Jump to content

Mavericks kernel testing on AMD (formerly Mountain Lion kernel testing on AMD)

Mountain Lion AMD legacy kernel x64_86 ssse3 ssse3 emulator

  • Please log in to reply
6114 replies to this topic

#1901
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,747 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
here the pictures

it does not look bad :wink2: :king:

Attached Files


Edited by spakk, 17 March 2013 - 02:45 PM.


#1902
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,747 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

here the pictures

it does not look bad :wink2: :king:



to mention is that I have not installed the tool by Andy! Andy what do you think? Can the tool obtain an improvement? I wait for your response before I start the tool. :help:
http://www.insanelym...cpuid-patchert/

#1903
mac_carol

mac_carol

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

hello :)


you forgot nawcom which contributed greatly with his passing legacy_kernel which served to create a "##### legacy" of a certain tonymac for sandybridge CPU!



yup! you're right ;)
But you're missing my point :)


I know there were a lot of developers who also build their own legacy kernel projects
and we all have to give credits to them for all their efforts :thumbsup_anim:

But in this case,
I only wrote the date when AMD users started to run a specific version of osx in either i386 or x86_64 natively for the first time
especially for all users of any older version of AMD


btw, sandybridge isn't the architecture for AMD, is it?


T*nym*c , seriously ?

Do you know that the evil stole nawcom's code and claimed it as his own ?


http://prasys.info/2...ymac-seriously/



For cpuid, because we know all the kernel functional work very well on AMD CPUs Intel without the bug we know about graphics cards.

all research seems vainse but keep hope or adapt its hardware with a good graphics card ATI indeed compatible.

We were still the solution, not negligible, Lion 10.7 with kernel Bronya (Dimitrik Bronzovka) (i386) capable of K10 and K15 with 64 bit support.

the day Apple utlisera CPUs AMD we have more subjects to feed! the cpuid problem will be solved.



The Year Is Not Over Yet !!! :D

#1904
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,747 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
here the other images, with the last event -> kernel panic when I have started the tool from Andy.

Attached Files



#1905
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...
Just updated to 10.8.3
I must say it runs wel.
NVDAStartup works for my 8300 GS.
How about other (but then AMD) NVidia users?

#1906
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,747 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
amazing is it that our annoying kernel panics since I modified the driver no longer occurs. :thumbsup_anim:

Just updated to 10.8.3
I must say it runs wel.
NVDAStartup works for my 8300 GS.
How about other (but then AMD) NVidia users?

Hi Andy, all Graphics Driver are from Mountain Lion 10,8,3

andy, I'll install ML update10,8,3, what do I need?

Beta Version or ComboUpdate ? OS X Mountain Lion Update v10.8.3 (Combo)

#1907
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

amazing is it that our annoying kernel panics since I modified the driver no longer occurs. :thumbsup_anim:

Hi Andy, all Graphics Driver are from Mountain Lion 10,8,3

andy, I'll install ML update10,8,3, what do I need?

Beta Version or ComboUpdate ? OS X Mountain Lion Update v10.8.3 (Combo)

I used latest combo.
The kernels are compatible but we'll make a 10.8.3 kernel soon

#1908
Kikobeats

Kikobeats

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Programming & Hacks
I just updated to 10.8.3

All is OK unless QE/QI :(

Posted Image

Maybe have a kernel problem?
PS: I have a 5850 series

#1909
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
Yes, is a kernel issue: some cards simply don't work. Now i know the HD5850 won't get along with our current kernel.

#1910
rd8111

rd8111

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
Here is a SL 10.6.8 GeForce.kext in case someone (like sinet3k) needs it.

Attached Files



#1911
Kikobeats

Kikobeats

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Interests:Programming & Hacks

Yes, is a kernel issue: some cards simply don't work. Now i know the HD5850 won't get along with our current kernel.


mmm maybe trying this... but I dont have any idea what I'm saying.

#1912
mendietinha

mendietinha

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:full hackintosh.
does an ancient athlon 64 single core can run any of these kernels?

#1913
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
If it has sse3 (two "s"s), i'll say yes, it can. If sse2-only, i'm not sure if the opcode emulator also emulates sse3 (two "s"s) instructions, as it does with ssse3.

I recommend trying it: if it doesn't work, throw good old WinXP at it :P

All the best!

#1914
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

If it has sse3 (two "s"s), i'll say yes, it can. If sse2-only, i'm not sure if the opcode emulator also emulates sse3 (two "s"s) instructions, as it does with ssse3.

I recommend trying it: if it doesn't work, throw good old WinXP at it :P

All the best!

I added sse3 emulator in the last amd_kernel.
Untested but should work

#1915
burkett375

burkett375

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Does anyone know if Gigabyte GA-H61M-S1 works on Mountain Lion 10.8.2?


That's an intel board, this is AMD development....

#1916
SS01

SS01

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa

Does anyone know if Gigabyte GA-H61M-S1 works on Mountain Lion 10.8.2?

Wrong window maybe? This is an AMD help forum.

EDIT: Ninja'd. o:

#1917
mendietinha

mendietinha

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:full hackintosh.

If it has sse3 (two "s"s), i'll say yes, it can. If sse2-only, i'm not sure if the opcode emulator also emulates sse3 (two "s"s) instructions, as it does with ssse3.

I recommend trying it: if it doesn't work, throw good old WinXP at it :P

All the best!


im here with this old laptop while my notebook is on repair... so im running win 8 and opensuse 12.3, both 64 bits. thanks! i can check that in programs like everest or cpuz, right?

I added sse3 emulator in the last amd_kernel.
Untested but should work


the latest is in the first page? in order to boot i should just create a regular usb installer and put this kernel and chose it in the instalation? add some unusual flag?

thanks for the great work!

#1918
Bitcore

Bitcore

    AMD Fanboy

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Producing Music
Hi guys, I'm back in the game :D
and how... splitted my 500GB HDD into a win7 and OSX section.
Using a USB powered external HDD (Slooooow) for my data...

But right now, i can't boot clover... Fat32 all fine but nope.
I think i read something about fixing fsb made chameleon work for fx?
So no reboot with andy's kernel? or am i wrong?

If it works, please tell me how :P


http://www.insanelym...er-for-fx-cpus/

Bitcore

#1919
Andy Vandijck

Andy Vandijck

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Coders
  • 1,602 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tienen
  • Interests:Programming stuff for Mac OS X...
    Hacking...
    Hard rock (also really big Metallica...

im here with this old laptop while my notebook is on repair... so im running win 8 and opensuse 12.3, both 64 bits. thanks! i can check that in programs like everest or cpuz, right?



the latest is in the first page? in order to boot i should just create a regular usb installer and put this kernel and chose it in the instalation? add some unusual flag?

thanks for the great work!

You need the one with the rc4 diff also attached.
There the amd_kernel is what you need.
Release Client (RC) 4 has SSE3 emulation alongside SSSE3 emulation.
Hope this helps ;)

#1920
RobinSchouten

RobinSchouten

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
Is there a significant performance loss, because of the emulation of SSSE3? Can't wait to have a fully functional Hackintosh with hardware I thought to be forever incompatible. (Phenom 955BE & GTX 580)





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Mountain Lion, AMD, legacy kernel, x64_86, ssse3, ssse3 emulator


6 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy