Building a new machine, looking for advice

Dee_Ann

9 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I've been using Hackintoshes since 2006, I built one on an OLD Dell, it still works and still has Tiger on it. It's too old and limited to upgrade.

I don't really use it anymore but it's still around gathering dust.

Last year I built another one using my old Gigabyte based system, it was a 2008 mobo that I ran Linux on for a long time.

I was able to convert it to Lion but it never worked right.

It would crash a lot at random for no apparent reason. I never got the sound to work on it and I never could get it to boot from hard disk.

I had a pen drive in it that it would boot from.

Over time though, it became a real problem. When it would crash it wouldn't come back to life. It would power up but it was "dead", black screen, no response.

I found out though trial and error that it was corrupting the CMOS NVRAM. I found that I could power it off, as in remove the power cord, short the CMOS reset pins and wait an hour.

Then I would have to go through the setup routine and set everything back and then I could boot it up.

It also seemed that it wouldn't boot or come up if the hard disk was plugged in so I began pulling the data cable when I would pull the power.

I would have to let it sit an hour or two then power up with the hard disk disconnected. Power up, get into setup, reload saved configuration and tell it to save and exit.

The system would power down for a second on it's own. I would have to hit the main power switch while it was powered off, plug the hard disk back in then power it up again.

This was a monumental pain in the backside. And the downtime I would have to wait kept getting longer and longer, it went from minutes to hours and from hours to DAYS...