Jump to content

Clover General discussion

Bootloader EFI Clover

  • Please log in to reply
5561 replies to this topic

#1041
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...
I just tested r1050 on my Packard Bell (non-efi legacy BIOS).
It works fine when I point it to my USB installer stick and much faster than Chameleon once the efi boot has loaded.
I only have one issue:
The VIA SATA controller...
My PATA controller is recognized just fine but I can't say the same for SATA.
It only supports IDE mode (not AHCI)
Are there any efi modules available I could use to get it working?
I noticed it was much better than Chameleon so I want to change to Clover V2 (nice work btw)
Please let me know...

#1042
Ritz Carltn

Ritz Carltn

    Ritz Carltn

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:HP EliteBook 8540p,i7-820QM, 68CVD Ver F.0F, nVidia NVS5100M, ML with Clover

I don't own any HP hardware so I'll let someone else to worry about that :) ... but You can easily change just the background and logo to achieve something like that:


Thanks,

#1043
mehlab

mehlab

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hello all

I do not know if the good place to ask my question but i assume that cause it is Clover related it will be fine

Here is the question

i have a sony vaio SVE 1512Z1EB

when i boot usb key "chameleon" in legacy mode ML 10.8.2 show me all the usb device include mass storage USB 1/2/3 spec on my desktop and sysinfo


when i boot usb key "Clover" in UEFI mode ML 10.8.2 show me all the usb device and mass storage USB 3 spec on my desktop and sysinfo

same kext in both setup not DSDT (still do not know how to make them)

if a developer or an advanced user want to give me a hand it will be nice he or she can ask me what it is needed and i will try to collaborate

I really want to try to make work this machine in UEFI mode

(several other problem do exist like GPU but for the moment it is the usb who disturbe me a lot)

Thanks by advance

#1044
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,400 posts
  • Gender:Male

I need some help.

I just built r1092 and noticed the new scheme to hide volumes now in refit.conf.

I did it successfully but I still can't generate the boot.log. I have the line "systemlog" and nothing happens. What can I do???

The boot.log is important because that way I could hide the drives in the past. Fortunately, the strings are the same but I'd like to have my log back in case something change.

Cheers!




You can write as you did?

#1045
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male

I just tested r1050 on my Packard Bell (non-efi legacy BIOS).
It works fine when I point it to my USB installer stick and much faster than Chameleon once the efi boot has loaded.
I only have one issue:
The VIA SATA controller...
My PATA controller is recognized just fine but I can't say the same for SATA.
It only supports IDE mode (not AHCI)
Are there any efi modules available I could use to get it working?
I noticed it was much better than Chameleon so I want to change to Clover V2 (nice work btw)
Please let me know...

Before going switching modules for some custom solution (which is possible), you may try this boot (CloverEFI) version from here: http://www.insanelym...40#entry1881943
Contains some BIOS Block IO driver that should make all drives available through BIOS calls.

#1046
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

Before going switching modules for some custom solution (which is possible), you may try this boot (CloverEFI) version from here: http://www.insanelym...40#entry1881943
Contains some BIOS Block IO driver that should make all drives available through BIOS calls.

I put the boot7 on the EFI partition and the USB stick.
Reboot, press 7
Now it shows the loading cursor and I have to wait.
Should this take long?
The HDD indicator is full on.
Went to smoke a sigaret.
I'll check in a few minutes... and report back
EDIT: I just checked and it does see my "EFI harddisk" (in the storage manager)
Now lets hope it loads up Clover fine... and that Clover can see the ML partition...
A bit slow atm but acceptable if it works...
EDIT2: no luck... with the USB stick.
It eventually loads up Clover but no succes in showing the SATA HD
Testing now with boot from EFI partition on my HD...
Damn... back in the menu with continue, etc.
No luck...
EDIT3: changed the config once more and booting from USB stick... still no luck.
Gonna post picture and preboot.log in a minute...

#1047
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...
Here it is ...
0:100 0:100 MemLog inited, TSC freq: 2394975510
0:100 0:000 LegacyRegion2: Chipset/proc: 0x03271106
0:100 0:000 Unknown chipset
0:100 0:000 Test PAM1=(0x41=63, 0x5a=00, 0x81=50, 0x91=00) at chipset 03271106
0:100 0:000 , Chipset not detected - exiting
0:120 0:020 BiosVideoDriverEntryPoint!
0:131 0:010 BiosVideoDriverBindingStart!
0:131 0:000 BiosVideoCheckForVbe
0:362 0:231 Edid1-
0:595 0:232 Edid0-
0:609 0:013     0 640x480 attr=3BF - ok, 640x480, working, highest, pref=0
0:609 0:000     1 800x600 attr=3BF - ok, 800x600, working, highest, pref=1
0:610 0:000     2 1024x768 attr=3BF - ok, 1024x768, working, highest, pref=2
0:610 0:000     3 1280x1024 attr=3BF - ok
0:614 0:003     4 1600x1200 attr=3BF - ok
0:614 0:000 BV new mode: 2 1024x768
1:859 1:245 SetMode pref 2 (2) = Success
1:859 0:000 BiosVideoDriverBindingStart - END: Success!
4:369 2:510
4:369 0:000 Starting rEFIt rev 1050 on CLOVER EFI
4:370 0:000 SelfDevicePath=PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x4)/USB(0x0,0x0)/HD(1,MBR,0x00000000,0x2000,0x3BB800) @7E7B7818
4:370 0:000 Theme: black_green Path: EFI\BOOT\themes\black_green
4:384 0:014 Total Memory Slots Count = 2
4:384 0:000 Type 17 Index = 0
4:384 0:000 SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 0
4:384 0:000 SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 1024
4:384 0:000 mTotalSystemMemory = 1024
4:384 0:000 Type 17 Index = 1
4:384 0:000 SmbiosTable.Type17->Speed = 0
4:384 0:000 SmbiosTable.Type17->Size = 1024
4:384 0:000 mTotalSystemMemory = 2048
4:384 0:000 Boot status=0
4:384 0:000 Clover revision: 1050 running on IMEDIA X9911E
4:384 0:000 ... with board PT890-8237A
4:413 0:028 Using OEM config.plist at path: EFI\config.plist
4:413 0:000 Loading early settings
4:413 0:000 LoadDrivers() start
4:428 0:014 Starting FSInject-64.efi
4:428 0:000 Using load options 'FSInject-64.efi '
4:428 0:000 Starting NTFS64.efi
4:457 0:028 Using load options 'NTFS64.efi '
4:457 0:000 - driver needs connecting
4:457 0:000 Starting Ps2MouseDxe-64.efi
4:457 0:000 Using load options 'Ps2MouseDxe-64.efi '
4:457 0:000 - driver needs connecting
4:457 0:000 Starting UsbMouseDxe-64.efi
4:457 0:000 Using load options 'UsbMouseDxe-64.efi '
4:457 0:000 - driver needs connecting
4:457 0:000 Starting VBoxExt2-64.efi
4:472 0:014 Using load options 'VBoxExt2-64.efi '
4:472 0:000 - driver needs connecting
4:472 0:000 Starting VBoxExt4-64.efi
4:472 0:000 Using load options 'VBoxExt4-64.efi '
4:472 0:000 - driver needs connecting
4:472 0:000 Starting XhciDxe-64.efi
4:486 0:014 Using load options 'XhciDxe-64.efi '
4:486 0:000 - driver needs connecting
4:486 0:000 6 drivers needs connecting ...
4:486 0:000 PlatformDriverOverrideProtocol not found. Installing ... Success
4:486 0:000 Edid: size=0
4:486 0:000 not foundLoadDrivers() end
4:648 0:162 SetScreenResolution: 1440x900 - not found!
4:649 0:000 InitScreen
4:649 0:000 reinit: self device path=PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x4)/USB(0x0,0x0)/HD(1,MBR,0x00000000,0x2000,0x3BB800)
4:649 0:000 new SelfHandle=7E7B7818
4:649 0:000 CPU Vendor = 756E6547 Model=6FB
4:649 0:000 The CPU not supported turbo
4:649 0:000 BrandString = Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
4:649 0:000 FSBFrequency=444MHz
4:649 0:000 Corrected FSBFrequency=266MHz
4:649 0:000 Vendor/Model/Stepping: 0x756E6547/0xF/0xB
4:649 0:000 Family/ExtFamily: 0x6/0x0
4:649 0:000 MaxDiv/MinDiv: 9.0/6
4:649 0:000 Turbo: 10/0/0/0
4:649 0:000 Features: 0xBFEBFBFF
4:649 0:000 Threads: 4
4:649 0:000 Cores: 4
4:649 0:000 FSB: 266 MHz
4:649 0:000 CPU: 4000 MHz
4:649 0:000 TSC: 4000 MHz
4:649 0:000 PIS: 1066 MHz
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.00) : 1106 0327 class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.01) : 1106 1327 class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.02) : 1106 2327 class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.03) : 1106 3327 class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.04) : 1106 4327 class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.05) : 1106 5327 class=080020
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.06) : 1106 6327 class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:00.07) : 1106 7327 class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:01.00) : 1106 B198 class=060400
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:02.00) : 1106 A327 class=060400
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|02:00.00) : 10DE 0423 class=030000
4:649 0:000 Found NVidia model=GeForce 8300 GS
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:03.00) : 1106 C327 class=060400
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:0F.00) : 1106 0591 class=010400
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:0F.01) : 1106 0571 class=01018A
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:10.00) : 1106 3038 class=0C0300
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:10.01) : 1106 3038 class=0C0300
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:10.02) : 1106 3038 class=0C0300
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:10.03) : 1106 3038 class=0C0300
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:10.04) : 1106 3104 class=0C0320
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:11.00) : 1106 3337 class=060100
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:11.07) : 1106 287E class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:13.00) : 1106 337B class=060000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|00:13.01) : 1106 337A class=060401
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|04:04.00) : 10EC 8139 class=020000
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|04:05.00) : 1106 3044 class=0C0010
4:649 0:000 PCI (00|80:01.00) : 1106 3288 class=040300
4:649 0:000 ScanSPD() start
4:650 0:000 ScanSPD() end
4:650 0:000 Calibrated TSC frequency =2394975510 =2394MHz
4:650 0:000 CPU calculated TSC frequency =4000000000
4:650 0:000 There is a problem with TSC detection and calibration! Assume calibrated one
4:650 0:000 Loading main settings
4:650 0:000 Finally: Bus=266MHz CPU=2399MHz
4:650 0:000 load font image
4:663 0:012 font loaded from themedir
4:663 0:000 Font loaded: ImageWidth=176 ImageHeight=288 Ptr=7DEB2018
4:663 0:000 Font prepared WxH=11x18 CharWidth=10
4:663 0:000 found 8 volumes with blockIO
4:663 0:000 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0xF,0x1)/Ata(Primary,Master,0x0)
4:663 0:000 found optical drive
4:721 0:057 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0xF,0x1)/Ata(Secondary,Master,0x0)
4:721 0:000 found optical drive
4:722 0:000 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x3)/USB(0x1,0x0)/Unit(0x0)
4:722 0:000 USB volume
4:750 0:028 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x3)/USB(0x1,0x0)/Unit(0x1)
4:750 0:000 USB volume
4:750 0:000 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x3)/USB(0x1,0x0)/Unit(0x2)
4:751 0:000 USB volume
4:751 0:000 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x3)/USB(0x1,0x0)/Unit(0x3)
4:751 0:000 USB volume
4:752 0:000 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x4)/USB(0x0,0x0)
4:763 0:011 USB volume
4:764 0:000 this is SelfVolume at index 7
4:764 0:000 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x10,0x4)/USB(0x0,0x0)/HD(1,MBR,0x00000000,0x2000,0x3BB800)
4:804 0:039 USB volume
4:826 0:022 Searching volumes for latest nvram.plist ...
4:826 0:000 7. Volume '', GUID = <null guid> - not GPT - no nvram.plist - skipping!
4:826 0:000 nvram.plist not found!
4:826 0:000 PutNvramPlistToRtVars: nvram.plist not found
4:826 0:000 Volume 0 has no root
4:826 0:000 Volume 1 has no root
4:826 0:000 Volume 2 has no root
4:826 0:000 Volume 3 has no root
4:826 0:000 Volume 4 has no root
4:826 0:000 Volume 5 has no root
4:826 0:000 Volume 6 has no root
4:827 0:000 hide volume 6
4:827 0:000 ScanLegacy()
4:859 0:031 found tools\Shell64.efi
4:859 0:000 ScanTool()
4:862 0:002 FinishTextScreen()
4:862 0:000 FindDefaultEntry ...
4:862 0:000 FindStartupDiskVolume ...
4:862 0:000 GetEfiBootDeviceFromNvram: efi-boot-device-data not found
4:862 0:000 not found
4:862 0:000 Default boot entry not found
4:862 0:000 FindDefaultEntry()
4:862 0:000 Use anime=Anim_1_Logo_IntroOutro frames=381
5:835 0:973 found 381 frames of the anime
5:835 0:000 SetScreenResolution: 1440x900 - not found!
6:202 0:366 Found Mouse device:
6:202 0:000 - ResolutionX=65536
6:202 0:000 - ResolutionY=65536
6:202 0:000 - ResolutionZ=65536
6:202 0:000 - Left button present
6:202 0:000 - Right button present
6:217 0:015 GUI ready
7:300 1:083 76509138969                        
7:300 0:000 Resolution X, Y: 65536, 65536        
7:300 0:000 Relative X, Y: -8192, 0 (0, 0 millimeters)        
7:300 0:000 X: 256 + -1 = 255 -> 255            
7:300 0:000 Y: 192 + 0 = 192 -> 192            


4:663 0:000 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0xF,0x1)/Ata(Primary,Master,0x0)
4:663 0:000 found optical drive
4:721 0:057 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0xF,0x1)/Ata(Secondary,Master,0x0)
4:721 0:000 found optical drive
Thus my DVD drives are found however..
My SATA is not found.
Also not in the pci list... :o
Some info on it:
Device ID: 0x5337
Vendor ID: 0x1106
Got a picture also from DPCIManager
EDIT: gonna put an IDE drive in the computer and see what happens when I put os x on it...

Attached Files



#1048
el_charlie

el_charlie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela



You can write as you did?


I don't undestand your question.

I don't know what happens. I had the boot.log before but it wasn't updating since r980. I deleted it to see if it regenerates again and I did not.

I have systemlog in refit.conf and I can't find a log in /EFI/misc/ nor /.

Clover is installed in the OS X partition of my SSD. My specs are on my signature.

Cheers!

#1049
k3nny

k3nny

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 538 posts
  • Gender:Male
@el_charlie:
For the systemlog to appear, the /EFI/misc folder must be present. It isn't created automatically.
I hope that solves at least this issue.

#1050
el_charlie

el_charlie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela

@el_charlie:
For the systemlog to appear, the /EFI/misc folder must be present. It isn't created automatically.
I hope that solves at least this issue.


I do have that folder. It was created automatically because I didn't make it.

See:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-02-03 at 15.59.10.png   103.4KB   20 downloads

Cheers!

#1051
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,471 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.
Guys, I read that clover supports native resolution. How do I set it to start and boot in 1920x1080?

#1052
el_charlie

el_charlie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela

Guys, I read that clover supports native resolution. How do I set it to start and boot in 1920x1080?


You'll need to know your VESA modes for your graphics card. If it doesn't support it, you can patch your VBIOS on the fly in config.plist for nvidia cards.

I did this for my GTX 560Ti:

<key>PatchVBiosBytes</key>
			 <dict>
					 <key>0</key>
					 <dict>
							 <key>Find</key>
							 <data>NC0nKJAroL+cj5a5jh8AAAA=</data>
							 <key>Replace</key>
							 <data>Fg7vn4/9AmM7N8/rQADBJAI=</data>
					 </dict>
					 <key>1</key>
					 <dict>
							 <key>Find</key>
							 <data>KAAZACgYCAgF</data>
							 <key>Replace</key>
							 <data>gAc4BPBCEAcF</data>
					 </dict>
					 <key>2</key>
					 <dict>
							 <key>Find</key>
							 <data>gg8DAQAACAQUAAAIFw==</data>
							 <key>Replace</key>
							 <data>TQEDTQEIASDAA///IA==</data>
					 </dict>
					 <key>3</key>
					 <dict>
							 <key>Find</key>
							 <data>QAa6sAQ=</data>
							 <key>Replace</key>
							 <data>gAe6OAQ=</data>
					 </dict>
			 </dict>

That added 1920x1080 in four matrices of the Video Bios. More info at ProjectOSX forums.

If you have an UEFI motherboard, you'll need a driver called CsmVideoDxe-64.efi.

Cheers!

PS: I forgot, the setting of the resolution is in the refit.conf file.

#1053
Dr. Hurt

Dr. Hurt

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,471 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairo, Egypt and NYC, USA
  • Interests:Wandering around on the internet!! Politics, Sci/Tech, Medicine.
That worked quite nicely. Clover and boot screen are now using the correct resolution.

I have one last question. Why am I still getting a black screen (like its changing resolution) right before login screen? Shouldn't it now pass from boot screen to login window without doing that?

#1054
el_charlie

el_charlie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela

That worked quite nicely. Clover and boot screen are now using the correct resolution.

I have one last question. Why am I still getting a black screen (like its changing resolution) right before login screen? Shouldn't it now pass from boot screen to login window without doing that?


No idea.

That happens to me, too.

I does even happen on windows.

So, anyone has an idea why I can't get a boot log in EFI/misc????

I do have that folder and no luck. I even have HFSplus.efi in drivers64 folder. I thought Clover couldn't write in the HFS partition so I added that driver.

Cheers!

#1055
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male

Here it is ...

This looks to me as preboot.log from ordinary boot file, not that boot7.

There were some fixes in the meantime so here is the latest boot7: Attached File  boot7.zip   337.55KB   8 downloads

Maybe it's better to rename it boot and replace existing boot for test. Preboot should give something like this:
1:278 0:417 Found supported controller for BiosBlockIO class=010185
1:278 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=80 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0005
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=80 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 7831551
1:279 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=81 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0001
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=81 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 117231407
1:279 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=82 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0001
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=82 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 1953525167
1:279 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=83 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0001
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=83 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 976773167

...
...

4:629 0:066 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,81)
4:636 0:007 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,82)
4:641 0:004 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,83)
4:645 0:004 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,81)/HD(1,MBR,0xA0D6CD5D,0x800,0x6FCB800)
4:662 0:016 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,82)/HD(1,MBR,0xC3D6D2FE,0x800,0x67F05800)
4:667 0:005 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,82)/HD(2,MBR,0xC3D6D2FE,0x67F06000,0x5001000)
...
Note that "VenHw(CF31FAC5...." in device paths - that's from that BiosBlkIo driver.

If this does not work, better ask on for hints on Project OSX - I know that some people also need to modify Clover's firmware with some other drivers to get it all working.

Although I hope you'll get some UEFI mobo for UEFI boot - more devs needed to help in resolving UEFI issues. I have reached my limits. :)

#1056
polkaholga

polkaholga

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Otherland

No idea.

That happens to me, too.

I does even happen on windows.

So, anyone has an idea why I can't get a boot log in EFI/misc????

I do have that folder and no luck. I even have HFSplus.efi in drivers64 folder. I thought Clover couldn't write in the HFS partition so I added that driver.

Cheers!


Open terminal and give rc.local and rc.shutdown.local the right ownership permissions...
sudo chmod 644 /etc/rc.local
sudo chown root:wheel /etc/rc.local
.
.
.
sudo chmod 644 /etc/rc.shutdown.local
sudo chown root:wheel /etc/rc.shutdown.local

and you need to set path for it ( open rc.local with text editor ) where to save the log

#1057
el_charlie

el_charlie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela

Open terminal and give rc.local and rc.shutdown.local the right ownership permissions...

sudo chmod 644 /etc/rc.local
sudo chown root:wheel /etc/rc.local
.
.
.
sudo chmod 644 /etc/rc.shutdown.local
sudo chown root:wheel /etc/rc.shutdown.local

and you need to set path for it ( open rc.local with text editor ) where to save the log


It was there the whole time!!!!

It was creating the logs in /Library/logs/CloverEFI!!!!

I edited rc.local and now it creates them in /EFI/misc.

Thank YOU!!!

Now, I only ask for 2 little things: 1. Is there a way to rename the partitions displayed in the GUI? and 2. How can I tweak the RAM speed displayed in System Profiler????. It says 1333 but I have my RAM at 1690 in the BIOS (and it's detected as such in WIndows).

Cheers!

#1058
polkaholga

polkaholga

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Otherland

It was there the whole time!!!!

It was creating the logs in /Library/logs/CloverEFI!!!!

I edited rc.local and now it creates them in /EFI/misc.

Thank YOU!!!

Now, I only ask for 2 little things: 1. Is there a way to rename the partitions displayed in the GUI? and 2. How can I tweak the RAM speed displayed in System Profiler????. It says 1333 but I have my RAM at 1690 in the BIOS (and it's detected as such in WIndows).

Cheers!

de nada... :wink2:
1. Clover takes the name of your partition as you named it, AFAIK there's no flag to change that...
2. RAM is autodetected... tbh i have no idea about that

Edit: spelling

#1059
el_charlie

el_charlie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela

de nada... :wink2:
1. Clover takes the name of your partition as you named it, AFAIK there's no flag to change that...
2. RAM is autodetected... tbh i have no idea about that

Edit: spelling


Yes, about number 1: It works fine with HFS Partitions. It detects the name fine, but with NTFS volumes it places a dot as a name, for example it says "Boot Windows from ." In Chameleon the volume names were detected fine and I could even rename them, because in my case, I boot windows from the "System reserved" partition and I renamed it within Chameleon to look fine and also hid the other non boot volumes.

About numer 2. There should be a flag to set the RAM speed like the Bus speed in config.plist. I also had to set that because it was detecting the stock speed of my CPU and I have it overclocked.

Cheers!

#1060
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

This looks to me as preboot.log from ordinary boot file, not that boot7.

There were some fixes in the meantime so here is the latest boot7: Attached File  boot7.zip   337.55KB   8 downloads

Maybe it's better to rename it boot and replace existing boot for test. Preboot should give something like this:

1:278 0:417 Found supported controller for BiosBlockIO class=010185
1:278 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=80 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0005
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=80 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 7831551
1:279 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=81 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0001
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=81 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 117231407
1:279 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=82 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0001
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=82 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 1953525167
1:279 0:000 Int13Extensions: INT 13 41 DL=83 : CF=0 BX=AA55 CX=0001
1:279 0:000 GetDriveParameters: INT 13 48 DL=83 : CF=0 AH=00
1:279 0:000 BlockSize = 512 LastBlock = 976773167

...
...

4:629 0:066 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,81)
4:636 0:007 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,82)
4:641 0:004 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,83)
4:645 0:004 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,81)/HD(1,MBR,0xA0D6CD5D,0x800,0x6FCB800)
4:662 0:016 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,82)/HD(1,MBR,0xC3D6D2FE,0x800,0x67F05800)
4:667 0:005 * PcieRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x5)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,82)/HD(2,MBR,0xC3D6D2FE,0x67F06000,0x5001000)
...
Note that "VenHw(CF31FAC5...." in device paths - that's from that BiosBlkIo driver.

If this does not work, better ask on for hints on Project OSX - I know that some people also need to modify Clover's firmware with some other drivers to get it all working.

Although I hope you'll get some UEFI mobo for UEFI boot - more devs needed to help in resolving UEFI issues. I have reached my limits. :)

Just tested renaming to boot and replacing the boot file.
Still no luck.
Gonna check the sources tomorrow evening and a friend of mine is bringing a IDE HD





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bootloader, EFI, Clover


5 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy