windows 7 question

18 posts in this topic

right now i have one 500gb hd for my osx install, I found a guy on craigslist with a 160gb sata hd for $25, thats pretty good deal i think. Since i just want to use windows for games and nothing else.

if i got that hd for windows 7 is it simple to install with usb drive?

Thanks for any info, im new to this kinda thing.

Not sure if I understand you correctly....installing Windows on an SSD is no different from installing Windows on a conventional HDD.

Don't worry about sector alignment, it's not an issue with Windows 7. Just install like you normally would.

If you want to install from a flash drive use this: http://www.microsoft...usbdvd_dwnTool/

Hi, here is how i did :

Boot OSX

Mount your DVD/iso and copy all files into your usb flashdrive (Make sure it's formated to fat32)

Shutdown

Unplug your OSX hdd to avoid any future probleme

Boot with your usb flashdrive, install windows and voila

Shutdown

Plug you osx hdd and set your osx HDD as 1st boot, clover or chamelon will see your Windows partition :)

You can't just copy a bunch of files to a flash drive and expect it to work, it won't be bootable unless you write a boot sector to it.

If you could do that, there would be no reason for Microsoft to make a free tool specifically for installing Windows from a flash drive.

cuz i dont have pc to do that on

For your viewing pleasure, I have compiled three wiseass replies:

What's that in your signature then?

Bully for you. You don't know anyone who has a PC?

You're in California, all your friends have Macs. None of them are dual booting Windows?

You can't just copy a bunch of files to a flash drive and expect it to work, it won't be bootable unless you write a boot sector to it.

If you could do that, there would be no reason for Microsoft to make a free tool specifically for installing Windows from a flash drive.

You are wrong, you can :) i did it everytime i needed to install windows 7 and 8 :)