Jump to content

AMD issues with nVidia cards running Lion 64-bits/Mountain Lion [DON'T ASK HELP HERE, THE HELP TOPIC IS THERE FOR YOU]

AMD nVidia GeForce Mountain Lion Lion 64-bits hackintosh legacy kernel QE/CI

  • Please log in to reply
174 replies to this topic

#121
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,973 posts
  • Gender:Male
Misterfrista, thank you very much: you just summarized my points.

#122
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:marocain
if we do not know the reason why the nvidia graphics card is not working correctly, the problem is probably on SSSE3emu

we should try as our Linux friends using the nouveau open source for use nvidia drivers for OSX , see Nouveau project:
http://linux.slashdo...ll-geforce-gpus
http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/
http://www.h-online....Us-1776089.html

is that possible?

Edited by spakk, 01 March 2013 - 09:28 PM.


#123
misterfrista

misterfrista

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Münster
Theconnactic : Yeah thats my special ability ;-)

#124
instant idiot

instant idiot

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Gender:Male

is that possible?

Technically, it's quite possible that someone could write a completely perfect nVidia driver for OS X from scratch, and they might even be able to use some of the code from nouveau, but, even on Linux, nouveau is nowhere near a replacement for the proprietary drivers (Hardware acceleration is very limited.).

#125
SS01

SS01

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa

Technically, it's quite possible that someone could write a completely perfect nVidia driver for OS X from scratch, and they might even be able to use some of the code from nouveau, but, even on Linux, nouveau is nowhere near a replacement for the proprietary drivers (Hardware acceleration is very limited.).


A while back when Steam for Linux was released, I put Fedora on a 9800GT-based rig using the nouveau driver. I must say, every game I tried played just fine. We would likely have to port mesa in addition to nouveau, however.

Some documentation:

http://nouveau.freed.../wiki/FrontPage

https://wiki.archlin...dex.php/Nouveau

http://www.mesa3d.org

irc.freenode.net #nouveau

it might be possible to install the proprietary FreeBSD driver on OS X? http://www.freebsd.o...idia-setup.html

Edited by SS01, 02 March 2013 - 12:25 PM.


#126
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

A while back when Steam for Linux was released, I put Fedora on a 9800GT-based rig using the nouveau driver. I must say, every game I tried played just fine. We would likely have to port mesa in addition to nouveau, however.

Some documentation:

http://nouveau.freed.../wiki/FrontPage

https://wiki.archlin...dex.php/Nouveau

http://www.mesa3d.org

irc.freenode.net #nouveau

it might be possible to install the proprietary FreeBSD driver on OS X? http://www.freebsd.o...idia-setup.html

Mesa can be compiled just fine on os x.
It's software OpenGL.
The only problem is; how do we wrap that into an IOAccelerator.
I've seen from otool dumps that the base accelerator contains the OpenGL functions.
It could be possible to do, but not easy...
What about the Apple specific stuff too?
:s

#127
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Retired
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
I've managed to fool ML into thinking my GT 430 is a ATI HD 5450 and I can boot without safe mode or removing any files. Downside is I have no choice of resolution and no QE/CI but I'm working on it :wallbash:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-03-02 at 20.33.21.png   575.39KB   79 downloads

Edit: I couldn't get it to work. I tried spoofing 3 different ATI cards which apparently work with ML with no luck.

Edited by IiTz ShAnE, 02 March 2013 - 11:32 PM.


#128
misterfrista

misterfrista

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Münster
Anyone tested nvidia Kepler on brovs 10.7.5 kernel ?

For me even in 32bit the windowserver doesn´t start with loaded drivers!
In principle Kepler cards should work on 10.7.5 so its at least worth a try to get them work in 32bit!

#129
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:marocain
Please check the following:

S/L/Frameworks/ GPUSupport.framework, OpenCL.framework and ApplicationServices.framework tahe from Mountain Lion Update 10.8.3.
Then make the following adjustments in S/L/Extensions:

Take the folder S/L/Extensions from your OSX Image and install the chipset drivers for your hardware: AppleDecrypt.kext, AppleNForceATA.kext (adapted by Andy), MLAppleATIATA.kext (adapted by Andy), RealtekRTL81xx.kext, TotallyFixStillWaiting kext., VoodooTSCSync.kext, LegacyAGPM.kext, AHCIPortInjector.kext, IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector.kext apb_decrypt_ml.kext, corecrypto.kext (adapted by Andy) etc.

Then install from the LION 10.7: GeForce.kext, GeForce7xxx.kext, GeForce7xxxGA.plugin, GeForce7xxxGLDriver.bundle, GeForce7xxxVADriver.bundle, GeForceGA.plugin, GeForceGLDriver.bundle, GeForceVADriver.bundle, and NVDAGF100Hal.kext, NVDANV40HalG7xxx ., kext NVDANV50Hal.kext, NVDAResman.kext, NVDAResmanG7xxx.kext then adjust the Info.plist in the various kexts adjust your Vendor ID and Device ID of the AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext. Install ATY_Init.kext and customize your device ID and vendor ID.

</dict>
		 <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
		 <string>com.dong.driver.ATY_Init</string>
		 <key>IOClass</key>
		 <string>ATY_Init</string>
		 <key>IOMatchCategory</key>
		 <string>IOFramebuffer</string>
		 <key>IOPCIClassMatch</key>
		 <string>0x03000000&amp;0xffffff00</string>
		 <key>IOPCIMatch</key>
		 <string>0x00001002&amp;0x0000ffff 0x000010de&amp;0x0000ffff  0x124410de&amp;0x0000ffff</string>											
		 <key>IOProbeScore</key>
		 <integer>0</integer>
		 <key>IOProviderClass</key>
		 <string>IOPCIDevice</string>
		 <key>NVIDIA</key>
<dict>



Then install the latest CUDA driver, adjust the ATI3800Controller.kext with your vendor ID and evice ID.
then create with using GPU-Z under Windows or with CUDA-Z on Mac OS X from your graphics card an GFxxx.ROM and save the ROM in /Extra / , then make the following entry in your chamelon.boot.plist, so that the GFxxx.ROM loaded on boot :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
			 <key>Boot Graphics</key>
			 <string>No</string>
			 <key>DSDT</key>
			 <string>\Extra\DSDT.aml</string>
			 <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
			 <string>Yes</string>
		    <key>Graphics Mode</key>
			 <string></string>
	        <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
			 <string>Yes</string>
			 <key>Kernel</key>
			 <string>mach_kernel</string>
   	     <key>Kernel Flags</key>
			 <string>-v -f npci=0x3000 ahcidisk=1 debug=8</string>
			 <key>Legacy Logo</key>
	        <string>Yes</string>
		    <key>PCIRootUID</key>
			 <string>0</string>
			 <key>SMBIOS</key>
			 <string>/Extra/smbios.plist</string>
			 <key>Timeout</key>
			 <string>5</string>
			 <key>USBBusFix</key>
			 <string>Yes</string>
    	    <key>UseNvidiaROM</key>
			 <string>Yes</string>
			 <key>VBIOS</key>
			 <string>Yes</string>
			 <key>busratio</key>
			 <string>19</string>
			 <key>usekernelcache</key>
			 <string>No</string>
</dict>
</plist>



Create a DSDT.aml, see my post below http://www.insanelym...orking-systems/
Repair permissions and boot the system, its works very Good but no QE/CI


Edit:
the AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext (with plugins!) was modified for iMac13, 2 ​​with my
VEN ID and DEV ID. The PlatformSupport.plist was extended for iMac13, 2.

The next test is with a string in the chameleon.boot.plist, I'll report later.

Edited by spakk, 03 March 2013 - 05:08 PM.


#130
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:marocain
Hello friends, who still has an ingenious idea? Please log in :king:

#131
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Retired
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
After playing around a bit more I can get to the login screen with what seems some sort of acceleration as the screen loads with no lag. After entering password I get a black screen and get pushed back to the login screen again. Here is the log from the WindowServer for it,

Spoiler


Any ideas?

#132
pico joe

pico joe

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi guys, I'm not genius only follower, but I think the problem in GeForceGLD.bundle. Today I'm updating 10.8.2 with combo 10.8.3 and only replace GeForceGLD.bundle with kext from 10.7.4. BFlag : npci=0x300 GE=Yes. I get my optimum resolution but no QI/CE only framebuffer like Connactic said. see my picture http://cl.ly/image/2d2L3D1O3l19

#133
SS01

SS01

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
Is it possible to contact netkas? He's very knowledgable about this graphic card stuff, maybe he could help us..

#134
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,029 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:marocain

Is it possible to contact netkas? He's very knowledgable about this graphic card stuff, maybe he could help us..


do not worry SS01, as I've heard as they are all informed about the current state and visit this page regularly.

#135
gils83

gils83

    DJ Officiel d'InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
:)

Card: MSI Nvidia GT 610 1024MB
Device ID:
Ports: DVI /HDMI / VGA / CI/QE ok :)
Performance: Cinebench 11.5. QuickTime and VLC work fine. (test en cours)
Method to get it working: ML DP1 10.8 / i386 / kernel : sinedp1 12.0.0 Sinetek :D

CPU : FX 6100 ;)

Posted Image


Posted Image

Edited by gils83, 03 April 2013 - 09:41 PM.


#136
gils83

gils83

    DJ Officiel d'InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
:)

la 12.4 , n'apporte rien pour Nvidia :(

12.4, does nothing for Nvidia :(

boot -x

Posted Image

#137
gils83

gils83

    DJ Officiel d'InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
:)

wooooaaaahhhh !!!


Nvidia fonctionne en x86_64 avec ML DP2 avec le noyau sinedp1 de notre valeureux Sinetek !! :thumbsup_anim: :hysterical:
j'ai fait une petite vidéo que je prépare , voici un avant gout de l'histoire , je vais essayer d'en savoir plus :P

NVIDIA operates in x86_64 with ML DP2 with snedp1 core of our brave Sinetek!
I made a little video that I make, here is a preview of the story, I'll try to find out more

Posted Image

Posted Image

il subsiste quelques artefacts assez minime comparer à ATI HD 5xxx/6xxx et 7xxx , j'ai remarqué également sur cette version d'OS X que les drivers étaient encore en parti -i386/x86_64 , la GT 610 dans ce cas avec CI/QE n'a pas besoin de GraphicsInjector pour Clover et GraphicsEnabler pour Chameleon , je continu mes test ;)

A suivre........... :thumbsup_anim:

there are still some pretty minimal compared to ATI HD 5xxx/6xxx and 7xxx artifacts, I also noticed on this version of OS X that drivers were still -i386/x86_64 party, the GT 610 in this case with CI / QE does not need to GraphicsInjector Clover and GraphicsEnabler for Chameleon, I continued my test;)

To be continued ...........

Posted Image

Posted Image

http://www.partage-f..._ioreg.rar.html

Edited by gils83, 09 June 2013 - 05:51 PM.


#138
HenryH

HenryH

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male

I've tried everything apart from DSDT to get the graphics cards below to work with no luck in mountain lion 10.8.2 AMD (iAtkos ML2) - tried default apple drivers, web nvidia drivers, entering device ids, etc.

 

I get the NVDAGF100HAL loaded ok message always.

 

GraphicsEnabler=Yes => momenterally see glitched desktop then just black screen with text

GraphicsEnabler=No => monitor goes to standby mode

 

In both cases the system is running ok apart from this (could hear a video playing at some point) and booting in safe mode (-x) works ok.

 

Exact same behaviour for both graphics cards.

 

Motherboard: M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

Graphics Card 1: GTX 460

Graphics Card 2: GeForce 8800 GT

 

Is this the current status of NVidia graphics cards on Mountain Lion for AMD systems?



#139
gils83

gils83

    DJ Officiel d'InsanelyMac

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique

:)

 

Is this the current status of NVidia graphics cards on Mountain Lion for AMD systems?

 

yes :(



#140
HenryH

HenryH

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male

Wish I had known that two days ago...

 

Still maybe this will save someone else some time some day.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: AMD, nVidia, GeForce, Mountain Lion, Lion, 64-bits, hackintosh, legacy kernel, QE/CI


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy