Compiling IONDRV doesn't work

17 posts in this topic

I tried to test Xcode by compiling the IOGraphics source from opensource.apple.com, but it isn't working out? I have installed dtrace, kext-tools, bootstrap and cxxfilt, I didn't mod the source, and it always says "Build succeeded". Yet the compiled Kexts are not to be found on the HDD! I found the output directory inside the Xcode.app, but the Build folder was empty? Could someone explain what I missed?

I did find the settings in my prohect, thanks to your picture. But the only options are these: Default, Deployment, Development. The only one which does something is development, and that only gives me a .kext with nothing more than a .plist file... Default and Deployment don't give out anything. I did not change the project, I just tried to build it. I'm quite new to Xcode, could I have missed something else? The files I use are these: http://opensource.apple.com/source/IOGraphics/IOGraphics-409/ and I build with Xcode 4.3.3.

What OS are you trying to compile for? Be sure you're compiling a 64 bit kext if you're 10.7 and upwards.

I actually dug a bit into why it wasn't compiling and there were two headers that were missing that I included which are IOGraphicsTypesPrivate.h and IOFramebufferPrivate.h but for some odd reason I thought the compile would have been fine but the private framebuffer yielded a good deal of errors I don't have time to weed through and fix atm.

Screen%20Shot%202012-10-08%20at%2011.50.09%20AM.png

There is no need to fix those errors :) They occur because your Xcode misses cxxfilt, dtrace, kext-tools and bootstrap-cmds. The Headers aren't needed, it compiles just fine (Build succeeded, yet the kext is missing). And since I want to compile for Lion 10.7.4 (IOGraphics-409 are for 10.7.4), I would like to know where I change the mode?