Jump to content

Clover General discussion

Bootloader EFI Clover

  • Please log in to reply
4247 replies to this topic

#1101
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

A question: how do i fix both the Clover boot screen and Apple boot screen resolutions? I'd love to get rid of that stretched, ugly resolution i'm having...

Well, the easiest route to try is to add PatchVBios=Yes into Graphics section. If it does not work, check the preboot.log or boot.log. If it says that EDID is not detected, try adding CustomEDID tag with your EDID. If it still does not work, then post (pre)boot.log for checking.

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
  ...
  <key>PatchVBios</key>
  <string>Yes</string>
  <key>CustomEDID</key>
  <string>00FFFFFFFFFFFF0041...</string>
</dict>

Note: this is for CloverEFI boot. If doing UEFI boot, then above steps are the same plus putting CsmVideo driver to drivers64UEFI.

Clover is not detecting Windows 7 .

Use DarwinDumper and do the "Disk ..." reports and Bootlaoder config - maybe we can see from there what went wrong. Windows is UEFI or BIOS install?

#1102
mani_bond007

mani_bond007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

/dev/disk0


SanDisk SSD U100 124GB Media | 124 GB | GUID_partition_scheme | View Disk Sectors

DEVICE TYPE NAME SIZE PBR (Stage1) BootFile (Stage 2) UEFI BootFile disk0s1 EFI 209 MB disk0s2 Microsoft Reserved 134 MB disk0s3 Microsoft Basic Data OS 85 GB bootmgr(Windows Boot Manager) disk0s4 Apple_HFS U 37 GB boot(CloverR1000) boot3(CloverR1000) boot6(CloverR1000)

DrawinDumper is showing the following.
Clover is showing OSX and Windows vista in menu.
OSX works.
Windows is not booting.
Clover is installed on disk0s1.
Any ideas why windows 7 is not detected by clover?

#1103
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male
You'll have to help if you want help.

Use DarwinDumper and do the "Disk ..." reports and Bootlaoder config - maybe we can see from there what went wrong.

... and post the whole zipped report.

#1104
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,209 posts
  • Gender:Male

You'll have to help if you want help.

... and post the whole zipped report.


This is a some problem I've had in the past, do you remember?


#1105
Kogen Mantis

Kogen Mantis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male

Well, the easiest route to try is to add PatchVBios=Yes into Graphics section. If it does not work, check the preboot.log or boot.log. If it says that EDID is not detected, try adding CustomEDID tag with your EDID. If it still does not work, then post (pre)boot.log for checking.

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
...
<key>PatchVBios</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>CustomEDID</key>
<string>00FFFFFFFFFFFF0041...</string>
</dict>

Note: this is for CloverEFI boot. If doing UEFI boot, then above steps are the same plus putting CsmVideo driver to drivers64UEFI.


Use DarwinDumper and do the "Disk ..." reports and Bootlaoder config - maybe we can see from there what went wrong. Windows is UEFI or BIOS install?

dmazar - about CsmVideo. I was never able to make it work (CsmVideoDriverBindingStart end Unsupported). How can I help you guys to make it work?

0:845 0:036 LoadDrivers() start
0:887 0:042 Starting FSInject-64.efi
0:926 0:039 Using load options 'FSInject-64.efi '
0:966 0:039 Starting CsmVideoDxe-64.efi
1:010 0:044 Using load options 'CsmVideoDxe-64.efi '
1:047 0:036 - driver needs connecting
1:084 0:036 Starting OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi
1:135 0:050 Using load options 'OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi '
1:171 0:036 Starting OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi
1:217 0:045 Using load options 'OsxFatBinaryDrv-64.efi '
1:253 0:036 1 drivers needs connecting ...
1:290 0:036 PlatformDriverOverrideProtocol not found. Installing ... Success
1:363 0:073 Video driver loaded: disconnect Success
1:738 0:375 CsmVideoDriverBindingStart
1:777 0:038 InstallPciRom status=Unsupported
1:813 0:036 attributes Restored
1:850 0:036 CsmVideoDriverBindingStart end Unsupported
2:620 0:770 LoadDrivers() end
2:773 0:153 SetScreenResolution: 1600x900 - not found!


BTW: latest builds (r1073 and up) broke my Intel HD 3000 displaying any graphic during boot time (I guess in favor of HD 4000). I can boot to system blind (with some artifacts during booting) and everything works fine (even the CPU speed is displayed correctly in About This Mac). I'm including my DarwinDumper report.

Attached Files



#1106
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

InstallPciRom

status

=

Unsupported


I tried already something with TimeWalker who has the same error in his laptop with Phoenix UEFI, but without success. Here.
Sorry, no solution for that yet. Requires some developer with the similar error on his laptop who would be able to debug it and resolve it.
TimeWalker resolved it by patching his bios: here.

#1107
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,531 posts
  • Gender:Male

Well, the easiest route to try is to add PatchVBios=Yes into Graphics section. If it does not work, check the preboot.log or boot.log. If it says that EDID is not detected, try adding CustomEDID tag with your EDID. If it still does not work, then post (pre)boot.log for checking.

<key>Graphics</key>
<dict>
...
<key>PatchVBios</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>CustomEDID</key>
<string>00FFFFFFFFFFFF0041...</string>
</dict>


Already did the first step, to no avail. Going to try adding my EDID. As a side note, i've already had a key/string in my config.plist called PatchedVBiosBytes: should i remove it? What's the relationship of it with PatchVBios=Yes?


Note: this is for CloverEFI boot. If doing UEFI boot, then above steps are the same plus putting CsmVideo driver to drivers64UEFI.


I'm not sure i understand you: Isn't UEFI an implementation of EFI, so essentially the same thing? Anyway, i'm booting using a patched "boot" file that enabled me to boot with clover from common BIOS (not UEFI) using a Master Boot Record formatted HDD. In which category does it fall?

Anyway, thank you very much for your answers and advices, dmazar.

Best regards!

#1108
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

As a side note, i've already had a key/string in my config.plist called PatchedVBiosBytes: should i remove it? What's the relationship of it with PatchVBios=Yes?

Well, if you do not know why you have it - remove it. :)

PatchVBios=Yes
- that's the automatic video bios patch, requires EDID to be available from BIOS at the time of the patch
- Clover would take native resolution params from EDID and try to patch vbios to add that resolution
- Clover would give it's best, but positive result is not guaranteed

PatchedVBiosBytes
- allows you to specify Search/Replace combination(s) and do your custom video bios patch - no automatics here - you can (try to) patch your vbios as you like

I'm not sure i understand you: Isn't UEFI an implementation of EFI, so essentially the same thing? Anyway, i'm booting using a patched "boot" file that enabled me to boot with clover from common BIOS (not UEFI) using a Master Boot Record formatted HDD. In which category does it fall?


Clover contains two parts:
- complete UEFI firmware implementation which we call CloverEFI, that can run on top of BIOS - this is compiled into 'boot' file that you have at the root of your boot volume
- UEFI boot manager - this is CloverX64.efi - UEFI application which displays GUI, starts OS boot loaders and does patches for OSX

If you have UEFI board, then you can try direct UEFI boot. And if you have plain old BIOS board, then you must use CloverEFI and do BIOS boot.

And when I say UEFI Clover boot, that means booting on UEFI board using it's native UEFI - no MBR, boot0, boot1, boot files here, and no CloverEFI here. Boot goes straight to CloverX64.efi. UEFI firmware used here is original board's UEFI.
Board's UEFI -> CloverX64.efi -> boot.efi -> OSX

When I say "CloverEFI" or "Standard Clover boot" or "BIOS Clover boot" or "Legacy Clover boot", then I mean booting in standard BIOS way: MBR boot0 -> PBR boot1 -> boot -> CloverX64.efi. 'boot' file here contains complete UEFI implementation (CloverEFI) which will run on top of BIOS and enable you start CloverX64.efi (as boot manager) and native OSX bootloader boot.efi (as boot loader).
BIOS -> boot0 -> boot1 -> boot (CloverEFI UEFI implementation) -> CloverX64.efi -> boot.efi -> OSX

Hope it helps. I do not know how to explain it easier.

#1109
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,531 posts
  • Gender:Male
In fact, that was plain simple. So, cloverEFI for me on the machine where i'm posting right now (netbook, ASUS 1201n) and Cloverx64.efi on my main work machine, an i5 3570K on a UEFI Gigabyte H77-DS3H. If you didn't told me, i'd never know: the boot sequence is absolutely similar (black screen, then the number 7, than the Clover boot menu).

Thank you very much for the explanations, dmazar. I still didn't add the EDID, because i'm doing other things, but i'll do it and report the results here later.

Best regards.

#1110
nateB

nateB

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Try changing it back to the preferred MacPro3,1


The crash happens on my Machine even with MacPro3,1.

#1111
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,531 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi, again!

Well, i used DarwinDumper (amazing app, really awesome: thanks to the devs!) to get my EDID. What i got was the following:


header: xxxxxxx
serial number: xxxxxxxxxxx
version: xxxx
basic params: xxxxxxxxxx
chroma info: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
established: xxxxxx
standard: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 1: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 2: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 3: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 4: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
extensions: xx
checksum: xx


I now that i should make those values one big string, but which of them should i choose to make that string?

Best regards!

#1112
Ritz Carltn

Ritz Carltn

    Ritz Carltn

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:HP EliteBook 8540p,i7-820QM, 68CVD Ver F.0F, nVidia NVS5100M, ML with Clover
You also have EDID.bin, right?
Open that file by text editor and copy & paste it.
That's all, as I know.

Hi, again!

Well, i used DarwinDumper (amazing app, really awesome: thanks to the devs!) to get my EDID. What i got was the following:


header: xxxxxxx
serial number: xxxxxxxxxxx
version: xxxx
basic params: xxxxxxxxxx
chroma info: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
established: xxxxxx
standard: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 1: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 2: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 3: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
descriptor 4: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
extensions: xx
checksum: xx


I now that i should make those values one big string, but which of them should i choose to make that string?

Best regards!



#1113
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,531 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thank you, Ritz!

Well, unfortunately it didn't work with my netbook: no change at all (stretched screen). With my i5 rig, sort of: the screens are not stretched, but there's a black frame around it (before there was the stretched image and the frame).

Best regards!

#1114
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

So, cloverEFI for me on the machine where i'm posting right now (netbook, ASUS 1201n) and Cloverx64.efi on my main work machine, an i5 3570K on a UEFI Gigabyte H77-DS3H. If you didn't told me, i'd never know: the boot sequence is absolutely similar (black screen, then the number 7, than the Clover boot menu).

Well, if you see number 7 before Clover GUI that means BIOS boot and CloverEFI. That number 7 is from "boot" file. When doing UEFI boot, then boot0, boot1, boot are not used and there is no number 7.

Note that even if you have UEFI board, you can still do legacy BIOS boot from it. Meaning, on UEFI board you can do native UEFI boot, but also CloverEFI boot (BIOS boot).

#1115
PJALM

PJALM

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
Has anyone got IB PM too work with a IB Sysdef?

#1116
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,530 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

SanDisk SSD U100 124GB Media | 124 GB | GUID_partition_scheme | View Disk Sectors
DEVICE TYPE NAME SIZE PBR (Stage1) BootFile (Stage 2) UEFI BootFile disk0s1 EFI 209 MB disk0s2 Microsoft Reserved 134 MB disk0s3 Microsoft Basic Data OS 85 GB bootmgr(Windows Boot Manager) disk0s4 Apple_HFS U 37 GB boot(CloverR1000) boot3(CloverR1000) boot6(CloverR1000)

DrawinDumper is showing the following.
Clover is showing OSX and Windows vista in menu.
OSX works.
Windows is not booting.
Clover is installed on disk0s1.
Any ideas why windows 7 is not detected by clover?

Sorry, may be I miss this information. Do you have a file /EFI/drivers64UEFI/NTFS.efi?

#1117
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,531 posts
  • Gender:Male

Well, if you see number 7 before Clover GUI that means BIOS boot and CloverEFI. That number 7 is from "boot" file. When doing UEFI boot, then boot0, boot1, boot are not used and there is no number 7.

Note that even if you have UEFI board, you can still do legacy BIOS boot from it. Meaning, on UEFI board you can do native UEFI boot, but also CloverEFI boot (BIOS boot).



Thank you for the further explanations, dmazar!

How do i use UEFI boot on my UEFI board? It seems that i apparently cannot control it.

Best regards!

#1118
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

How do i use UEFI boot on my UEFI board? It seems that i apparently cannot control it.

Short info here with pointers to further stuff: http://www.projectos...indpost&p=26430
Plus some info here: http://www.tonymacx8...html#post532333

#1119
tical2k

tical2k

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
So I'm still hoping to find an answer to my issue. I boot UEFI on my ASUS G75VW. Boots fine, etc. Added Clover to my EFI boot menu. However CSM is on (Compatibility Support Module). If I turn CSM OFF, the system will not boot I'm not sure the graphics are inject properly. However, if I "remove" the NVIDIA graphics kexts, I can boot.

I'm using a GTX 670m. I even tried PatchVBIOS and The CsmVideoDriver.efi (sp?) to no avail. It's not a huge problem, it's just bugging the crap out of me (I do get native res in clover with CSM off). :wallbash:

Would it be related to the DSDT? There are a few errors in compile from the F4 dump at the boot screen. Case issue and _T_0 issue. I've not tried booting with a corrected DSDT yet though.

Clover by default injects a macbook air 5,2 smbios. I tried this one as well as macbook pro 10,1. Same result. I'm sure it's something trivial I'm missing due to my unfamiliarity to the bootloader. I hope :whistle:

#1120
PJALM

PJALM

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
Has anyone managed to get Ivy Bridge power management working using an Ivy Bridge SMBIOS like Macmini6,2 or iMac13,2 ?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bootloader, EFI, Clover


3 user(s) are reading this topic

2 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy