I’m new to the OS X 86 project, what is it all about and where do I start?

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

JamesLittler

JamesLittler

InsanelyMac Legend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
This guide assumes basic knowledge of Windows, Linux, OS X, hardware installation/use, Command-Line interfaces and English.

Q. What is OS X 86 all about?
A. This project is all about running Apple’s OS X on non-Apple hardware. There are various caveats in place to restrict the use of the OS on non-Apple hardware, this project aims to circumvent those restrictions to enable the full use of the OS running natively on the hardware, i.e. not running in a virtual environment.

Q. Great, so can I install OS X on my PC/Laptop.
A. Probably, is the best answer here if you are using modern hardware. Using an AMD processor or a 32 bit intel you can (currently at the time of writing this) only run 10.6.8. If you have a 64bit Intel processor you can run Lion.

The installation, for all extents and purposes, is ‘the easy bit’. It is not particularly hard to install OS X on non-apple hardware, though getting all devices i.e. USB ports, Firewire, WiFi, Bluetooth, Trackpad, Keyboard etc working can be quite a challenge in some cases.

For this reason it is advisable to consult the HCL (Hardware Compatibility List) prior to building your PC (where possible)/attempting to install OS X.

Q. Ok, I think I want to give it a go. I’m pretty happy with everything so far. What’s next?
A. Backup everything of value. If possible clone your existing hard drive to an external drive.

Investigate your hardware in terms of OS X. A good place to start is by googling ‘Your hardware OS X’.

Download and burn to disk/USB a few boot disks. Nawcom’s ModCD is a good place to start.

Get a retail copy of Snow Leopard 10.6.3. and give it a go. There are plenty of installation tutorials on the web. Just make sure you follow instructions for a retail install.