Hackintosh laptop for Editing and VFX

Socratis

6 posts in this topic

Hello, I am new to the hackintosh world. I am a film studies student and I would like to build a hackintosh laptop basically for editing ( Final Cut Pro X and CS6 ) and some vfx - compositing (after effects , maya etc) . I have searched around the forums (here & elsewhere) but I haven't figured out if it a laptop is a hackintosh stable choise. I found several references for kernel panics or instability which could be a major problem for video editing which is heavy on resources. I have read here :

http://www.macbreaker.com/2012/03/four-best-hackintosh-laptops-for-2012.html

and ASUS G53JW - A1 seemed like a good choice. Fact is that a good GPU acceleration is need. I think nvidia is a good choice for both FCP and CS6.

So my questions are:

1) For about 1, 4000$ a hackintosh laptop is a good choise for the use mentioned? Or maybe I should think of desktop instead ?

2) Has anybody build - used anything for similar purposes ?

3) Do u believe that the asus laptop is a good choise

4) The NVIDIA GTX 460M is a good acceleration choice for both CS6 and FCP ?

Thank you for your time

PS Sorry for any language mistakes - English is not my first language

PS2 Excuss me if I have missed a forum topic that covers my questions. If that's true a link could be real helpfull

For the absolute best, most-stable, desktop is the way to go. Somewhere on the internet is the "perfect" desktop hackintosh setup, I don't know where it is, but I know it uses all custom parts, you have to build it, the motherboard is Gigabyte... I wish I could help you more, that's all I got!

I will say my Hackbook is able to run Final Cut Pro and the like, although you probably want something more powerful than the HD4000 for graphics.

• 3 weeks later...