Jump to content

C-state power management not initialized

c-state power smc lpc

Best Answer juanerson, 23 June 2013 - 07:09 PM

Just a annotation:

 

Search in ALL your Tables (APIC, FACP, MCFG, FACS, etc) some reference to the LPC device (for example called LPC0, LPC1, or wherever).

 

So, for proper functionality you can´t rename it in the DSDT to LPCB. I mean, just keep his factory name. Those references must be intact in the DSDT.

 

In short, keep in the main table DSDT the same name assigned to the LPC device in the secondary WXYZ table(s).

 

I hope this helps.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi all,

 

My hackintosh is working as it should be. Only for PM there is still something wrong:

21-06-13 01:19:37,000 kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::registerLPCDriver - WARNING - LPC device initialization failed: C-state power management not initialized
21-06-13 01:42:46,000 kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::registerLPCDriver - WARNING - LPC device initialization failed: C-state power management not initialized
21-06-13 12:46:33,000 kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::registerLPCDriver - WARNING - LPC device initialization failed: C-state power management not initialized

I don't get any other message from ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin than this. It seems that it can not register(?) somewhere? Maybe a double address? I really have no idea anymore. I'm also not that good at DSDT patching, but I tried and tried.. sad.gif

CPU (i5-2400) speedstepping seems to be working fine:
21-06-13 01:18:48,000 kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(16) 
21-06-13 01:18:48,000 kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 19 23 27 31 32 

I tried almost everything:
- DSDT edits > changed LPCB device id
- Kexts edits (IOPlat)
- Clover config.plist edits
- Using custom SSDT tables (extracted from Ubuntu)
- Reinstalling OS X
- Step-by-step
- Searching with Google
- Again DSDT-edits
- Again searching on Google...

Aaargghhh.. Can someone please help me?

I'm happy to provide any info that is needed. smile.gif

Thanks!

Attached Files



#2
qwerty12

qwerty12

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

I suddenly started getting this with an i7-2670QM when using patched SSDT tables with Chameleon. Since it wasn't me who did the patching (I wouldn't know where to start), I didn't know how to fix it, so I ended up removing the tables and using a generated one by PikeR-Alpha's ssdtPRGen.sh.



#3
TheEnthusiast

TheEnthusiast

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts

It seems as if LPC isn't being loaded correctly so I'm guessing it's a DSDT issue. What are your machine's specs and if possible, upload an unpatched version and let me patch it. Also, try generating your own SSDT. Not sure how? Again, post your specs, I'll do it. 



#4
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

It seems as if LPC isn't being loaded correctly so I'm guessing it's a DSDT issue. What are your machine's specs and if possible, upload an unpatched version and let me patch it. Also, try generating your own SSDT. Not sure how? Again, post your specs, I'll do it. 

Thanks!

 

Specs are:

ASUS P8H67-M Pro (B2) - Latest Bios

Intel i5-2400 (no overclock)

OS X ML 10.8.4

 

I have added my DSDT/SSDT tables extracted with Ubuntu Live USB in UEFI-mode.

 

Thanks for helping me. :)

Attached Files



#5
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco

hello

 

i apply only the common patches in the clean dsdt

 

test it

 

Attached File  DSDT.zip   18.77KB   7 downloads

 

the ssdt use pike's script to generate a proper one to u cpu

 

https://raw.github.c...ls/ssdtPRGen.sh

curl -o ssdtPRGen.sh https://raw.github.com/Piker-Alpha/RevoBoot/clang/i386/libsaio/acpi/Tools/ssdtPRGen.sh
chmod +x ssdtPRGen.sh
./ssdtPRGen.sh

good hack



#6
Maniac10

Maniac10

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 938 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Delete all those SSDTs and only use the one generated with Pike's tool.



#7
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

hello

 

i apply only the common patches in the clean dsdt

 

test it

 

attachicon.gifDSDT.zip

 

the ssdt use pike's script to generate a proper one to u cpu

 

https://raw.github.c...ls/ssdtPRGen.sh

curl -o ssdtPRGen.sh https://raw.github.com/Piker-Alpha/RevoBoot/clang/i386/libsaio/acpi/Tools/ssdtPRGen.sh
chmod +x ssdtPRGen.sh
./ssdtPRGen.sh

good hack

Thanks for your patching and suggestions. :)

 

Unfortunately it didn't work:

21-06-13 18:32:06,000 kernel[0]: FakeSMCDevice: 15 preconfigured keys added
21-06-13 18:32:06,000 kernel[0]: FakeSMCDevice: 5 keys exported by Clover EFI
21-06-13 18:32:06,000 kernel[0]: SMC: successfully initialized
21-06-13 18:32:07,000 kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::registerLPCDriver - WARNING - LPC device initialization failed: C-state power management not initialized


#8
artur-pt

artur-pt

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 4,422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Interests:TechManiaco

hello

 

and if u don't use ssdt ?

 

only use the original tables..

 

in clover set

 

p and c-states=true

 

dropssdt=false

 

test only with the patched dsdt

 

u don't use any mask in clover to patch the dsdt ?

 

are the intelhd2000 disabled in bios ?

 

good hack



#9
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

hello
 
and if u don't use ssdt ?
 
only use the original tables..
 
in clover set
 
p and c-states=true
 
dropssdt=false
 
test only with the patched dsdt
 
u don't use any mask in clover to patch the dsdt ?
 
are the intelhd2000 disabled in bios ?
 
good hack

Booted with Chameleon instead:
23-06-13 15:34:29,000 kernel[0]: FakeSMCDevice: 15 preconfigured keys added
23-06-13 15:34:29,000 kernel[0]: SMC: successfully initialized
23-06-13 15:37:45,000 kernel[0]: FakeSMCDevice: 15 preconfigured keys added
23-06-13 15:37:45,000 kernel[0]: SMC: successfully initialized
When booting with Clover:
23-06-13 14:55:45,000 kernel[0]: FakeSMCDevice: 15 preconfigured keys added
23-06-13 14:55:45,000 kernel[0]: FakeSMCDevice: 5 keys exported by Clover EFI
23-06-13 14:55:45,000 kernel[0]: SMC: successfully initialized
23-06-13 14:55:47,000 kernel[0]: ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin::registerLPCDriver - WARNING - LPC device initialization failed: C-state power management not initialized
The fault seems to be somewhere in Clover, not in my (patched) tables, at least I think so. :o

#10
TheEnthusiast

TheEnthusiast

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
Try a different revision if you believe that is the issue. However, I've used several revisions and they all work fine. Also, I'm not sure if this matters, but have you experimented with config.plist or the GUI options?

#11
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela

Best Answer

Just a annotation:

 

Search in ALL your Tables (APIC, FACP, MCFG, FACS, etc) some reference to the LPC device (for example called LPC0, LPC1, or wherever).

 

So, for proper functionality you can´t rename it in the DSDT to LPCB. I mean, just keep his factory name. Those references must be intact in the DSDT.

 

In short, keep in the main table DSDT the same name assigned to the LPC device in the secondary WXYZ table(s).

 

I hope this helps.



#12
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

I'm sorry for the late update. But the problem has been solved. I did set DropMCFG=Yes, but it should be DropMCFG=No.

 

Thanks for all the solutions. I did some improvements into my DSDT by your suggestions. :)



#13
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.

I, too, had dropMCFG set to yes so I changed it to no and the error disappeared :D

 

I was going crazy trying to sort it out. Never though the problem was related to MCFG!!

 

Thanks beta992







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: c-state, power, smc, lpc

  Topic Stats Last Post Info

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy