Jump to content

Can't run basic apps in ML 10.8.4 guest on a win8 host vmware.


Best Answer Donk, 07 July 2013 - 05:23 PM

Correct this is a known limitation of OS X guests. I am using mine for software development and this is not a problem for me. Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
johni

johni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

hello guys , 

having some trouble running applications such as iWeb, iPhoto, Pages.

the app starts, but when i choose a layout i get a blank page. (like it's there but i can't see it)

 

this is happening after installing vmware tools and unlocking vmware (read by one of the guides in this site).

 

 

my mac info is this:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 3.47.06 PM.png   70.46KB   4 downloads

 

 

example for what's happening:

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 3.46.03 PM.png   174.45KB   4 downloads

 

after choosing the layout i get this :

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 3.46.20 PM.png   504.83KB   4 downloads

 

 

and another example from pages:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-07-07 at 1.12.30 AM.png   131.25KB   4 downloads

 

after choosing: 

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-07-07 at 1.12.58 AM.png   634.17KB   4 downloads

 

 

if someone can explain me why is this happening and how to fix this i'd be very very glad! so i can start using OSX finally.



#2
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

My guess is no hardware accelerated graphics. OS X is kind of worthless without it.

 

Look in the "multibooting and virtualization" sub forum for a solution.



#3
johni

johni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

did so.

 

you want to tell me that all those who run osx as guest on vmware have this problem? 

i couldn't find a solution for this, only the guide for the vmware tools installation which made everything work much better but still can't run those apps.

 

and which sub forum do you see under Multiboot and virtualization ? 

 

thanks.



#4
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Unfortunately there is no "official" solution for this as Apple don't permit virtualization of OS X under Windows. This means VMWare don't provide support for it...they don't have to.

From the VMWare forums:

"running legally virtualizable versions of Mac OS X or OS X in a Virtual Machine may only be done when done on Apple-branded hardware and when done while running under Mac OS X"

 

Yes, I'm guessing all those who run OS X in a guest on VMWare on Windows have this problem.

Multibooting and virtualization is a sub-forum. It's the right place to discuss issues when running OS X in a virtual machine. If there is a solution for your issue, you will find it there.

 

I can think of two things:

 

1. find a way to make OS X render everything in software mode

2. install a 3rd party video driver for running OS X in VMWare, made explicitly to deal with this issue.



#5
johni

johni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
Can you think where I can find those 3rd party drivers?
Also searched for those on nvidia website since I have an nvidia card.

#6
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,049 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Yes, in the multi-booting and virtualization sub forum...

 

You can't install drivers for the host's video card inside the guest! The guest doesn't know that you have an nvidia card..



#7
johni

johni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
Well okay. I'll search some more although I have done that already.

Couldn't find anything related to this issue.

#8
NSCXP2005

NSCXP2005

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 587 posts
  • Location:Manchester UK
Hi mate,

Try installing this under OSX.

http://www.insanelym...or-OS-X,-v1.2.5
VMware SVGA II display driver for OS X, v1.2.5

This should hopefully make things better.

NSCX2005

#9
johni

johni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Hi mate,

Try installing this under OSX.

http://www.insanelym...or-OS-X,-v1.2.5
VMware SVGA II display driver for OS X, v1.2.5

This should hopefully make things better.

NSCX2005

 

 

actually i just did . :) but sadly it didn't help me.

you can see at the picture that now my displays info is :

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-07-07 at 11.03.06 AM.png   95.64KB   4 downloads

 

but i can't run the apps properly.

 

you can see at this video yourself:

 



#10
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,924 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

There are no accelerated QE/CI drivers for OS X on any VMware products including supported platforms such as VMware Fusion. This is something we all have to deal with when virtualizing OS X even on a Mac. 



#11
johni

johni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

There are no accelerated QE/CI drivers for OS X on any VMware products including supported platforms such as VMware Fusion. This is something we all have to deal with when virtualizing OS X even on a Mac. 

excuse me mate for repeating my question.

are you having the same problem as showed in the video? meaning, you can't use any of the ilife apps properly?

 

out of curiosity, what are you doing on your guest osx then?

 

we can't do anything lol, what's the point.



#12
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,924 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Best Answer

Correct this is a known limitation of OS X guests. I am using mine for software development and this is not a problem for me.

#13
johni

johni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

Correct this is a known limitation of OS X guests. I am using mine for software development and this is not a problem for me.


I do thank you for your helping.
To my understanding from you, there is no solution for the problem I present to you here.

It's at least an answer, not what I've expected.

I do thank you.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy