Has anyone been able to install SL on a HP XW8400

Sergio Razo

9 posts in this topic

Hello,

I been reading but is not clearly if the MAC OS X snow leopard can be installed on a HP XW8400 work station, the specs are:

HP xw8400 Workstation

Dual Xeon Dual-Core 5150 2.66GHz

8GB

2x500GB

DVD±RW DL

XP Professional

w/RAID

Has some one do so? What are the steps?

I have manage to install OS X on VIRTUAL BOX and run the installer on a i3 laptop using the following tools:

[url="http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/279450-why-insanelymac-does-not-support-tonymacx86/"]#####[/url]

VIRTUALBOX

I just need to know if the "2 Cores needed" has a walkaround or fix or do I have to move on to another system specs.

Thanks a lot for the future replays and It is my first time working with the MAC OS X.

I just need to install it to train on the OS and FINAL CUT and then I would buy a Original MAC PRO system.

Cheers.

No luck with the link. :(

Any more ideas??

I think the problem here is the processors. I have two xeon dual 5150 2.66 proccessors.

I do not know why is giving problems when running the installation proccess.

I just want to know if there is a way to install SL in the xw8400 machine.

Thanks.

• 1 month later...

I've installed Lion in an identical Xw8400, & tested mountain lion no problem, needs practically nothing, only a network card kext which is on kexts.com, works like a charm, beautiful, really nice and stable

set sata as separate channels in Bios

• 5 weeks later...