Buying a finished custom built system, first OSx86 build, are my parts compatible? Dreaming of a Solid ProTools Rig

thebrownlion

5 posts in this topic

Hey all,

I'm new to the OSx86 community. I'm a recording engineer and I'm looking to get a solid OSX rig to run ProTools on and eventually upgrade to a HD system with some PCI Cards. I have a good amount of experience working and troubleshooting computers, even built a few windows systems myself. I found a custom built server a friend was running linux on and I was wondering if I could buy it and turn it into a solid OSx86 system. Here are the parts....

1 x XCLIO Windtunnel Fully Black Finish 1.0 mm SECC Chassis ATX Full Tower Computer Case

1 x GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

1 x Rosewill RP550-2 550W ATX12V v2.01 Power Supply

1 x Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor BX80601920

1 x OCZ ReaperX HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ3RPX1333EB4GK

1 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

1 x LITE-ON 22X DVD Burner Black SATA Model iHAS322-08

1 x PowerColor AX3870 512MD3-PH Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

For ProTools compatibility I NEED to run the latest Version of SNOW LEOPARD 10.6.8 :(

is $400 a fair price for the system as of April 2012 ?

From the forum lurking I've done, I think the CPU and the motherboard will work, and I know I have the ability to upgrade CPU in the future due to the motherboard. I'm questionable about the graphics card, I'm thinking about upgrading it and getting some more ram.