Jump to content

[UEFIPatch] UEFI patching utility

BIOS patch power management UEFI

  • Please log in to reply
1704 replies to this topic

#181
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Code Rush
thanks a lot could you check if is it possible patch this bios
PTEC - 2
Phoenix BIOS SC-T v2.1
link here

http://www.4shared.c...iesltd-11d.html


my system is no OEM
Atom n2800 gma3600
ssd hd intel wifi
trued everything .........but kernel panic
i am sure bios is blocking something ,
thanks
congratulations for your work

carefull with phoenix bios (if its not award or ami) u cant flash the backup back!!, most times it bricks.

best is to find download for bios.

Edited by LatinMcG, 02 March 2013 - 08:37 PM.


#182
lunux

lunux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts
Thanks LatinMcG,
dou you have any download link for PTEC - 2
Phoenix BIOS SC-T v2.1 or superior ?
the only one I have - it is no OEM laptop- chinese macbook air clone-
it is a BKup .
regards

@lunux, there are no patch pattern in this BIOS, but nest PowerManagement2.efi module is present. I will look at it's disassembly and try to find a way to remove 0xE2 lock.


Thanks a lot CodeRush,
I wait your next reply , consider it is a BKUP bios, and it is locked also the 64bits
enable, so I cannot install Lion,

#183
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
let me see if it opens with award tool or phoenix.. if its award u ok. if phoenix.. no no

edit: phoenix tool because its Insyde EFI bios. . so it might be ok not phoenix but insyde.

EFI / Insyde BIOS
Finished Extracting
Tiano module compression method used

i wonder what the recovery filename is.

hmm a possible manufacturer dianjitek.com (page down?)
pause at :08

Edited by LatinMcG, 02 March 2013 - 08:58 PM.


#184
CodeRush

CodeRush

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deggendorf, Germany
Guys from BiosRepo have asked me to write a small guide on flashing modified BIOS on ASUS P8xxx boards with FTK, because my guide on [H] is way too complex for normal people.
Let's try writing something simpler.
---
Flashing modified BIOS on ASUS P8xxx boards (and similar ROG ones) with FTK

Requirements
1. Latest version of FTK for DOS. Link is here.
2. BIOS for your board with or without any modification (PM patch, SLIC, OROM or VideoBIOS update, etc.).
3. USB-drive with any capacity starting at 128Mb.
4. PC running Windows to prepare USB-drive. There is a way prepare USB-drive with FTK on Linux or OS X, but it's complex and won't be described here at this time.

Preparing USB-drive with FTK and your BIOS file
1. Download (from this post attachments), unpack and run USB Drive Creator as Administrator.
Posted Image

2. Select your USB-drive, FAT32, enter any drive label, press "..." button and select MSDOS folder that was unpacked on step 1.
Posted Image

3. Press "Start" button and wait. Press "OK" in summary window.
4. Download FTK for DOS (link above), unpack the archive to newly prepared USB-drive. All files must be placed in USB-drives root folder.
5. Rename your BIOS file to bios.bin (regardless of current extension, .ROM or .CAP or anything else) and copy this file to USB-drives root folder.
Your USB-drive must look like this after all steps above. I will call it FTK-drive for now on.
Posted Image

Booting to DOS from FTK-drive and flashing BIOS
1. Reboot your PC, press F8 during boot and select "YourFlashName" without "UEFI:" prefix from boot device list.
2. If you see DOS prompt, you have done it right.
3. Enter biosrefl command and wait for green "FPT Operation Passed" message.
You can see "FD44 modules are empty in input file. Data restoration required." message, use FD44Editor to restore your individual board data, if you wish.
If you see any errors, make a photo from your screen and post it here, I will try to help.
4. Enter poweroff command and wait for PC to power off and then power on automatically.
5. Go to BIOS setup and look at ME version and BIOS version on Main tab. If both of them aren't "N/A", your BIOS is flashed successfully.

Attached File  USBDriveCreator.zip   204.78KB   237 downloads

#185
n30p1r4t3

n30p1r4t3

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Galien, MI
  • Interests:Linux, gaming, and women.
Thank you very much CodeRush.

#186
lunux

lunux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts

let me see if it opens with award tool or phoenix.. if its award u ok. if phoenix.. no no

edit: phoenix tool because its Insyde EFI bios. . so it might be ok not phoenix but insyde.

EFI / Insyde BIOS
Finished Extracting
Tiano module compression method used

i wonder what the recovery filename is.

hmm a possible manufacturer dianjitek.com (page down?)
pause at :08 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDyvxmAYjPU



thanks LatinMcG
could be the same maifacturer
I bougth cause I want to install Mac as mac book air clone, but no luck, always kerenl panic.
I am waiting for more news ,
regards

#187
CodeRush

CodeRush

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deggendorf, Germany
@n30p1r4t3, no problem. I leaved a pair of comments under your post on BiosRepo, please look at it. The name of your article can confuse people, I think. :)

@lunux, will look at it as soon as I have time for programming. I will be on CeBit 2013 from tomorrow to 9. Mar, so please be patient.

@all, guys, can you please quote only needed parts of message you quote? It's hard to read this topic on devices with small screen if everyone is quoting everything. Thanks in advance.

#188
g_face2k

g_face2k

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
CodeRush thanks for the Utility!
I did this manually a few months back but my MB craped out and was sent for repair. After 2 months of not wanting to mod it manually I stumble upon your utility, now I can boot my Mac Again!

MSI Z77A GD 65
BIOS 10.6
BIOS 10.8

Edited by g_face2k, 03 March 2013 - 10:14 PM.


#189
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

thanks LatinMcG
could be the same maifacturer
I bougth cause I want to install Mac as mac book air clone, but no luck, always kerenl panic.
I am waiting for more news ,
regards

likely u need dsdt made and boot with -v to see kernel panic error details.

#190
bdv

bdv

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France, Near Bordeaux
  • Interests:Italian motorcycles riding and fixing, computers, cats, pre-print design.

Guys from BiosRepo have asked me to write a small guide on flashing modified BIOS on ASUS P8xxx boards with FTK, because my guide on [H] is way too complex for normal people.
Let's try writing something simpler.


Thanks a lot for that, it'll be useful, I have a P8H77-MLE to flash, and 2 P8Z77-VPro before end of month. :)

BTW, PMPatch works ok with the latest 1206 bios for P8H77-MLE.

#191
lunux

lunux

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts
@lunux, will look at it as soon as I have time for programming. I will be on CeBit 2013 from tomorrow to 9. Mar, so please be patient.
thanks CodeRush
I'll wait for your kind reply , have a good trip,

#192
magnifico

magnifico

    Retired

  • Donators
  • 2,522 posts
  • Gender:Male

Good day to all.

I wrote an utility to patch modern UEFI BIOSes from different vendors to prevent them from locking MSR 0xE2 and therefore make the system with patched BIOS compatible with native AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext.
It's tested on ASUS (AMI), Asrock (AMI), Acer (Phoenix), Dell (Phoenix and InsydeH2O), Lenovo (Phoenix), MSI (AMI), Toshiba (InsudeH2O), Zotac (AMI) and works without any issues.
For Dell users with Phoenix SCT 2.0 BIOSes I added an additional patch to unlock hidden BIOS setups.

The utility is BSD-licensed and available on GitHub.
Compiled versions for Windows and OS X are here.
Latest version is 0.5.10

Usage: pmpatch /path/to/original.bios /path/to/patched.bios

This program is still in development and can produce corrupt BIOS images, try them on your own risk.
I need testers with different boards from different vendors to make the utility better, so if you have enough courage or a spare BIOS chip - please try it and report in this topic.
Thank you in advance.


Can I use that I have a patched bios?

#193
donovan6000

donovan6000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male

Doesn't work with my bios. Is this only for sandy bridge cpus? Or has it worked on any Nehalem ones? I've looked through my bios and I think it might be locking bit 15 in the smmplatform module instead of the usual places because of this function that's in smmplatform. I'd prefer to have someone with more expirence look it over before I change anything. Thanks. I've attached my bios, the powermanagement2 module, and the smmplatform module. Posted Image


Just to let you guys know, I changed the jump opcode from a jb to a jmp and it works. No more patched AICPM for me :king:
So for anyone with HP insyde bios that are 2 - 4 years old, the MSR locking subroutine might be in the smmplatform module.

#194
CodeRush

CodeRush

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deggendorf, Germany
Cool, will add this patch variant ASAP.

#195
CodeRush

CodeRush

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deggendorf, Germany

Can I use that I have a patched bios?

I don't get the question, sorry. You must patch the BIOS first then flash it someway, then patched AICPM.kext and NCPM.kext are not needed anymore. That's it.

#196
magnifico

magnifico

    Retired

  • Donators
  • 2,522 posts
  • Gender:Male

I don't get the question, sorry. You must patch the BIOS first then flash it someway, then patched AICPM.kext and NCPM.kext are not needed anymore. That's it.


I already have a modified bios for the native speed step....unterstand?

#197
CodeRush

CodeRush

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deggendorf, Germany
Now yes. You can use it but it brings nothing. It's just a PM patch you made already, no need to make it again.

#198
magnifico

magnifico

    Retired

  • Donators
  • 2,522 posts
  • Gender:Male
Ok , it was just for curiosity

#199
CodeRush

CodeRush

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deggendorf, Germany
Holy random, I'm finally at home!

I will try to implement donovan6k's patch variant today.
I have another unpatchable BIOS from ECS board, so it can be 2 new versions of the tool the next week.

If your BIOS can't be patched with latest version of the tool and your OS X power management works with patched AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext - please report here to make the tool better.

#200
yo my shot

yo my shot

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi CodeRush,

I have Z9PE-D8 WS motherboard.....I have attached the bios....can you tell me if this patch will work for my system

Attached Files







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: BIOS, patch, power management, UEFI


6 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy