Jump to content

"cpu has been disabled by the guest operating system" on Intel i7 ivy-bridge

lion vmworkstation ivy-bridge

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
heretic619

heretic619

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

OK I am using VMWorkstation 8.0.3 and I have a new i7-3610QM cpu, and after following multiple guides and instructions to install 10.7.4 I keep getting the "cpu has been disabled by the guest operating system" error. I can post what ever files you need if you tell me what to post.



Thanks for the help.



#2
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,949 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
The usual things would be useful:

1. How did you unlock Workstation?
2. Are you using a retail version of OSX?
3. Attach (DO NOT POST) copy of the vmware.log file.

#3
heretic619

heretic619

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I have attached my log

And the unlocker I am using is VMware Unlocker 1.1.0 by Dave Parsons 2011-2012

And as for the version of 10.7.4 I don't know I have 2, one that appears to be already installed the one from this youtube:



And thank you for the help.

Update: I am not able to get to the apple logo but it just hangs.

Attached Files



#4
collapsar

collapsar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
use 10.7.3 to install, then update.
i failed to install 10.7.4 directly as well.

#5
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,949 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
Ivy Bridge not supported by Apple. Will need modified kernel for OS X. Google and you can find it.

#6
Tim182

Tim182

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

OK I am using VMWorkstation 8.0.3 and I have a new i7-3610QM cpu, and after following multiple guides and instructions to install 10.7.4 I keep getting the "cpu has been disabled by the guest operating system" error. I can post what ever files you need if you tell me what to post.



Thanks for the help.



I have the same issue but with a 3570k on a Z77. Have you found a solution yet? Does 10.7.3 work for you?

#7
sebus

sebus

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Seems that for ivy bridge one needs to add

cpuid.1.eax = "0000:0000:0000:0001:0000:0110:1010:0101"

as per this

sebus

#8
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,949 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
I had forgotten about finding that mask with MSoK http://www.insanelym...post&p=1622074. Sets it a Xeon if I remember correctly. http://www.insanelym...howtopic=232183

#9
sebus

sebus

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Good to know where it came from originally!

Thanks

sebus

#10
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,949 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
Well it good to know it can help in this situation. See the work you do on that other forum, and appreciate you helping out on the topic over there.

#11
Cally

Cally

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
After a long evening of trying many many different combos, I've found my new Ivy Bridge Z77 motherboard with i5 3750K will allow ESXi 5 u1 to install Lion but only if you start out as Mac OS X Server 10.6 64 bit with the CPUID changed as above. Migrating a previously working Lion form a Duo 2 Core setup didn't work. FYI, I used a previously imaged VMDK from the InstallESD.dmg in Lion 10.7.2.

So happy to get this working I did a password reset and both quizzes to let me post!





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: lion, vmworkstation, ivy-bridge


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy