Newbie looking for hackintosh video better than mac PRO for less $$$

inkobl

2 posts in this topic

Hello,

I'm a graphic designer I would like to develop myself around video as I come from graphic print.

I would like to build a computer able to manage FCP7, CS6, one or more color software like : Rain / Mistika / Resolve / Scratch lab / Color front / Smoke... Able to read video and very powerful for less than $1500. With a displayport able to put a 10 bit monitor like NEC PA241W-BK.

MoBo :

• Gigabyte - Z77X-UP5H -> 285€ with thunderbolt + TB FW800 29€ = 314€ (89€ more)

(or Gigabyte - Z77X-UD5H ->198€ without thunderbolt + FW800 card 27€ = 225€)

Processor:

• 3770 core i7 3,4Ghz 8Mo -> 267,99 € without overlock

(or 3770K core i7 3,5Ghz 8Mo -> 309€ 304 with overlock) (25€ more)

GFX:

• EVGA GTX660 268,71€

(or EVGA GTX670 433€ best but quite expensive (50€ more))

Power Supply :

• Seasonic - X-560W 130€

Antec TP 650W 120€

Various:

• SanDisk Extreme SSD 240 GB SATA III -> 164€ idem cdiscount

• Corsair Vengeance 16 GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600MHz CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10 -> 95€

• Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 2To SATAIII 3,5" 7200RPM 64Mo -> 95€ 89,90€

NZXT - Source 210 Elite - Boîtier PC - USB 3.0 - Noir -> 44€ (second hand)

Total: 1380,71€ TTC (1154,43€HTT)

Would it work almost like out of the box?

What are the options to make a bit of overclocking? What will be the benefit? Does I really need it? How much it will cost? Maybe I can try to let the door open for later, in this case maybe it's better buying a bigger power supply and a K processor?

Thanks for your comments, advises or whatever...

Bye