Jump to content

New OS X compatible motherboard -> QUO

mobo

  • Please log in to reply
1484 replies to this topic

#461
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,077 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

There are so many years behind this project that I can't realy remember when it started(maybe someone do and bring the light here) anyway was in Chameleon glory days...

People need to know b/c I am really tired to see some venting brain farts like stolen work and s**t like that.

Ignore the haters and misinformed! People involved know the history and i doubt anyone wants any credits.. Credit goes to HermitCrab for what is being used here!



#462
^Andy^

^Andy^

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 659 posts
  • Gender:Male

With all due respect that's a bit of a silly comment. There are so many people who have contributed in so many different areas of the hackintosh project that it's almost if not entirely impossible to avoid using other peoples work. It's also not always possible to credit the people who's work you are using because 9 times out of 10 you simply don't know who has contributed and how far back those contributions go.
Not looking to be flamed so if you don't agree please just ignore :)


 


Edited by fantomas1, 11 September 2013 - 07:19 PM.
quoted post removed


#463
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Speeches about Price, delivery time, and nonsense will be deleted. Stay on technical (and on this Topic).

(Just deleted two unnecessary posts)

 

Micky



#464
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 2,685 posts
  • Gender:Male

to EvgeniX and bs0d

 

please stop with not constructive conversation to the topic.

 

If you would like to discuss about a different motherboard and a different method of installation, please just do it so in a different thread.

 

cordially



#465
IronManJFF

IronManJFF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montréal

Thank you mods ...hopefully this thread will not turn into the KS comments ...

 

Stupid Question #1 : With H3A BIOS, can I put in a SSD that already has ML 10.8.4 on it and simply boot it (I think so but would like confirmation )?

Stupid Question #2 : With H3A BIOS, can I boot from a FireWire or USB external HD ?

 

I know in both cases audio would not be working but that would remove the pain of doing an install as I already keep clones of my partitions on a external HD

 

Thanks



#466
Lanceomni

Lanceomni

    infinitemac.com (φοίνιξ) !

  • Donators
  • 614 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida

IronManJFF,

 

#1 If you are talking about a vanilla install (i.e., an install without patches, bootloaders, or any other kind of modifications to ACPI), then yes, if you put an SSD that already has ML 10.8.4 in, it will boot without audio.

 

#2a I have never tested booting from a firewire drive. I can also say that I have never come across anyone doing so. Not my area of expertise.

 

#2b Yes on booting from USB with the aforementioned comments.



#467
esojotrebla

esojotrebla

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

I got my hackintosh working after getting a Core i7 3770 processor. Installation went smoothly for the most part, and was able to get audio working afterwards with the legacy drivers.

 

I did encounter one problem though: neither SATA III (6Gbps) port recognized my SSD, I was only able to install OS X after moving it to a SATA II (3Gbps) port. Anyone else had this problem? They still won't work even though the BIOS shows them as enabled.

 

And speaking of the Bios, I flashed the Hermitcrab version from (https://mrq7bqbfgwmjzd5m.tor2web.org/) but now I'm not sure if the install was successful because the system didn't restart twice as the instructions said it would. Below is what I see when checking for the Bios version I'm running, is that the correct one? Thanks!

 

Model Name Z77MX-QUO-AOS
BIOS Version Z77MX.QUO.AOS.H3A.1307271205
BIOS Date 07/27/2013
BIOS ID 8A31AG0M


#468
toren

toren

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

esojotrebla, I have a Fusion Drive set up with an SSD on one of my SATA-III ports with no problem.  Not sure what would make yours not recognize one.  What model of SSD is it?

 

I believe the "H3A" in the BIOS version means you're running the Hermitcrab version.



#469
Wimdows8

Wimdows8

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

I ended up flashing BIOS to H3A, booting from a 10.8.3 stick and doing a full time machine restore from my Mac Pro. Went without any issues. Patched audio, updated to 10.8.4, patched audio again... ;-)

 

Only problem I have is that sleep isn't working and shutdown isn't either. Video signal goes off (GTX 670 over DVI) but case power and fans etc. stay on.

 

Would overclocking the CPU affect Sleep/Power management? (Noticed an earlier post about CPU not supported message in logs...)

 

Thanks ;-)



#470
sTaN

sTaN

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Sleep works fine for me without an external graphics card. Have you tried it without your GTX 670?

Is there any tutorial where is described how to configure a fusion drive? I would like to use a 640GB Samsung F1 Spinpoint with my Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD.

Furthermore I tried to restore my data from an existing time machine backup at my QNAP NAS. It only works for me if I use an username which is different to the user on my macbook air. How can I smoothly install a fresh OSX with an existing time machine backup with the same name at my macbook. Is there any tutorial for that case?

 

Everyone use the Trim Enabler for Mac with an SSD?

 

Many thanks in advanced



#471
Geesu

Geesu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

I ended up flashing BIOS to H3A, booting from a 10.8.3 stick and doing a full time machine restore from my Mac Pro. Went without any issues. Patched audio, updated to 10.8.4, patched audio again... ;-)

 

Only problem I have is that sleep isn't working and shutdown isn't either. Video signal goes off (GTX 670 over DVI) but case power and fans etc. stay on.

 

Would overclocking the CPU affect Sleep/Power management? (Noticed an earlier post about CPU not supported message in logs...)

 

Thanks ;-)

 

Same setup as you, sleep is working fine for me.  I have an i7-3770K.  I set the BIOS to boot the HD4000 graphics first always, but my 2 main monitors (DVI) are plugged into my 670 (3rd into the HD4000, although it doesn't need to be).  Sleep works great.  Although I did start with a 10.8.4 installer.

 

The only annoying thing I noticed is my 2 hard drives are connecting at SATA2 speeds instead of SATA3



#472
IronManJFF

IronManJFF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montréal

@Lanceomni : Thanks, this looks like it is gonna be an easy one as I already have an external USB enclosure

 

So the plan is to install new SSD in USB enclosure, plug enclosure into MBP, clone MBP SSD onto the new SSD using Super Duper. Install new SSD into my PowerHack i5. Boot -> fix Audio -> reboot. Done!

Sounds too easy ...



#473
Wimdows8

Wimdows8

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Same setup as you, sleep is working fine for me.  I have an i7-3770K.  I set the BIOS to boot the HD4000 graphics first always, but my 2 main monitors (DVI) are plugged into my 670 (3rd into the HD4000, although it doesn't need to be).  Sleep works great.  Although I did start with a 10.8.4 installer.

 

The only annoying thing I noticed is my 2 hard drives are connecting at SATA2 speeds instead of SATA3

 

Thanks for the response.

 

But have you overclocked your CPU?

 

I OC'd my i5 3570K to 4.4GHz...gonna change it back to stock speed and see whether that affects it. May also try it without my 670.


Furthermore I tried to restore my data from an existing time machine backup at my QNAP NAS. It only works for me if I use an username which is different to the user on my macbook air. How can I smoothly install a fresh OSX with an existing time machine backup with the same name at my macbook. Is there any tutorial for that case?

You either have to have the disk attached (full restore over network doesn't work) and then one of the first steps in your install is 'Restore from existing TM backup'.

 

Alternatively - and I guess you are using that, you can use the data migration utility, but you will need to make sure you do this data migration as a newly created user (or different user to the user profile you are restoring), because otherwise the user profile that you are logged in as will have files in use...



#474
Geesu

Geesu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

@wimdows-8 - No overclocking here, I'm too nervous ;)

 

I originally installed from a flash drive (10.8.4 created with Lion DiskMaker) and ONLY used the HD4000 graphics, I installed the 670 after mountain lion installed successfully.  I only had to add the audio kext using ##### then i was good to go!



#475
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,077 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Even if you are not logged in you can not migrate the same name as an existing user.



#476
IronManJFF

IronManJFF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montréal

moving on to more stupid questions  ..

 

Using H3A BIOS

 

Stupid question # 3 : System Definitions (aka smbios.plist )... are they injected by the firmware ? values ?

Stupid question # 4 : Display resolution at boot ... can it be set ? how ?

Stupid question # 5 : Ivy Bridge Power Management how do you inject it ? (the hackintosh way would be thru Chameleon...SSDT and some other mumbo jumbo) 



#477
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

moving on to more stupid questions  ..

 

Using H3A BIOS

 

Stupid question # 3 : System Definitions (aka smbios.plist )... are they injected by the firmware ? values ?

Stupid question # 4 : Display resolution at boot ... can it be set ? how ?

Stupid question # 5 : Ivy Bridge Power Management how do you inject it ? (the hackintosh way would be thru Chameleon...SSDT and some other mumbo jumbo) 

3: this its injected from firmware but can be changed.

 

by STLVNUB

#!/bin/bash
#SMBIOS
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion=MM61.88Z.0106.B00.1208091121
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName=Macmini6,2
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily=Macmini
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId=Mac-F65AE981FFA204ED
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=Replace
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU=MD389LL/A
#OzmosisNVRAM
sudo nvram 7C436110-AB2A-4BBB-A880-FE41995C9F82:boot-args="-fakesmc-use-nvram"

#APPLE
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM=Replace e.g %90%90%9090%90
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures=%C0%00%7F%FF
sudo nvram 4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask=%C0%00%14%03 

#CODE
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosDate
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BoardVersion
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:Manufacturer
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProcessorSerial
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSKU
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ChassisAssetTag
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:CpuType
#4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:EnclosureType

#CODE
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:ROM
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:MLB
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeatures
#4D1EDE05-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B38C14:FirmwareFeaturesMask

4: Display resolution when u boot schould be max of your monitor if u turn off CSM in bios.

 

5: Ivy Bridge Power Management should be injected through custom DSDT or injector (info.plist).

Scope (_PR)
	{
		Processor (CPU0, 0x01, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
		Processor (CPU1, 0x02, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
		Processor (CPU2, 0x03, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
		Processor (CPU3, 0x04, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
		Processor (CPU4, 0x05, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
		Processor (CPU5, 0x06, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
		Processor (CPU6, 0x07, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
		Processor (CPU7, 0x08, 0x00000410, 0x06) {}
	}

	Scope (_PR)
	{
		Scope (CPU0)
		{
			Method (APSN, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (0x04)
			}

			Method (APLF, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (0x04)
			}

			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (Package (0x23)
				{
					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x1068, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2A00, 
						0x2A00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x1004, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2900, 
						0x2900
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0FA0, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2800, 
						0x2800
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0F3C, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2700, 
						0x2700
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0ED8, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2600, 
						0x2600
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0E74, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2500, 
						0x2500
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0E10, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2400, 
						0x2400
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0DAC, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2300, 
						0x2300
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0D48, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2200, 
						0x2200
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0CE4, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2100, 
						0x2100
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0C80, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x2000, 
						0x2000
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0C1C, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1F00, 
						0x1F00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0BB8, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1E00, 
						0x1E00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0B54, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1D00, 
						0x1D00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0AF0, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1C00, 
						0x1C00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0A8C, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1B00, 
						0x1B00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0A28, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1A00, 
						0x1A00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x09C4, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1900, 
						0x1900
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0960, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1800, 
						0x1800
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x08FC, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1700, 
						0x1700
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0898, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1600, 
						0x1600
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0834, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1500, 
						0x1500
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x07D0, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1400, 
						0x1400
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x076C, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1300, 
						0x1300
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0708, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1200, 
						0x1200
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x06A4, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1100, 
						0x1100
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0640, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x1000, 
						0x1000
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x05DC, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0F00, 
						0x0F00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0578, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0E00, 
						0x0E00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0514, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0D00, 
						0x0D00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x04B0, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0C00, 
						0x0C00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x044C, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0B00, 
						0x0B00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x03E8, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A00, 
						0x0A00
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0384, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0900, 
						0x0900
					}, 

					Package (0x06)
					{
						0x0320, 
						Zero, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0A, 
						0x0800, 
						0x0800
					}
				})
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (Package (0x06)
				{
					One, 
					0x04, 
					Package (0x04)
					{
						ResourceTemplate ()
						{
							Register (FFixedHW, 
								0x01,			   // Bit Width
								0x02,			   // Bit Offset
								0x0000000000000000, // Address
								0x01,			   // Access Size
								)
						}, 

						One, 
						0x03, 
						0x03E8
					}, 

					Package (0x04)
					{
						ResourceTemplate ()
						{
							Register (FFixedHW, 
								0x01,			   // Bit Width
								0x02,			   // Bit Offset
								0x0000000000000010, // Address
								0x03,			   // Access Size
								)
						}, 

						0x03, 
						0xCD, 
						0x01F4
					}, 

					Package (0x04)
					{
						ResourceTemplate ()
						{
							Register (FFixedHW, 
								0x01,			   // Bit Width
								0x02,			   // Bit Offset
								0x0000000000000020, // Address
								0x03,			   // Access Size
								)
						}, 

						0x06, 
						0xF5, 
						0x015E
					}, 

					Package (0x04)
					{
						ResourceTemplate ()
						{
							Register (FFixedHW, 
								0x01,			   // Bit Width
								0x02,			   // Bit Offset
								0x0000000000000030, // Address
								0x03,			   // Access Size
								)
						}, 

						0x07, 
						0xF5, 
						0xC8
					}
				})
			}

			Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method
			{
				If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
				{
					Return (Buffer (One)
					{
						 0x03
					})
				}

				Return (Package (0x02)
				{
					"plugin-type", 
					One
				})
			}
		}

		Scope (CPU1)
		{
			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.APSS ())
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.ACST ())
			}
		}

		Scope (CPU2)
		{
			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.APSS ())
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.ACST ())
			}
		}

		Scope (CPU3)
		{
			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.APSS ())
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.ACST ())
			}
		}

		Scope (CPU4)
		{
			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.APSS ())
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.ACST ())
			}
		}

		Scope (CPU5)
		{
			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.APSS ())
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.ACST ())
			}
		}

		Scope (CPU6)
		{
			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.APSS ())
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.ACST ())
			}
		}

		Scope (CPU7)
		{
			Method (APSS, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.APSS ())
			}

			Method (ACST, 0, NotSerialized)
			{
				Return (^^CPU0.ACST ())
			}
		}
	}

this need to be added to your unded CPU0 like in code up.

Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method
			{
				If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
				{
					Return (Buffer (One)
					{
						 0x03
					})
				}

				Return (Package (0x02)
				{
					"plugin-type", 
					One
				})


#478
sTaN

sTaN

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

 

Since I don't think I've seen references on how to make iMessages work for the QUO board with H3A firmware, here's what I did (based on other threads):

 

sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BiosVersion=MM61.88Z.0106.B00.1208091121
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductName=Macmini6,2
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:SystemSerial=XXXXXXXXXXXX [appropriate serial generated by Chameleon Wizard, 12 characters]
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductFamily=Macmini
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:ProductId=Mac-F65AE981FFA204ED
sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX [17-digit serial number]
I think the trick was the BaseBoardSerial; if you run "nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial" you can see what yours is set to currently; mine was fewer than 17 characters, which seems to be the magic number.  I made up additional digits and appended them to get the right length, then wrote it back out.  iMessage worked after that.
 
CAVEATS:
1) Apple can certainly change stuff in the future, so this may stop working at some point.  If you are reading this post from the distant future, don't assume it still works.
2) Deauthorize your machine from iTunes before you do this so you don't eat up one of your 5 authorizations from your old machine ID.

 

What I have exactly to do if I want to get iMessage work? Only run "nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial" ? Where can I set the BaseBoard Serial and what I have to type in. Sorry for the question but it is not really clear for me.



#479
toren

toren

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

What I have exactly to do if I want to get iMessage work? Only run "nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial" ? Where can I set the BaseBoard Serial and what I have to type in. Sorry for the question but it is not really clear for me.

I don't know if just changing the baseboard serial number alone will work.  It looks like Apple is sanity-checking machine IDs for iMessage, so I set the model information to something with an i7, put in a serial number that makes sense for that model (generated using Chameleon Wizard), and then padded out my baseboard serial number to the appropriate number of characters.

 

In the terminal, if you run "nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial" it should show you the currently-set baseboard serial number.  Assuming it's less than 17, just make up additional numbers to put at the end until it's 17 characters long, and write it back out with "sudo nvram 4D1FDA02-38C7-4A6A-9CC6-4BCCA8B30102:BaseBoardSerial=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX" (with your new baseboard serial number instead of the XXXX part).

 

If you try just setting the baseboard serial alone, let us know if it works.



#480
IronManJFF

IronManJFF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montréal

Thanks Xpamamadeus  ....

 

 

5: Ivy Bridge Power Management should be injected through custom DSDT or injector (info.plist).

Excuse my noobishness ..but how ?

I know that with Chimera boot loader I learned that I would have to put stuff into /Extra , edit org.chameleon.Boot.plist (ref. post #2 ) .. but with H3A BIOS..how can we accomplish same thing ?







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: mobo

  Topic Stats Last Post Info

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy