Jump to content

Post your STUDIO SETUP.


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#41
Cebit

Cebit

    Bipolar Soup

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Larisa, Greece
  • Interests:*nix, Music Production, swimming, watching HD movies, Anime
Posted Image

MacPro 8-Core @ 2.8GHz, 8GB RAM, Airport Xtreme, 300GB Velociraptor (10.5.6), 3x1TB Samsung HDD(Var, Library, Projects), Samsung 24" LCD

Motu Traveler, RME FireFace800

Presonus Monitor Station

Mackie HR-824 mk1, BeyerDynamic DT-770 (2005), AKG K-701

Edirol PCR-300, Nordlead 2X, Roland TR-909

PowerCore FW, UAD2 Duo Flexi

10.5.6, C4.5.2, Peak Pro 6



Posted Image

Lian-Li 2000B, 2 x 12" Fans @ 1.000rpm
Seasonic S12-650W
Gigabyte P35-DS4
8GB DDR2-800 Corsair
E8500 @ 3.16GHz
NVidia 8800GT 512MB
Raptor 150GB, Samsung 1TB
LG DVD-RW + 3.5" Floppy
Linksys WMP300N WiFi
Logitech Desktop Wave Cordless
2 x Samsung 22" LCD

RME HDSPe + Multiface II
Yamaha MG10/2
Mackie HR-624 mk1
Samson C01 Mic

Leopard 10.5.6 Vanilla + Logic Pro 8.02

#42
xpertvision

xpertvision

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
Cebit nice setup you have there man!

great tracks on your myspace page too :(

do you live by the tracks you make? or is just a hobby? (with a setup like that its hard to be a hobby)

#43
Cebit

Cebit

    Bipolar Soup

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Larisa, Greece
  • Interests:*nix, Music Production, swimming, watching HD movies, Anime
hi xpertvision.

Thank you for your comments.

All the tracks @ myspace were written during 2004-2006. I've been reading a lot about and experimenting with mixing & mastering. In fact most of the tracks are testbeds.

I work as IT Support and Dept Management & Collection Officer for a major Financial Institute. I prefer the IT section but the 2nd role was part of the deal.

Mixing, Reconstruction/RMXing and Mastering has been a hobby in the past (for my own projects) but now I do it for the extra cash.

I just wish I had the time to apply my current skills at mixing/mastering on the tracks I produced in the past. It's such a hassle to transfer them to Apple/Logic/Cubase.

The accumulated gear is a result of hard savings and being manic/insane/passionate with music technology.

Best regards,

Ceb.

#44
hg2007

hg2007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male
Posted Image

#45
Cebit

Cebit

    Bipolar Soup

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Larisa, Greece
  • Interests:*nix, Music Production, swimming, watching HD movies, Anime
Did u get Logic working fine with Virus Multiple Outs ?

#46
hg2007

hg2007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Gender:Male

Did u get Logic working fine with Virus Multiple Outs ?


Yeah multi-outs work fine, the only problem I have is latency hoping it's fixed when v2 comes out of beta.

*edit also automation but midi cc's replace it

#47
Cebit

Cebit

    Bipolar Soup

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Larisa, Greece
  • Interests:*nix, Music Production, swimming, watching HD movies, Anime

Yeah multi-outs work fine, the only problem I have is latency hoping it's fixed when v2 comes out of beta.

*edit also automation but midi cc's replace it



Thx, I had no idea there was a v2 beta out. Fingers crossed !

#48
triptolemos

triptolemos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
Had a lot of hardware and sold most except:

Alesis Andromeda - best synth ever made
Apogee Duet - awesome quality and service! Rosetta will be next
Korg padKONTROL - great controller {censored} quality
Moog Minimoog Voyager + VX-351 - what can i say...
Quad 12L Active studio monitors - phenomenal stereo image, lacking in the bass department

and of course a hackintosh running Logic 9 ;)

#49
berkan

berkan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Sweden
Home setup:
OSX86 10.5.8 (See top in my signature)
M-Audio Delta 1010 10 in/out
Garageband (for now)

2 Midi keyboards
1 Fender
2 acoustic guitars


Mobile setup:
Macbook 13" 2,4Ghz
M-Audio Fasttrack Pro USB 4 channels
Garageband


#50
Cebit

Cebit

    Bipolar Soup

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Larisa, Greece
  • Interests:*nix, Music Production, swimming, watching HD movies, Anime
I had to clean-up a bit to get a good view...



E8400 based OSx86 computer, thanks to:
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=184367

and

http://www.insanelym...p...139775&st=0

#51
counter-resonance

counter-resonance

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne
5 years of stuff for demo recording:

Yamaha 01X (love it!)
Yamaha HS50M's
Yamaha HS10W
Yamaha RGX 312
Steinberg Cubase 4 > 5
Steinberg Halion Symphonic Orchestra
Propellerhead Record & Reason 4
Reason Pianos
Reason Drum Kits 2.0
Toontrack DFH
Analogue Drums
Native Instruments Kore 2
Native Instruments Komplete 5 > 6
Native Instruments Rig Kontrol 2
Native Instruments Synthetic Drums
Native Instruments Koresound packs (lost count, more than 10)
Korg NanoPad
Access Virus KB
Behringer ADA8000 x 3
RME DIGI9652 (wish there were an OSX driver, I'd pay for one if i could)
EMU 1212M
Digidesign MBox 2 Factory - Protools LE 6.8.1 > 8.0.3

My home studio is 2 desktop PCs running XP pro for rock solid studio duties in VST link via spdif, a laptop for Kore & Guitar Rig and a MS 2003 Server with redundant storage over a gigabit network with a WIFI access point. A dedicated hardware firewall appliance as the internet gateway too. Looking at getting an RME raydat card and possibly Logic9 to move all studio work over to OSX... the never ending cycle of gear aquisition syndrome...

#52
justgeeking

justgeeking

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC
  • Interests:Pro Audio & Video
Nice Setups if you guys have tried your Motu Ethno version 1 on your 10.6.4 setups dont believe motus claim it doesnt work in order to get the upgrade version 2 use that new infamous ilok tool thats out and about/ just do the free upgrade to version 1 to 1.0.1 then proceed have fun....

#53
bonestonne

bonestonne

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 356 posts
Still Windows Only recording on the tower, but running a 16 analog input setup, dual M-Audio Delta 1010's with Windows 7 Home Premium x64. Disable one 1010 and I use Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4, Leave both enabled for Reaper x64 and Adobe Audition.

Laptop is being replaced, but I'll have a Core 2 based MacBook Pro running Pro Tools M-Powered along with Logic Pro and Reaper. Currently using an M-Audio FW Solo for mobile recordings, looking into getting an M-Audio ProFire 2626.

Currently waiting on a new case for my computer, might be migrating into an Antec Fusion Remote Max soon.

Dual 22" LCDs, and specs in the sig.

Oh, I also have a Roland Juno 60, and Silvertone Paul Stanley Signature edition, and an Epiphone Les Paul knockoff for playing around with.

Boston Acoustic speakers paired with Creative subwoofer on the editing desk, Sony 5.1 surround system with Infinity subwoofer in the test room.

Skullcandy Ti's (Tokidoki and Glen Plaid), Skullcandy Hesh (Paul Frank Black) and Skullcandy Ink'd (Paul Frank yellow/white).

pics coming soon (new camera, Canon Rebel T1i).

#54
queglay

queglay

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
I've got a video of my setup, still trying to improve latency because I know i've goten it sub 100 samples when i was playing with osx86 a few years ago. at the moment i get about 130 samples in ableton live @ 44.1k. i only just set this up so go easy on me for using the live demo track.

cintiq and ableton on ox86

cintiq 21UX
dell 24" display
Fireface 800

Intel Badaxe 2 mobo, iPC 10.5.6 with-
nvdarwin
voodoo
seatbelt
intelichx

vx5 keyboard
Lemur
Monome
Macbook 2.4ghz core 2 duo
Genelec 8030 monitors.

#55
sachink70

sachink70

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Motherboard : DG31PR
Ram : 4 GB
Soundcard : Audio Express (Motu)
Itys hybrid soundcard.. but i have to use usb on my mac...
I hope you all know why...
DAW :
Logic pro 9, Protools 9

Keyboard controller : Roland PCR 800
OS : Snow 10.6.3





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy