No Video Playback - in Mountain Lion DP4

15 posts in this topic

I have just installed Mountain Lion DP4 and I am not getting any video playback.

Ok, I will first admit that I am relatively new to both Macs and the fine art of the Hackintosh. However, I do think I have a relatively good grasp of how things should be done.

It has taken me most of the day to get the right combination of tweeks in order to get ML installed but I cannot for the life of me figure out why i am not getting video playback. My systems spec is:

P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3

i7 2700k

16Gb 1600MHz RAM

Asus GTX 680

Various HDD and SSD.

2x Asus VE248H 24" Monitors

I have networking up running, my GFX card is recognised (unlike my Lion install for obvious reasons), all HDD and SSD are recognised, I have USB3.0 working. In fact about the only thing i have not yet sorted is Audio.

Is there anything obvious anyone can think of that would prevent video playback?

I am not talking about anything over adventurous like MKVs, I am talking about MOV files such as movie trailers or even the various videos on the apple home page such as the new ipad video. I have also tried mov files films on my iPhone to no avail.

It would appear on this basis that I do not have QE/CI, however if i try to boot with GraphicsEnabler=No i just get a black screen. Outside of GraphicsEnabler, what is the best method to get tis working?

Or is perhaps there something missing that is in fact at fault for this not working?

Actually on further consideration, despite having GraphicsEnabler set to No, i do actually have QE/Ci enabled as i just had a very brief game of chess and the pieces moved ok and in launchpad holding down alt made the icons wiggle.

After an install of Flash, youtube now works, however still unable to playing anything like mov files.

Actually, it would appear the prblem with video playback is even stranger than i first thought.