Jump to content

Mavericks kernel testing on AMD (formerly Mountain Lion kernel testing on AMD)

Mountain Lion AMD legacy kernel x64_86 ssse3 ssse3 emulator

  • Please log in to reply
6062 replies to this topic

#421
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

:wallbash:



I have tried many flag but I can not block the restart. :hammer:

I manage to get a message with a 4800 + !!! this is frustrating !!!


Hi Gils,

it's the connatic kernel, we have to wait until theconnatic makes a new kernel. So, God willing :angel_not:

#422
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique

Hi Gils,

it's the connatic kernel, we have to wait until theconnatic makes a new kernel. So, God willing :angel_not:



#423
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
:help:



I did a video capture of very poor quality I confess to show that the kernel is able to boot rawx86 ML10.8 DP1 and this one only in 64 bit by default, the PC do not panic, it hangs on bla bla ........... USB ......... ......... blah ....... etc and still ended up ..... etc. .. ..........
Flag: busratio = 165-v

I also replaced by AppleFileSystemDriver.kext Lion version 10.7.

if attached a picture of the last message clearer.







Posted Image

#424
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

:help:

I did a video capture of very poor quality I confess to show that the kernel is able to boot rawx86 ML10.8 DP1 and this one only in 64 bit by default, the PC do not panic, it hangs on bla bla ........... USB ......... ......... blah ....... etc and still ended up ..... etc. .. ..........
Flag: busratio = 165-v

I also replaced by AppleFileSystemDriver.kext Lion version 10.7.

if attached a picture of the last message clearer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtJMSxGT5F8&feature=player_detailpage



:smoke: I have the same error on my Hackintosh "AMD Phenom" and on my Lapintosh "Samsung RV 509 Intel CoreDuo" with the modified "connatic" - kernel. Patience is the mother of wisdom :superman: . We unfortunately have to be wait until something new is developed. :gathering: :fishing1: :trumpet: :guitar: :whistle:

#425
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
ah! awesome!
You are top! soon we will feast on our PC AMD cougar ! :superman:
For once, he'll have you change your processor ! Honestly the FX runs really well under Lion 10.7, I imagine in ML10.8 :jester:

#426
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

ah! awesome!
You are top! soon we will feast on our PC AMD cougar ! :superman:
For once, he'll have you change your processor ! Honestly the FX runs really well under Lion 10.7, I imagine in ML10.8 :jester:



As I said, my friend, no later than end of the year I'm going to buy the FX8350. I'm almost sure the investment in AMD Phenom was a fehlendscheidung. The CPU FX8350 can compete with Intel very good or even better. Unfortunately, I know no one has successfully installed the Mountain Lion.

or theconnatic can convince me with a SSSE3 :soldiers: emu with executable modified kernel? :yoji:

A little gallows humor may be allowed this time :jester:

#427
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português
maybe of interest:

http://translate.goo...la.blogspot.de/

http://translate.goo...http://0x80.pl/

http://wmula.blogspo.../search?q=SSSE3

http://translate.goo...s/snippets.html

I know not whether this is of significance
See also: SSSE3: printing hex values (weird use of PSHUFB instruction)

http://wm.ite.pl/art...e-hexprint.html

Edited by spakk, 15 November 2012 - 06:32 AM.


#428
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
:thumbsup_anim:


yes!

For € 110 (FX 6100), you're not better! FX 8350 not disappoint you in relation to the supply intel, I can guarantee you that it has nothing to do with the phenom, it is a little on the test faiblare D4D, but in handbrake64 sends quite the 6100! ! you have a pretty nice video fluidity and flexible enough in any application.

What happiness!

:weight_lift: :boxing: petit mais costauds !!! :lol: :lol: :lol:


Posted Image


Posted Image

maybe of interest:

http://translate.goo...la.blogspot.de/

http://translate.goo...http://0x80.pl/

http://wmula.blogspo.../search?q=SSSE3

http://translate.goo...s/snippets.html



I know a little about the language list and lader for programming PLCs schneider but then I admit it gives me a headache, it's really a big job! it really is well above my skills :worried_anim:

#429
Deltac0

Deltac0

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Caffeine, OS X, AMD Hackintosh

I using Google translation, it is not the best solution but I'm trying to find a French not too colorful for google translation does not tell too much stupidity. ;)

there Bronzovka aka DmitriK and RAWX86 successful work on this kernel 11.4, there is no way he will adapt their work on the 12.0 kernel ?

:rolleyes:

je continu mes tests pour SS01 :moil:


Bronzovka and RAWX86 made a kernel that booted Lion successfully. That kernel is only 32-bit, because AMD processors (expect Bulldozers and newer) doesn't support the SSSE3 instructions set (yea, 3x S + E3).
32-bit kernel doesn't use these SSSE3 instructions in Lion.

However, Mountain Lion is STRICTLY 64-bit (kexts and stuff). There is no way to boot a 32-bit 10.8 OS X.
Actually, it is possible, but not reachable. We would need to develop our own 32-bit drivers and kernel, which would be probably harder than making completely new operating system. :D

That's why we're talking about SSSE3 emulator. It was possible with SSE3 (2x S + E3), so why not SSSE3?
It is maybe a "little" harder task with SSSE3, but should be achievable with our talented coders. :)


#430
SS01

SS01

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
what if we boot DP1 with arch=i386 and the Bronzovka patches? The 32 bit kernel wasn't removed until DP2. Obviously not a viable solution for a stable kernel, but we could use it as an alpha/proof-of-concept idea.

#431
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

Bronzovka and RAWX86 made a kernel that booted Lion successfully. That kernel is only 32-bit, because AMD processors (expect Bulldozers and newer) doesn't support the SSSE3 instructions set (yea, 3x S + E3).
32-bit kernel doesn't use these SSSE3 instructions in Lion.

However, Mountain Lion is STRICTLY 64-bit (kexts and stuff). There is no way to boot a 32-bit 10.8 OS X.
Actually, it is possible, but not reachable. We would need to develop our own 32-bit drivers and kernel, which would be probably harder than making completely new operating system. :D

That's why we're talking about SSSE3 emulator. It was possible with SSE3 (2x S + E3), so why not SSSE3?
It is maybe a "little" harder task with SSSE3, but should be achievable with our talented coders. :)



This bast_ards of Apple and Intel have us purely ridden in the sh_it :wallbash:, now we have to go against Apple and Intel plead before the court. :thumbsup_anim: :wink2:

Bronzovka and RAWX86 made a kernel that booted Lion successfully. That kernel is only 32-bit, because AMD processors (expect Bulldozers and newer) doesn't support the SSSE3 instructions set (yea, 3x S + E3).
32-bit kernel doesn't use these SSSE3 instructions in Lion.

However, Mountain Lion is STRICTLY 64-bit (kexts and stuff). There is no way to boot a 32-bit 10.8 OS X.
Actually, it is possible, but not reachable. We would need to develop our own 32-bit drivers and kernel, which would be probably harder than making completely new operating system. :D

That's why we're talking about SSSE3 emulator. It was possible with SSE3 (2x S + E3), so why not SSSE3?
It is maybe a "little" harder task with SSSE3, but should be achievable with our talented coders. :)


How can we build the SSE3 emu, make a few details to the attached data. Here is all I've found for SSE3 emu.Then we write everything public.

http://www.workupload.com/file/s3hJ37d

and

http://www.workupload.com/file/jT682nE

#432
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique

Bronzovka and RAWX86 made a kernel that booted Lion successfully. That kernel is only 32-bit, because AMD processors (expect Bulldozers and newer) doesn't support the SSSE3 instructions set (yea, 3x S + E3).
32-bit kernel doesn't use these SSSE3 instructions in Lion.

However, Mountain Lion is STRICTLY 64-bit (kexts and stuff). There is no way to boot a 32-bit 10.8 OS X.
Actually, it is possible, but not reachable. We would need to develop our own 32-bit drivers and kernel, which would be probably harder than making completely new operating system. :D

That's why we're talking about SSSE3 emulator. It was possible with SSE3 (2x S + E3), so why not SSSE3?
It is maybe a "little" harder task with SSSE3, but should be achievable with our talented coders. :)




uh! no, :)

bronkozva core supports 64 bit, AMD FX on the installation you can do it in 64 bit or 32 bit based on the SSE3 (emulate) my FX 6100 performs both with patch ANV .
if you look closely Geekbench32 / etc flashpalyer (32 bit) is ok and cinebench 64, handbrake64 etc. summarize all applications work.
RAWX86 kernel also works well on intel (core2duo/i3/i5/i7) in both formats (32/64) :)

test: i3 2100 / i5 2400 / Xeon E3 1230 / core2duo T6500 / Core2Quad Q6600 etc and of course the whole series AMD FX! )

what if we boot DP1 with arch=i386 and the Bronzovka patches? The 32 bit kernel wasn't removed until DP2. Obviously not a viable solution for a stable kernel, but we could use it as an alpha/proof-of-concept idea.


:moil:
it is a good idea, because it is the only version of Lion Mountain, which starts on both my MacMini early 2006 and the FX without KP, it may be a basis for work?

#433
Deltac0

Deltac0

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Caffeine, OS X, AMD Hackintosh

uh! no, :)

bronkozva core supports 64 bit, AMD FX on the installation you can do it in 64 bit or 32 bit based on the SSE3 (emulate) my FX 6100 performs both with patch ANV .
if you look closely Geekbench32 / etc flashpalyer (32 bit) is ok and cinebench 64, handbrake64 etc. summarize all applications work.
RAWX86 kernel also works well on intel (core2duo/i3/i5/i7) in both formats (32/64) :)

test: i3 2100 / i5 2400 / Xeon E3 1230 / core2duo T6500 / Core2Quad Q6600 etc and of course the whole series AMD FX! )



:moil:
it is a good idea, because it is the only version of Lion Mountain, which starts on both my MacMini early 2006 and the FX without KP, it may be a basis for work?



Bronzovka and RAWX86 made a kernel that booted Lion successfully. That kernel is only 32-bit, because AMD processors (expect Bulldozers and newer) doesn't support the SSSE3 instructions set (yea, 3x S + E3).


AMD FX = Bulldozers and newer ;).


what if we boot DP1 with arch=i386 and the Bronzovka patches? The 32 bit kernel wasn't removed until DP2. Obviously not a viable solution for a stable kernel, but we could use it as an alpha/proof-of-concept idea.


DOES DP1 HAVE ARCH i386? Someone should have said that earlier... :D

I think the problem is that we don't have kernel sources for DPs... :|
Or maybe it is possible to compile the 10.8 GM kernel to supprt arch=i386?
Just found that Netkas already did it! http://netkas.org/?p=1187

So, 32-bit 10.8 kernel in DP1 installation could work! :)
I'll test it with my Athlon 4000+ and Phenom II 965 and tell ya the results!

#434
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique

AMD FX = Bulldozers and newer ;).




DOES DP1 HAVE ARCH i386? Someone should have said that earlier... :D

I think the problem is that we don't have kernel sources for DPs... Posted Image
Or maybe it is possible to compile the 10.8 GM kernel to supprt arch=i386?
Just found that Netkas already did it! http://netkas.org/?p=1187

So, 32-bit 10.8 kernel in DP1 installation could work! :)
I'll test it with my Athlon 4000+ and Phenom II 965 and tell ya the results!


:thumbsup_anim:


ah! yes! good find! this is why my macmini start! it has a 32 bit firmware and I never understood why he started up on DP1 and not the final
I'll try something.

I'm back. :weight_lift:

#435
SS01

SS01

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa

DOES DP1 HAVE ARCH i386? Someone should have said that earlier... :D

I think the problem is that we don't have kernel sources for DPs... Posted Image
Or maybe it is possible to compile the 10.8 GM kernel to supprt arch=i386?
Just found that Netkas already did it! http://netkas.org/?p=1187

So, 32-bit 10.8 kernel in DP1 installation could work! :)
I'll test it with my Athlon 4000+ and Phenom II 965 and tell ya the results!

Don't get too excited - it's possible 10.8 introduced ssse3 into even the 32-bit kernel. It's definitely worth a shot, however.

#436
Deltac0

Deltac0

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Caffeine, OS X, AMD Hackintosh

Don't get too excited - it's possible 10.8 introduced ssse3 into even the 32-bit kernel. It's definitely worth a shot, however.


Of course it is possible the SSSE3 is in 32-bit too, but unlikely.
The Lion didn't have SSSE3 instructions in 32-bit, why would Mountain Lion? :D
:)

Just trying to install XCode 4.2 on my SL...
3rd time installing it now... I always get a kernel panic in the middle of the installation, gotta try with AnV kernel soon... I think it's somehow related to Nawcom's patches.

EDIT: Oh {censored}... I just managed to {censored} up my SL :D
Accidentally deleted dev folder instead of Developer...

sudo rm -r /dev*

Can't mount any disks, can't open terminal, can't fix a disk with Disk Utility (tells me to boot from installation media).
And I installed the SL from a usb-stick, which is currently empty. xD

I'll try to find some old dvd drive and hook it up and fix the drive with ModCD and 10.6 retail disc... :D

EDIT2: Managed to fix the drive, now installing XCode (5th time...).


_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


EDIT3: Connactic, care to share how you compiled 10.8 kernel?
I have only SL 10.6.8 to compile with, so it's pretty hard... I have XCode 4.2 and command line tools, and I think I also have all the dependencies needed.
Trying to build the vanilla kernel with ARCH_CONFIGS="x86_64" and KERNEL_CONFIGS="RELEASE".
I can successfully build the 32-bit AMD Lion kernel (applied diff), but 10.8 vanilla kernel compiling stops.

/K/vanilla/bsd/nfs/nfs_socket.c:5232:41: error: operands of ? are integers of different signs: 'u_int' (aka 'unsigned int') and 'int' [-Werror,-Wsign-compare] timeo = (nmp->nm_deadtimeout > timeo) ? max(nmp->nm_deadtimeout/8, timeo) : timeo;

I also get huge amount of warnings about everything. :D

#437
SS01

SS01

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
spakk: eh? from what I can tell this is for running android on x86. No idea tbh.

As I said before, DP1 has arch=i386. so what if we took 10.8 release, took out /Extra/Extenstions and /System/Library/Extensions (and if needed, /Applications), replaced them with the same folders from DP1, then patched netkas' arch=i386 kernel with RAWx86's patches? This could, in theory, enable a full 32-bit instance in Mountain Lion.

@Deltac0 as far as I know, it is impossible to build 10.8 kernel on snow leopard. Ask someone with a mountain lion install or a real mac to compile it for you and link the kernel.

#438
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

spakk: eh? from what I can tell this is for running android on x86. No idea tbh.

As I said before, DP1 has arch=i386. so what if we took 10.8 release, took out /Extra/Extenstions and /System/Library/Extensions (and if needed, /Applications), replaced them with the same folders from DP1, then patched netkas' arch=i386 kernel with RAWx86's patches? This could, in theory, enable a full 32-bit instance in Mountain Lion.

@Deltac0 as far as I know, it is impossible to build 10.8 kernel on snow leopard. Ask someone with a mountain lion install or a real mac to compile it for you and link the kernel.



Accordingly, the data that I have found in android not OK. I deleted the question precaution.
thanks for the answer SS01

#439
SS01

SS01

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa

Accordingly, the data that I have found in android not OK. I deleted the question precaution.
thanks for the answer SS01


android is opensource, it's fine to link it. Don't think it can be of any use though

#440
spakk

spakk

    If you try to please everyone, then you have certainly forgotten

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,728 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:português

android is opensource, it's fine to link it. Don't think it can be of any use though



here the link ---> http://code.metager....ne/tests/amd64/





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Mountain Lion, AMD, legacy kernel, x64_86, ssse3, ssse3 emulator


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 1 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy