Jump to content

No Hard Drives

AppleACPIPlatform IOPCIFamily Mavericks HDD Missing Issue Volumes AHCI

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

I have started testing Mavericks DP1 and installed it on spare USB drive. 

Specs:

Supermicro X8DAE

Dual Xeon 5530

Nvidia GTX 570

24GB RAM

 

From Mountain Lion installation I already know that this motherboard won't work properly W/O replacing AppleACPIPlatform and IOPCIFamily kexts (freezing etc.). So, I have installed as usual with -x, installation went smoothly, but when I replace those two kexts and reboot all my HDDs are missing.

In verbose mode I see that com.apple.driver.AHCIPort has failed to load because of some error ..... I suppose that we'll need updated AppleACPIPlatform and IOPCIFamily kexts for Mavericks?



#2
PoisonApple666

PoisonApple666

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

I'm not trying to be a smartass or anything....but could your finder preferences have gotten changed somewhere along the line??



#3
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

No, drives are there before I replace two kexts. After that they are gone.

I've Googled the issue and I found that couple of guys have the same problem, so this is not isolated case.



#4
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:AKern@RampageDev.com

ACHI set in the BIOS? 



#5
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Maybe theres' a way to fix the issues in DSDT so you don't have to replace kexts. If it works ok but crashes after a while maybe there is a hardware conflict somewhere.

You can try disabling as much on board hardware as possible in the BIOS and removing expansion cards as well. If it works better with less hw in use maybe you'll be able to pinpoint where the conflict is.

 

IORegistryExplorer (comes with xcode dev tools) is useful for tracking down IRQ conflicts. By expanding each device in the tree, you can see which IRQ(s) it sits on. On most motherboards, a handful of IRQs are hardcoded for the HPET and other devices. You can remove these and let OS X distribute the IRQs the way it wants, this can help sometimes. You can also do the opposite, force an IRQ for a specific device.

 

I know "IRQ conflicts" sounds like something from the Windows 95 era but it does happen.

I believe this practice was first documented by THe KiNG here: http://www.projectos...p?showtopic=564



#6
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

ACHI set in the BIOS? 

Yes, AHCI is set in BIOS but after replacing AppleACPIPlatform and IOPCIFamily kexts, com.apple.driver.AHCIPort won't load.  Safe boot with original kexts work fine and all drives are there. It will even boot regularly but it is painfully slow and unusable (I had same issue after ML)

I suppose that something has to be modified in added kexts, in order to load AHCIPort driver.

 

Maybe theres' a way to fix the issues in DSDT so you don't have to replace kexts. If it works ok but crashes after a while maybe there is a hardware conflict somewhere.

You can try disabling as much on board hardware as possible in the BIOS and removing expansion cards as well. If it works better with less hw in use maybe you'll be able to pinpoint where the conflict is.

 

I suppose that issue can be fixed in DSDT but I have already went through drill with ML .... removing hardware, turning off one CPU, removing HDDs, changing GPUs, multiple BIOS variations - always the same result (extremely slow performance, but W/O crash). At the end only old AppleACPIPlatform and IOPCIFamily kexts (from Netkas) solved the problem.

I have also tried checking IRQ conflicts, and although I know how to fix some things with DSDT (CPU alias, add GPU, orange icon fix, RTC fix, etc.), it is still above my knowledge after all this years :( Anyway I will see how to remove IRQs because I haven't tried that yet.

 

Thank you for your help guys.



#7
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:AKern@RampageDev.com

Post a un modded DSDT and a IOreg and I will take a look. 



#8
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

Here is unmodified DSDT and IOreg.

I have updated to DP2 and the problem is still the same.

 

Thank you @Rampage Dev

Attached Files



#9
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:AKern@RampageDev.com

 

Here is unmodified DSDT and IOreg.

I have updated to DP2 and the problem is still the same.

 

Thank you @Rampage Dev

 

This DSDT has been edited... 



#10
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

I was sure that's raw DSDT extracted on Windows couple months ago when motherboard arrived (I usually do that first on new MB).

Anyway I have booted clean MountainLion and extracted new DSDT.

Attached Files



#11
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:AKern@RampageDev.com

I was sure that's raw DSDT extracted on Windows couple months ago when motherboard arrived (I usually do that first on new MB).

Anyway I have booted clean MountainLion and extracted new DSDT.

Install this DSDT and then get a new IOreg with the app here:

 

http://rampagedev.wo...w-to-use-ioreg/

 

 

Attached Files



#12
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

There was two DSDTs in the archive (DSDT and DSDT 2), so I have made IOregs for both (IOREG and IOREG2).

Thank you very much for your time!

Attached Files



#13
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

Update:

I have tried removing IRQs from DSDT as in The KiNG's post mentioned above, but the problem is still there.

However I have managed to fix "missing HDDs" issue by using AppleAHCIPort.kext from 10.8.4. It is now loading properly and all HDDs are mounted (Mavericks DP2). Of course this is not perfect solution and we'll need updated IOPCIFamily.kext that will work properly with Mavericks (I see that a lot of people are using IOPCIFamily.kext from Netkas in their ML installations).



#14
chris1111

chris1111

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada

Same problem with my Dell optiplex 755 cpu core2 E8500 3.16ghz / 8gig of ram /  geforce gt 610 2gig  

this configuration works perfect on ML .

 

I try  to  using AppleAHCIPort.kext from 10.8.4. and no disk  appears ??



#15
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

Same problem with my Dell optiplex 755 cpu core2 E8500 3.16ghz / 8gig of ram /  geforce gt 610 2gig  

this configuration works perfect on ML .

 

I try  to  using AppleAHCIPort.kext from 10.8.4. and no disk  appears ??

Try using this combination of kexts (attached).

Attached Files



#16
chris1111

chris1111

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada

Try using this combination of kexts (attached).

thanks for reply ! but not work :(  :fiery:



#17
sampledi

sampledi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts

Strange, it should work. Have you installed kexts with Kexthelper (S/L/E)? What does it say in verbose mode (com.apple.driver.AHCIPort has failed to load ... or something)? Do you see the drives in safe mode? 



#18
chris1111

chris1111

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada

Hi sampledi: :)  this is what append when I change the kext I used kexwizard to injected the 3 kext ;

everytime I try to change the kext on S/L/E  I recive this kernel panicoptipl10.jpg



#19
pharillion

pharillion

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Hi,

 

I had the problem of missing SATA hard drives with 10.9 on a Dell Precision 690 which uses an ESB2 SATA controller.  This runs ML very well but on my initial installation attempt with 10.9 DP1 Disk Utility would see no SATA hard drives.  I did manage a successful installation of 10.9 DP1 onto  a USB HDD and also using the onboard LSI SATA/SAS chipset after modifying AppleLSIFusionMPT.kext.

 

Looking with IORegistryExplorer, AppleAHCIPort.kext would attach to the ESB2 SATA but never show any disks.

 

Upgrading to DP2 made no difference, and I spent a while adding "compatible" and "name" flags to the ESB2 SATA entry in my DSDT but to no effect.  Rolling back to the 10.8.4 AppleAHCIPort.kext also didn't help.

 

Upon upgrading to DP3 suddenly the ESB2 HDDs became visible exactly as in ML.  Thus I think that this is probably the consequence of a bug in DP1 and DP2 which Apple have fixed in DP3.

 

I would suggest that anyone with this problem installs on USB and upgrades to DP3 or beyond.  Their SATA drives should then appear and it should be possible to clone the 10.9 installation across.

 

Good Luck,



#20
chris1111

chris1111

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 1,566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal Canada

 

 

Hi,

 

I had the problem of missing SATA hard drives with 10.9 on a Dell Precision 690 which uses an ESB2 SATA controller.  This runs ML very well but on my initial installation attempt with 10.9 DP1 Disk Utility would see no SATA hard drives.  I did manage a successful installation of 10.9 DP1 onto  a USB HDD and also using the onboard LSI SATA/SAS chipset after modifying AppleLSIFusionMPT.kext.

 

Looking with IORegistryExplorer, AppleAHCIPort.kext would attach to the ESB2 SATA but never show any disks.

 

Upgrading to DP2 made no difference, and I spent a while adding "compatible" and "name" flags to the ESB2 SATA entry in my DSDT but to no effect.  Rolling back to the 10.8.4 AppleAHCIPort.kext also didn't help.

 

Upon upgrading to DP3 suddenly the ESB2 HDDs became visible exactly as in ML.  Thus I think that this is probably the consequence of a bug in DP1 and DP2 which Apple have fixed in DP3.

 

I would suggest that anyone with this problem installs on USB and upgrades to DP3 or beyond.  Their SATA drives should then appear and it should be possible to clone the 10.9 installation across.

 

Good Luck,

thanks to respond :) I verifie inside the AppleAHCIPort.kext/info.plist (DP1,DP2 AND DP3) ;its a same for the chipset ICH, dont integrated  the ICH9RAHCI

only the ICH8MAHCI :(  :blush:

 

Have look 

 

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...rtyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>BuildMachineOSBuild</key>
<string>13A509</string>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>CFBundleGetInfoString</key>
<string>Version 2.8.5, Copyright 2005-2013, Apple Inc.</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundleName</key>
<string>AppleAHCI</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>KEXT</string>
<key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
<string>2.8.5</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>2.8.5</string>
<key>DTCompiler</key>
<string>com.apple.compilers.llvm.clang.1_0</string>
<key>DTPlatformBuild</key>
<string>5A11314p</string>
<key>DTPlatformVersion</key>
<string>GM</string>
<key>DTSDKBuild</key>
<string>13A509</string>
<key>DTSDKName</key>
<string></string>
<key>DTXcode</key>
<string>0500</string>
<key>DTXcodeBuild</key>
<string>5A11314p</string>
<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>GenericAHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>AHCI Controller</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleAHCI</string>
<key>IOPCIClassMatch</key>
<string>0x01060100&amp;0xffffff00</string>
<key>IOPCIPauseCompatible</key>
<true/>
<key>IOPCITunnelCompatible</key>
<true/>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>800</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Generic</string>
</dict>
<key>ICH10AHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>ICH10 AHCI</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleAHCI</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x3a228086</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>ICH6 ESB2 AHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>ESB2 AHCI</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleAHCI</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x26818086</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>ICH7MAHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>ICH7-M AHCI</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleAHCI</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x27c58086</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>ICH8MAHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>ICH8-M AHCI</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleICH8AHCI</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x28298086</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>Intel5SeriesAHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>5 Series Chipset</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleIntelPchSeriesAHCI</string>
<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
<string>pci8086,3b29</string>
<string>pci8086,3b22</string>
<string>pci8086,3b2f</string>
</array>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>Intel6SeriesAHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>6 Series Chipset</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleIntelPchSeriesAHCI</string>
<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
<string>pci8086,1c02</string>
<string>pci8086,1c03</string>
</array>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>Intel7SeriesAHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>7 Series Chipset</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleIntelPchSeriesAHCI</string>
<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
<string>pci8086,1e02</string>
<string>pci8086,1e03</string>
</array>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>Intel8SeriesAHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>8 Series Chipset</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleIntelPchSeriesAHCI</string>
<key>IONameMatch</key>
<array>
<string>pci8086,1d02</string>
<string>pci8086,9c03</string>
<string>pci8086,8c02</string>
<string>pci8086,8c03</string>
</array>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>Intel</string>
</dict>
<key>MCP79AHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>MCP79 AHCI</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleMCP79AHCI</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x0ab910de</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>NVidia</string>
</dict>
<key>MCP89AHCI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.driver.AppleAHCIPort</string>
<key>Chipset Name</key>
<string>MCP89 AHCI</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>AppleMCP89AHCI</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x0d8810de</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>2000</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>Vendor Name</key>
<string>NVidia</string>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>OSBundleLibraries</key>
<dict>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOAHCIFamily</key>
<string>1.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily</key>
<string>1.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.bsd</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.iokit</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.libkern</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.mach</key>
<string>8.0.0</string>
</dict>
<key>OSBundleRequired</key>
<string>Local-Root</string>
</dict>
</plist>
 

and see on ML  about this mac 

 

 

212.png112.png
 

My question now is how to injected this chipset 

ICH9RAHCI :P  B)

 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: AppleACPIPlatform, IOPCIFamily, Mavericks, HDD, Missing, Issue, Volumes, AHCI


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2015 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy