Jump to content

[AMD] 10.7.3 Guide - Experimental Only

AMD Lion 1073 Guide Kernel

  • Please log in to reply
209 replies to this topic

#181
pc/osxnoob

pc/osxnoob

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
It says you need to register to download, but when I try to register it just says 'invite only'

#182
cr4nkg4m3r

cr4nkg4m3r

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I have a "little" problem..

At first i´m sorry for my bad english.
Im trying since 2 days to install Lion on my AMD PC.
I managed to install Lion on my "Hackintosh". ->>
1. Install Snow Leopard
2. Mount iatkos L2.dmg and install it with OSinstall.mpkg (i think the name was this)
3. Copy bronzovkAnVoodoo 0.9.26 inside Lion root folder (mach_kernel)
4. Reboot

Now my problem:
If i start the computer (-v -f -legacy UserKernelCache=No npci=0x3000 cpus=1 maxmem=4096) the "boot-up" will end at this point:
Posted Image

I don´t know what to do. got "Still waiting for root device" with bronzovkAnVoodoo 0.9.26 & v4 Kernel.

My Hardware is
CPU: AMD X6 1090T
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
RAM: 6GB (soon again 8GB)
GRAPHIC: Gigabyte GTX460 OC 1GB

Hope anyone can help me :/ & sorry for my bad english.

regards marv

#183
mastermike

mastermike

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Mac OS X 10.7.4 detects my CPU as AMD and it is AMD but I need MAC OS X to show my cpu as intel. Any way to do this?

Mac OS X 10.7.4 detects my CPU as AMD and it is AMD but I need MAC OS X to show my cpu as intel. Any way to do this?

#184
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.

Mac OS X 10.7.4 detects my CPU as AMD and it is AMD but I need MAC OS X to show my cpu as intel. Any way to do this?

Mac OS X 10.7.4 detects my CPU as AMD and it is AMD but I need MAC OS X to show my cpu as intel. Any way to do this?


What do you mean and why? Post a screenshot maybe?

#185
mastermike

mastermike

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

What do you mean and why? Post a screenshot maybe?


Im trying to install XCode for 10.7.4 but the program gives an error message of 'bad cpu type in executable'. I guess this program can only run on intel cpu So I need a way to trick mac into thinking I have an intel cpu

Posted Image



Edit: Hmm, I think its not actually the cpu. I believe this error message is being caused because the application is a 64 bit application but im running in 32 bit mode. Is there a kernel out there that supports -force64 for mac os 10.7, preferably 10.7.4?

#186
KAMDER-OSX

KAMDER-OSX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FRANCE
  • Interests:programming plugins , OSX86 , metal detectors , electronic , bike , films

Im trying to install XCode for 10.7.4 but the program gives an error message of 'bad cpu type in executable'. I guess this program can only run on intel cpu So I need a way to trick mac into thinking I have an intel cpu

Posted Image



Edit: Hmm, I think its not actually the cpu. I believe this error message is being caused because the application is a 64 bit application but im running in 32 bit mode. Is there a kernel out there that supports -force64 for mac os 10.7, preferably 10.7.4?



hello , there is no kernel for all amd cpu's (athlon x2 ...x3 ...) only for some amd fx bulldozer versions ...
but try to install xcode 32 bit version , you can also produce 64 bit content and executables with the 32 bits version...

#187
Shaneee

Shaneee

    AMD Dev Tester

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:Web Design. OS X. Music.
I am having problems with IOUSBMassStorageClass not loading and IOStorageFamily not found but its in S/L/E

Could someone upload the files they are using?

Thanks

#188
KAMDER-OSX

KAMDER-OSX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FRANCE
  • Interests:programming plugins , OSX86 , metal detectors , electronic , bike , films

I am having problems with IOUSBMassStorageClass not loading and IOStorageFamily not found but its in S/L/E

Could someone upload the files they are using?

Thanks



HELLO !
take this , and try it , but make sure you repair permissions in S-L-E ( use "myhack 3.1" to do this ...)

Attached Files



#189
Ringostar

Ringostar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Just want to say BIG thanks to Devout for the tutorial.
I got my AMD hackintosh working folowing instalation Method 2, and successfully updated to 10.7.3.
I used the Bronzovka V4 kernel.
Here are some specs of the system:

ASrock Extreme3 990FX
Phenom II X4 925
Palit GTX550ti
Audigy 2, used KxAudiodriver 1.3b0

Happy holidays!!!

#190
mastermike

mastermike

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

hello , there is no kernel for all amd cpu's (athlon x2 ...x3 ...) only for some amd fx bulldozer versions ...
but try to install xcode 32 bit version , you can also produce 64 bit content and executables with the 32 bits version...


There is no 32 bit version :(

#191
theconnactic

theconnactic

    Stubborn AMD user

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,894 posts
  • Gender:Male
Yes, there is, but not for the latest version: who really needs it?

Go for the version 3.2.6, which runs smoothly with Lion in 32-bit mode.

Best regards.

#192
totaam

totaam

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Confirmed:
  • Linux Host
  • VirtualBox 4.2.6
  • AMD 945 CPU
I've used the kernel "mach_kernel v5.zip" because I assumed it was the latest/greatest.
I should have taken a screenshot of the chameleon settings, but I assumed it wouldn't work first time.. and it did!
(pretty obvious though)

The settings you need for virtualbox (not at all sure all are needed - but this is what I have used):
* Enable IO APIC
* Hardware clock in UTC time
* Enable absolute pointing device
* Enable PAE/NX
* Enable VT-x/AMD-V
* Enable Nested Paging
* Enable 3D Acceleration
* 128MB video ram
* ICH6 storage controller (with Use host I/O cache)
* Intel HD Audio
* Intel Pro/1000 adapter

It's a little sluggish, but it will do for my needs (testing).

#193
LivenDead

LivenDead

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario
  • Interests:Information Technology; Security, Hardware, Software.
Confirmed 32bit working!

Motherboard: GA-A55M-DS2 ( Version=1.1/ Bios=FEa/ Socket=FM1)
Chipset: AMD K12 Bridge/ Southbridge=A55/A60M
LPCIO: ITE IT8728
CPU: AMD APU A4-3400 (Code Name=Llano/ 2700MHz [OC=4700MHz]/ x86-64/ Bus speed=100MHz/ Bus ratio/multiplier=27-47 [Stock-OC])
RAM: AMD Entertainment Edition 4096MB 1600MHz DDR3 (Just one module, the other is empty.)
Storage: 6Gb/s AData XPG SX900 SSD
GPU: PowerColor AMD HD 6450 1GB (QE/CI Natively)
OS: iAtkos L2 V4 AMD Kernel 10.7.2 (Will test other kernels, and also try getting OS updated. Updated below!)

Booted with (-legacy -v arch=i386 npci=0x3000 cpus=2 busratio=27 -f)

Installed Finder32bit, installed Chameleon, repaired system with Disk Utility, restarted, and voila!~

Update:
Combo updater from 10.7.3 successful, then 10.7.4. During each update, it's mandatory to replace Finder, with the 32bit version (Finder DP2). As always, repair permissions, and restart. You'll have a working system.


I had a few experiences as well, not sure related to hardware, or improper use of some boot arguments.

Mouse sluggish= Something about the HID, not working correctly while on Lion. (I fixed this by rebooting, but I believe it was caused due to an improper "busratio" frequency.)

XPCHelper: If you have a lot of logs from this, then disable it. I used this program someone made for disabling it (Since I am an amateur with MacOSx).
With this, I do not know how to successfully remove, or prevent it from future start ups. I will reboot once, and get no issues, but after a few reboots, I get that XPCHelper back (Probably related to Disk Utility permisions re-write, need to confirm later)


Kernels: AMD V4 10.7.2/ AMD V5 10.7.3/ AMD V6 10.7.4

Kexts: To be updated~


I sucessfully run Lion X.4 with these arguments: (-legacy -f arch=i386 busratio=27 UseKernelCache=No)
Also Lion boots up my VGA (Second monitor fine, but without kexts for it. It's the built in HD graphics on my CPU.)



Regards, Joshua~

#194
claure

claure

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
when i rebbot with -legacy -v arch=i386 npci=0x3000 at the step 3 ,i have this error

Posted Image

Motherbord : Sapphire PI-AM3RS785G
CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 Black Edition 550, 3067 MHz (15.5 x 198)
Graphics: ATI RADEON HD 4800

#195
mercurial

mercurial

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
asus m4a78lt-m
phenomII 955 Black edition
8 gig ripjaws 1066
ati hd3000
realtec 8112L gigabit lan (RTL8169)
via vt1708s
iATKOS 10.7.2 all hardware works but no graphics acceleration. used bronzoAnvoodoo 2584 amd kernel. audio works with voodoo on lion and appleazalia in snowleopard.
-legacy UseKernelCache=No GraphicsEnabler=No -v

GraphicsEnabler=Yes causes hangup at dsmos and HID trouble

#196
Thunderbolt

Thunderbolt

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 244 posts

when i rebbot with -legacy -v arch=i386 npci=0x3000 at the step 3 ,i have this error

Posted Image

Motherbord : Sapphire PI-AM3RS785G
CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 Black Edition 550, 3067 MHz (15.5 x 198)
Graphics: ATI RADEON HD 4800


That does not look like an error as when I was using SL 10.6.8 it used to show me the same thing for the HD 5450 and the card used to work with full acceleration , looks like it is injecting.

#197
Maverick

Maverick

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:india
  • Interests:Caffeine,Hackintosh,
    AMD hackintosh,
    Technology,

[AMD] 10.7.3 Guide - Experimental Only
Guide Revision 003 - 20042012
Written by Devout

CHANGES are in Green.

Introduction

Welcome to the tutorial to get your 10.7.3 running. Before we start, I'd like to make it clear that this tutorial is based on a kernel that is still being developed, and future changes to the tutorial will occur. Additionally, not everything works right now so you'll just have to see if your machine is supported and that you want to see if it's capable of running Lion. Please do not install this if you're planning to use the machine a lot, as there are still problems with applications crashing, and I don't want you to be frustrated. Use my Snow Leopard Guide if you need a reliable machine (link in FAQ).

It's currently impossible to install Lion using your AMD machine, unless if it's a distribution. Please use Methods 1 to 3, depending on what access of hardware you have. Additionally, these range from being easy (1) to hard (3). The Retail Lion installation requires an Intel processor, and you won't be able to bypass this on an AMD machine, hence you might need to use Methods 2 or 3.

Installation - Setup

Method 1 - Easy
Required: 10.7.3 DMG from Mac App Store + Existing Intel Hackintosh or Mac Hardware

  • Using your exisiting Intel hackintosh machine running Snow Leopard 10.6.6 + or real Macintosh hardware, Install 10.7.3 Retail DMG to an external harddrive OR take your your exisiting hard drive and connect it to your machine using an external exclosure if needed.
  • Once it's installed successfully move on to STEP 1. (Follow directly, don't restart, reboot).
Method 2 - Moderate
Required: iATKOS L2, ShowAllFiles, Existing Snow Leopard
  • Using your existing AMD Machine running Snow Leopard. Mount iATKOS L2 DMG, and let it verify.
  • Once verified, you'll need to ShowAllFiles, before you can see the contents of the DMG.
  • Once ShowAllFiles has been enabled, open the DMG.
  • Locate: System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mkpg and open the file.
  • This is the Lion Installer, continue till you can customize the install. Make sure you select the correct Installation Harddrive, as you need to be careful you're not reinstalling over Snow Leopard or other important partitions.
  • Customize the installation, however you like. Not much of this will matter, leave the default selected items. Additionally you can untick Bootloader, if you want it to be a bootable USB (Scroll down for this). Install any network/sound drivers you need.
  • Let the installation continue and install, let it finish, and you'll have Lion installed.
  • Once it's successfully installed move on to STEP 1. (Follow directly, don't restart, reboot).
Method 3 - Hard
Required: iATKOS L2, iHazard 10.6.2, ShowAllFiles, Existing Snow Leopard
  • Download VirtualBox https://www.virtualbox.org/, and install.
  • Download iHazard 10.6.2 ISO.
  • Create a VirtualBox Profile and configure profile, making sure you untick Special EFI, and then load iHazard 10 6 2 ISO.
  • Run the Virtual Profile you created and install 10.6.2.
  • Once successfully Installed, restart.
  • Try and run Snow Leopard with the following Bootflags:
  • -v arch=i386
  • If it works, proceed. (If not, reply to topic).
  • Remove iHazard 10.6.2 ISO from the Virtual Profile.
  • Attach iATKOS L2 DMG to the Virtual Profile, and open it up from within Snow Leopard.
  • iATKOS should come up.
  • You'll need to ShowAllFiles, before you can see the contents of the iATKOS.
  • Once ShowAllFiles has been enabled, open iATKOS.
  • Locate: System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mkpg and open the file.
  • This is the Lion Installer, continue till you can customize the install. Make sure you select the correct Installation Harddrive, as you need to be careful you're not reinstalling over Snow Leopard or other important partitions.
  • Customize the installation, however you like. Not much of this will matter, leave the default selected items. Additionally you can untick Bootloader, if you want it to be a bootable USB (Click here for that). Install any network/sound drivers you need.
  • Let the installation continue and install, let it finish, and you'll have Lion installed.
  • Once it's successfully installed move on to STEP 1. (Follow directly, don't restart, reboot).
STEP 1:
  • If you've enabled ShowAllFiles yet, do so now.
  • Open the root of the freshly Installed Lion.
  • Replace the hidden (but shown up) mach_kernel with the one from here. (http://www.osx86.net...md!!!!!!!!.html) (Use V4).
STEP 2:
  • Install Chameleon using Chameleon Wizard on the harddrive. Additionally, you can choose to install this on a USB stick so you have a bootable USB.
STEP 3:
  • Reboot and configure your BIOS and make sure the drive that the partition is on is set as AHCI.
  • Reboot to save your BIOS settings and you should be in Chameleon. (If you created a bootable USB with Chameleon, make sure you use Boot Priorty for your USB to load before Hard drive or press F8 (button varies), to boot the USB directly first).
  • Type in the bootflags
-legacy -v arch=i386 npci=0x3000

Step 4:
  • It should load, and you'll be greeted with the Welcome Screen. You've now got a running machine of Lion!
  • Proceed to install graphical, wireless and sound drivers if they're not already working. (If you used iATKOS L2, upgrade to 10.7.3 through combo updater and then replace mach_kernel and finder again, or you'll need to use another Mac or MacDrive to replace these files).
  • Confirm your motherboard processor! BY REPLYING!
CONFIRMED motherboards + processors list

Motherboards
  • Asus M2N32-SLI
  • Asus M2N68 AM-SE2
  • Asus M4785TD-M EVO
  • Asus M5A78L-M LX v2
  • AsRock N68-S3
  • MSI 870A-G46
Processors
  • AMD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition
  • AMD Phenom II X3 450 Black Edition
  • AMD Phenom II X4 955
  • AMD Athlon II X2 250
  • AMD Athlon II X2 5400+ BE
  • AMD Athlon II X2 7550
  • AMD Athlon II x4 640
FAQ.

Q. Do I need to replace mach_kernel if I update Lion?
Yes, you'll need to do this if you're coming from iATKOS 10.7.2 to 10.7.3. You'll need to do it for future updates as well as 10.7.3.

Q. Is it possible to replace mach_kernel and finder in Windows?
Yes, with MacDrive.

Q. I get stuck at "AppleUSBOHCI::CheckSleepCapability - OHCI Controller will be unloaded across sleep" in verbose mode.
Make sure your hard drive is set to AHCI mode in BIOS.

Q. I get stuck on [PCI Configuration Begin]?
Make sure your use either npci=0x2000 or npci=0x3000.

Q. I get stuck after [PCI Configuration Begin] or RTC: Only Single Ram Bank (128 bytes) or FakeSMC?
Your motherboard has problems with USB Legacy so unplug the keyboard and mouse and see if you can boot, unplug them after you press enter after inserting your boot flags in Chameleon, you can also try by adding the bootflag: USBLegacyOff=Yes

Q. Finder doesn't work?
The kernel is only capable of 32 bit mode, meaning you'll need to use the Lion DP2 Finder which can be downloaded here. Replace System/Core Services/Finder.app. You'll need to replace this everytime you update Lion to a newer version.

Q. -v Sometimes it doesn't load? Stuck after DMOS has arrived.
It freezes sometimes, you'll need to use -x bootflag to run safe mode.

Q. Does iCloud work? My Ethernet is en0, deleted Network Interfaces.plist, but still doesn't work?
iCloud/Facetime doesn't work with self-compiled kernels. Appstore will work with EthernetBuiltIn=Yes bootflag.

Q. Why do applications stop opening after X minutes? (Typically 10).
Kernel bug, should be fixed in the future. READ BELOW FOR TIPS!

The reason why applications are not functioning after 10 minutes is because Xpchelper has a bug and it's sending a lot of information to ReportCrash and it's basically nuking the system, hence system core services applications don't work after a while.
  • You can remove ReportCrash in (sys/lib/coreserv/reportcrash)
  • Force Quit XPCHELPER everytime you launch a system core service application like Safari, App Store, Calender, FaceTime etc.
It won't fix it, and it will still stop working, but this prolongs the availability of opening applications and using your system for more varied tasks.

Q. Do you have a Snow Leopard Guide?
Yes!, you can find it here (AMD): http://www.insanelym...howtopic=253767

Bootable USB
  • Open Charmeleon Wizard
  • Install Charmeleon latest build to your USB stick
  • Once completed it's ready to be used. IMPORTANT!=(When using this to boot you will need to press enter so it loads mach_kernel into the userframe before it can load futher, it'll tell you to press any key to continue because mach_kernel is not found, but once you type bootflags and try to load again, it'll work.)

my config is
ASUS M2N68 AMSE2
AMD Athlon x64 LE 1640LE
250SSD
4GB DDR2 800MHZ
I follow the guide properly but i got stuck i am using mach_kernel v4 kernel..............!

https://www.dropbox....ae/03022013.jpg

i did try Mountain lion but same still waiting for root device
i use this flags
" -legacy -v arch=i386 npci=0x3000 busratio=135 -f -v "
"-legacy -v -x arch=i386 cpus=1"

#198
Devout

Devout

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts

my config is
ASUS M2N68 AMSE2
AMD Athlon x64 LE 1640LE
250SSD
4GB DDR2 800MHZ
I follow the guide properly but i got stuck i am using mach_kernel v4 kernel..............!

https://www.dropbox....ae/03022013.jpg

i did try Mountain lion but same still waiting for root device
i use this flags
" -legacy -v arch=i386 npci=0x3000 busratio=135 -f -v "
"-legacy -v -x arch=i386 cpus=1"


Sorry for not replying to PMs, are you sure you done this, because this is the main problem that you got the error 'still waiting for root device':

- Reboot and configure your BIOS and make sure the drive that the partition is on is set as AHCI.

#199
Maverick

Maverick

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:india
  • Interests:Caffeine,Hackintosh,
    AMD hackintosh,
    Technology,

Sorry for not replying to PMs, are you sure you done this, because this is the main problem that you got the error 'still waiting for root device':

- Reboot and configure your BIOS and make sure the drive that the partition is on is set as AHCI.


But i don't have that option in my bios ASUS M2N68 am SE 2 I JUST DIDTHIS THINGS

Plug and Play OS: Yes.
USB Legacy: Yes.
USB something: FullSpeed. (Just for installation)

Power Management -
Suspend Mode: S1 (POS) Only
ACPI 2.0 Support: Enabled
ACPI APIC Support: Enabled
after making this change i can install SnowLeopard on it but i got boot 0 and boot o done
which i couldn't solve yet i don't need snow leaopard i want to install Lion please help me

#200
burkett375

burkett375

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
Posted Image

Any ideas? I've tried all kinds of boot flags to help, but nothing. I have USB Legacy turned off in mobo, everything unplugged, and the boot flag (what it took to get SL installed) and nothing. I used method 2 and made sure to replace kernel and finder in installation. Booting with latest Chameleon.

My specs:
CPU: 960T
Mobo: Biostar ta880g+
RAM: 8GB
Vid: 6870 Sapphire

Thanks in advance!





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: AMD, Lion, 1073, Guide, Kernel


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy