Jump to content

[Epic Fail] Dell Optiplex 740 is not compatable

optiplex 740 nforce amd nforce 430 mcp51

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
Cerastez

Cerastez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bellingham, WA, USA
or at least I could not get it to work.

****************Specs*********************
Dell Optiplex 740 desktop
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core processor
nVidia GeForce 6150LE / Nforce 430 (MCP51)
Broadcom BCM5754 ethernet

00:00.0 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge [10de:02f0] (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 [10de:02fa] (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 [10de:02fe] (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 [10de:02f8] (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 [10de:02f9] (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge [10de:02ff] (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 [10de:027f] (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 [10de:027e] (rev a2)
00:02.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge [10de:02fc] (rev a1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge [10de:02fd] (rev a1)
00:04.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge [10de:02fb] (rev a1)
00:05.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation C51 [GeForce 6150 LE] [10de:0241] (rev a2)
00:09.0 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge [10de:0270] (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge [0601]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge [10de:0260] (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus [0c05]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus [10de:0264] (rev a3)
00:0a.2 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Memory Controller 0 [10de:0272] (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller [10de:026d] (rev a3)
00:0b.1 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller [10de:026e] (rev a3)
00:0e.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller [10de:0266] (rev a1)
00:0f.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller [10de:0267] (rev a1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge [10de:026f] (rev a2)
00:10.1 Audio device [0403]: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio [10de:026c] (rev a2)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5754 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express [14e4:167a] (rev 02)


************************************************************
I did try Hazard's 10.6 distro and didn't have much luck with it. After the installation, the computer would get to the gray apple screen and then it would turn grey with thin, evenly spaced vertical lines and the whole screen would blink on and off.
*************************************************************

After trying several boot disks I used Empire EFI V.1085 (Experimental for AMD Phenom and Athlon X2 , X3 , X4 and for Intel Core i3/Pentium D/Pentiu m 4 6xx series) to boot from and then installed 10.6.3 using a retail Snow Leopard disk.

Then I used MyHack 1.1 with the following options:
*com.apple.Boot.plist
*Chocolate Kernel
*EvOreboot.kext
*IOATAFamily.kext
*ElliotForceLegacyRTC.kext
*NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
* SleepEnabler.kext

And installed these additional kexts:
*AppleNForceATA.kext
*IOPCIFamily.kext
*OpenHaltRestart.kext
*VoodooHDA.kext (YES my one success, audio works!)

I edited my com.apple.Boot.plist so it had GraphicsEnabler set to no

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>chocolate_kernel</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>no</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>5</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>arch=i386</string>
</dict>
</plist>



So, far so good. All of this worked but the graphics have no QE/CI and I can't seem to make it work.

*****************************nVidia GeForce 6150LE****************************

I tried a few things to get the graphics to work and had the same result with each method.

1.) Installed NVEnabler.kext, alone and with the NVinjector.kext.

2.) Set GraphicsEnabler to yes in the com.apple.Boot.plist.

3.) Used an EFI string in the com.apple.Boot.plist.

The result was the same for all three tries, it gets to the gray apple screen and restarts. Booting with a -v flag does no good because it gets past all the text screens.

Any help would be appreciated.

#2
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
the user verdant .. his posts might help with mcpxx issues. however u might have specific dell issues as well... dsdt modding likely needed

#3
Cerastez

Cerastez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bellingham, WA, USA
Thank you, yes I have been reading Verdant's nForce RETAIL INSTALL GUIDE. That is where I got the idea to try an EFI string. I am going to look at it some more and see if I missed something important.

I have used El Coniglio's DSDT Editor, but I don't know how to do any real DSDT editing. I was hoping I could avoid learning how to do it ;)

#4
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
main problem is u have amd not intel.

#5
Cerastez

Cerastez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bellingham, WA, USA
You are not kidding!! I have had fairly good luck with intel machines so when this AMD just sort of fell into my lap, I thought, how bad could it be. It has been absolutely awful! I have not found a single example of anyone getting this MoBo to work.

Oh well, I may still try to figure out DSDT editing, there must be some good tutorials on here somewhere.

#6
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
dsdt wont fix amd non native issues.

#7
rlf

rlf

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
You still speak of com.apple.Boot.plist. More recent versions of Chameleon changed the name of this file to org.chameleon.Boot.plist. This would indicate you are using an older version of Chameleon. I would suggest updating to a recent version of Chameleon and set GraphicsEnabler = Yes. The reason is that more recent versions of Chameleon inject for the following subset of cards:

{ 0x10DE0240, "GeForce 6150" },
{ 0x10DE0241, "GeForce 6150 LE" },
{ 0x10DE0242, "GeForce 6100" },
{ 0x10DE0244, "GeForce Go 6150" },
{ 0x10DE0245, "Quadro NVS 210S / GeForce 6150LE" }

I would also check your device id to see if it matches one of those in the list. Maybe you'll get lucky.

#8
Cerastez

Cerastez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bellingham, WA, USA

You still speak of com.apple.Boot.plist. More recent versions of Chameleon changed the name of this file to org.chameleon.Boot.plist. This would indicate you are using an older version of Chameleon. I would suggest updating to a recent version of Chameleon and set GraphicsEnabler = Yes. The reason is that more recent versions of Chameleon inject for the following subset of cards:

{ 0x10DE0240, "GeForce 6150" },
{ 0x10DE0241, "GeForce 6150 LE" },
{ 0x10DE0242, "GeForce 6100" },
{ 0x10DE0244, "GeForce Go 6150" },
{ 0x10DE0245, "Quadro NVS 210S / GeForce 6150LE" }

I would also check your device id to see if it matches one of those in the list. Maybe you'll get lucky.


Thank you, I gave a newer chameleon a try and unfortunately it didn't fix the problem. The same thing happens, it gets to the gray apple screen and re-boots.

I have been googling and reading and have come across several posts that say that the built in GeForce 6150LE shares memory and is unsupported. I am guessing that it shares memory with the MoBo? Anyway, I think I just have to accept that it is not going to work. Thanks for your help.

#9
rlf

rlf

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts

Anyway, I think I just have to accept that it is not going to work.


So, try one more thing. Move the video drivers out of the way so they don't conflict and see if the card will boot in VESA mode. You will be stuck with one resolution and no acceleration for videos and games, but at least you should be able to boot to the Desktop.

Boot to single user mode using -s.

This is a text-based environment with a command line. When you see the prompt "root:", type the following:

mount -uw /
cd /System/Library
touch Extensions
cd Extensions
mkdir VidBack
mv GeForce* NVDA* VidBack/

Reboot using -v -f

#10
Cerastez

Cerastez

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Bellingham, WA, USA
It will boot ok if I don't have any video drivers ie no NVenabler.kext and if I have set GraphicsEnabler to NO. I get some set screen resolution and no QE/CI. I hate to sound greedy, but I want more than that.... :angel_not:





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: optiplex 740, nforce, amd, nforce 430, mcp51


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy