Jump to content

Lenovo ThinkPad T420 with UEFI Only

* * * * * 36 votes UEFI ThinkPad T420 Lenovo Clover

Best Answer tluck, 08 October 2013 - 02:47 PM

27-Jun-2016 Update

  • Updated to Clover r3578 (should be Sierra ready?)

  • Updated FakeSMC kexts (and included installer for HWMonitor.app)
  • Updated VoodooPS2Controller kext to latest rev - with a few TrackPad param tweaks.
  • Cleanup PNLF device in DSDT.

Various Tweaks over Last 6 months

Spoiler

 

 

Lenovo T420 Clover Guide

 

Overview

Spoiler

 

New Installation Steps and Details

 

BIOS settings:

Spoiler

 

Part 1 - OS Installation

Spoiler

 

Part 2 - Post OS Installation and Setup on HD

Spoiler

 

Known Issues and Random Tips:

Spoiler

 

Notes on Custom Kexts

Spoiler

 

​General Notes, Fixes, and Features

Spoiler

 

Optional: Create a custom SSDT

Spoiler

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
2660 replies to this topic

#141
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
well, frankly it really doesnt matter all that much which order you partition it. on one disk i have EFI, OSX, WIN7. on another disk i have them reversed. if you already have an EFI booting windows, then i would move on to getting OSX installed on the 2nd partition..... and then Clover can boot either one.

i think i have seen what you have seeing. they should be compatible ... i created GPT/GUID disk on windows but then had to reformat it on the mac.
run this tool to see it its formatted right. it should look like this:

in this case partition 2 is HFS and partition 3 is NTFS.




$ sudo gpt -r show disk0
start size index contents
0 1 PMBR
1 1 Pri GPT header
2 32 Pri GPT table
34 6
40 409600 1 GPT part - C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
409640 1363793744 2 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
1364203384 262280
1364465664 100681728 3 GPT part - EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7
1465147392 1743
1465149135 32 Sec GPT table
1465149167 1 Sec GPT header


you can use command line to reformat the HFS partition
$ diskutil reformat disk0s2 (for example)

if you have to redo your disk, you can use dd to copy your windows disk to another partition for backup so you dont have to reinstall your windows stuff.
make a partition of the same size on a 2nd disk and use some thing like this to unmount the win stuff and copy.

diskutil unmountdisk disk0s3
dd if=/dev/rdisk0s3 of=/dev/rdisk1s3 bs=256k

#142
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
Found another benefit of Clover - it can inject a proper v1.3 EDID table for the Lenovo LCD display!

I posted some info here: #312 (note this for 1600x900)

Updated - injecting/using the EDID from Kogen's Display (posted in #13), I seem to have a perfect LCD display. No glitches. No hangs. Wow.

in the link above, i posted the clover.plist as well as the Display definition - so you have choices on the gamma/color profiles.

#143
Kogen Mantis

Kogen Mantis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male

Found another benefit of Clover - it can inject a proper v1.3 EDID table for the Lenovo LCD display!

I posted some info here: #312 (note this for 1600x900)

seems to make the LCD less splotch/glitchy than it was. does not completely eliminate hangs but it seems to work better than before i inject the EDID.
i also posted an updated Display Override file - better gamma/color correction compared to original - which is very blue/hazy - IMO.

Thanks for bringing this up. The gamma correction is way batter than the standard one but I still prefer the one I've made (post #13). Still -interestingly your override almost passes my flicker test (see attached picture) witch means it is not the EDID but something else in the settings that needs to be investigated to achieve flicker less display.

Posted Image

BTW you can also add extra scale resolutions in your override
<key>scale-resolutions</key>
<array>
  <data>AAAGQAAAA4QAAAAB</data>          <!-- 1600x900 -->
  <data>AAAFVgAAAwAAAAAB</data>          <!-- 1366x768 -->
  <data>AAAFAAAAAtAAAAAB</data>          <!-- 1280x720 -->
  <data>AAAEcAAAAoAAAAAB</data>          <!-- 1136x640 -->
  <data>AAAEAAAAAwAAAAAB</data>          <!-- 1024x768 -->
  <data>AAADIAAAAlgAAAAB</data>          <!--  800x600 -->
  <data>AAACgAAAAeAAAAAB</data>          <!--  640x480 -->
</array>


#144
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@kogen - we are definitely on to something!

putting the gamma/color curve info aside - as that is merely a personal preference...

I took your EDID and injected it with clover. WOW!!! I cannot see ANY flicker and got no hangs. I have not done alot of testing of course as this is fresh news ... but the usual ways that hang it up like sliding a window from display 1 to 2 and using mission control etc could not hang it.

very exciting. i also added your extra scale/resolutions. nice.

i just merged in the color curve stuff which came from and older mbp3,1 vendor/product 610/9c67 (it matches my HP side by side better in my case.)

i hope it lasts. will repost the actual files (config.plist etc) later so folks can have choice.

your EDID shown by darwin - GOOD.

Extracted contents:
header: 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00
serial number: 30 e4 e2 02 00 00 00 00 00 14
version: 01 03
basic params: 80 1f 11 78 0a
chroma info: 43 45 97 59 57 8e 28 21 50 54
established: 00 00 00
standard: 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
descriptor 1: 80 25 40 80 60 84 1a 30 30 20 35 00 36 ae 10 00 00 19
descriptor 2: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
descriptor 3: 00 00 00 fe 00 4c 47 20 44 69 73 70 6c 61 79 0a 20 20
descriptor 4: 00 00 00 fe 00 4c 50 31 34 30 57 44 32 2d 54 4c 42 31
extensions: 00
checksum: 38

Manufacturer: LGD Model 2e2 Serial Number 0
Made week 0 of 2010
EDID version: 1.3
Digital display
Maximum image size: 31 cm x 17 cm
Gamma: 2.20
Supported color formats: RGB 4:4:4, YCrCb 4:2:2
First detailed timing is preferred timing
Established timings supported:
Standard timings supported:
Detailed mode: Clock 96.000 MHz, 310 mm x 174 mm
1600 1648 1680 1728 hborder 0
900 903 908 926 vborder 0
-hsync -vsync
Manufacturer-specified data, tag 0
ASCII string: LG
ASCII string: LP140WD2
Checksum: 0x38 (valid)
EDID block does NOT conform to EDID 1.3!
Missing name descriptor
Missing monitor ranges
Detailed block string not properly terminated


the Lenovo EDID - not GOOD!


Extracted contents:
header: 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00
serial number: 30 ae a1 40 00 00 00 00 01 14
version: 01 03
basic params: 80 1f 11 78 ea
chroma info: cc ce 99 58 50 8e 26 24 4b 53
established: 00 00 00
standard: 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
descriptor 1: f8 2a 40 9a 61 84 0c 30 40 2a 33 00 35 ae 10 00 00 18
descriptor 2: cf 23 40 9a 61 84 0c 30 40 2a 33 00 35 ae 10 00 00 18
descriptor 3: 00 00 00 0f 00 a9 09 32 a9 09 32 19 09 00 06 af 56 31
descriptor 4: 00 00 00 fe 00 42 31 34 30 52 57 30 32 20 56 31 20 0a
extensions: 00
checksum: 7b

Manufacturer: LEN Model 40a1 Serial Number 0
Made week 1 of 2010
EDID version: 1.3
Digital display
Maximum image size: 31 cm x 17 cm
Gamma: 2.20
DPMS levels: Standby Suspend Off
Supported color formats: RGB 4:4:4, YCrCb 4:2:2
First detailed timing is preferred timing
Established timings supported:
Standard timings supported:
Detailed mode: Clock 110.000 MHz, 309 mm x 174 mm
1600 1664 1706 2010 hborder 0
900 903 906 912 vborder 0
-hsync -vsync
Detailed mode: Clock 91.670 MHz, 309 mm x 174 mm
1600 1664 1706 2010 hborder 0
900 903 906 912 vborder 0
-hsync -vsync
Manufacturer-specified data, tag 15
ASCII string: B140RW02
Checksum: 0x7b (valid)
EDID block does NOT conform to EDID 1.3!
Missing name descriptor
Missing monitor ranges
Detailed block string not properly terminated

#145
Kogen Mantis

Kogen Mantis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
In case you ever wondered if you can track your Lenovo using Find my Mac - Yes you can! You can also lock it just like I did - but in that case - prepare yourself for some trouble.
I have locked my Lenovo via icloud.com using chrome. I was asked to enter 4 digit PIN code in case of unlocking. All went smooth in one minute Lenovo restarted and didn't boot, probably because Clover can't handle firmware unlock. Next I've tried to boot recovery (disabling vt-d first) and recovery partition booted. As always I've overrided the "No mouse & no keyboard notification screen" by presing Alt + space + left mouse few times and to my surprise this screen appeared.


Attached File  iCloudLOCK.JPG   72.59KB   15 downloads Attached File  iCloudLOCK2.JPG   119.88KB   11 downloads


There was no way to unlock it. The system was expecting 6 digit PIN not 4! Trying to reinstall the system by booting from my Install pen-drive showed up thesame screen. I had to wipe all the disk data using Linux to be able to run OS X Installer without the system lock screen.

I must say this was fun to look at on my Lenovo :)

Right now I'm doing a fresh install, this time on a 32GB pen-drive to try new EFIPack on my friends T430.

#146
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@kogen - wow that sucks about the lock code! good to know.

FYI... had some issues with sleep/wake - after about 15 of sleep if i open the lid, the power light is flashing fast and fan is on. black screen. a few people reported similar problems on this thread ...and now i have reproduced it!

it could be from the Generate P/C states feature in clover as I am having better sleep/wake success NOT Generate P/C states and using Verleihnix ssdt.aml. http://www.insanelym...60#entry1903659
by the way, this is how I had on chameleon.

<key>ACPI</key>
<dict>
<key>DropOemSSDT</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>FixDsdtMask</key>
<string>0x0000</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>No</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>No</string>
</dict>


#147
ag6952563

ag6952563

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
Hi guys, having trouble installing the boot loader...
I backed-up my OS X drive, I formatted my drive to guid, restored my OSX drive into the new GUID partition and installed Clover.
The partition is not booting though. What options do I have to use?

#148
Kogen Mantis

Kogen Mantis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi guys, having trouble installing the boot loader...
I backed-up my OS X drive, I formatted my drive to guid, restored my OSX drive into the new GUID partition and installed Clover.
The partition is not booting though. What options do I have to use?

How did you install and what ver of Clover?
Try booting Clover from pen-drive first. The best option for you would be using tluck's OEM folder (just rename his model to yours) and you should be golden.

#149
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@ag6952563 - hmm. let see. did you turn on UEFI in the bios?

so had clover install the stuff in the EFI (ESP) partition 1 right?
i do this to check out/update the clover stuff. say you unzipped the EFI stuff (i posted) in ~/clover then....

$ sudo -s
$ mkdir /mnt
$ mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /mnt
$ cp -rp ~/clover/EFI /mnt

then should look like this:



$ ls -l
total 9
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 Apr 25 22:51 APPLE
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 11 01:00 BOOT
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 1536 May 10 17:04 CLOVER
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 1353 May 10 15:55 Clover_Install_Log.txt
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 Apr 23 14:52 Microsoft

$ ls -l /mnt/EFI/CLOVER/
total 1119
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 10 17:05 ACPI
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 558400 May 10 14:00 CLOVERX64.efi
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 8 21:55 OEM
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 1637 May 10 16:51 config.plist
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 10 15:55 doc
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 10 15:55 drivers64UEFI
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 10 15:55 kexts
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 10 15:55 misc
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 3031 May 10 14:00 refit-default.conf
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 3084 Apr 25 15:05 refit.conf
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 10 17:04 themes
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 10 16:24 tools

#150
ag6952563

ag6952563

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts

How did you install and what ver of Clover?
Try booting Clover from pen-drive first. The best option for you would be using tluck's OEM folder (just rename his model to yours) and you should be golden.


Hi Kogen, I have installed the latest version of Clover (1597)...
I was able to boot from the USB first, then from my SSD, also using tluck's zip file... the systems seems to be working great, even without buffer hangs!!! This is great!!

I think the issue I had is that I was trying to put the contents of the zip file under /EFI/CLOVER, and this was not working fine. I have been able to boot from the SSD, but all files are now under /EFI (there is no CLOVER folder). Is this okay?

The process I have followed is to reuse my existing OS X 10.8.3 setup (I had it working with Chimera).
So, I backed up my entire setup to another hard drive, then formatted my SSD to GUID, then restored the entire OS X 10.8.3 to the new GUID partition. Then installed Glover on this drive, then copied the BOOT from the drive into the EFI partition, then the rest of the folders from tluck's zip package. I don't have CLOVER folder though, all subfolders are under /EFI directly.
Did I miss anything?

I have a couple of questions related to my setup:
- How do I configure the default partition to boot on Clover?
- Since I have my configuration from before, I have the Extra folder and also I have some kexts under S/L/E. Should I delete the Extra folder? It's no longer used, correct?
Also, are the kexts under S/L/E used? I have noticed they are under Extensions in tluck's package. Should I delete them?

Thanks a lot guys!

@tluck-
Please see my previous post to Kogen...
I have no CLOVER folder. Also some question related to my setup.

Thanks a lot for your support!! I have not buffer hangs!!!!

Here is my EFI partition folder structure...

localhost:~ aj$ su
Password:
sh-3.2# diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *128.0 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS Mac SSD 127.7 GB disk0s2
/dev/disk1
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *320.1 GB disk1
1: Windows_NTFS OBIPE 9.8 GB disk1s1
2: Windows_NTFS w7 82.3 GB disk1s2
3: Apple_HFS Mac HD 86.2 GB disk1s4
4: Windows_NTFS aj 141.8 GB disk1s5
sh-3.2# mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /mnt
sh-3.2# ls /mnt
.Trashes ._EFI .fseventsd EFI
sh-3.2# ls -l /mnt/EFI
total 1251
-rwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 6148 May 12 12:36 .DS_Store
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 12:39 ._.DS_Store
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._ACPI
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 12:51 ._BOOT
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._CLOVERX64.efi
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._OEM
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:30 ._config.plist
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._doc
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._drivers64UEFI
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._kexts
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._misc
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._refit-default.conf
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._refit.conf
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._themes
-rwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 4096 May 12 13:18 ._tools
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 12 13:18 ACPI
drwxrwxrwx 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 12 13:03 APPLE
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1536 May 12 12:51 BOOT
-rwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 556832 May 5 18:05 CLOVERX64.efi
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 12 13:23 OEM
-rwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1272 Apr 26 21:13 config.plist
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 2048 May 12 13:18 doc
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1536 May 12 13:18 drivers64UEFI
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 12 13:18 kexts
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 512 May 10 18:30 misc
-rwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 3031 May 5 18:05 refit-default.conf
-rwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 3084 Apr 25 21:05 refit.conf
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 12 13:18 themes
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 _unknown _unknown 1024 May 12 13:18 tools
sh-3.2#

#151
Kogen Mantis

Kogen Mantis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
@ag6952563 - If you are using Clover r1597 in old folder structure, this can only mean that developers made Clover backwards compatible - interesting.
Anyways if you plan to still use chameleon - keep your kexts in /S/L/E (cause those injected by Clover won't be loaded). But I suggest you to move all your custom kexts from /S/L/E to /E/E and use myHack to deal with installing custom kexts, rebuilding system and kernel caches, fixing permissions etc.
I'm guessing that tluck is using "CLOVER/kexts/10.8" folder to share his custom kexts with others but he still have them installed in /S/L/E, cause not all kexts can be injected by Clover (and work). As for default partition for booting you can set it just like on normal mac using System preferences > Startup disk but for this to work nvram.plist file is needed cause we are using EmuVariableUefi-64.efi driver for settings storage (just install clover rc-scripts).
I'll soon finish my latest Clover custom build that will install config files compatible with our lenovos, themes, drivers, rc-scripts, etc. Stay tuned.

@all - I was thinking about adding custom OEM folders. For those that have HD (not HD+) displays that need DualLink = 0 or t420s series that have USB3 or maybe other models like x220, t520 etc. I just need people with supported hardware to step in and share details about their setup (what is different from t420, what needs to be added/removed). We could make one Combo EFI package that will work for all UEFI enabled ThinkPads.

UPDATE: I have just finished my custom build mentioned above (no OEM folders yet -actualy there is one for 4180A32 that includes dsdt and ssdt from tluck). This one is based on Clover r1625 and has all the stuff Lenovo UEFI user needs. This one is enabled to install to ESP by default with ThinkPad Theme and RC scripts. User has choice to install Clover Preference PaneI and Optional RC scripts. I have modified touchpad driver default pseudo-multigestures actions as follows:
4 fingers down - shows desktop (F11)
4 fingers up - shows mission control (Ctrl + Up)
4 fingers right - shows widgets (Ctr + Left)
4 fingers left - shows fullscrean apps (Ctrl + Right)
Again this one is for HD+ LCD by default - so HD (low res.) users change DualLink from 1 to 0 in config.plist
Attached File  Clover1625k0.png   180.01KB   107 downloadsAttached File  CloverPrefPane.png   151.81KB   102 downloadsAttached File  CloverPrefPane1.png   103.75KB   91 downloadsAttached File  CloverPrefPane2.png   63.39KB   75 downloads

Attached Files


Edited by Kogen Mantis, 13 May 2013 - 07:22 AM.


#152
honeywell

honeywell

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
Hey guys! Clover sounds amazing, especially with the elimination of graphics hangs. I actually have a couple of questions regarding how to get a working Clover + 10.8.3 working. Right now I'm using Chameleon and 10.8.3 with tluck's kext pack. Does booting with UEFI decrease boot time? Does Clover use kexts? If I were to do a clean install with Clover, will using a UniB34st USB work (instead of a Lion DiskMaker USB)? Actually, is anyone willing to type up very detailed step-by-step instructions on how to do this from the beginning? I'm just a bit confused as to where to place all the files you guys have kindly uploaded. Lastly, is there some sort of updated pack for all of this? The Combo EFI package Kogen describes sounds great. Thanks for working on all of this, everyone.

#153
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
regarding directory structure. Clover expects to find stuff in /EFI/CLOVER as of build 1287 or something close to that. i would try to make that work as that is consistent with the installer etc.
/EFI/BOOT
/EFI/CLOVER
/EFI/Microsoft


Personally, I just kept the same structure as i had with chameleon - so i put custom kexts in /S/L/E as i dont use the myHack method of merging /E/E and /S/L/E . Clover does not use or read anything from /Extra. but i can see the merit of the myhack method. but yes you want to have the custom kexts in OSX (i.e. /S/L/E) vs EFI so you can boot from the cached versions. Clover is a faster boot - from Clover GUI to login prompt is like 15-20 seconds.

clover looks for /EFI/CLOVER/OEM/<PRODUCTMODEL> for your model specific files: config.plist and other stuff like dsdt.aml ssdt.aml etc.
if it cant find OEM, then it uses /EFI/CLOVER/config.plist. kogen is correct. i keep a copy of the custom kexts in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.8.
This allows it to boot a vanilla install of 10.8.3 (this config.plist has extra options - WithKexts NoCaches) clover injects these (custom) kexts from the EFI partition in first and then any dupes in /S/L/E are ignored. since this very slow booting - i dont use these options for my production OSX.

@honeywell. it is really pretty simple frankly given you have a working hack on chameleon.

make sure bios is set to use UEFI boot.
format disk GUID
install or copy OSX to disk0s2 (2nd partition).
install clover stuff in EFI (1st partition). kogens installer is very easy to use. however, his dsdt.aml did not work for me. so i just used what i was using before.

Note: i have packaged and posted my /EFI/CLOVER folder - see #115 to offer some alternatives - which include tweaks to config.plist that i found make my box work better. i find that clover does not compute C-states or clockspeed for my box well. so i reverted to ssdt.aml and override busspeed etc.

#154
Kogen Mantis

Kogen Mantis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
@honeywell - we won't support software you are mentioning so I suggest you use Lion DiskMaker (it's nice and easy - just like on real mac). I'll update first post soon to reflect changes and interesting info found in this thread. But in general the steps you need to take is:
1. Create install media using Lion DiskMaker
2. Use my custom Clover pkg to install Clover on install media
3. Boot from prepared pen-drive and install OS X
4. Repeat step 2 this time pointing to your hard drive
5. Start making your CLOVER/OEM/<PRODUCTMODEL> based on 4180A32
6. Install missing kexts using myHack (Sound, Battery, ACPI-1.3.5 and others if you need them)

@tluck - actually the new installer includes your dsdt and ssdt. I didn't have time to touch my dsdt and because yours works for others I've decided to use it :)

#155
ag6952563

ag6952563

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts

regarding directory structure. Clover expects to find stuff in /EFI/CLOVER as of build 1287 or something close to that. i would try to make that work as that is consistent with the installer etc.
/EFI/BOOT
/EFI/CLOVER
/EFI/Microsoft


Personally, I just kept the same structure as i had with chameleon - so i put custom kexts in /S/L/E as i dont use the myHack method of merging /E/E and /S/L/E . Clover does not use or read anything from /Extra. but i can see the merit of the myhack method. but yes you want to have the custom kexts in OSX (i.e. /S/L/E) vs EFI so you can boot from the cached versions. Clover is a faster boot - from Clover GUI to login prompt is like 15-20 seconds.

clover looks for /EFI/CLOVER/OEM/<PRODUCTMODEL> for your model specific files: config.plist and other stuff like dsdt.aml ssdt.aml etc.
if it cant find OEM, then it uses /EFI/CLOVER/config.plist. kogen is correct. i keep a copy of the custom kexts in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.8.
This allows it to boot a vanilla install of 10.8.3 (this config.plist has extra options - WithKexts NoCaches) clover injects these (custom) kexts from the EFI partition in first and then any dupes in /S/L/E are ignored. since this very slow booting - i dont use these options for my production OSX.

@honeywell. it is really pretty simple frankly given you have a working hack on chameleon.

make sure bios is set to use UEFI boot.
format disk GUID
install or copy OSX to disk0s2 (2nd partition).
install clover stuff in EFI (1st partition). kogens installer is very easy to use. however, his dsdt.aml did not work for me. so i just used what i was using before.

Note: i have packaged and posted my /EFI/CLOVER folder - see #115 to offer some alternatives - which include tweaks to config.plist that i found make my box work better. i find that clover does not compute C-states or clockspeed for my box well. so i reverted to ssdt.aml and override busspeed etc.


Thanks tluck, Kogen.
You are right about the structure, the new release is looking into /EFI/CLOVER. Since I tried different things, I ended up installing an older version of CLOVER, and that's why it was using the old file structure. I reinstalled the latest version, and indeed, it looks at /EFI/CLOVER.

Regards,
AJ

#156
360game360

360game360

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello I have install on my Lenovo T420 with 1366x768 pixel screen (Product ID: 4236JY2) OS X 10.8.3
I have use your last tutorial @Kogen message : #155
I Have rename my /EFI/CLOVER/OEM/4236JY2 and i have changed DualLink from 1 to 0 in config.plist
All work except I have a screen problem (i have 4 Screen on the desktop)
Did you have a solution ?

Sorry for my English i'm French

#157
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
@360game360

do you know to edit the dsdt.aml? the one packaged has DualLink set to 1

change 0x01 to 0x00 or remove this section in red.


Device (IGPU)
{
Name (_ADR, 0x00020000)
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x0C)
{
"AAPL00,DualLink",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
},
PS votre anglais est plus meilleur que mon français!


@kogen - perhaps DualLink should be removed from dsdt.aml, and let people set this config.plist?

#158
Tetonne

Tetonne

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male

@360game360

do you know to edit the dsdt.aml? the one packaged has DualLink set to 1

change 0x01 to 0x00 or remove this section in red.


Device (IGPU)
{
Name (_ADR, 0x00020000)
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
{
Store (Package (0x0C)
{
"AAPL00,DualLink",
Buffer (0x04)
{
0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
},
PS votre anglais est plus meilleur que mon français!


@kogen - perhaps DualLink should be removed from dsdt.aml, and let people set this config.plist?

tluck dsdt.aml with duallink to 0
can be found here :


<key>DualLink</key>
<string>0</string> in config
all thnaks to tluck

some OEM

may be use by
Kogen Mantis' installer :)

dsdt.aml is tluck production :)

#159
Kogen Mantis

Kogen Mantis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
@tluck - Yes I was thinking about the same thing. Now that Clover is doing DualLink patching for us we don't need it in dsdt.aml. I'll change that in the next release.

BTW: how should we call the Installer?

- ThinkPad EFI Pack
- Clover for ThinkPads
- Clover ThinkPad Edition
- other? (add your suggestions)

#160
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA
sounds good - how about combination "Clover EFI ThinkPad Edition" ?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: UEFI, ThinkPad, T420, Lenovo, Clover


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy