Jump to content

working sleep but reboot on wake-up

sleep wake-up

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Hi everybody,

Im trying to make sleep working on HP DV7-1120em, (ICH9 family) got to the point when laptop goes to sleep but shuts down (on battery) /reboots (on AC) on every attempt to wake it up (Lid, Pwrb).

 

Current system - Mavericks 10.9.1 
 

What I did:
DSDT extracted from win7 with edits:

 

Method (DTGP) - to allow device specific method patches

changed GPU address name from  PVGA.EVGA to PVGA.GFX0 - to allow AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext load and GPU G-states

changed device names from LPC.EC0 to LPCB.EC - to match macbookPro 5.1 DSDT (cosmetic)

changed device AZAL name to HDEF - to allow load patched AppleHDA.kext

Added Device PNLF with brightness methods - to load ACPIBacklight.kext for brightness control

Modified Device (BAT0) - to load Rehabmans ACPIBatteryManager.kext for battery status

Modified Device (RTC) - RTC CMOS clear fix

Modified Device (HPET) - added new IRQNoFlags to avoid IRQ conflicts on USB ports

Changed Device (PIC) to Device (IPIC) - to match MBP5.1

USB DSDT fixes

Renamed Device (J380) to Device (FRWR) - cosmetic /Firewire Device

Device (BUS0) into Device (SBUS) - not sure if I need this /testing

 

Method _DSM patches:

GPU - NVIDIA - to load GPU

Device LPCB - to load LPC

Device (LANR) - ethernet cosmetic

Device (KBC) - AAPL,has-embedded-fn-keys /not sure if I need that one - testing

Device (FRWR) - testing / forgot why i put that in :)

Device (HDEF) - to load AppleHDA

 

running on Clover ver 2611 with all SSDT tables extracted from Win7 

with working:

p-states (SSDT)

c-states (SSDT)

g-states (DSDT)

brightness control (DSDT + ACPIBacklight.kext)

battery status (DSDT + ACPIBatteryManager.kext)

sound (DSDT + patched AppleHDA)

shutdown

restart

sleep / autosleep BUT no wake up 

 

 

kexts :
patched AppleHDA

ACPIBacklight.kext

ACPIBatteryManager.kext

FakeSMC

VoodooPS2Controller.kext

RealtekRTL81xx.kext

patched AppleRTC.kext

This is doing my headache and I wonder if anybody could point me in the right direction to solve this issue
Thanks
s

attached my DSDT and IOReg

 

EDIT: current set up update

Attached Files


Edited by sw170, 19 February 2014 - 05:29 PM.


#2
Alex Auditore

Alex Auditore

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 700 posts
  • Gender:Male
First of all, you need get rid of VoodooBattery. And to install this kext http://www.osx86.net...do=file&id=3558
Secondly. Will return the orginal AppleACPIPlatform.(not necessarily, but it will be better)
Third of all, use USBBusFix=Yes

#3
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Hi Alex,


Thanks for your reply. I'm not sure if VoodooBattery is the problem here, I tried to run system without it and original AppleAcpiPlatform with the same result, I also tried that battery driver you posted with no luck, though my DSDT needs more tweaking here. I fixed my USB ports by changing HPET IRQs and editing UHCI, EHCI code and now the only USB fix I need in chameleon is EHCI Acquire Fix=Yes,

still - I tried USBBusFix=Yes before with the same result = immediate reboot/shutdown instead of wake

There are two lines in verbose boot that caught my attention, each one shows after failed system wake up:


kernel: PXSX cannot assert wake from D3cold

kernel: Sleep failure code 0x00000000 0x21006700


Please let me know if you have any other suggestions

thanks

s


#4
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
week of testing, fiddling with DSDT, bios settings, and.. no luck..

nobody who could help with this one ?

#5
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain

Change the SMBUS device ID in the DSDT to ICH10 ID. Then no more wake.


#6
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Hi iFIRE,
Thanks for reply and your suggestion,
I added to DSDT:
[CODEBOX]
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x08)
{
"AAPL,slot-name",
Buffer (0x09)
{
"Built in"
},
"device-id",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x30, 0x3A, 0x00, 0x00
},
"model",
Buffer (0x1B)
{
"Intel 82801JI ICH10 Family"
},
"name",
Buffer (0x11)
{
"SMBus controller"
}
}, Local0)
DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
Return (Local0)
}
[/CODEBOX]
so now i have :
Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 13.23.22.png   568.15KB   23 downloads

and still same result: reboot on wake

but then got confused as above picture is from System Info v0.5
and lspci -nn terminal command gives me:
[CODEBOX]
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub [8086:2a40] (rev 07)
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Graphics Port [8086:2a41] (rev 07)
00:1a.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:2937] (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 [8086:2938] (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 [8086:293c] (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:293e] (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 [8086:2940] (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 [8086:2942] (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 [8086:2944] (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 [8086:2946] (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 [8086:2948] (rev 03)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 6 [8086:294a] (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:2934] (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:2935] (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:2936] (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 [8086:2939] (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 [8086:293a] (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller [8086:2919] (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller [8086:2929] (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller [8086:2930] (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation G96 [GeForce 9600M GT] [10de:0649] (rev a1)
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5008 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0024] (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 02)
06:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: JMicron Technology Corp. IEEE 1394 Host Controller [197b:2380]
06:00.1 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. SD/MMC Host Controller [197b:2382]
06:00.2 SD Host controller [0805]: JMicron Technology Corp. Standard SD Host Controller [197b:2381]
06:00.3 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. MS Host Controller [197b:2383]
06:00.4 System peripheral [0880]: JMicron Technology Corp. xD Host Controller [197b:2384]
[/CODEBOX]

Eh..?!

#7
Ramalama

Ramalama

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Germany

have you fixed your problem?

i have the same issue :-)

 

Cheers :-)



#8
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Hi Ramalama,

 

No sadly problem is still not fixed, I've got perfectly working 10.9.1 on DV7 with just that one glitch



#9
Ramalama

Ramalama

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Germany

One question, it worked on any previous osx version?

 

I fixed already my issue, it comes from new Graphic drivers... using older ones, and all is working now...

 

Try 10.8.5 or 10.9 once... maybe we can figure out, why you have this problem...

 

Cheers :-)


Okay, i seen your IOREG, seems like you don't use a custom dsdt... or a very bad dsdt... maybe you should start here...

You are using voodoo battery :-(( and all other things aren't good too... try to make first a dsdt for you, i think this is going to fix your wake...

 

Cheers :-)



#10
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain

this can be a problem with AppleRTC.kext, try patch the kext and this can solve the problem



#11
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

One question, it worked on any previous osx version?

 

I fixed already my issue, it comes from new Graphic drivers... using older ones, and all is working now...

 

Try 10.8.5 or 10.9 once... maybe we can figure out, why you have this problem...

 

Cheers :-)


Okay, i seen your IOREG, seems like you don't use a custom dsdt... or a very bad dsdt... maybe you should start here...

You are using voodoo battery :-(( and all other things aren't good too... try to make first a dsdt for you, i think this is going to fix your wake...

 

Cheers :-)

Hi Ramalama,

No, wake up never worked with any system version (10.6, 10.7, 10.8, 10.9) on this laptop, Im booting with Clover now on SSD (previously had software raid hence the problems with Clover boot) I don't use Voodoo battery anymore but RehabMan's ACPIBatteryManager with DSDT edits. I have custom DSDT - wonder why you think is bad ?

 

this can be a problem with AppleRTC.kext, try patch the kext and this can solve the problem

 

my RTC kext is patched as well as RTC device in DSDT



#12
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain

post a Darwin Dumper Report, I take a look in it if have any error



#13
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Here you go, thanks

 



#14
Ramalama

Ramalama

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Germany

sw170?

This means: kernel: PXSX cannot assert wake from D3cold

That you bilt in Wifi Card is not supported!

 

Take it out, and test sleep! :-)

 

​Sry, didn't read before the entire post :-)

 

​Okay, first: You haven't loaded X86PlatformPlugin, according to your ioreg!

Download: https://github.com/P...ha/ssdtPRGen.sh and generate your ssdt!

Or if you are not using dsdt, only clover patches, enable generate pstates, cstates and drop cpupm and cpucst in clover!

--EDIT: Seems like you have a Core2Duo or something like that, ssdtprgen doesn't support your CPU...

--But you can add this to any ssdt in _PR_.CPU0 Scope:

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
        {
            If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
            {
                Return (Buffer (One)
                { 0x03 })
            }
            Return (Package (0x02)
            { "plugin-type", One })
        }

2. With LPC device is everything fine!

 

3. if you get this "PXSX cannot assert wake from D3cold" remove your Realtek built in wifi card

--- Maybe its not the realtek card, it can be your firewire device too...

 

4. Why is your Nvidia Graphic Card called "IGPU" ??? Should be PEGP or something... thats absolutely wrong...

 

5. Your SmBus isn't loaded... you need to add to your SBUS device a new device Called BUS0 and into this device a device called DVL0

Device (BUS0)
            {
                Name (_CID, "smbus")  // _CID: Compatible ID
                Name (_ADR, Zero)  // _ADR: Address
                Device (DVL0)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x57)
                    Name (_CID, "diagsvault")
                    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                    {
                    If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero)) { Return (Buffer(One) { 0x03 } ) }
                    Return (Package() { "address", 0x57 })
                    }
                }
            }

Everything else seems ok...

 

But your DSDT is absolutely S.hit xD

 

Cheers :-)



#15
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

This means: kernel: PXSX cannot assert wake from D3cold

That you bilt in Wifi Card is not supported!

 

 

Take it out, and test sleep!

I figured that before and tried while on chameleon with same result but now - did quick test on Clover and system won't sleep at all.

Ive got moded bios with wifi whitelist removed and Apple Airport Extreme card btw

will do more testing to find out why theres no sleep..

 Okay, first: You haven't loaded X86PlatformPlugin, according to your ioreg!

Download: https://github.com/P...ha/ssdtPRGen.sh and generate your ssdt!

Or if you are not using dsdt, only clover patches, enable generate pstates, cstates and drop cpupm and cpucst in clover!

--EDIT: Seems like you have a Core2Duo or something like that, ssdtprgen doesn't support your CPU...

 

Not sure what you mean here ..?

Ive got all SSDT generated and loaded, my pstates and cstates working without need for extra settings in clover setting plist

4. Why is your Nvidia Graphic Card called "IGPU" ??? Should be PEGP or something... thats absolutely wrong...

 

 I changed it to IGPU, that doesn't matter

5. Your SmBus isn't loaded... you need to add to your SBUS device a new device Called BUS0 and into this device a device called DVL0

 

now, where do you see that ? my IOSMBusFamily and AppleSMBusController kexts are loaded

But your DSDT is absolutely S.hit xD

 

well its insyde bios you know.. :)



#16
Ramalama

Ramalama

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Germany

Just wanted to help, change this things i wrote in the dsdt... pstates and cstates are working without x86platformplugin too... it have nothing todo with pstates and cstates... add the dsm method to the pr.cpu0 scope... rename your nvidia graphic to something else as igpu... that can make problems... and add this bus0 device...

 

after that, we can look forward!

 

If you don't want my help, i have other things todo

Cheers



#17
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Hey Ramalama !

Don't get me wrong I appreciate your input here !

my hands are a bit down with this and thats why I'm bit sceptical..

I will do more testing tomorrow with all your suggestions and get back with feedback

Thanks again

s



#18
Ramalama

Ramalama

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Germany

Hey Ramalama !

Don't get me wrong I appreciate your input here !

my hands are a bit down with this and thats why I'm bit sceptical..

I will do more testing tomorrow with all your suggestions and get back with feedback

Thanks again

s

 

Np :-) So you are using clover patches?

 

It's a much better way to patch the tables yourself... Rehabman have very good patches for HP Laptops... Just look in his Github :-)

 

Cheers :-)



#19
ashishpatelmac

ashishpatelmac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India

Change this to  

Device (RTC)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00"))
                    Name (BUF0, ResourceTemplate ()
                    {
                        IO (Decode16,
                            0x0070,             // Range Minimum
                            0x0070,             // Range Maximum
                            0x01,               // Alignment
                            0x08,               // Length
                            )
                    })

this...

Device (RTC)
                {
                    Name (_HID, EisaId ("PNP0B00"))
                    Name (BUF0, ResourceTemplate ()
                    {
                        IO (Decode16,
                            0x0070,             // Range Minimum
                            0x0070,             // Range Maximum
                            0x01,               // Alignment
                            0x02,               // Length
                            )
                    })

Let us know if you fixed it. good luck



#20
sw170

sw170

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Np :-) So you are using clover patches?

 

It's a much better way to patch the tables yourself... Rehabman have very good patches for HP Laptops... Just look in his Github :-)

 

Cheers :-)

No I don't use DSDT Clover patches, look at my darwindumper and Clover config plist

Change this to  

Device (RTC)
...

this...

Device (RTC)
...

Let us know if you fixed it. good luck

now, that is just frustrating..







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy