ASUS Zenbook Prime UX31A-DB51 Ultrabook - fixes, mods, tweaks, etc

nhart12

1,056 posts in this topic

I have been running mountain lion on my asus ux31a for over a month now and I thought I would share my progress.

I am a beginner so these are all things Ive found all over that seem to work on this laptop so I decided to share to save others all the looking/trial and error.

I am by no means a pro at this I have just followed various guides so when I add links to threads where I got the info, make sure to thank them not me.

So far almost everything is working with only one hardware change (swapping the intel centrino wireless/bluetooth for an atheros). Im using a Macbook air SMbios

So far whats working:

I've patched AppleHDA since the alc269 codec info in this laptop differs slightly from other alc269 chips.. It works with an HDEF DSDT patch i found somewhere. Ive attached my DSDt so you can get it there.

Note: For audio to work after sleep you need a patched version of IOAudioFamily. You can get that here: (URL removed)

Update 2:

Thanks to the help from giofrida, the dsdt now is flawless with no compile warnings or errors. Him and I patched the DSDT for certain other fixes.. Just make sure your on 212 bios from asus( its the latest last time Ive checked.)

It seems to sleep/wake with no problems. Ive attached the intelcpupowermanagement kext and the ssdt files that get that working. you just need to have chameleon load the ssdts and generate p/c states.

For HD4000 GPU I have finally enable both HDMI out (With audio!) and mini VGA. I had to edit the AppleIntelFrameBufferCapri.kext which I uploaded. So you will need that kext as and my DSDT to get it working. I had to inject the HD4000 AAPL,ig-platform 0160009 in the DSDT so if you enabled HD4000 some other way that will cause problems. If you are interested in learning more read these threads.

http://www.insanelym...ed/page__st__40

(URL's Removed)