Jump to content

New Driver for Realtek RTL8111

Realtek RTL8111 driver

  • Please log in to reply
955 replies to this topic

#721
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 820 posts
  • Gender:Male

Ok, I found this https://git.kernel.o...288c3a8403fbfe4 which applies to chipset 17. I integrated the suggested patch. Please try the attached version and report back.

 

Good luck!

 

Mieze

 

You nailed it Mieze! Dead center :)

 

Thank You Mieze



#722
MilesTEG1

MilesTEG1

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello,
My problems may append because the ethernet card is breaking. On Maverick, now, I can't connect anymore...
The network card may be dead for now.
I'll try to install windows to see if it works there...

I'm about to order a TP-Link TG-3468. Does it function with your drivers ?

thanks
Miles

#723
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 820 posts
  • Gender:Male
MilesTEG1
check if your bios has the "test" (forgot the name) for the ethernet. Try and check again

#724
MilesTEG1

MilesTEG1

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

MilesTEG1
check if your bios has the "test" (forgot the name) for the ethernet. Try and check again

Yes it has. I'll go take a photo of it.

Windows 8.1 is restored, and guess what it says for the connexion... 10 Mbits  :ninja:  :no:  :blink:  :shock:  :shock:  :wallbash: (yes ten megabits !)

I'm pretty sure now the card has some problems... And the motherboard is off guaranty by many years now...

 

I'll check the bios test.



#725
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

I'm about to order a TP-Link TG-3468. Does it function with your drivers ?

 

Try to get an add-in card with a RTL8111E because these chips work best and are well tested. I'm using this chip in my server with the driver since march 2013 and never lost connection. I'd recommend the Delock 89357 which I tested myself.

 

Avoid the old RTL8111B which is still found on many ultra cheap cards as these chips have more bugs and less offload functions.

 

In case the manufacturer doesn't mention the chip used, have a look at the PCIe compatibility spec of the card which is a good hint to distinguish old and new chips. In case it's PCIe 1.1 compatible, it's equipped with a RTL8111C or newer (probably RTL8111E), but in case it's only PCIe 1.0 compatible you'll get one of the outdated RTL8111B chips.

 

Mieze



#726
MilesTEG1

MilesTEG1

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Try to get an add-in card with a RTL8111E because these chips work best and are well tested. I'm using this chip in my server with the driver since march 2013 and never lost connection. I'd recommend the Delock 89357 which I tested myself.

 

Avoid the old RTL8111B which is still found on many ultra cheap cards as these chips have more bugs and less offload functions.

 

In case the manufacturer doesn't mention the chip used, have a look at the PCIe compatibility spec of the card which is a good hint to distinguish old and new chips. In case it's PCIe 1.1 compatible, it's equipped with a RTL8111C or newer (probably RTL8111E), but in case it's only PCIe 1.0 compatible you'll get one of the outdated RTL8111B chips.

 

Mieze

Ok, thanks for the advise.
Does this card correspond to your description (photo) :

http://www.amazon.fr...#productDetails

41gYm1CEjhL.jpg

It's a bit more expensive than the one I wanted to buy, bit If you tested it successfully, I could do the effort :D

(I hop it will works on windows 8.1 ?)



#727
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

Yes, it's the same card I'm using.

 

Mieze



#728
MilesTEG1

MilesTEG1

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Gender:Male

Yes, it's the same card I'm using.

 

Mieze

Great, I'll buy this one !
Thanks

For information, here what I got in the bios :

Attached File  IMG_20140815_152302.jpg   173.59KB   5 downloads

Attached File  IMG_20140815_152310.jpg   65.78KB   4 downloads

 

 

Until I receive the new ethernet card, I'll have to use windows, because it can connect, at 10Mbits... maybe it will be enough to play diabloIII



#729
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

I uploaded the prebuilt binary of version 1.2.2, which is identical with 1.2.2-dev4, to the download section and pushed the source code to GitHub.

 

Have fun!  :)

 

Mieze



#730
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

As I already mentioned in the chatroom yesterday here is version 1.2.3-dev1 of the driver in which I reworked TSO. Now there is also support for TCP Segmentation Offload over IPv6. As always, prebuilt binaries and source code is included.

 

Good luck and have fun!

 

Mieze

 

EDIT: Please use version 1.2.3-dev2 which is available here: http://www.insanelym...8111/?p=2054741


Edited by Mieze, 24 August 2014 - 01:13 AM.


#731
alexanderq

alexanderq

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hello Mieze and thank you for your efforts.I have your driver for previous versions of OS X and it worked OK  but since i installed Yosemie I'm havig disconnections and hung problems so i reinstalled and tried other  drivers too but situation is the same so i can't use my installation any more.The card is RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller and it is working OK in windows and in maverics was ok too , I'm using Clover an i have tried booting from S\L\E  and injecting from ..kexts\10.10 but sometimes work for few minutes then stops then i have to wait if it is going to work again.I noticed than when it is working and playng radio statons from itunes it does not stops when stops working from Safari so i tried another browser but ome thing.Please any suggestion



#732
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

@alexanderq: Please send me your kernel logs. I'm sorry, but I don't think that this is driver issue. Sounds more like a badly configured system or a NIC which is about to fail.

 

Mieze


Edited by Mieze, 21 August 2014 - 01:02 PM.


#733
Funky frank

Funky frank

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • There are still performance problems with regard to SMB in certain configurations. My tests indicate that Apple's Broadcom driver shows the same behavior with those configurations. Obviously it's a more general problem that is not limited to my driver.

 

I think this is a really working fix for Mavericks SMB problems:

sudo sysctl -w net.inet.tcp.delayed_ack=0

Put it in your startup and everything will work fine. I also lowered the MTU to the lowest possible value in the LAN hardware settings (in my case 1280). You can test your correct MTU settings by using a ping roundtrip:

ping -c 1 google.com

If there is a timeout, try to lower your MTU value until no error happens anymore.

 

Here is a startup item to be put into /Library/StartupItems (and then chown -R root:wheel on it):

Attached File  SMBFixer.zip   1.75KB   6 downloads



#734
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

I also lowered the MTU to the lowest possible value in the LAN hardware settings (in my case 1280).

 

This is a really bad idea because it won't increase speed, it results in a lower performance due to increased protocol overhead. By the way the driver doesn't support MTU changes.

IOReturn RTL8111::setMaxPacketSize (UInt32 maxSize)
{
    IOReturn result = kIOReturnUnsupported;
    
done:
    return result;
}

Mieze


Edited by Mieze, 21 August 2014 - 01:10 PM.


#735
alexanderq

alexanderq

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Gender:Male

@alexanderq: Please send me your kernel logs. I'm sorry, but I don't think that this is driver issue. Sounds more like a badly configured system or a NIC which is about to fail.

 

Mieze

Here is the log and why is it working OK in windows and linux or previous os x.As for the system configuration i recently installed a fresh copy of Yosemite.

Thank you for the response.

Attached Files



#736
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

@alexanderq: There is no sign of any driver issue in the kernel logs, no lost connections, no deadlocks. it's working properly. Obviously your problem isn't related to the driver at all.

 

Mieze



#737
alexanderq

alexanderq

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thank you for the answer but do you have any other suggestion solution to what do?



#738
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

You can test your correct MTU settings by using a ping roundtrip:

ping -c 1 google.com

If there is a timeout, try to lower your MTU value until no error happens anymore.

 

I'm sorry to be so harsh but this is complete nonsense.

 

Thank you for the answer but do you have any other suggestion solution to what do?

 

In case it's not a hardware issue your system is probably messed up. Try to reinstall or go back to Mavericks because you can't expect beta releases to work flawlessly.

 

Mieze



#739
janel

janel

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hello Mieze,

 

I am using your driver for quite some time now, and I want to tell you that I appreciate your work. Thanks!

 

Yesterday, I saw the new 1.2.3 dev1 version and I did an upgrade from 1.2.0. I have noticed that the latest version breakes the sleep on my system: the system enters in sleep mode just fine but it wakes up by itself after 30-35 seconds. WOL is disabled on System Preferences, and EEE via the plist. After rollback sleep worked as before, without any glitch.

On the /var/log/powermanagement/2014.08.21.asl I found:

 

Abnormal behaviour
Aug 21 17:33:36 localhost powerd[16] <Notice>: Summary- [System: BGTask] Using AC
Aug 21 17:33:51 localhost powerd[16] <Notice>: Software Sleep pid=109: Using AC 
Aug 21 17:33:55 localhost powerd[16] <Notice>: PMConnection: Response from com.apple.apsd is slow (powercaps:0x0)
Aug 21 17:33:55 localhost powerd[16] <Notice>: Clients requested wake events: None
Aug 21 17:34:35 localhost powerd[16] <Notice>: Wake [CDNVA] due to /HID Activity: Using AC
Aug 21 17:34:35 localhost powerd[16] <Notice>: Kernel: Response from Messages timed out (powercaps:0x9)
Aug 21 17:34:35 localhost powerd[16] <Notice>: Kernel: Response from powerd is slow (powercaps:0x0)

Driver version is 1.2.3
Aug 21 17:32:32 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: EEE support disabled.
Aug 21 17:32:32 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: TCP/IPv4 segmentation offload enabled.
Aug 21 17:32:32 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: TCP/IPv6 segmentation offload enabled.
Aug 21 17:32:32 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: TCP/IPv6 checksum offload enabled.
Aug 21 17:32:32 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: Version 1.2.3 using interrupt mitigate value 0xcf58.
Aug 21 17:32:32 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: RTL8168B/8111B: (Chipset 1) at 0xffffff810a0d5000,  0:1f:d0:5a:xx: f
Aug 21 17:32:35 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: Link up on en0, 1-Gigabit, Full-duplex, No flow-control


Working version, waked up via HID (USB mouse)
Aug 21 17:52:08 localhost powerd[17] <Notice>: Summary- [System: BGTask] Using AC
Aug 21 17:52:08 localhost powerd[17] <Notice>: Software Sleep pid=107: Using AC 
Aug 21 17:52:12 localhost powerd[17] <Notice>: PMConnection: Response from com.apple.apsd is slow (powercaps:0x0)
Aug 21 17:52:12 localhost powerd[17] <Notice>: Clients requested wake events: None
Aug 21 17:56:10 localhost powerd[17] <Notice>: Wake [CDNVA] due to UHC5/HID Activity: Using AC
Aug 21 17:56:10 localhost powerd[17] <Notice>: Kernel: Response from powerd is slow (powercaps:0x0)

Driver version 1.2.0
Aug 21 17:50:19 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: EEE support disabled.
Aug 21 17:50:19 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: TCP/IPv4 segmentation offload enabled.
Aug 21 17:50:19 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: TCP/IPv6 checksum offload enabled.
Aug 21 17:50:19 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: Using interrupt mitigate value 0xcf68.
Aug 21 17:50:19 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: RTL8168B/8111B: (Chipset 1) at 0xffffff810924d000,  0:1f:d0:5a:xx: f
Aug 21 17:50:22 localhost kernel[0]: Ethernet [RealtekRTL8111]: Link up on en0, 1-Gigabit, Full-duplex, No flow-control
As you can see the wake reasons differ from the legit wake-up and the one that I think is caused by the driver.
Do you, please, have any suggestions?
 
Danke!
 


#740
Mieze

Mieze

    Giant Cat

  • Coders
  • 766 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Cats

@janel: Well, I haven't changed the sleep/wake related code in any way but version 1.2.3-dev1 was the first one I built with Xcode 5.1.1 instead of Xcode 4.6.3 which I used for earlier versions up to 1.2.2. As I had some trouble to get WoL working for my new Atheros driver using Xcode 5.1.1 too, I assume there is something wrong with the Apple provided power management framework in Xcode 5. I will take a look at it as soon as possible and report back.

 

Mieze







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Realtek, RTL8111, driver


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2015 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy