Jump to content

Games on Hackintosh


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
Games, such as WoW and GW2 definitely run better on Windows. Is this because Windows has the proper drivers for my GTX 560, where there are only simulated ones on my Hackintosh? Do I need extra kexts or need to modify my DSDT or something?
http://d.pr/f/9tJt

#2
cuthead

cuthead

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weihai, Shandong, China
I also have the same problem,COD7 run better on Windows,I found NVIDIA driver QUADRO & GEFORCE MAC OS X DRIVER RELEASE 304.00.05 and installed.Seems doesn't work.
I use my GPU through
org.chameleon.Boot.plist
Graphicsenabler=Yes


#3
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain

AppleGraphicsPowerManagement (AGPM) for nVidia


#4
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male

AppleGraphicsPowerManagement (AGPM) for nVidia

Thanks. Link doesnt work though.

#5
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Yes, the link works fine.

#6
nyolc8

nyolc8

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary

Games, such as WoW and GW2 definitely run better on Windows.
...

This is true on real macs too.

#7
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
Anything I can do? It's as if OS X is heavy or something

#8
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Yes it's perfectly normal for games to run slower on OS X than on Windows, both on Hacks and real Macs.

You should first try to establish if there really is a problem with your setup or not.

Run some benchmarks, try OpenGL Extensions viewer, Unigine Heaven and other toys (search for threads by mitch_de here on IM to find more), then go look for results from other people who have the same video card as you, or something in the same ballpark. This way you can get an idea about what kind of performance you should expect.

In 10.7.5 with the latest nvidia drivers, I got around 4000 on all tests in OpenGL Extensions viewer at 1280x1024 + default settings on a GTX 460. Your scores should be a little higher, depending on resolution. Here's my Unigine score on 10.7.5 w/ the GTX 460:
Attached File  Unigine 460 GTX.png   78.56KB   19 downloads
My hackintosh is unbootable at the moment due to a video card upgrade.
/Edit
And I'm back... Here are some benchmark results - 10.8.2, latest Nvidia drivers, EVGA Geforce 660 GTX 2GB:
Attached File  OpenGLExtensionsviewer GTX 660.png   138.21KB   25 downloadsAttached File  Unigine 660 GTX.png   78.71KB   5 downloads

#9
cuthead

cuthead

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weihai, Shandong, China
Here is mine @1920x1080,I tried AGPM,but seems like don't effect...emmm.strange,Unigine doesn't work on my hackintosh 10.8.2,I will try it on 10.7.
Unigine Heaven on my mackintosh 10.7.5 works. here is the result on Inno3D GTX 260 GOLD

Attached Files



#10
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Unigine Heaven should work. Try installing the latest Mountain Lion Quadro 4000 drivers from nvidia, then boot with GraphicsEnabler=n on your 10.8.2 hack.

I've been away for a while and haven't been keeping up so I was quite surprised when I got full hardware acceleration with no video card injection at all.

Are the OpenGL Extensions Viewer scores from Mountain Lion? They look fine. Your OpenGL 1.1 score is lower because the clocks didn't have time to ramp up. To get a more accurate score for OpenGL 1.1 run the test, keep an eye on your score and then when it hits 4000, quickly press esc and restart the test.

#11
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
Are there no GTX 560 drivers downloadable for OS X?

#12
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
The Quadro 4000 drivers are the GTX 560 drivers. You have to select Quadro 4000 for Mac on nvidia's driver download page to get them.

There is no "GTX 560 for Mac", so if you select that video card you don't get the option to download OS X drivers.

#13
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
I tried everything I could to find and download those Quadro 4000 drivers. I just cant find them.

Is it this October 2012 driver? http://www.nvidia.co...f02-driver.html

#14
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
As I said..

You have to select Quadro 4000 for Mac on nvidia's driver download page to get them.

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-02-04 at 1.49.34 AM.png   37.2KB   4 downloads
But yes, you found the right page.

In case you're not using a MacPro model identifier also see this...so I don't have to repeat myself:
http://www.insanelym...d/#entry1642353

#15
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks.

Unfortunately for me, I installed the driver and used GraphicsEnabler=n, and am now getting a blank screen

#16
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Try plugging your monitor into the other DVI port. Although the screen should not be black even if OS X thinks you're plugged in to the secondary output.

If that doesn't work then try booting with UseKernelCache=n -v (verbose mode added so you can see what's going on if it should halt again)

Try booting with npci=0x2000, also try GraphicsEnabler=y, maybe some cards still need it, I don't know.

Either way if it's a driver problem you should still be able to boot in safe mode with -x

I have to go to work in 4 1/2 hours so I'll be turning in. I'll be back again tomorrow.

#17
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Boot Banner</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x3000 [b]GraphicsEnabler=n[/b]</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>

or

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Boot Banner</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
[b]<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>No</string>[/b]
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x3000</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>

?

#18
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
No...just leave it, there's no need to edit that every time you boot, whatever you type at the Chameleon boot prompt overrides what's in your Boot.plist.

Just start typing at the Chameleon GUI and the prompt will appear at the bottom of the screen.

Once you find something that works you can add it permanently.

Anyway;
npci=0x2000 (not 3000 like you put, that's normally used on PCs with integrated video) goes in the kernel flags string, it's a kernel flag.
Graphics Enabler is not a kernel flag, it's a Chameleon setting. Your second version up there is the correct one.

If you were using npci=0x3000 when getting the black screen, try removing it, because I can't tell you how to override it from the boot prompt - I don't know what the default value for npci is.

I was using that flag myself on 10.6.8 - 10.7.5, on Mountain Lion I don't need it.

I really have to go to sleep, good luck.

#19
dannymichel

dannymichel

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
Ok, cool. So, I you're saying to leave my org.Chameleon.Boot.plist as this...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Boot Banner</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>

but boot one time with -f -v UseKernelCache=No GraphicsEnabler=n and let it black screen

but then boot again with no boot flags, and

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>

still being in org.Chameleon.Boot.plist

#20
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
No...I didn't mean boot one time with this and one time with that. Just giving you some boot flags you can try.

Try removing npci=0x2000 from the kernel flags string, leave it empty like this:
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string></string>


Also try safe mode (-x), this will prevent video drivers from loading.

When does the screen go black exactly?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy