Jump to content

Experimental Atheros AR81(31/32/51/52/61/62/71/72) Driver for 10.7/10.8

Atheros

  • Please log in to reply
140 replies to this topic

#101
Atikin

Atikin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

in 10.9 this kext have some problems with sleep:

10/16/13 1:35:38.656 PM WindowServer[131]: device_generate_desktop_screenshot: authw 0x0(0), shield 0x7fe71d969410(2001)
10/16/13 1:35:38.670 PM WindowServer[131]: device_generate_lock_screen_screenshot: authw 0x0(0), shield 0x7fe71d969410(2001)
10/16/13 1:35:39.258 PM WindowServer[131]: _CGXHWCaptureWindowList: No capable active display found.
10/16/13 1:35:54.338 PM WindowServer[131]: _CGXHWCaptureWindowList: No capable active display found.
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] Wake on magic packet enabled.
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32

        -a lot of the same lines-

10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32
10/16/13 1:35:57.000 PM kernel[0]: *** kernel exceeded 500 log message per second limit  -  remaining messages this second discarded ***
10/16/13 1:35:57.334 PM configd[18]: arp_client_transmit(en1) failed, Network is down (50)
10/16/13 1:35:57.334 PM configd[18]: DHCP en1: ARP detect ROUTER failed, arp_client_transmit(en1) failed, Network is down (50)
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: Previous Sleep Cause: 5
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: The USB device HubDevice (Port 1 of Hub at 0x1a000000) may have caused a wake by issuing a remote wakeup (2)
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] Powering ethernet on.
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] PCI register PMC = 0xf9c3
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] PME# from D3cold state is supported.
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] ALX_wake()
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] Wake on magic packet disabled.
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] Enabling multicast mode.
10/16/13 1:36:06.033 PM configd[18]: setting hostname to "iMac.local"
10/16/13 1:36:06.035 PM configd[18]: network changed: v4(en1-:192.168.1.3) DNS- Proxy-
10/16/13 1:36:06.037 PM netbiosd[361]: network_reachability_changed : network is not reachable, netbiosd is shutting down
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: The USB device 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (Port 4 of Hub at 0x15000000) may have caused a wake by issuing a remote wakeup (1)
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: The USB device USB2.0 Hub (Port 1 of Hub at 0x1a100000) may have caused a wake by issuing a remote wakeup (3)
10/16/13 1:36:06.000 PM kernel[0]: The USB device USB Receiver (Port 3 of Hub at 0x1a110000) may have caused a wake by issuing a remote wakeup (3)
10/16/13 1:36:06.139 PM WindowServer[131]: CGXDisplayDidWakeNotification [106742586690]: posting kCGSDisplayDidWake
10/16/13 1:36:06.140 PM WindowServer[131]: handle_will_sleep_auth_and_shield_windows: NULL shield_window (lock state: 1)
10/16/13 1:36:07.086 PM racoon[369]: ioctl(SIOCGIFAFLAG_IN6) failed:Can't assign requested address
10/16/13 1:36:08.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] Link event interrupt.
10/16/13 1:36:08.000 PM kernel[0]: [ALXEthernet] NIC link is up: 1000Mb/s Full Duplex.
10/16/13 1:36:08.848 PM configd[18]: network changed: v4(en1+:192.168.1.3) DNS+ Proxy+ SMB
10/16/13 1:36:08.860 PM configd[18]: setting hostname to "imac"
10/16/13 1:36:09.000 PM kernel[0]: AppleIntelE1000e(Info): e1000e NIC Link is Up 1000 Mbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: Rx/Tx

 kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32

 

cos of this kext... test it only with AppleIntelE1000e and I did not have this spam in logs... only with  ALXEthernet

 

can you please look at this problem...

Same here:

lots of

...

06.11.13 2:47:39,000 kernel[0]: Fixing incorrect zfree from zone kalloc.16 to zone kalloc.32

...

 

but it only appears when the Messages starts, then network stops working, have to reboot.

 

My system: GA-Z77-DS3H rev. 1.1, Intel Core i7-3770K, Voodoohda 2.8.4, GTX 650 Ti 2Gb, 32 Gb, OS X 10.9 (13A603), Chimera 2.2.1



#102
jl4c

jl4c

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chile
Is there any chance to build this driver for 10.9?

#103
xanderon

xanderon

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Gender:Male

hi Shailua, happy new year first of all.

 

here is a desired kernel panic to figure out whats happening. 

alx_ethernet_kernelpa67ubq.jpg

 

my system:

mavericks 10.9.1

clover boot 2428

ALXEthernet.kext 1.0.2

FakeSMC.kext 6.0.1057

 

happens when i move large files in the network like 7,4GB

 

please have a look and u can use me as a beta tester for a new version. thanks in advance

 

 



#104
selnes

selnes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hello Shailua and thank you for your work!
The kext "ALXEthernet-1.0.2" works on OSx86 10.9 (Mavericks)
System based on Z77-DS3H with Intel I3-3225 3.3GHz. (HD4000)
Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 Gigabit Ethernet



#105
xanderon

xanderon

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Gender:Male

its works but it kernel panics when you copy a huge file. already tried?



#106
jl4c

jl4c

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chile

hi Shailua, happy new year first of all.

 

here is a desired kernel panic to figure out whats happening. 

alx_ethernet_kernelpa67ubq.jpg

 

my system:

mavericks 10.9.1

clover boot 2428

ALXEthernet.kext 1.0.2

FakeSMC.kext 6.0.1057

 

happens when i move large files in the network like 7,4GB

 

please have a look and u can use me as a beta tester for a new version. thanks in advance

Yes, same issue here on AR8162.



#107
petrucci78

petrucci78

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Hello, i have motherboard gigabyte ga z77x-d3h with AR8161

In Mac os mavericks 10.9, when transfer large file in the network i have kp...now i have kext 1.0.2

there is version full work for Mavericks??
Can you help me??

Thanks



#108
infinus

infinus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Seriously, why has nobody figured out a fix for this? It's been months upon months.



#109
Mikhail Opekunov

Mikhail Opekunov

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

 

Hello, i have motherboard gigabyte ga z77x-d3h with AR8161

In Mac os mavericks 10.9, when transfer large file in the network i have kp...now i have kext 1.0.2

there is version full work for Mavericks??
Can you help me??

Thanks

 

Try it this. I have to work z77x-d3hAttached File  ALXEthernet.kext.zip   39.61KB   64 downloads



#110
petrucci78

petrucci78

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Hello Mikhail , thank you very much for the file, i have tried but  when copy large 7 gb file in my server the system freeze(don't see a kernel panic but i think it's), when copy in another server or small file don't freeze...

When load S.O. Windows 7 the copy is all ok...

Your Kext is different but same error..

:(



#111
jl4c

jl4c

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chile

Hello Mikhail , thank you very much for the file, i have tried but  when copy large 7 gb file in my server the system freeze(don't see a kernel panic but i think it's), when copy in another server or small file don't freeze...

When load S.O. Windows 7 the copy is all ok...

Your Kext is different but same error..

:(

+1



#112
sot_22

sot_22

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GR

Thanks a lot Shailua! kext works perfect with my connection 8mb/down - 1mb/up (i tried regular net browsing / downloading etc..)

 

ALXEthernet-1.0.2.zip

 

Mavericks 10.9.1

 

Motherboard : Asrock B85M-ITX

LAN : Qualcomm Atheros AR8171

 

the newer chipset code seems to work very well and it will be nice if it gets updated to be more complete and in par with linux version , anyway thank you, without this i would be stuck now without lan cause mini-itx motherboards dont have much upgradability 



#113
tempbeta

tempbeta

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I have tried the ALXEthernet.kext then when boot -v the log says:
[ALXEthernet] Error:HW is disabled.
[ALXEthernet] Error:unable to initialise ALX adapter structure.
[ALXEthernet] Error:unable to initialise adapter.

 

Any help?



#114
KibosJB

KibosJB

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

I had to use this Kext to get my Ethernet working and, like others, I have had stability issues with it.

 

It's strange, because it doesn't happen all of the time.

 

I downloaded a torrent the other day and it made about 200 connections (Kernel Panic) I rebooted, loaded the same torrent (from the beginning) and it carried on through the whole torrent without a blip.

 

Steam also causes it to panic sometimes too.

 

It only seems to happen when the connection is under load.

I have 80Mbps Down and 20Mbps up.

 

I hope someone manages to get the Atheros chips working better.



#115
rotoyouoio

rotoyouoio

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I had to use this Kext to get my Ethernet working and, like others, I have had stability issues with it.

 

It's strange, because it doesn't happen all of the time.

 

I downloaded a torrent the other day and it made about 200 connections (Kernel Panic) I rebooted, loaded the same torrent (from the beginning) and it carried on through the whole torrent without a blip.

 

Steam also causes it to panic sometimes too.

 

It only seems to happen when the connection is under load.

I have 80Mbps Down and 20Mbps up.

 

I hope someone manages to get the Atheros chips working better.

The kext posted by Mikhail Opekunov is my finding posted on a russian most popular apple/hackintosh forum (where the famous slice dwelves). It was recompiled by xpamamadeus (or smth like that). It does not have KP, but it has another problem: when you transfer ~7 gb at maximum speed on a local network - the computer reboots instantly (not showing a KP). So if you need extensive lan usage (maybe these restart conditions are more broad) - then it's unusable. I've tested it by connecting my macbook directly and transferrig a 15GB movie. Mikhail Opekunov doesn't have any problems whatsoever, so maybe this kext will suit you also. Anyway it's better than the one in the first post.

 

Here's the original link: https://www.dropbox....hernet.kext.zip

 

Maybe someone could poke xpamamadeus to investigate this issue, but i doubt he will, since he has the 8151 chip.



#116
Allaп

Allaп

    InsanelyMaestro

  • Moderators
  • 4,328 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

the kext ALXEthernet, don't load in Clover UEFI mode, only in Legacy mode.

 

look:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2014-02-03 at 9.32.08 PM.png   19.22KB   7 downloads

 

how can I fix this?



#117
KibosJB

KibosJB

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

the kext ALXEthernet, don't load in Clover UEFI mode, only in Legacy mode.

 

look:

attachicon.gifScreen Shot 2014-02-03 at 9.32.08 PM.png

 

how can I fix this?

Loads fine for me in Clover, using UEFI.



#118
Allaп

Allaп

    InsanelyMaestro

  • Moderators
  • 4,328 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

you use patch for LAN in your DSDT?



#119
KibosJB

KibosJB

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

you use patch for LAN in your DSDT?

Nope, in your UEFI settings under OS Type make sure "Network Stack" is disabled (stupid I know), but that makes it work for me :)



#120
Allaп

Allaп

    InsanelyMaestro

  • Moderators
  • 4,328 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

don't work for me.

 

in my BiOS i don't have this option.








0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy