Jump to content

G73SW ML 10.8.2 Install

G73SW

  • Please log in to reply
397 replies to this topic

#1
jeffc2009

jeffc2009

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
Install for M. Lion on G73SW:

1. Choose your install methods. There's plenty out on this site.

2. Restart, press "ESC", and choose to boot with USB you just created. When you get to chameleon boot screen choose "Mac OS X Base System" Make sure you choose GUID partition scheme in diskutil and format/name your drive "MLion". And follow the directions to finish OS X Install.

3. After you install, restart, press "ESC", and boot with the same USB. Once you see chameleon boot screen choose "MLion" or whatever you named it along with boot flag -x. Make sure to go through setup. Once your on desktop, Restart again, press "ESC" and Select MLion without any boot flags.

4. Make sure you are on Bios version Version 205.

Grab FakeSMC (HWSensors 64bit.pkg) from https://github.com/k...nsors/downloads
**make sure not to install FakeSMC from Dec 10.zip**

5. Use Enoch-rev.2137.pkg and Attached File  Dec 10.zip   5.61MB   261 downloads
Attached File  Enoch.tiff   192.71KB   228 downloads (main thing is to get the modules for HDMI audio to work.)


6. Open Terminal and paste to enable OpenCL:
sudo perl -pi -e '$c+=s/\x8b\x81\x1c\x0c\x00\x00\xeb\x06\x8b\x81\x20\x0c\x00\x00/\xb8\x02\x00\x00\x00\x90\xeb\x06\xb8\x00\x00\x00\x00\x90/; END { printf "%s: %d substitution%s made.\n",($c==1 ? "Success" : "Error"),$c,(!$c || $c>1 ? "s" : ""); $?=($c!=1); }' /System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/libclh.dylib

LuxMark to test ur OpenCL: http://www.luxrender....OSXIntel64.zip
GLViewer: http://www.realtech-...w/download.html

7. If you have SSD use TrimEnabler.

8. Update to 10.8.2, make sure to restore Dec 10.zip and re-enable Trim Enabler (if you have SSD) Before restarting.

9. Download 304.00.05f02 Web Release http://www.nvidia.co...f02-driver.html. Extract with Pacifist or unpkg. (8 Drivers need to be put into S/L/E with kextwizard)

10. Make sure to restart a couple time and plug in your HDMI cable.

11. Delete /Extra/modules folder.

12. Look in S/L/Displays/Overrides for DisplayVenderID-daf. If you have daf, overwrite with attached (instead of Built in > Asus G73SW LED FullHD).

The purpose of this thread is to try to get everything working as close to a real macbook pro 8, 2 or 8, 3 running Lion GM.

What's working: Speedstepper(thanks to oSxFr33k/ellnic)/ALC 269(patched AppleHDA plus IOAudioFamily)/Atheros 9285(DSDT Edit/uses native AirPortAtheros40.kext)/GTX 460(OpenCL patch above)/Webcam(camtwist)/Ethernet/Sleep and shutdown, HDMI video/Audio, (FN-vol up/vol down/mute), USB 3.0, Backlit keyboard after sleep, battery icon(thanks to Ellnic).

What's not working: SD Card

Use these kext's at your own risk!

Sorry Guys, I forgot to include my dsdt.aml in last few packages!! Attached File  dsdt.aml.zip   23.87KB   199 downloads

Attached Files



#2
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
Hi Jeff,

I can confirm that these kexts run better on my G73, than the Aug 20 ones. I used everything included and changed by bootloader from Chameleon 2051 to the Chimera you included. I cannot test USB 3 functionality, as I have no USB 3 devices, but I can confirm that USB Super-Speed is now shown in the profiler on the correct port (the blue one). My battery icon is also more stable (sometimes it would disappear) now it is here all the time :-)

Btw, you have the i7-2630QM, right? What did you change in the SSDT for this? My system seems to be running about 6c hotter when idling at x8.0 than before, and the MD5 sums of the SSDT I generated using Revo Girl's script and the one you provided here do not match... surely they would be the same for the same CPU?

Anyway, many thanks, keep up the great work!! :D

Ellnic.

EDIT: My cam is no longer grainy and laggy, either - NICE!!

#3
jeffc2009

jeffc2009

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
Ellnic, glad you like the new install. SSDT was the one i got from your post on tonymac86 if i remember right. Right after I posted
http://www.tonymacx8...ed-testers.html
http://www.tonymacx8...ers-10-8-x.html, I was banned from tonymac86. So, I am here for good.

#4
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)

Ellnic, glad you like the new install. SSDT was the one i got from your post on tonymac86 if i remember right.
http://www.tonymacx8...ers-10-8-x.html, I was banned from tonymac86. So, I am here for good.


Oh - how odd. It must be the kexts that are making it run hotter then. It's not a big deal, it's only 6c.

Yeah, I noticed you were banned from tonymacx86 :-/ How come that happened?

#5
jeffc2009

jeffc2009

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 230 posts
You have been banned for the following reason:
Blatant disregard of forum policies on Virtual Machine Installs on a non OS X host.

Date the ban will be lifted: Never

VM installs on a non OS X host??? I don't think any of those machines on tonymac86/insanelymac is OS X host.. Go figure!!!

#6
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
:-/ Well, continue your great work here. I really appreciate your effort in getting the G73 up and running on ML. :-)

#7
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
thanks jeff for the guide!
Does keyboard backlit work ? Is there any workaround to have it working ? Here it NEVER worked...just at startup, then keyb light off forever! Any news on sleep & ML ? i read someone succeded in that (in other forums/sites) solved installing newest drivers for nvidia graphic cards for osx and/or using sleep enabler universal.

EDIT1: i tried installing ML on my g73sw and everything is quite smooth, except i cannot have airport and audio working! It's really strange, but it doesn't work. I used the dsdt in the 3sept file and mine, and it is the same. No audio & wifi there. I tried sleepenabler universal and it panics the system (at startup). USB3 with fresco drivers don't work here (if i plug something in such port, nothing happens).

EDIT2: i have airport and audio working now...i did almost nothing and it began to work. I don't like this non-deterministic way of working. Now In ML everything seems fine, except usb3, sleep now but i have a strange behaviour in my lion partition now...still waiting for root device. dunno why...

#8
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
Has anyone tried the 10.8.2 update yet? Wondering if this will either fix some issues with the G73 or break it even more....

#9
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

Has anyone tried the 10.8.2 update yet? Wondering if this will either fix some issues with the G73 or break it even more....


Nope, not yet! I will try it soon and will let you know...perhaps Jeff is cooking a new set of kexts ready for 10.8.2... ;)
Mal

#10
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
Well it doesn't cause any kernel panics... I just updated to 10.8.2. So far as I can tell, only 4 Kexts were changed:

IOGraphicsFamily.kext
IONDRVSupport.kext
IOPCIFamily.kext
System.kext

The only thing is, I appear to have lost Audio. The AppleHDA.kext looks like the original one in the Sept.3.zip, so it must be something else. I tried this on a Carbon Copy Cloned OS, so it's no great deal.

#11
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
IOPCIFam can cause audio issues i think
or AppleACPI rollback needed.

#12
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)

IOPCIFam can cause audio issues i think
or AppleACPI rollback needed.


Hey LatinMcG, thanks for the heads up, the AppleACPI wasn't modified so it must be the IOPCIFamily.kext - i'll check that

The sleep issues are starting to get to me a bit, and I have glitches when waking from screensaver sometimes and the display sleep is a no go. Any ideas for these? I have an SSDT.aml which I used RevoGirl's script to generate, but it looks like Chimera generates it's own anyway. Also, in the Chimera log it states that:

Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/dsdt.aml] 63584 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/SSDT.aml] 911 bytes.
ACPI table not found: SSDT-1.aml


Could this be a problem because it is not looking for SSDT, but SSDT-1 for some reason?

EDIT: Rolling back the IOPCIFamily causes a panic. :-(

#13
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
I just found a patch on Olarila for the G73SW DSDT. It clears up 8 warnings and adds a lot of code, but for some reason I cannot get it to save afterwards, it seems to compile with no errors or warnings, then saves an empty file. Here is the patch, maybe someone else will have better luck. http://olarila.com/P.../Asus/G73SW.txt

#14
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
likely its a bios rev issue.
look at the change logs of bios fixes at asus site.

u can probably break up the patch into sections..i can do it later today. ( going out right now)
in dsdt editor when u loading the patch . copy n save to new small sections. ( make sur eu save as plain text in format)
e.g rtc, hpet, and other stuff. then find the specific code that doesnt patch.

if u update bios first make a backup.. do it in DOS USB . unplug hdds if it finds the FAT EFI hiden in osx it might give problems flashing in windows. (if dual booting windows)

i have a full spi flasher in usb backup of a G73J with ati. not same but known issue of bios flashing gone bad and no usb recovery working.
SPI flasher
http://www.ebay.com/...T-/251157304161
method for recovery:
make backup.bin from usb flasher then dload bios from asus. open with hexeditor both files and find the same endign and beginign in backup.bin of the bios.bin from asus dload.
merge from dload to backup.bin (copy bios begining to end to the matching spots in the backup.bin)
save as fixed.bin and flsh in usb spi flasher.
done solder chip back and its booting.

#15
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
I am on the latest BIOS revision (205) so I do not need to flash unless they release another update.

It looks like jeff already used the Olarila patch and that it was my error, because I can get it to patch if I extract a fresh DSDT using AIDA64. Bummer, I thought it might fix some things. But all it does it break audio. I know jeff applied a patch to his DSDT so it uses the Vanilla kext.

#16
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
if u use voodohda remove HDEF in dsdt .. it works without it in dsdt

#17
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
True, I can use Voodoo, but I was hoping to avoid it if I can.

#18
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
did u roll back the AppleHDA ? then patch it ?

or have u guys tried Clover and CloverGrower ?

#19
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
Wow, Clover looks amazing! I am assuming I can use this Asus to UEFI boot Clover instead of needing to use the BIOS boot. I have got the BIOS boot working so far, but then the screen goes black half way through verbose boot. With clover, am I meant to remove some of the kexts I use in S/L/E? The way I understand it is that Clover handles some of the interaction between the OS and BIOS? Ie. Less need for patched kexts, or am I wrong? I have just seen something that suggests that as long as you have FakeSMC in place, in theory nothing else may be needed to boot... is this true? Wow...

#20
ellnic

ellnic

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Macs :-)
http://www.insanelym...2787-clover-v2/





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy