Jump to content

AMD Lion Kernel

AMD Lion Kernel

  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

#1
deadreaper

deadreaper

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
I know that Nawcom is probably the only person developing a kernel for AMD , and now he has medical issues and is taking some time off . So I was wondering If it is possible for someone else to create a kernel . Mountain Lion will be released soon enough and so far , no one has taken up the initiative .

And so I though maybe i could look into the issue , trust me I am not really experience at the time of writing , but I am an amateur either . I have sufficient experience in OS X and I have a working OS X Snow Leopard on AMD . SO I started learning Xcode and cocoa . I Went through dozens of resources on how the kernel works and how the mach kernel works . And recently I just got this idea .

Nawcom patches the open source XNU kernel right ? And it works for AMD . So what I did was I opened up a couple of Nawcom's patches . I came to the conclusion that he used patches which were discovered quite a while back . So from this I came to the conclusion that the main thing he is doing is patching the XNU kernel with patches perviously made by mercury squad and a few others . I know that they put in a lot of effort in finding how AMD can be included in the kernel . So What I was thinking was , what if someone used the same .diff file for nawcom's previous legacy kernels for the 10.6 and combine them with the new legacy atom kernel for lion .

I tried doing that , and now the combining is almost complete . I really do hope this works . I am looking for testers .

Also , anyone who has experience with the mach_kernel or at least on the patches , please correct me if I am wrong .

People don't give up hope , Hackintosh has been there for quite sometime and It will be there for quite sometime , no matter who stops working for the project .

#2
EvilMacMongo

EvilMacMongo

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reno, NV
  • Interests:I really love screwing up expensive things, that's why I'm learning macs
I would be willing to test. I just got SL running. See specs in sig.

#3
CyanDreams

CyanDreams

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albany, NY
  • Interests:Art, Photography, Cars, Drifting, Apple Stuff
Definitely willing to test this out too. I just got SL back up and updated to 10.6.8 on my system

#4
Jeremy Nuss

Jeremy Nuss

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I am very interested in helping test the development of this. I wonder if it is worth working on a Lion kernel or just jumping straight into ML.

AMD Phenom 9600
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 (rev. 1.0)
Geforce GTS 450 1GB

#5
Lordadmiral Drake

Lordadmiral Drake

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
I'd test that too. HP DV7-2160eg Laptop with AMD Mobile Athlon II M320 CPU

#6
John K.

John K.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Penang, Malaysia
I'm ready to test run the new kernel on my updated 10.6.8.

#7
Ashael

Ashael

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I`m on for it.

#8
TheRacerMaster

TheRacerMaster

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 189 posts
  • Gender:Male
I can't test this, but one of my friends has Snow Leopard successfully running on his AMD computer. He would LOVE to have Lion running on his machine.

#9
serg1991

serg1991

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
from applelife.ru
http://img51.imagesh...27/86122265.png

i dont know how...

#10
Lordadmiral Drake

Lordadmiral Drake

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
Can you link to the thread where the pic was posted?

#11
serg1991

serg1991

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
ofcourse
http://www.applelife...e-2#post-279889
if you want, i can translate it, but my english isnt good

#12
EvilMacMongo

EvilMacMongo

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reno, NV
  • Interests:I really love screwing up expensive things, that's why I'm learning macs
http://www.enigma.id...ompile_xnu.html

was looking at this for compiling. I think the bulldozer cpu will not work with the rest of the amd kernels. as everyone else seems to be able to run the 10.8 kernel for amds to update their SL to 10.6.8. The bulldozer crowd doesn't seem to be able to get past 10.6.4 since modbin_kernel is the only one that works (as so far seen) and does not support higher than osx 10.6.4

Could something like that be done, or anyone familiar enough to give a guide if no one has time to try to make a working kernel for the bulldozer.

If anyone knows their kernels well and wouldn't mind seeing what the main differences are between the modbin_kernel and the amd legacy kernel from nawcom.

After more research, even the linux kernel had to have specific adjustments for the bulldozer. Perhaps those could be implemented into the amd lion kernel

Edited by mongo722, 25 March 2012 - 03:08 AM.


#13
Lordadmiral Drake

Lordadmiral Drake

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
Google Translate is good enough for me to understand. Seems that guy really got a (32-bit only) Lion kernel working on AMD. Unfortunately he doesn't want to share at the moment

#14
hackmymac

hackmymac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hobart Tasmania
  • Interests:Breaking computers and software, Moto GP, V8 Supercars, Golf
I have a AMD box and I'm willing to break it. Share your work and we'll get this working together!!!!!!

#15
Ashael

Ashael

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Can some1 explain?

#16
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
AnV has developed a legacy kernel for Lion, but it has failed most AMD users. Maybe a few got lucky and are using AnV's kernel?

He posted the kernel here on the forum.

#17
Lordadmiral Drake

Lordadmiral Drake

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
@Ashael: I guess this can be considered video proof of working 32bit amd lion kernel

#18
serg1991

serg1991

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
lion kernel for 10.7.3 amd as family 15 - 16 , model 6 !
doesnt work with intel, works with some amd
link http://www.mediafire...ontvl5nznf58n9h
32bit with -legacy
if you have 64bit amd with sse3, you havent to type it

by bronzovka

#19
EvilMacMongo

EvilMacMongo

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Reno, NV
  • Interests:I really love screwing up expensive things, that's why I'm learning macs
well on first try with this kernel I just get a restart and I have the family 15 cpu. Will keep trying and keep you posted.

figured out why. My cpu is the family 0x15 but it's not model 6 it's model 0x1

#20
John K.

John K.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Penang, Malaysia
EvilMacMongo, how do you check for the CPU Family?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: AMD Lion, Kernel


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy