28 posts in this topic

Hi! I'm planning on building a Hackintosh, and it is my first time building a computer from scratch. I have taken apart a computer and put it back together successfully quite a few times. Although I have no experience with Hackintoshes, I have been doing by reading.

Anyways, I plan on building my Hackintosh into a PowerMac G5 chassis. I have little (very, very little) experience with rotaries and soldering, and no experience with hardware modding. These are the parts I plan on using:

Intel DZ77GA-70K Motherboard

EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SC 3GB (Yes)

Intel Core i7-3770K Processor (Yes)

Intel 330 Series SSD - 240GB

LG BH12LS35 Lightscribe Blu-Ray Writer

Corsair 500W Modular PSU

Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM (Yes)

Aluminum Apple Cinema Display 20" (Yes)

Apple Bluetooth Module

Apple WiFi-N Module (Yes)

Feel free to make any suggestions as to the parts I'm using. What I'm mainly concerned about is the front and back I/O panel. Can somebody write a step-by-step guide as to how to make the case fully ATX-ready? Is there someone who could also make a cover for the bottom where it has to be cut, and make the cover look Apple-like?

Thank you very much.

Edited by TechiEmmanuel
  • Like 1

• 1 month later...

I was thinking about doing that with my dead Mac Pro 1,1. It would be a computer with an Apple label on it so I guess it would be legit for running Mac OS X on even with a generic PC mono. Right now I have a Mac Pro 3,1 I bought used when the 1,1 died and I have it pretty decked out, by slots are full, in fact sometimes I have to swap cards.

• Like 1

If you look in the Mods and Overclocking Forum, you'll see a whole lot of peoples efforts in this area - mine included. This thread is more for people with original hardware that are keeping it original, or at least apple approved upgrades.

Good luck with your mod!

• Like 1

Moved to the Mods forum. Post any modding threads here from now on. ;)