.

(I have a ATI 5770 dual DVI and HDMI+DP that can only run 3 displays when using an active DP adapter, I assumed it was the same for this)

 

I have to wonder if a custom "NVCAP" would be the solution to allowing dual HDMI...

 

does this card works Out Of Box or you needed any patch to get it working ?

 

i'm planning to order this card so please give your opinion about this card.

 

Thank You.

Just plugged in the card and that was all.

Works OOB in the Mac Pro that I have, the Dell that I bought the card for is unable to make it past POST with the card due to its power usage over PCIe even though it has the PCIe power cables connected....



#6
Amit Meena

Amit Meena

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male

Just plugged in the card and that was all.

Works OOB in the Mac Pro that I have, the Dell that I bought the card for is unable to make it past POST with the card due to its power usage over PCIe even though it has the PCIe power cables connected....

i don't know if it'll work with my Gigabyte Z77X UP5 TH board or not :(



#7
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • Retired
  • 1,159 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)

The card should be just as plug n play in the Mac Pro as it is in your mobo since most gtx 6xx cards have a nice OOB features the latest seeds of OS X.

 

Last I checked though, the gtx 6xx cards could output 3 displays simutaneously but that 4th one would be an "accessory" display though I'm not sure how it functions under OS X.



#8
Amit Meena

Amit Meena

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male

The card should be just as plug n play in the Mac Pro as it is in your mobo since most gtx 6xx cards have a nice OOB features the latest seeds of OS X.

 

Last I checked though, the gtx 6xx cards could output 3 displays simutaneously but that 4th one would be an "accessory" display though I'm not sure how it functions under OS X.

but ludacrisvp said that it didn't worked with his Dell Poweredge T110 server



#9
ludacrisvp

ludacrisvp

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

but ludacrisvp said that it didn't worked with his Dell Poweredge T110 server

The reason it doesn't work on the Dell Server is that Dell didn't follow PCIe standards. 

(This server is BIOS limited to 16GB of RAM max, in addition to PCIe limitations)

The standards show the 8x full length slot should provide at minimum 25watts of power, Dell artificially limited the board to provide minimum of 15watts and a max of 25watts.

 

It should work in any consumer grade motherboard.



#10
Amit Meena

Amit Meena

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male

The reason it doesn't work on the Dell Server is that Dell didn't follow PCIe standards. 

(This server is BIOS limited to 16GB of RAM max, in addition to PCIe limitations)

The standards show the 8x full length slot should provide at minimum 25watts of power, Dell artificially limited the board to provide minimum of 15watts and a max of 25watts.

 

It should work in any consumer grade motherboard.

ohhhh thanx man, lemme order it than :D



#11
Amit Meena

Amit Meena

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Gender:Male

before ordering it , i came across this card ::: ZOTAC GTX 650 Ti Boost 2 GB

 

so this one is fine too or should i order the AMP version only ?

 

i want to purchase this one coz its a 192bit card(future investment :D )

 

so please confirm between GTX 650 AMP or GTX 650 TI Boost

 

Thank You







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2015 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy