Jump to content

Mavericks kernel testing on AMD (formerly Mountain Lion kernel testing on AMD)

Mountain Lion AMD legacy kernel x64_86 ssse3 ssse3 emulator

  • Please log in to reply
6062 replies to this topic

#561
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
Hi Gils, do you have snow leopard 10.6.8? if so, can you test the kernel?, please?

#562
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
Hi Gils,

can you test whether SSSE3 emulator works?

Gils, but the CPU FX6100 is not the right test-CPU to test the SSSE3 emulator, your CPU no needs SSSE3 emulator.

#563
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
Hi IiTZ ShAnE , have you done the test on your AMD Athlon II X2? If so, with what result?

hey !!

voici le rapport kernel_log

je ne sais pas si SSSE fonctionne mais tout les jeux d'instructions du processeur sont reconnu !!!


http://www.envoyerce...1354231367.html



Le fichier demandé n'existe pas.

#564
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
--->>Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: Enabling SSSE3 emulator. Size 5272 should be less than 4096.

but It is important to know whether the SSSE3 emu works
Posted Imageis this a Nobel Prize assessment or a fake?Posted Image

#565
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

I think it works, as you pointed out, it is present on two lines.

il nous faut l'avis de TheConnactic .


également , je n'ai jamais vu un processeur AMD aussi bien reconnu !!??



Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: CPU identification: AMD FX™-6100 Six-Core Processor

Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: CPU features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 HTT SSE3 PCLMULQDQ MON SSSE3 CX16 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 POPCNT AES XSAVE AVX1.0

Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: HTT: 6 cores per package; 6 logical cpus per package

Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: CPU extended features: SYSCALL XD 1GBPAGE EM64T LAHF RDTSCP TSCI




bye Gils, i go to bed , thx for testing

#566
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello, Sinetek!

I still didn't have time to do a clean 10.6.8 installation to test your kernel properly. I'm looking forward to it.

But we have already reports of success, so congratulations!

I would ask your for the source code: i want to compile a Lion (Mountain Lion would be better, but it will have to wait for a 64-bit optimized emulator) to see if we get a functional user land with it (that is, working 64-bit apps like the Finder). Also looking forward for it.

Thank you: you're making history here.


Hi, Gilles!

Good to hear that sinetek's ssse3 kernel worked for you. Could you check for me if can open 32-bit applications? I know, i know, it's a 32-bit kernel, but if the ssse3 emulator is really working like it should, we'll have 64-bit user land.

Thank you!

#567
Deltac0

Deltac0

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Caffeine, OS X, AMD Hackintosh

I think it works, as you pointed out, it is present on two lines.

il nous faut l'avis de TheConnactic .


également , je n'ai jamais vu un processeur AMD aussi bien reconnu !!??



Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: CPU identification: AMD FX™-6100 Six-Core Processor

Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: CPU features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 HTT SSE3 PCLMULQDQ MON SSSE3 CX16 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 POPCNT AES XSAVE AVX1.0

Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: HTT: 6 cores per package; 6 logical cpus per package

Nov 30 00:28:45 localhost kernel[0]: CPU extended features: SYSCALL XD 1GBPAGE EM64T LAHF RDTSCP TSCI






Deltac0 is the best !!





:yoji:
:soldiers:

:thumbsup_anim:

Don't thank me, thank Slackware / Sinetek
;)
Using Sinetek's kernel with 10.6.8 AMD Athlon 4000+ -> Boots well. However, testcase -> "Illegal instruction", but this can be caused by missing some other instrcution sets than SSSE3. I'll try with my Phenom II 965 as soon as I get SL installed on that machine.

#568
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

Hi IiTZ ShAnE , have you done the test on your AMD Athlon II X2? If so, with what result?


Will test later on today, at college till the afternoon. Think progress is being made. I've been trying to port x64 kexts to work on x86 but no luck.

#569
Sinetek

Sinetek

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 333 posts
  • Gender:Male
Okay update post,

I got rid of all the errors here, at least i have found the actual "oopses" and still have to fix them in the code.
Here's the state, to be clear,

10.6.8 Kernel.
There are 4 modes with XNU :
1.
SSSE3 is running well in >>>> 32 BITS <<<< mode. That means you boot >>> without "-force64" <<<. This does not give you the ability to run 64-bit processes however.

2. >>>> 64 BITS <<<< in a 386 Kernel is not working at present. This will require a bit of headbanging, mostly because I have to know how that 64-bit kernel is started and how functions are called and probably fighting with the compiler (Apple's compilers, I won't start about it.......)
2.5 Right now, the SSSE3 emu doesn't get loaded up properly for 32-bit code either under this mode, but from my point of view I don't see major roadblocks. This is a bit like point 2 actually.

=== TLDR; 10.7 support in arch=i386 up to here. ===

3. For now, 64-BITS Kernel does NOT boot on my test machine, so this is obviously not going to help..... I am not sure what to do with that. A lot of the low level code seems a tiny bit different than the i386 kernel, so it could be anything really. I think it's doable given that the kernel runs on my machine.. Mobo could be a problem?
4. Running 32-bit applications from a 64-bit kernel. I don't expect roadblocks there.

=== TLDR; 10.8 support with arch=x86_64 ===


ABOUT THE SOURCE, yes, my goal is to make the source available. Wouldn't have been able to do this without ANV/Kaitek/meklord/qoopz patches, so thanks go to them also.

take care,
-- Sinetek

#570
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
System booted fine using your kernel,

Nov 30 16:32:09 localhost kernel[0]: rtclock_init: Taking bus ratio path 3 (AMD Phenom)
Nov 30 16:32:09 localhost kernel[0]: CPU identification: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 215 Processor
Nov 30 16:32:09 localhost kernel[0]: ACPI: SSDT @ 0xe7fb4840/0x0458 (v001 HPQOEM SLIC-CPC 0x00000001 AMD  0x00000001)


#571
AkimoA

AkimoA

    AMD

  • Local Moderators
  • 212 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Black Forest (GER)
Gils DO you mind translating your stuff into english before you post it !!! so everybody gets to read it !!!!

:worried_anim:

TX and well done Sinetek

#572
Deltac0

Deltac0

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Caffeine, OS X, AMD Hackintosh

Gils DO you mind translating your stuff into english before you post it !!! so everybody gets to read it !!!!

:worried_anim:

TX and well done Sinetek


Yea, it isn't necessary to translate, but it would be pretty good... Now we have to translate everything by ourselves to understand something. :D

#573
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

hello,

I corrected the last posts, google translation is not very developed, I try not to use too colorful French, any time there are still some errors or misunderstanding. If you agree, I will post in both languages ​​(English / French).

Unfortunately if you do not agree, my score in this forum will not make sense to understand that the registration will lapse InsanelyMac aimed as helping my level of kernel development.

Thank you for keeping me Current



bonjour ,

j'ai corrigé les derniers posts , google traduction n'est pas très au point , j'essayes de ne pas utiliser un français trop imagé , toute fois il subsiste quelques erreurs ou incompréhension . Si vous êtes d'accord , j'afficherai dans les deux langues (anglais/français) .

Malheureusement si vous n'êtes pas d'accord , ma participation à ce forum n'aura aucun sens y comprit l'inscription de Insanelymac qui sera caduc ayant pour but que d'aider à mon niveau au développement d'un kernel .

Merci de me tenir au courrant


Hi Gils, it is entirely in whatever language you write, stay the way you are.
Hallo mein Freund Gils, es ist völlig Egal in welcher Sprache Du schreibst, bleib so wie du bist. :wink2:
Allô mon ami Gils, il est complètement égal tu dans quelle langue écrit, reste à l'instar de tu est.
Hola mi amigo Gils, está completamente escrito en cualquier idioma, permanecer como eres.
Привет мой товарищ Gils, это - вы полностью неважно в которых язык исковые заявления, остается как и вы.

:thumbsup_anim:

#574
Sinetek

Sinetek

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 333 posts
  • Gender:Male
Également, j'aime bien voir de la diversité languagière sur les forums :-) C'est mon hobby les langues à vrai dire.
Ok back to things people actually care about, I have completed the i386 part, everything is Kosher. However, 64-bit is a chore. I have more or less made an attack plan for it, and know roughly how to write what's needed, but I'm missing some crucial diagnostic tools I had access to in 32-bit paradise land.

greetings from Quebec,
-- Sinetek

#575
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

Également, j'aime bien voir de la diversité languagière sur les forums :-) C'est mon hobby les langues à vrai dire.
Ok back to things people actually care about, I have completed the i386 part, everything is Kosher. However, 64-bit is a chore. I have more or less made an attack plan for it, and know roughly how to write what's needed, but I'm missing some crucial diagnostic tools I had access to in 32-bit paradise land.

greetings from Quebec,
-- Sinetek



Hi Sinetek,
First of all thank you for your consent to the wonderful variety of different languages ​​and the good news of your progress.
What exactly do you mean by diagnostic tools? different CPUs?, If that is, we do not see it as serious problems.
Because many users who visit this site we also have various AMD CPUs and can test. The feedback is very important so that they appropriately to the error messages can make your adjustment to the kernel.

#576
Sinetek

Sinetek

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 333 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi Sinetek,
First of all thank you for your consent to the wonderful variety of different languages ​​and the good news of your progress.
What exactly do you mean by diagnostic tools? different CPUs?, If that is, we do not see it as serious problems.
Because many users who visit this site we also have various AMD CPUs and can test. The feedback is very important so that they appropriately to the error messages can make your adjustment to the kernel.


What I mean is, I can't get an "arch=x86_64" kernel to boot *at all*. I can't debug code because the kernel is 32 bit and the programs that crash in Lion etc are 64-bit stuff. So the debuger really doesn't like it when this switch between 32 and 64 mode occurs.

so my question is the following, is arch=x86_64 working at all on AMD right now? (my previous test kernel has no x86_64 blob in it, so maybe there is a kernel out there with a working x86_64. is this the case?)

#577
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
Hi Sinetek,
First of all thank you for your consent to the wonderful variety of different languages ​​and the good news of your progress.
What exactly do you mean by diagnostic tools? different CPUs?, If that is, we do not see it as serious problems.
Because many users who visit this site we also have various AMD CPUs and can test. The feedback is very important so that they appropriately to the error messages can make your adjustment to the kernel.

Edit:

Hi Sinetek
oder habe ich Sie falsch verstanden?

#578
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

What I mean is, I can't get an "arch=x86_64" kernel to boot *at all*. I can't debug code because the kernel is 32 bit and the programs that crash in Lion etc are 64-bit stuff. So the debuger really doesn't like it when this switch between 32 and 64 mode occurs.

so my question is the following, is arch=x86_64 working at all on AMD right now? (my previous test kernel has no x86_64 blob in it, so maybe there is a kernel out there with a working x86_64. is this the case?)


I think the FX series so that no problems have with arch=x86_64
I was unfortunately not been possible on my AMD Phenom II X6 1100T to test Snow Leopard with your kernel.
I'll take the test tonight and report later.

#579
Sinetek

Sinetek

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Coders
  • 333 posts
  • Gender:Male
Well if you say FX series do but not the Phenom II, that narrows it down a bit. thanks :-0

I do all this stuff on a phenom ii 965. x86_64 support could be just the TSC stuff is broken on 64 bits kernel maybe?

#580
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

Well if you say FX series do but not the Phenom II, that narrows it down a bit. thanks :-0

I do all this stuff on a phenom ii 965. x86_64 support could be just the TSC stuff is broken on 64 bits kernel maybe?


Sorry but a more accurate statement I can only after I have performed the test.

Hi Simetek, you have not created a modified AMD kernel for Lion 10.7.4 to test it. otherwise I need to install Snow Leopard,





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Mountain Lion, AMD, legacy kernel, x64_86, ssse3, ssse3 emulator


4 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 2 guests, 1 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy