Seeking Introduction to Hackintosh Concepts

AntonWebern

8 posts in this topic

I am brand new to this. I'm trying to run Snow Leopard on a Dell E6500 laptop.

So far I've had a few failed attempts, and one attempt that is partially successful. The partially successful attempt was accomplished using "Empire EFI" and a retail Snow Leopard DVD (10.6 unfortunately).

The purpose of my post is not to request specific help with this effort. Instead what I'm finding is that my searches lead down so many forking paths with so many new terms and broken links that I need to take a step back and say, "OK the real problem here is that I do not understand what I'm doing and why."

So what I'm looking for is a good introduction to all of the concepts I need, and what all the different programs and pieces do so that I can actually start getting a grasp on this. Is there a good, "Introduction to Hackintosh" article that would answer questions such as:

How does a Mac boot?

What is Chameleon and what is it's function?

What is Boot 123 and what is it's function?

What is Empire EFI and what is it's function?

What is iAtkos?

Does iAtkos contain Chameleon?

Does Empire EFI contain Chameleon?

Does every hackintosh use Chameleon?

What is a kext?

Where do kext's reside?

In a hackintosh, how does the boot proceed? i.e. is Chameleon involved in the booting? In what part of the process to the kext's get loaded? Why does my machine seem to have different characteristics when I boot it from Empire EFI than when I boot it straight from the hard drive (i.e. from the Chameleon screen?)

It's not that the information isn't available for me to understand these things, I'm just having trouble with the fragmentation of the information.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks.