Jump to content

Pandora's Box (Beta 2 Testing)

* * * * * 2 votes Pandoras Box Pandora OS X Install Beta 2

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
350 replies to this topic

#301
C.Frio

C.Frio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Pandora Team
  • 1,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cabo frio - Brasil

hi..

 

downloading the GM..

c.frio



#302
Fabio1971

Fabio1971

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 6,338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
very good, try it with Pandora
Preparation usb 15 minutes, 22 minutes installation is finished
 
Fabio


#303
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,209 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hey friend sorry for OT , but GM it is a ufficial maverics ...?

#304
C.Frio

C.Frio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Pandora Team
  • 1,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cabo frio - Brasil

hi

i don't think so..

c.frio



#305
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Hey friend sorry for OT , but GM it is a ufficial maverics ...?

 

 

hi

i don't think so..

c.frio

Yes :)

 

GM = Golden Master, it will be the same as that put in the Apple Store.

...at least historically has always been the case.

 

Micky



#306
C.Frio

C.Frio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Pandora Team
  • 1,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cabo frio - Brasil

hi micky

 

I understood he wants to say "Unofficial" instead "Official'

I agree with you..

c.frio

 

and the project..? .may can fix the NON gigabyte bios issues...



#307
ghajini08

ghajini08

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts

Hi @Micky1979,

 

I have attached my logs as you asked. However, since the last time I posted, GM build went up and so I decided to see for myself how the probable final build would work out. So once again I decided to create a new Pandoras box installer from scratch (mainly for the purpose of writing a guide).

 

I used the GM build, the same 8gb usb stick which worked for me on the DP1 build and the same laptop on which I had installed the DP1 build of Mavericks. I don't know if these are bugs per se, but they sure are annoyances.

 

1) While installing if I select modules relating to C libraries in the installer, the installer just quits when you hit the install button with the error "Keylayout_tiles" missing. I have no other option but to restart. Could not save a log for this as it just happens too quickly.

 

2) Weird behaviour by the installer: If you notice the screenshot I have attached, well this behaviour continues into the usb stick too. Let me explain.

As you can see in the screenshot, even though nothing is selected, the "-' is still there in the initial box. Well, lets just say you decide to click that box once more...it turns into a tick, but if you click it again it gets deselcted. Apparently both the installer and post installer hate this. The installation will invariably fail. It should be there in the logs I posted.  I tried this out many times over to confirm it.  Deselecting "all" options ...even if you are doing it on purpose to save all the hard work for a post install.... will cause the install to fail .....The same happens in a post install.

 

3) A peculiar behaviour with Pandoras Box usb creator.     If you need to use a usb stick and lets say this stick is already a GPT enabled usb stick with a single HFS+ partition on it ...... You still have to Re-partition it in Disk utility or the installation will fail with an error while copying saying that "xxxxxx files do not exist".

 

Thats it. I still say this installer is really beats everything else, especially the one from the other site ;)

 

PS: Remember in my last post I said that AICPUPM panics. Yes it does ....only if I select it from the installation menu. The same kext when installed during post installation and after deleting Nullcpupm works perfectly. Although I had to rollback ACPiPlatform for the purpose of the batterymanager kext.

Attached Files



#308
scott_donald

scott_donald

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Gender:Male

without reading 16 pages... has anyone had success with a haswell board yet using this???



#309
Fabio1971

Fabio1971

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 6,338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Tested on motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 (8d) with Pandora

OS X Maverick 10.9

Script options: Desktop, with WifiInjector.kext

No need to install the NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

Fabio

#310
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

I know, on x79 :).

 

@magnifico made ​​the discovery a few days ago.

 

Micky


Hi @Micky1979,

 

I have attached my logs as you asked. However, since the last time I posted, GM build went up and so I decided to see for myself how the probable final build would work out. So once again I decided to create a new Pandoras box installer from scratch (mainly for the purpose of writing a guide).

 

I used the GM build, the same 8gb usb stick which worked for me on the DP1 build and the same laptop on which I had installed the DP1 build of Mavericks. I don't know if these are bugs per se, but they sure are annoyances.

 

1) While installing if I select modules relating to C libraries in the installer, the installer just quits when you hit the install button with the error "Keylayout_tiles" missing. I have no other option but to restart. Could not save a log for this as it just happens too quickly.

 

2) Weird behaviour by the installer: If you notice the screenshot I have attached, well this behaviour continues into the usb stick too. Let me explain.

As you can see in the screenshot, even though nothing is selected, the "-' is still there in the initial box. Well, lets just say you decide to click that box once more...it turns into a tick, but if you click it again it gets deselcted. Apparently both the installer and post installer hate this. The installation will invariably fail. It should be there in the logs I posted.  I tried this out many times over to confirm it.  Deselecting "all" options ...even if you are doing it on purpose to save all the hard work for a post install.... will cause the install to fail .....The same happens in a post install.

 

3) A peculiar behaviour with Pandoras Box usb creator.     If you need to use a usb stick and lets say this stick is already a GPT enabled usb stick with a single HFS+ partition on it ...... You still have to Re-partition it in Disk utility or the installation will fail with an error while copying saying that "xxxxxx files do not exist".

 

Thats it. I still say this installer is really beats everything else, especially the one from the other site ;)

 

PS: Remember in my last post I said that AICPUPM panics. Yes it does ....only if I select it from the installation menu. The same kext when installed during post installation and after deleting Nullcpupm works perfectly. Although I had to rollback ACPiPlatform for the purpose of the batterymanager kext.

"Keylayout_tiles" is invisible and not used options, it is strange that gives error. However I have at this time, eliminated all hidden options to avoid this error.

 
Now the AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement  patch always works (in during or post installation, in Lion, ML or in Mavericks)
 
I have to give to  @C.Frio a new version (not a Beta, but RC 1 version), you also want to test it for me?
 
Micky

Fabio

 

I'll send a copy of Pandora RC 1 also to you :)

 

Micky



#311
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,209 posts
  • Gender:Male

I know, on x79 :).

 

@magnifico made ​​the discovery a few days ago.

 

Micky



Now the AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement  patch always works (in during or post installation, in Lion, ML or in Mavericks)
 

Micky

I'll send a copy of Pandora RC 1 also to you :)

 

Micky

miky on Maverics dont need ACPM patch ...but only native ACPM

On Maverics of course

PS:

Talking one day with Fabio, I told him I wanted to try to remove the NULL cpu, and he immediately agree my thought


#312
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
You know that I have not tried it on my system if it works??
Now I try now and let you know. I thought it was only for x79, but who knows ...
 
..reboting
 
--------
Sai che non ho provato sul mio sistema se funziona???
Ora provo subito e faccio sapere. Pensavo fosse solo per x79, ma chissa...
 
riavvio

 

Micky



#313
Fabio1971

Fabio1971

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 6,338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
I'll send a copy of Pandora RC 1 also to you

 

With pleasure do the test

 

Fabio



#314
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,209 posts
  • Gender:Male

 

You know that I have not tried it on my system if it works??
Now I try now and let you know. I thought it was only for x79, but who knows ...
 
..reboting
 
--------
Sai che non ho provato sul mio sistema se funziona???
Ora provo subito e faccio sapere. Pensavo fosse solo per x79, ma chissa...
 
riavvio

 

Micky

 

trusted ....



#315
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Kernel Panic  :hysterical:

 

So only for your Motherboard/Chipset/CPU  :P

 

Micky



#316
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,209 posts
  • Gender:Male

Kernel Panic  :hysterical:
 
So only for your Motherboard/Chipset/CPU  :P
 
Micky


Lol ....but you have again pc the age of the dinosaurs......ahhhhhahhhh

Ps: return on topic , sorry for before

#317
poispois

poispois

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal

Hi,

 

How can I remove the fbrotate that Pandora's Box installed? 



#318
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Hi,

 

How can I remove the fbrotate that Pandora's Box installed? 

Just re-run Pandora's Box,  choosing the option again (install if there is no / uninstall if present). You can see this from the log file is on your desktop.

 

Micky



#319
poispois

poispois

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal

Just re-run Pandora's Box,  choosing the option again (install if there is no / uninstall if present). You can see this from the log file is on your desktop.

 

Micky

 

That did the trick. Thank you and thanks to the community also.



#320
ghajini08

ghajini08

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts

I know, on x79 :).

 

@magnifico made ​​the discovery a few days ago.

 

Micky


"Keylayout_tiles" is invisible and not used options, it is strange that gives error. However I have at this time, eliminated all hidden options to avoid this error.

 
Now the AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement  patch always works (in during or post installation, in Lion, ML or in Mavericks)
 
I have to give to  @C.Frio a new version (not a Beta, but RC 1 version), you also want to test it for me?
 
Micky

I'll send a copy of Pandora RC 1 also to you :)

 

Micky

@Micky1979, Yes why not. Do send me a copy. I will test it for you :) Am glad to help out.


 

miky on Maverics dont need ACPM patch ...but only native ACPM

On Maverics of course

PS:

Talking one day with Fabio, I told him I wanted to try to remove the NULL cpu, and he immediately agree my thought

 

I will also test it out. Lets see if it KPs or not.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Pandoras Box, Pandora, OS X Install, Beta 2

  Topic Stats Last Post Info

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy