Jump to content

AMD APU mountain lion support

APU AMD Pavilion

  • Please log in to reply
300 replies to this topic

#261
mnugent93

mnugent93

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male

I think this would be a whole lot nicer if there was someway to get the graphics to work.

personally, i think its kinda a waste to go through this whole process and then have these issues:

1. Many integrated laptop wifi cards (especially HP and other budget friendly computers) are not supported, so a separate adapter is needed.

2. On mine, only 1 of 3 USB ports work

3. The sound (when i can get it to work) is very squeaky and choppy

4. No compatible graphics (QE/CI). this pretty much means that anything that require the graphics (sites like youtube and others) dont work or are extremely choppy

5. The hackintosh os constantly freezes.

6. Lack of good, compatible battery monitor for when you may not be plugged in.

 

I personally would love to own a mac, but being in college, i simply can not afford to buy any of the macs. I admit, apple has done a nice job protecting their software, and because of that, by attempting to make a hackintosh on AMD, it pretty much renders the os useless as it makes it difficult to use many of the apps, and in a world of java, flash, d3d, opengl etc, many of what we take for granted on the pc just plain dont work. 

 don't get me wrong, i think the AMD hackintosh (or just hackintosh project in general) is a great idea to try bringing osx to those who cant afford almost 1 grand for a computer, or for those who want to try one out more than what you can do in a store. I'm not too savy in the workings of the mac os like i want to be, but i think this project just needs a good break by a great programmer. Someone who can somehow get mac osx to accept the functionality and resources of an AMD processor.

i also think microsoft needs to take a play from apple and create a way for mac to run on pc,since apple has it so windows runs on mac. If Apple can run microsoft, then why isnt apple letting microsoft run apple (other than the almighty greenback)...



#262
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,944 posts
  • Gender:Male

Laptops are always difficult and will always be, since you have to work with what you've got, as opposite to custom desktops, where you can chose parts based on compatibility. APU notebooks, particularly, are hard because 1) AMD CPU; 2) unsupported integrated graphics and 3) locked BIOS which prevents you to turn the integrated card off and use the discrete one, which  could lead to better results. So it's worthy only for fun, for educational purposes and to advanced hackers for the challenge of getting to work, never for a Mac replacement. 

 

If you cannot afford even a refurbished MacBook white, i recommend you to sell your current AMD laptop and get one with Intel inside and a supported ATI mobility GPU if possible.

 

All the best!



#263
mnugent93

mnugent93

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male

@theconnactic I have pondered selling my laptop, but i paid almost $600 for this laptop with the AMD GPU and where i live, laptops dont really sell used. I do have a crappier HP G62-225nr (intel processor) but that one has graphics ( intel gma 4500m) and wifi (rtl8191se) issues. i had that one hackintoshed for awhile but i couldnt get the battery monitor to work,  nor could i get graphics to work and wifi was intermittent using a usb dongle. I've been looking around town to see if anyone is selling a used mac since i am getting a decent refund from school, but not enough to afford a macbook air (i kinda want a mac that can do ml). Even if i do get a mac, i might use having a mac to try and help out this project though....



#264
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,944 posts
  • Gender:Male

Good luck! Don't overlook the possibilities of good old MacBook whites/blacks (Core2Duo with 32-bit EFI) with good old Snow Leopard: they usually sell cheap and Snow Leopard is still acceptable unless you need last-gen software. In fact, there's some old MacBooks that shipped with the nVidia ION (9400m) so they can even run Mountain Lion/Mavericks with workarounds. And hey!, it's a real Mac!

 

All the best!



#265
jerome2013

jerome2013

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Enigma 2 - Hackintosh - Apple - Android -XBMC - Dreambox - Linux - CPU Overclocking - Woman - Sk...

Got a working Atheros 9285 Wifi module ... one step further on the HP pavilion G6 hackintosh laptop ( amd )



#266
opticos

opticos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I have mountain lion 10.8.5 running on my APU, the only complication is due to the lack of APU graphics support. Is anyone working on this, or can anyone "in the know" explain to me how it technically could be done so I could look into it?



#267
TonyHailway

TonyHailway

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
Is it possible the graphics included with the APUs get support in the future?

Also, Is it possible to somehow "mod" the amd open source drivers for Linux to run on OSX...

#268
ameris_cyning

ameris_cyning

    I don't know what to write here

  • Donators
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My apartment
  • Interests:OSx86, female anatomy, electronic music, Clover EFI

Is it possible the graphics included with the APUs get support in the future?

Also, Is it possible to somehow "mod" the amd open source drivers for Linux to run on OSX...

 

You can't port Linux graphics drivers to OS X

 

The biggest reason is quite simple: Linux drivers are made for X11 while OS X drivers are made for Quartz. They are completely incompatible to the point where if you want to use software that has X11 code in it you must download and install XQuartz.

 

Plus, the Linux kernel is significantly different mach. What procedures the drivers call for Linux are definitely not the same as OS X.



#269
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

You can't port Linux graphics drivers to OS X

The biggest reason is quite simple: Linux drivers are made for X11 while OS X drivers are made for Quartz. They are completely incompatible to the point where if you want to use software that has X11 code in it you must download and install XQuartz.

Plus, the Linux kernel is significantly different mach. What procedures the drivers call for Linux are definitely not the same as OS X.

You can port the IOFramebuffer but the IOAccelerator is hard...

#270
TonyHailway

TonyHailway

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

You can't port Linux graphics drivers to OS X

 

The biggest reason is quite simple: Linux drivers are made for X11 while OS X drivers are made for Quartz. They are completely incompatible to the point where if you want to use software that has X11 code in it you must download and install XQuartz.

 

Plus, the Linux kernel is significantly different mach. What procedures the drivers call for Linux are definitely not the same as OS X.

 

Ahhhhh I see now..... so unless Apple chooses to support APUs, the graphics will never work.

 

Another idea: For those getting a black screen when trying to boot clover (Like me!), i think i may have found the cause. I was reading through the Clover documentation, i found this:

 

 

 

ATI/AMD

This is a special conversation. I have GA AMD Radeon HD6670 and VFX HD5570 so I tested these technologies in the cases of 5xxx and 6xxx.
You may set nothing (GI = No) and enter desktop with a common ATIRadeonFramebuffer. It works including OpenGL, you may even test with OpenGL Extension Viewer but this is not very good way to go. If you call DVDPlayer it will crash.
If you set GI = Yes you will enter black screen or see empty desktop because all info appears to be on second invisible desktop.
You need ATIConnector patch. Original topic by bcc9.
As example for ATI HD6670 is my config
<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
<key>GraphicsInjector</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>FBName</key>
<string>Ipomoea</string>
<key>LoadVBios</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>VideoPorts</key>
<string>3</string>
</dict>
And then I do connectors patch for the "Ipomoea" framebuffer.
<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
<dict>
<key>KernelCpu</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>ATIConnectorsController</key>
<string>6000</string>
<key>ATIConnectorsData</key>
<string>000400000403000000010000120401050008000004020000000100001102040310000000100000000001000000000002</string>
<key>ATIConnectorsPatch</key>
<string>040000000403000000010000100001061000000010000000000100000000000100080000040200000001000012040403</string>
For Mobile Radeon there in necessity to do
<key>LoadVBios</key>
<string>Yes</string>
Yes, this is a key difference to launch mobility.

EDID
In some case you need to inject EDID string. Or may be you just know the better EDID then provided by manufacture.
<key>InjectEDID</key>
<string>Yes</string>
In this case EDID string obtained by BIOS will be accesible by OSX that is not always true.
If your monitor is non-DDC at all then you may inject some artificial EDID
<key>CustomEDID</key>
<data>AP///////wAyDADfAAAAAAASAQOAIRV4CunVmVlTjigmUFQAAAABAQEBAQEBAQEBAQEBAQEB3iGgcFCEHzAgIFYAS88QAAAY3iGgcFCEHzAgIFYAS88QAAAAAAAA/gBXNjU3RwAxNTRXUDEKAAAA/gAjMz1IZYSq/wIBCiAgAJo=</data>

AAPL,DualLink
For some older cards you should set DualLink=0 or 1. For example ATI HD1600. There must be =0 else you will see four screens.
<key>DualLink</key>
<string>1</string>

 

 

I'm not sure if this is the cause, as I am inexperienced, but if anyone with more experience could care to comment...



#271
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Ahhhhh I see now..... so unless Apple chooses to support APUs, the graphics will never work.

Another idea: For those getting a black screen when trying to boot clover (Like me!), i think i may have found the cause. I was reading through the Clover documentation, i found this:



I'm not sure if this is the cause, as I am inexperienced, but if anyone with more experience could care to comment...

Yes it is possible.
You need to patch the framebuffer.
I had to do the same for my Asus EAH6450 (for the 3 ports to work.

#272
TonyHailway

TonyHailway

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
Can't I just set GI=No and then boot or is GI necessary fit boot ?

If so, how can I do this? I created the clover USB with the bootdiskutility in windows but it doesn't give an option.

#273
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Can't I just set GI=No and then boot or is GI necessary fit boot ?

If so, how can I do this? I created the clover USB with the bootdiskutility in windows but it doesn't give an option.

Turn of GraphicsInjector, boot and dump video card rom.
Use radeon_bios_decode and dump the framebuffer connectors.
Next read clover instructions under dev corner - bootloaders - clover and follow method for patching ati framebuffer.

#274
TonyHailway

TonyHailway

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Wait, so how do you turn off GraphicsInjector? 



#275
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Wait, so how do you turn off GraphicsInjector?

Boot clover.
Go into options.
Graphics submenu I believe.
Uncheck inject
Boot
2nd option is to edit config.plist

#276
TonyHailway

TonyHailway

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
Ok, disabling GI and crossing my fingers and toes :D

#277
TonyHailway

TonyHailway

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Nope, disabling GI didn't work  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(  :(

 

It still booted to a black screen with a underscore in the top left....

 

Here's my edited config.plist (zipped) : Attached File  config.zip   533bytes   3 downloads



#278
TNTS

TNTS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Apple devices
    Mac OS X
    Linux
    Windows
    Eminem

Time for me to bite the bullet on this one and try it out.

 

I have an AMD A4-5300 (AMD Radeon HD 7480D)



#279
TNTS

TNTS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Apple devices
    Mac OS X
    Linux
    Windows
    Eminem

I got lost in the vanilla installer so I tried a distro. Currently Niresh's, I tried -nossse3bit with -v and no changes. It reboots right after I press enter



#280
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,892 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

I got lost in the vanilla installer so I tried a distro. Currently Niresh's, I tried -nossse3bit with -v and no changes. It reboots right after I press enter

  • possibly is your USB STick install version not complete ?. then see here  http://www.insanelym...elp-other-user/        perhaps it can help you further
  • perhaps you should get update a newer boot-file in root ?
  • perhaps you ought to update a newer bootloader ?
  • perhaps you are using the wrong kernel ?
  • perhaps you should boot with this additional boot flag: fsb=200
  • perhaps you should boot with this boot flag: npci=0x2000 oder npci=0x3000 PCIRootUID=0 oder 1 fsb=200 -v -f

 

we do not know, because it could have a large variety of causes ;)


Edited by spakk, 07 December 2013 - 03:10 PM.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy