Jump to content

Clover General discussion

Bootloader EFI Clover

  • Please log in to reply
5180 replies to this topic

#921
Maniac10

Maniac10

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
I was also surprised to see my full resolution (1080p) working at boot. Really awesome guys!

#922
Nanael

Nanael

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,
first a big THANK for this bootloader!

I have just a question, how can I install Clover on My Fusion Drive Volume with UEFI?
The second thing is that I can't use my trackpad with my Toshiba P100-160.

See you

#923
n3ph

n3ph

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

What the main port does you use?
And How many ports you have? 5 or 6.
You shoul use Berlushes FB. For 6 ports
Don't use it. It just for you to more easier search at hex edit.
0000000 00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 11 02 01 01
0000010 00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 21 03 02 02
0000020 00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 03 03
0000030 00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 22 05 04 04
0000040 00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 00 05 05
0000050 00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 20 01 06 06
ConnectorType
02 00 00 00 LVDS
04 00 00 00 DVI DL(Dual Link)
00 02 00 00 DVI SL(Single Link)
10 00 00 00 VGA
80 00 00 00 S-V
00 04 00 00 DP
00 08 00 00 HDMI
Encoder, Transmitter and SenseID you do right.
But you ought to use FB adequate the number of ports.


My card has 5 ports.
DVI HDMI DP DP
DVI

Some updates, I managed to boot into OS X using Macmini6,2. I was not able to see the bootloader, I merely hit on the enter button once I boot from USB. If I enabled PatchVBios, I was able to see bootloader, but will get a white screen at OS X. As of now even though I've solved the problem with my iMessage, I'm trying to make Clover work nicely on my build.

#924
k3nny

k3nny

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 538 posts
  • Gender:Male
@n3ph:
I got the same port amount with the same types.
Take a look at this post, it may help you. Keep in mind that Chutoro isn't available in 10.8.2.

I tried several options but couldn't get Clover's connector patch to work. It's probably 7000 series related.
Nevertheless, try to do it by hand, maybe it works that way.

#925
dwmc

dwmc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
If anyone else is interested, I'm working on a new Clover theme. I don't boot anything but OS X Mountain Lion with Clover, so I'm not personally motivated to create the icons I don't need. But if others want them, I'll make time to create them. I have no problem sharing all of the SVG files so others can play around without winding up with jaggies.

Here's a screenshot. The background was borrowed from the iClover theme for the moment, I'll probably change it later.

Posted Image

#926
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

I have just a question, how can I install Clover on My Fusion Drive Volume with UEFI?
The second thing is that I can't use my trackpad with my Toshiba P100-160.

You should have EFI partition on some GPT drive - you should install it there like for ordinary UEFI boot. Clover can then start from that EFI partition, start boot.efi from Boot helper partition, boot.efi will load kernel from that Boot helper partition and kernel will mount Fusion drive and continue with it.

Regarding trackpad - I do not know.

#927
Taruga

Taruga

    Retired

  • Retired Developers
  • 528 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal

With legacy Clover boot sleep/wake works also on ML and Lion.
The problem only with UEFI boot into ML.


Funny thing is that I injected Device Properties grabbed from Chameleon and now Clover UEFI wakes for sleep .... but it reboots/crashes one minute later

<key>StringInjector</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>DeviceProperties</key>

<string>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</string>



#928
Ritz Carltn

Ritz Carltn

    Ritz Carltn

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:HP EliteBook 8540p,i7-820QM, 68CVD Ver F.0F, nVidia NVS5100M, ML with Clover
It sometimes boot successfully as booting Mac OS X with Extra kexts, but, generally reboot system.
When success boot, I dumped file.
http://www.mediafire...eg3cbze5abdufxq

But, generally reboot as followings log.

http://www.mediafire...qa6dmq8cfa52a1j


Something I missed?

Plz, guide me.

#929
doteleven

doteleven

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Switched over to clover using the iMessage fix, and viola! It works. I can now use iMessage again, however I noticed 2 things at least:

1. My clock keeps becoming off, It has gotten as far as 15 mins behind until I fixed it, I just resync the times.
2. I have to unplug my USB keyboard, to select a boot hd, and then move it again to get it to work after being booted, any ideas?

#930
Nanael

Nanael

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thank you dmazar!
It is what I will try but I have only this drive with osX.
Do you think it will work if I install it on my time machine hdd?

See you

#931
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

It is what I will try but I have only this drive with osX.
Do you think it will work if I install it on my time machine hdd?

Can you post result of "diskutil list" from Terminal?

2. I have to unplug my USB keyboard, to select a boot hd, and then move it again to get it to work after being booted, any ideas?

About 2 - is your USB keyboard connected to USB3 port? If yes, try connecting it to USB2 port.

#932
doteleven

doteleven

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Can you post result of "diskutil list" from Terminal?


About 2 - is your USB keyboard connected to USB3 port? If yes, try connecting it to USB2 port.


It's actually in a USB2 port, putting it in the USB3 works.

#933
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Funny thing is that I injected Device Properties grabbed from Chameleon and now Clover UEFI wakes for sleep .... but it reboots/crashes one minute later

I didn't find any special in your string and I think the new behavior is just random. I also saw different time to reboot with different settings. looks like some memory is not reserved and time after wake until reboot depends on memory usage.
I hope to replace PciBus driver from UEFI by my own to see if it is a reason for the problem.

Zip file of my theme is attached. It's big because it contains an svg directory holding most of the SVG files I used when creating the PNG files. I use inkscape for SVG editing. I included these files so others can modify them to create their own theme if desired. Of course there's a lot of gruntwork involved in creating a theme, and I didn't spend a lot of time on it. I just wanted an orange flavored theme. Moderators feel free to copy this to a more convenient place. Posted Image

OK, I will place a link into "Themes" post in "Clover instructions".

#934
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male

It sometimes boot successfully as booting Mac OS X with Extra kexts, but, generally reboot system.
When success boot, I dumped file.
http://www.mediafire...eg3cbze5abdufxq

For the start, try with this config.plist: Attached File  config.plist.zip   1.25KB   32 downloads

Some notes:
- test boot from your USB stick - once it works, then copy it to your Machintosh HD
- you are using /EFI/OEM/HP EliteBook 8540p/ folder - so put above config.plist there
- and delete /EFI/config.plist to avoid confusion - this one is not used when your /EFI/OEM/HP EliteBook 8540p/config.plist exists

Kexts:
- you have some kexts in /EFI/OEM/HP EliteBook 8540p/kexts/10.8/
- my advice is to install them in OSX to /S/L/E and to boot without "WithKexts" option in config.plist boot-args
- but, if you do not want to do that and still want to use kexts/10.8, then you'll have to try which works for you:
--- boot with "WithKexts" option like I put in your config.plist - this will not use kernelcache
--- remove "WithKexts" option from config.plist boot-args and try with that - this will patch kernelcache on the fly to be able to insert your kexts/10.8/
- both kext injection methods are not guaranteed to work with every kext - that's why I recommend to install them to /S/L/E

SMBIOS:
- I have copied your MacBookPro6,1 definition from Chameleon
- your previous MacBookPro5,1 definition is still there - I have just renamed that SMBIOS section to xxxSMBIOS - if you want this definition, just remove MacBookPro6,1 SMBIOS section and rename xxxSMBIOS to SMBIOS
- put there your SerialNumber

ACPI:
- you should put your DSDT.aml in /EFI/OEM/HP EliteBook 8540p/ACPI/patched/ - no need to specify it in config.plist if the name is "DSDT.aml"
- in Chameleon you have this: DropSSDT=No, GenerateCStates=Yes, GeneratePStates=Yes - this is a bit weird since usually when you use GenerateCStates and GeneratePStates, then you need DropSSDT=Yes to drop previous C and P states definition before inserting new ones
- as this is a bit confusing, I have "removed" the whole ACPI section (renamed to xxxACPI) - try with this
- if you want to have it like in Chameleon, then "enable" ACPI section (rename it from xxxACPI to ACPI) and set DropOemSSDT=No

- the proper way would be to extract your native tables (press F4 in Clover GUI - it will save them to /efi/acpi/origin/)
- and put all SSDT which are not for P and C states (SataAhci, PtidDevc, NVIDIAGF, Cpu0Tst(?), ApTst(?)) to /EFI/OEM/HP EliteBook 8540p/ACPI/patched/ as SSDT-0.aml, SSDT-1.aml, SSDT-2.aml ...
- and then use DropOemSSDT=Yes , GenerateCStates=Yes, GeneratePStates=Yes
- this will then first drop all SSDT tables, then insert some of them again from ACPI/patched/ folder and then generate additional two SSDT for C and P states

If you would like to try video bios patch for native resolution boot, you will have to:
- extract EDID and put it to config.plist as Graphics/CustomEDID because Clover can not read it from BIOS in your case
- add config.plist Graphics/PatchVBios=Yes
- remove "screen_resolution 1440x900" from /efi/boot/refit.conf

Hope this helps.

#935
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,822 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello, guys!

I've been trying to use clover from a USB Fat-formated stick (tried Mac Os Extended (journaled) before) to boot my 1201n netbook. The problem is, i cant boot at all: the boot process goes up to the Clover menu, but both my partitions (Lion and Mountain Lion) don't show up. My disk is formatted as Master Boot Record, then i want to know if is it a problem (and if it is, i'm afraid i'll give up clover: reformatting my HD is not an option) or if i'm missing something (i really hope that's the case).

Thank you very much!

#936
dmazar

dmazar

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 256 posts
  • Gender:Male
You can start Clover and then press F2 to save preboot.log to /efi/misc. if you can post it here, i may be able to tell more.

#937
todesto

todesto

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Whttier, CA
  • Interests:golf<br />computer<br />hacking<br />movie<br />Deep Purple, Led...
I get to boot with clover, seems to be stable, but when I try sleep, the system sleeps, then upon wake, system fan turns but Monitor doesn't turn back on. I am using HD6870.

#938
ameris_cyning

ameris_cyning

    I don't know what to write here

  • Donators
  • 956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My apartment
  • Interests:OSx86, female anatomy, electronic music, Clover EFI
Clover is great and it has MAJOR potential. It is, however, still a bit rough around the edges. I cannot wait until you guys get to the 1.0 release

#939
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,324 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi all ..and sorry for OT .
Please those you live in the USA?
I have to buy a ssd and in italy not send

Pm : please

#940
tdtran1025

tdtran1025

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 351 posts
I want to know if there may be a way to improve the boot time from power on to boot screen. What does the boot loader do during this silent period?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Bootloader, EFI, Clover


5 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy