Jump to content

Lenovo ThinkPad T420 with UEFI Only

* * * * * 38 votes UEFI ThinkPad T420 Lenovo Clover

Best Answer tluck, 08 October 2013 - 02:47 PM

18-Sep-2016 Update

  • Updated to Clover r3758 (should be Sierra ready)

  • Revised the ThinkPad Theme - new banner etc
  • Changed the Bluetooth kext to be an injector style kext instead of full (dummy) kext - no longer version specific
  • Updated VoodooPS2Controller kext to latest rev - with a few TrackPad and Keyboard parameter tweaks -- changes to F1-F15 mappings - to be more like apple keyboard - see details below
  • Updated IntelMausi Ethernet kext to latest rev

Various Tweaks over Last 6 months

Spoiler

 

 

Lenovo T420 Clover Guide

 

Overview

Spoiler

 

New Installation Steps and Details

 

BIOS settings:

Spoiler

 

Part 1 - OS Installation

Spoiler

 

Part 2 - Post OS Installation and Setup on HD

Spoiler

 

Known Issues and Random Tips:

Spoiler

 

Notes on Custom Kexts

Spoiler

 

​General Notes, Fixes, and Features

Spoiler

 

Optional: Create a custom SSDT

Spoiler

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
2788 replies to this topic

#281
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

One other thing I have noticed.  If I boot up with the a monitor connected via vga cable I can run external screen fine.  If I boot up without it plugged in and plug it in later I cannot get it to come up.  Is this normal?

 

Cheers



#282
brawson36

brawson36

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

got better trackpad by rolling back to original voodoops2 kext. now im wondering how to run my lenovo display AND displayport to hdmi monitor as extended displays. 



#283
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Is there anyway to not have 'sleep'.  Ie - when I close the lid on the laptop - I just want it to stay on and not go to sleep mode.

 

I found the no sleep app, however the app install seems to fail. Its version 1.33.

I've found about 20% of the apps I try to install fail at the very end but seem to be half installed - anyone else experience this?

 

ie - no sleep installs but reports failed - fails when trying to update system extension.  when I try to launch it says 'Kernal Extension is not loaded'



#284
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@brawson36 and @fdandy006 - displays. the config.plist (or AppleSNBGraphicsFB.kext from the bundle) is configured and/or patched to provide 4 display ports

1) LCD

2) HDMI (DisplayPort)

3) DVI (on a Docking station)

4) VGA (on left side)

 

i can connect a DisplayPort cable to my HP monitor. Or I use a DisplayPort-to-HDMI adapter + HDMI cable to connect to my BluRay or HDMI TV. if i connected to a VGA monitor, i have to sleep/wake or reboot to see the device. Some VGA devices failed (like some overhead projectors) so I bought a DisplayPort to VGA adapter that is more consistent.

 

if connected with an external monitor, then closing the lid will not sleep. if nothing is connected then it sleeps on close. I dont know how to change that ...  you maybe able to remove the LID device from the DSDT? never tried the nosleep app? 

 

the latest voodooPS2 (v1.8.4 from rehabman) does seem to have have some gestures support as far as i know - i see support in the control panel for trackpad? i especially like the 2 finger glide/scroll. what is the version and where did you get the "original" VoodooPS2 that you prefer?



#285
brawson36

brawson36

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

@tluck

EDIT: could it be that my system definition is 8,3 instead of 8,1? If so, how would i go about changing this definition?

EDIT: changing definition from 8,3 to 8,1 in clover bootloader/options/smbios worked, but i have to change the definition every time. anyway to keep this permanent? 

 

 

As far as the track pad, I noticed that in the 1888 pack, the tracking would be sometimes inconsistent and even turn off when i accidentally hit an unsupported key on the keyboard (f1-f12). So I went on the original install I made using the first posts instructions, looked in efi/clover/kexts and took the voodoops2.kext and brought it over to my main install. put it in my extra folder ran ihack and the darn thing worked like a charm. 

 

accurate tracking

no ghost scrolling

2 finger scroll x and y

4 finger swipe for desktop, all open apps, and switch to dashboard



#286
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

@brawson36 and @fdandy006 - displays. the config.plist (or AppleSNBGraphicsFB.kext from the bundle) is configured and/or patched to provide 4 display ports

1) LCD

2) HDMI (DisplayPort)

3) DVI (on a Docking station)

4) VGA (on left side)

 

i can connect a DisplayPort cable to my HP monitor. Or I use a DisplayPort-to-HDMI adapter + HDMI cable to connect to my BluRay or HDMI TV. if i connected to a VGA monitor, i have to sleep/wake or reboot to see the device. Some VGA devices failed (like some overhead projectors) so I bought a DisplayPort to VGA adapter that is more consistent.

 

if connected with an external monitor, then closing the lid will not sleep. if nothing is connected then it sleeps on close. I dont know how to change that ...  you maybe able to remove the LID device from the DSDT? never tried the nosleep app? 

 

the latest voodooPS2 (v1.8.4 from rehabman) does seem to have have some gestures support as far as i know - i see support in the control panel for trackpad? i especially like the 2 finger glide/scroll. what is the version and where did you get the "original" VoodooPS2 that you prefer?

Thanks tluck - so it looks like the vga port is live only if I boot with a monitor plugged in.  If I boot without the cable in, then insert it later - it doesn't find the monitor?

Is there a way to force initialisation once booted?

 

can't seem to find the reference in config.plist?



#287
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

@tluck

EDIT: could it be that my system definition is 8,3 instead of 8,1? If so, how would i go about changing this definition?

EDIT: changing definition from 8,3 to 8,1 in clover bootloader/options/smbios worked, but i have to change the definition every time. anyway to keep this permanent? 

 

 

As far as the track pad, I noticed that in the 1888 pack, the tracking would be sometimes inconsistent and even turn off when i accidentally hit an unsupported key on the keyboard (f1-f12). So I went on the original install I made using the first posts instructions, looked in efi/clover/kexts and took the voodoops2.kext and brought it over to my main install. put it in my extra folder ran ihack and the darn thing worked like a charm. 

 

accurate tracking

no ghost scrolling

2 finger scroll x and y

4 finger swipe for desktop, all open apps, and switch to dashboard

Hey Brawson - same question as tluck.  Can you link the kext you use for 4 finger scroll.  I tried rehabmans but it seems to be the same as I already have.

 

Cheers



#288
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@brawson36

seems like the PS2 controller you are talking about came from using Kogen's Clover_v2_r1625.pkg bundle - if so then that is VoodooPS2 v1.8.2 (just an slightly older version)? ...  cool.  that one works better that's good.

 

if you can run this command line:

 

kextstat | grep -v apple 

 

and post the output -  that would be helpful.

 

thanks.



#289
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@fdandy006

 

- sleep/wake will (sometimes) bring VGA visible without reboot.
- in the OEM config.plist, i patch the kext SNBGraphicsFB to replace the 4th buffer with VGA. sometimes i could not get it to recognize the VGA device. so i bought a displayport to VGA adapter - works a lot a better.


@honeywell - looks like clover has more controls to help with speed and heat

 

found a lot more info about clover options here

 

 

PLimitDict
<key>PLimitDict</key>
<string>1</string>

Limits the maximal CPU frequency.

  • 0 - No limit.
  • 1 - Reduce frequency by one step
  • 2 - Reduce frequency by two steps

Example: A Core2Duo T8300 with 2400 MHz operates at a maximal frequency of 2000 MHz when limited by two steps. This parameter might be used to reduce heat in mobile systems.



#290
honeywell

honeywell

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts

@fdandy006

 

- sleep/wake will (sometimes) bring VGA visible without reboot.
- in the OEM config.plist, i patch the kext SNBGraphicsFB to replace the 4th buffer with VGA. sometimes i could not get it to recognize the VGA device. so i bought a displayport to VGA adapter - works a lot a better.


@honeywell - looks like clover has more controls to help with speed and heat

 

found a lot more info about clover options here

 

 

PLimitDict
<key>PLimitDict</key>
<string>1</string>

Limits the maximal CPU frequency.

  • 0 - No limit.
  • 1 - Reduce frequency by one step
  • 2 - Reduce frequency by two steps

Example: A Core2Duo T8300 with 2400 MHz operates at a maximal frequency of 2000 MHz when limited by two steps. This parameter might be used to reduce heat in mobile systems.

Awesome! Keep up the good work with Clover. I'm back on Chameleon due to sleep and trackpad and display glitches, but I'm still interested in switching back to Clover when these issues get better!



#291
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Thanks Tluck - I will try a display port to vga adapter too (mainly to use on a projector - lets see how it goes).

 

I think I have most things running well now.  I'm not using sleep as yet as its a bit buggy and I've had some of the issues posted earlier on (fast blinking power, losing mouse on wake up etc) so am using 'No Sleep' app so I can close the lid and walk around without the laptop going to sleep.

 

The only other issue is 'Shut down'.  Sometimes when I click shutdown it kinda hangs and if I hit the power button briefly is somehow goes back to login screen.

Sometimes it looks like its shut down but is actually still on (fan still running and I can see bluetooth light on).

 

So sometimes I have to hold power button and do a dirty shutdown or pull battery if it is kinda stuck in this non shut down state.

 

Will do some research and see if anyone else has this issue. 

 

EDIT:  Ok looks like a fixed it with a patched dsdt.dsl.

 

I patched it with the following which has a small update to the code in the dsdt editor pack.

It now does a good shutdown albeit takes a bit of time (longer to shutdown then to startup? :)

# Change method _PTS where Arg0 is 0x05 (shutdown)
#
into method label _PTS code_regex (If\s*\(LEqual\s*\(Arg0,\s*0x05\)\)\s*\n\s*\{\s*\n)(?:[^\n\}]+\n)+(\s*\}) replace_matched
begin
%1
            Store (Zero, SLPE)\n
            Sleep (0x10)\n
%2
end;
into method label \_PTS code_regex (If\s*\(LEqual\s*\(Arg0,\s*0x05\)\)\s*\n\s*\{\s*\n)(?:[^\n\}]+\n)+(\s*\}) replace_matched
begin
%1
            Store (Zero, SLPE)\n
            Sleep (0x10)\n
%2
end;
into definitionblock code_regex . code_regex_not OperationRegion\s*\(PMRS insert
begin
OperationRegion (PMRS, SystemIO, 0x0430, One)\n
Field (PMRS, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)\n
{\n
        ,   4, \n
    SLPE,   1\n
}
end


#292
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@fdandy006 - cool. yeah i was getting the same thing from time to time. shutdown would shut down OSX but not always power the system all the way down. either held down power button for 5-10 seconds or was doing the battery pull thing. 

 

so i merged the shutdown stuff above into my dsdt (and removed some extra WMI stuff while i was at it). will test a day or 2 and then repost a new clover bundle. seems to shutdown better.

 

i moved up to Clover b1914 and changed a parameter in OEM config.plist - set InjectClockID to false. things seems wake from sleep a tad faster after sleep and maybe that will help with loss of trackpad with VoodooPS2 using Clover. 



#293
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

ok - I've played with the shutdown further and after the updated code above still noticed one time when I had the issue.  Going on a hunch and seeing the bluetooth light on when it doesn't power off, I've resumed testing shutdown with Bluetooth disabled in bios.  So far it seems to power off completely (5 of 5 so far) so will keep testing.
 
If it does happen to be the bluetooth keeping it alive - that will be the next thing to nut out...
 
ok - back to the four ports, lcd, hdmi, dvi and vga.
 
I'm pretty sure I have the right kext loaded and have the code in my config.plist:

 

<key>Comment</key>
<string>Replace 4th port with VGA</string>
<key>Debug</key>
<false/>
<key>KextsToPatch</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>Find</key>
<data>
AQIEABAHAAAQBwAABQMAAAIAAAAwAAAAAgUAAAAEAAAH
AAAAAwQAAAAEAAAJAAAABAYAAAAEAAAJAAAA
</data>
<key>Name</key>
<string>AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB</string>
<key>Replace</key>
<data>
AQIEABAHAAAQBwAABQMAAAIAAAAwAAAAAgUAAAAEAAAH
AAAAAwQAAAAEAAAJAAAABgIAABAAAAAJAAAA
</data>
</dict>
</array>
 
So VGA port works - but finding it hard to get DVI off the dock to work.  Any ideas?


#294
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@fdandy006 - 

interesting about bluetooth

in case you havent done this - there is a way to turn it off from OSX if you modify the vendor ID to match in Info.plist in /System/Library/Extensions/IOBluetoothFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/BroadcomBluetoothHCIControllerUSBTransport.kext/Contents - change 8532 to 8575.

 

DVI -  i could not connect to my monitor from the DVI on the dock. (i am pretty sure at one point this worked???).  i tried the both the patched and the original kext without the VGA patch. the Display port on the dock works. 



#295
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

@fdandy006 - 

interesting about bluetooth

in case you havent done this - there is a way to turn it off from OSX if you modify the vendor ID to match in Info.plist in /System/Library/Extensions/IOBluetoothFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/BroadcomBluetoothHCIControllerUSBTransport.kext/Contents - change 8532 to 8575.

 

DVI -  i could not connect to my monitor from the DVI on the dock. (i am pretty sure at one point this worked???).  i tried the both the patched and the original kext without the VGA patch. the Display port on the dock works. 

Will try to change from 8532 to 8575.  Can you edit in place - didn't have permissions to edit?



#296
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@fdandy006

 

will not turn off bluetooth the same way windows or bios does. (light stays on)

 

yes - you can edit in place 

 

cd /System/Library/Extensions/IOBluetoothFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/BroadcomBluetoothHCIControllerUSBTransport.kext/Contents

sudo cp Info.plist Info-orig.plist

sudo vi Info.plist

    find 8532 on line 525 - change to 8575 

sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions



#297
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Update on the Shutdown.  Still getting bad shutdowns so not sure the script above has made it any better.

Sleep also is very intermittent with some devices (like mouse) not working after coming back from sleep.

 

Time for more research. :)



#298
tluck

tluck

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC, USA

@fdandy006 - well i hope you can find something! i am 99% sure these are clover related issues - i just dont have any ideas. if i boot the same disk with chameleon it does not lose the keyboard/trackpad randomly. shutdown is clean too. i have a theory its related to voodoops2 but have not done extensive testing using older kexts.



#299
Tetonne

Tetonne

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Gender:Male

1928 installed here

everything ok here



#300
fdandy006

fdandy006

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

Is there a trick to upgrading to the latest clover with my settings intact?

 

I tried to install 1928 but the boot loader is a blue screen with black dots for the selection icons.

 

I then copied my oem folder across but it didn't seem to take it?







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: UEFI, ThinkPad, T420, Lenovo, Clover


6 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy