Jump to content

Lenovo ThinkPad T420 with UEFI Only

* * * * * 44 votes UEFI ThinkPad T420 Lenovo Clover

Best Answer tluck, 08 October 2013 - 02:47 PM

Lenovo T420 Clover Guide  19-May-2017 Update

Various Releases and Tweaks over Last 6 months

Spoiler

Overview

Spoiler

New Installation Steps and Details

Spoiler

Part 1 - OS Installation

Spoiler

Part 2 - Post OS Installation and Setup on HD

Spoiler

Known Issues and Random Tips:

Spoiler

Notes on Custom Kexts

Spoiler

General Notes, Fixes, and Features

Spoiler

Optional: Create a custom SSDT

Spoiler

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
3498 replies to this topic

#3481
jkdans

jkdans

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Since updating to 10.12.5 and updating Clover to the latest version in this thread, I've been having issues with a bunch of discoloration on the screen and only half of it being drawn. I updated all of my kexts including the new backlight one, not sure where I'm going wrong. Any help is appreciated, I've tried any solutions that have been posted in this thread and nothing has worked yet. 



#3482
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@jkdans

- is your screen 1600x900? if so try this

 

mount ESP

cd /Volumes/ESP/EFI/Clover/

 

1) edit config.plist - change Inject Intel true to Inject Intel false

        <key>Inject</key>
                <dict>
                        <key>Intel</key>
                        <false/>
                </dict>

 

2) cd ACPI

cp dsdt.edid.aml patched/dsdt.aml

 

reboot



#3483
jkdans

jkdans

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

@tluck 

 

That worked! Thank you so much, was worried that I'd have to go back to Windows if it wasn't fixable for a while. 



#3484
Sherlocks

Sherlocks

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 790 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seoul

@tluck

That worked! Thank you so much, was worried that I'd have to go back to Windows if it wasn't fixable for a while.

Please attach clover boot.log

Nobody help clover debug for lenovo laptop.....

나의 LG-F410S 의 Tapatalk에서 보냄

#3485
XentriX0110

XentriX0110

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Is there a way to test that the usbs are functioning properly? My traktor s2 controller will connect and be detected and can be used for sound but will not be detected in my traktor app. Also is there any for me to test and figure out what's going wrong where? Ant input?still shaky during VGA also.can Someone point me in the direction to figure it out myself?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

#3486
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@XentriX0110 -

 

1) USB - is USB2.0 - and you can test with a "thumb" drive (aka flash drive)

2) VGA - perhaps try a different resolution? what frequency is it? 



#3487
XentriX0110

XentriX0110

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

@XentriX0110 -

1) USB - is USB2.0 - and you can test with a "thumb" drive (aka flash drive)
2) VGA - perhaps try a different resolution? what frequency is it?

Usbs are working. But I'm not sure if it's working properly for all devices. How do you control the resolution on vga?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

#3488
Somez

Somez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

@jkdans

- is your screen 1600x900? if so try this

 

mount ESP

cd /Volumes/ESP/EFI/Clover/

 

1) edit config.plist - change Inject Intel true to Inject Intel false

        <key>Inject</key>
                <dict>
                        <key>Intel</key>
                        <false/>
                </dict>

 

2) cd ACPI

cp dsdt.edid.aml patched/dsdt.aml

 

reboot

 

Well, I'm still on 10.12.4 and got the same issue. All I saw was colored lines on the screen and nothing else so I got a bit worried about how I'm gonna fix it :)

After doing a reboot I still got the colors but was able to see a shadow of the screen... well, half of it which was enough to launch terminal and make the above adjustments.

 

By the way, I installed the heat-step ACPIpoller kext from the Misc folder but it's not working :(

 

Update: I tried to install heatstep again and after reboot I got the colored lines issue again even though the INTEL inject was still set to "false" in the config.plist.

 

After doing 

 

2) cd ACPI

cp dsdt.edid.aml patched/dsdt.aml

 

The probem was solved. I guess this is because /Volumes/ESP/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/dsdt.heat-step.aml is different than  /Volumes/ESP/EFI/Clover/ACPI/dsdt.edid.aml

 

Heatstep is still not working and my brightness keys are not functioning either. My brightness is at maximum by default.

 

tkuck, do you think you can fix the dsdt.heat-step.aml to work without causing colored lines screen on 1600x900? I also would welcome any tips on how to get my brightness keys back :)

 

Thank you.

 

 

UPDATE #2

Ok I was nervous about losing the ability to change the brightness so I installed the latest pack again and set 

<key>Intel</key>

                        <false/>

 

back to FALSE.

 

I completed all the steps in the guide but stopped before installing the heatstep dsdt.

Now brightness keys are working fine, but I don't have the added benefit of heatstpe dsdt. I guess I'll need help at this point.



#3489
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@somez and others with screen problems since 4052

 

there seems be some trouble either with EDID and DualLink or both

 

here is a test release Clover 4077x - if you set DualLink in the config.plist Clover will use it.

 

for LCD resolution 1600x900 greater, the OS wants DualLink=1 set. it shows up as property AAPL00,DualLink

 

the config.1600x900.plist had DualLink=1 and Custom EDID for Injection by Clover

otherwise turn off injection and use the DSDT below - with or without the heat-step method.

 

there are 4 DSDT files (add one for edid+heat-step)

 

  • dsdt.aml - no dual-link, no EDID set, and no heat-step
  • dsdt.heat-step.aml -  no dual-link set, no EDID set, but has heat step method
  •  
  • for 1600x900 with problems:
  • dsdt.edid.aml - dual-link=1 and EDID for 1600x900
  • dsdt.edid-hs.aml - dual-link=1 and EDID for 1600x900 and heat-step method

-------

 

my Clover boot.log has this as output  (config.plist has inject Intelgfx true, inject EDID, but removed DualLink=1 as a test - you can see that clover added back in)

4:977  0:000  Intel HD Graphics 3000 [8086:0126] :: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x2,0x0)
4:977  0:000    Found HD Plus Display - 16:9 :: Width=1600 Height=900
4:977  0:000    IntelHDMI: used
4:977  0:000    AAPL00,override-no-connect: added
4:977  0:000    Default AAPL00,DualLink = 0
4:977  0:000    High Resolution Display
4:977  0:000    AAPL00,DualLink: changed from 0 to 1
4:977  0:000    FakeID Intel GFX: not set
4:977  0:000    snb-platform-id: not set
4:977  0:000    Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection
4:977  0:000    Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x01268086
4:977  0:000    Found snb-platform-id = 0x00010000

Attached Files


Edited by tluck, 21 May 2017 - 09:23 PM.


#3490
Somez

Somez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Hi tluck!

I'm afraid I don't understand due to lack of knowledge.
What is EDID and dual link?

Things have been working fine for me until today when I upgraded to the latest package (incl. Clover in the zip).
Don't we (all of us) have the same config? I would've expected more of us having this kind of problem.

Thanks for your help.

 

Here is my log:

 

2:540  0:000  Intel HD Graphics 3000 [8086:0126] :: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x2,0x0)

2:540  0:000    Found HD Plus Display - 16:9 :: Width=1600 Height=900

2:540  0:000    IntelHDMI: used

2:540  0:000    AAPL00,override-no-connect: added

2:540  0:000    AAPL00,DualLink = 1

2:540  0:000    FakeID Intel GFX: not set

2:540  0:000    snb-platform-id: not set

2:540  0:000    Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection

2:540  0:000    Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x01268086

2:540  0:000    Found snb-platform-id = 0x00010000

2:540  0:000  Intel GFX revision  = 0x9

2:541  0:000   setting specified layout-id=12 (0xC)

2:541  0:000  stringlength = 2842

2:541  0:000  CurrentMode: Width=1600 Height=900



#3491
Somez

Somez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Ok, I went through the heatstep installation steps from the guide again, but now I have used the files provided in T420_UEFI-Clover-b4077x_10.11_10.12-2017-05-21.zip and went for the dsdt.edid-hs.aml - dual-link=1 and EDID for 1600x900 and heat-step method. I'm gonna do a restart and hopefully I will be able to boot into a system where I can at least see something :))

 

Wish me luck!

 

  • mkdir /Volumes/ESP
    sudo mount
    -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/ESP
    cp
    -a /Volumes/ESP/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/dsdt.heat-step.aml /Volumes/ESP/EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/dsdt.aml

    cd
    ~/Downloads/Lenovo-T420-Clover-YYYY.MM.DD/Utilities
    sudo cp -a ACPIPoller.kext /Library/Extensions
    sudo chown -R 0:0 /Library/Extensions/ACPIPoller.kext
    sudo chmod
    -R go-w /Library/Extensions/ACPIPoller.kext
    sudo kextcache
    -i /


#3492
Sherlocks

Sherlocks

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 790 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seoul

Hi tluck!

I'm afraid I don't understand due to lack of knowledge.
What is EDID and dual link?

Things have been working fine for me until today when I upgraded to the latest package (incl. Clover in the zip).
Don't we (all of us) have the same config? I would've expected more of us having this kind of problem.

Thanks for your help.

Here is my log:

2:540 0:000 Intel HD Graphics 3000 [8086:0126] :: PciRoot(0x0)&#092;Pci(0x2,0x0)
2:540 0:000 Found HD Plus Display - 16:9 :: Width=1600 Height=900

2:540 0:000 IntelHDMI: used

2:540 0:000 AAPL00,override-no-connect: added

2:540 0:000 AAPL00,DualLink = 1

2:540 0:000 FakeID Intel GFX: not set

2:540 0:000 snb-platform-id: not set

2:540 0:000 Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection

2:540 0:000 Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x01268086

2:540 0:000 Found snb-platform-id = 0x00010000

2:540 0:000 Intel GFX revision = 0x9

2:541 0:000 setting specified layout-id=12 (0xC)

2:541 0:000 stringlength = 2842

2:541 0:000 CurrentMode: Width=1600 Height=900

Your clover log is good. What is your problem exactly? Can boot or not?

나의 LG-F410S 의 Tapatalk에서 보냄

#3493
Somez

Somez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Hi tluck!

I'm afraid I don't understand due to lack of knowledge.
What is EDID and dual link?

Things have been working fine for me until today when I upgraded to the latest package (incl. Clover in the zip).
Don't we (all of us) have the same config? I would've expected more of us having this kind of problem.

Thanks for your help.

 

Here is my log:

 

2:540  0:000  Intel HD Graphics 3000 [8086:0126] :: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x2,0x0)

2:540  0:000    Found HD Plus Display - 16:9 :: Width=1600 Height=900

2:540  0:000    IntelHDMI: used

2:540  0:000    AAPL00,override-no-connect: added

2:540  0:000    AAPL00,DualLink = 1

2:540  0:000    FakeID Intel GFX: not set

2:540  0:000    snb-platform-id: not set

2:540  0:000    Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection

2:540  0:000    Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x01268086

2:540  0:000    Found snb-platform-id = 0x00010000

2:540  0:000  Intel GFX revision  = 0x9

2:541  0:000   setting specified layout-id=12 (0xC)

2:541  0:000  stringlength = 2842

2:541  0:000  CurrentMode: Width=1600 Height=900

 

Success! I now have heatstep working with no graphical glitches so far.

 

2:460  0:000  Intel HD Graphics 3000 [8086:0126] :: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x2,0x0)

2:460  0:000    Found HD Plus Display - 16:9 :: Width=1600 Height=900

2:460  0:000    IntelHDMI: used

2:460  0:000    AAPL00,override-no-connect: added

2:460  0:000    AAPL00,DualLink = 1

2:460  0:000    FakeID Intel GFX: not set

2:460  0:000    snb-platform-id: not set

2:460  0:000    Beginning Intel GFX auto-detection with ACPI injection

2:460  0:000    Found FakeID Intel GFX = 0x01268086

2:460  0:000    Found snb-platform-id = 0x00010000

2:460  0:000  Intel GFX revision  = 0x9

2:461  0:000   setting specified layout-id=12 (0xC)

2:461  0:000  stringlength = 2842

2:461  0:000  CurrentMode: Width=1600 Height=900

2:461  0:000  Beginning FSInjection


Your clover log is good. What is your problem exactly? Can boot or not?

나의 LG-F410S 의 Tapatalk에서 보냄

 

Hi Sherlocks!

 

Let me explain.

May problem was that when I've installed the heat-step dsdt together with the ACPIPoller.kext I booted into a screen with full of moving colored lines and only half of my normal screen was shown as a shadowy background. Too bad I haven't taken a photo for you. I realised things were good as long as I have not performed the heat-step install steps in tlucks guide.

 

In the past installing heatstep worked fine with no screen issues.

 

EDIT: Just to clarify. The first boot.log I have copied (the one you replied to) also worked fine but heatstep was not installed that time. I don't have a log from the time when I got the colored screen problem.


Well. I don't want to flood the forum with boot.logs but I've found this at the end (see bold lines):

 

2:484  0:004  Preparing kexts injection for arch=x86_64 from EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other

2:484  0:000    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\ACPIBatteryManager.kext

2:486  0:002    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleHDA_20672.kext

2:489  0:002  Thinning fails

2:489  0:000  Thinning failed: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleHDA_20672.kext

2:489  0:000    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\BlueTooth_Injector_T420.kext

2:490  0:000    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\FakeSMC.kext

2:493  0:003      Extra PlugIn kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\FakeSMC.kext\Contents\PlugIns\ACPISensors.kext

2:497  0:003      Extra PlugIn kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\FakeSMC.kext\Contents\PlugIns\CPUSensors.kext

2:499  0:002    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\IntelBacklight.kext

2:503  0:004    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\IntelMausiEthernet.kext

2:506  0:003    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext

2:507  0:001    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\VoodooPS2Controller.kext

2:511  0:004      Extra PlugIn kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\VoodooPS2Controller.kext\Contents\PlugIns\VoodooPS2Keyboard.kext

2:533  0:021      Extra PlugIn kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\VoodooPS2Controller.kext\Contents\PlugIns\VoodooPS2Mouse.kext

2:539  0:006      Extra PlugIn kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\VoodooPS2Controller.kext\Contents\PlugIns\VoodooPS2Trackpad.kext

2:555  0:015    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\ACPIPoller.kext

2:559  0:004    Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleBacklightInjector.kext

2:563  0:003  Failed to load extra kext (executable not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleBacklightInjector.kext

2:564  0:000  Preparing kexts injection for arch=x86_64 from EFI\CLOVER\kexts\10.12

 

Brightness keys work so my system seems to be working fine.



#3494
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@somez - logs looks ok.

 

the kext messages in Clover log is about the redundant set in ESP (for installers etc - not used if you install kexts in OS /L/E )

 

Thinning failed: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleHDA_20672.kext

Failed to load extra kext (executable not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleBacklightInjector.kext

 

so these 2 messages are ok/expected

HDA has symbolic link to binary (doesn't work from ESP)

BacklightInjector is just property injector - no binary

 

Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\IntelBacklight.kext

we don't need it anymore when AppleBacklightInjector.kext is present

manually remove this one ---^



#3495
Somez

Somez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

@somez - logs looks ok.

 

the kext messages in Clover log is about the redundant set in ESP (for installers etc - not used if you install kexts in OS /L/E )

 

Thinning failed: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleHDA_20672.kext

Failed to load extra kext (executable not found): EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\AppleBacklightInjector.kext

 

so these 2 messages are ok/expected

HDA has symbolic link to binary (doesn't work from ESP)

BacklightInjector is just property injector - no binary

 

Extra kext: EFI\CLOVER\kexts\Other\IntelBacklight.kext

we don't need it anymore when AppleBacklightInjector.kext is present

manually remove this one ---^

 

I don't think I have any symlinks in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/

 

Tamass-MacBook-Pro:Other somez$ ls -la

total 97

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff  2560 Apr  3 14:50 .

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff  1024 May 21 21:35 ..

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._ACPIBatteryManager.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._ACPIPoller.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._AppleBacklightInjector.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._AppleHDA_20672.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._BlueTooth_Injector_T420.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._FakeSMC.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 Feb  5 18:26 ._IntelBacklight.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._IntelMausiEthernet.kext

-rwxrwxrwx  1 somez  staff  4096 May 14 06:46 ._VoodooPS2Controller.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Dec 28 19:56 ACPIBatteryManager.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Feb 22 03:40 ACPIPoller.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Feb 22 22:44 AppleBacklightInjector.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Oct  6  2014 AppleHDA_20672.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Aug 13  2016 BlueTooth_Injector_T420.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Dec 20 05:27 FakeSMC.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Aug 29  2009 IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Jul 11  2016 IntelBacklight.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Sep 23  2016 IntelMausiEthernet.kext

drwxrwxrwx@ 1 somez  staff   512 Mar 30 16:50 VoodooPS2Controller.kext



#3496
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

1) if you are on 10.12.4 or later, remove all occurrences of IntelBacklight.kext  - in ESP and OS /L/E

2) the symbolic link is within the kext structure - it is how AppleHDA_20672 works - the MacOS binary executable is a symbolic link to the origin AppleHDA.kext

 

$ ls -l CLOVER/kexts/Other/AppleHDA_20672.kext/Contents/MacOS/

total 8
lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  64 Nov  9  2015 AppleHDA -> /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleHDA



#3497
Somez

Somez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

1) if you are on 10.12.4 or later, remove all occurrences of IntelBacklight.kext  - in ESP and OS /L/E

2) the symbolic link is within the kext structure - it is how AppleHDA_20672 works - the MacOS binary executable is a symbolic link to the origin AppleHDA.kext

 

$ ls -l CLOVER/kexts/Other/AppleHDA_20672.kext/Contents/MacOS/

total 8
lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  64 Nov  9  2015 AppleHDA -> /System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleHDA

 

I've removed all IntelBacklight.kext files and my machine is still working fine :)

Thanks tluck.



#3498
avdo

avdo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

@tluck

 

I followed this guide in the early days and successfully installed Yosemite 10.10.5 on my X220.

 

I'm about to take receipt of a T420 ( My eyes are getting worse for the small display) and was wondering that the current bundled DSDT will be backwards compatible with Yosemite. The T420 is the same model as yours, HD3000 only with a 1600x900 display.

 

Don't feel the need to upgrade to Sierra or El Capitan as Yosemite and overall reliability / performance has been rock solid.

 

Sorry, further reading indicates that for support i'd be better with Sierra. Off to the app store then....

 

Many Thanks

 

avdo



#3499
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@avdo - the current DSDT is compatible. you should be able to use the x220 disk or clone it (just change the ESP files - like DSDT). but an upgrade to sierra is not a bad idea either.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: UEFI, ThinkPad, T420, Lenovo, Clover


4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy